DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2025 was filed after filing the instant application on 06/07/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-16 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (US 2025/0184081 A1), hereinafter, “Gao” in view of Pusarla; Kiran Kumar et al. (US 2024/0204928 A1), hereinafter, “Pusarla”.
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses: An apparatus for wireless communication (Gao: fig 1, terminal and fig 15-16, where, the terminal/UE which include processor equivalent to “apparatus”, para [0173]), comprising: one or more memories storing computer-executable instructions (Gao: fig 1, terminal and fig 15-16, where, the UE includes Memory, para [0173], where, “The memory is mainly configured to store the software program and data”); and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to (Gao: fig 1, the terminal and fig 15-16, para [0173], where, “The processor is mainly configured to: process a communication protocol and communication data, control the terminal, execute a software program, process data of the software program”):
obtain a configuration of one or more symbol locations of one or more reference signals before or after a gap (Gao: para [0036], where, “The processing unit is configured to obtain information about a gap between a first reference signal and a second reference signal that are for joint positioning”); and estimate the phase jump during the gap based on the one or more reference signals located in the one or more symbol locations before or after the gap (Gao: fig 8, para [0100], where, a random phase jump between channels are calculated or measured or estimated in order to avoid a phase jump error);
Gao does not explicitly teach: obtain a configuration of one or more symbol locations of one or more reference signals before or after a gap during which a phase jump can occur in a transmission to be received via multiple transmission time intervals;
Pusarla teaches: obtain a configuration of one or more symbol locations of one or more reference signals before or after a gap during which a phase jump can occur in a transmission to be received via multiple transmission time intervals (TTIs) (Pusarla: fig 6, steps 602-610, para [0041] and para [0064], where, “the phase correction applied to the first and second DM-RS symbols and the data symbols is a phase deviation measured on a on a Transmission Time Interval (TTI) on the first and second DM-RS symbols”); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “obtain a configuration of one or more symbol locations of one or more reference signals before or after a gap during which a phase jump can occur in a transmission to be received via multiple transmission time intervals” as taught by Pusarla into Gao in order to establish and maintain a wireless connection between a wireless device (Pusarla: para [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding information processing apparatus for wireless communication, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 24, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding information processing method for wireless communication apparatus, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Gao modified by Pusarla disclose: wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination above (Gao: fig 1, terminal and fig 15-16, where, the terminal/UE which include processor equivalent to “apparatus”, para [0173]), are further configured to obtain an indication of one or more symbol locations (Gao: fig 5, steps S501-S507, para [0090], where, “S501 and S502: An LMF requests configuration information of a positioning reference signal from a serving base station. S503: The LMF indicates, to a terminal, sending configuration information of a downlink reference signal (for example, a PRS). S504: After receiving the indication from the LMF, the terminal starts to receive a positioning reference signal sent by the base station”) associated with the gap during which a phase jump will occur , wherein the indication is within control information (Gao: fig 5, steps S501-S507, para [0090], where, “S501 and S502” the “Higher Layer Signalling” equivalent to “Control Information”) obtained in a TTI prior to the gap (Pusarla: fig 6, steps 602-610, para [0041] and para [0064], where, “the phase correction applied to the first and second DM-RS symbols and the data symbols is a “phase deviation measured” (equivalent to “estimate the phase jump”) on a on a Transmission Time Interval (TTI) on the first and second DM-RS symbols”, para [0009], where, “determining a doppler shift where the doppler shift is proportional to the “phase difference” equivalent to “gap” across the DM-RS symbols in the channel”).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Gao modified by Pusarla disclose: wherein the indication includes an offset with respect to the control information (Gao: fig 5, steps S501-S507, para [0090], where, “S501 and S502” the “Higher Layer Signalling” equivalent to “Control Information”, para [0100]-[0101], where, “A gap between a first reference signal and a second reference signal that are for joint positioning may be flexibly set. Information about the gap between the first reference signal and the second reference signal that are for joint positioning is obtained, so that the first reference signal and the second reference signal can be properly configured based on the gap (equivalent to “offset”) information”).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Gao modified by Pusarla disclose: wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination (Gao: fig 1, terminal and fig 15-16, where, the terminal/UE which include processor equivalent to “apparatus”, para [0173]), are configured to output a report of another scheduled transmission, wherein the indication is obtained after outputting the report (Gao: fig 5, steps S501-S507, para [0090], where, “S506: The terminal reports a result obtained through measurement to a positioning server. S507: The positioning server performs location estimation based on the received measurement information”).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Gao modified by Pusarla disclose: The apparatus of claim 1 and 13, wherein the one or more reference signals located before or after the gap (Gao: fig 8, para [0100], where, “a delay difference between different channels and a random phase jump between channels are caused. As a result, a large-bandwidth positioning reference signal obtained by the terminal through combination carries a phase error, affecting accuracy of the CA positioning. Therefore, to avoid an extra channel delay and a phase jump error, it is usually expected that a receive end receives positioning reference signals on a plurality of CCs through one receive channel”) include a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) dynamically indicated by the indication of symbol locations associated with the gap (Pusarla: fig 6, para [0037]-[0041], where, “a phase difference of the OFDM symbols of a first DM-RS and OFDM symbols of a second DM-RS is calculated. The OFDM symbols of the first DM-RS and the second DM-RS are correlated, and a doppler shift is determined. The doppler shift is proportional to the phase difference across the DM-RS symbols in the channel”).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Gao modified by Pusarla disclose: wherein the DMRS follows a DMRS pattern when the indication indicates the DMRS (Pusarla: fig 8, para [0051], where, “The process 800 may include correlating the OFDM symbols of the first DM-RS and the second DM-RS at 804. For example, a receiver or device may correlate the OFDM symbols of the first DM-RS and the second DM-RS, as described above. Process 800 may include determining a doppler shift where the doppler shift is proportional to the phase difference across the DM-RS symbols in the channel at 806”).
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Gao modified by Pusarla disclose: wherein the indication further indicates an offset of the DMRS with respect to the indication (Pusarla: fig 8, para [0051], where, “process 800 may include calculating a phase difference of OFDM symbols of the PUCCH from OFDM symbols of a first DM-RS of the PUCCH and OFDM symbols of a second DM-RS of the PUCCH received by a network receiver at 802”).
Regarding claim 11, Gao modified by Pusarla disclose: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination (Gao: fig 1, terminal and fig 15-16, where, the terminal/UE which include processor equivalent to “apparatus”, para [0173]), are configured to interpolate a channel estimate based at least in part on the estimated phase jump (Gao: fig 8, para [0100], where, a random phase jump between channels are calculated or measured or estimated in order to avoid a phase jump error).
Regarding claims 12 and 23, Gao modified by Pusarla disclose: further comprising a transceiver configured to receive the configuration, the one or more reference signals (Gao: fig 16, processor 1602, para [0178], where, “the processing unit 1602 is configured to perform step S1401 in the embodiment shown in FIG. 14, and the transceiver unit 1601 is configured to perform a function performed by the terminal in step S1402”), and the transmission, wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (Gao: fig 16, processor 1602, para [0178], where, the apparatus is a terminal/user equipment).
Claims 5-7 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (US 2025/0184081 A1), hereinafter, “Gao” in view of Pusarla; Kiran Kumar et al. (US 2024/0204928 A1), hereinafter, “Pusarla” further in view of Hasegawa; Fumihiro et al. (US 2023/0291523 A1), hereinafter, “Hasegawa”.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, neither Gao nor Pusarla explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more reference signals located before or after the gap include a glue reference signal (gRS) with a sequence based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the transmission and a frequency domain pattern associated with fewer resource blocks than the DMRS.
Hasegawa teaches: wherein the one or more reference signals located before or after the gap include a glue reference signal (gRS) (Hasegawa: fig 3A, para [0162], where, “phase continuity” equivalent to “gRS (glue refence signal)”) with a sequence based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the transmission and a frequency domain pattern associated with fewer resource blocks than the DMRS (Hasegawa: FIG. 2B, para [0161], where, “illustrates an example of DMRS bundling over 2 consecutive slots for type B repetitions. The example in FIG. 2B illustrates that DMRS symbols in 2 actual repetitions and 3 nominal repetitions are bundled over 2 consecutive slots. The WTRU may start to maintain phase and power continuity starting in symbol #12 in slot #1 and stop maintaining power and phase continuity at symbol #13 in slot #2. Symbols including symbol #0 through symbol #11 in slot #1 may be configured to receive downlink signals or used as flexible symbols or gap symbols where no downlink reception or uplink transmission take place”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “wherein the one or more reference signals located before or after the gap include a glue reference signal (gRS) with a sequence based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the transmission and a frequency domain pattern associated with fewer resource blocks than the DMRS” as taught by Hasegawa into the system of Gao and Pusarla in order to preserve the demodulation coherence of the DMRS (Hasegawa: para [0303]).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Gao modified by Pusarla further modified by Hasegawa teach: wherein the gRS (Hasegawa: fig 3A, para [0162], where, “phase continuity” equivalent to “gRS (glue refence signal)”) is configured with one or more symbol locations such that a quantity of symbols between the gRS or the DMRS before the gap and a last symbol of the transmission before the gap is less than or equal to a threshold value (Hasegawa: FIG. 2B, para [0161], where, “illustrates an example of DMRS bundling over 2 consecutive slots for type B repetitions. The example in FIG. 2B illustrates that DMRS symbols in 2 actual repetitions and 3 nominal repetitions are bundled over 2 consecutive slots. The WTRU may start to maintain phase and power continuity starting in symbol #12 in slot #1 and stop maintaining power and phase continuity at symbol #13 in slot #2. Symbols including symbol #0 through symbol #11 in slot #1 may be configured to receive downlink signals or used as flexible symbols or gap symbols where no downlink reception or uplink transmission take place”).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Gao modified by Pusarla further modified by Hasegawa teach: The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the gRS (Hasegawa: fig 3A, para [0162], where, “phase continuity” equivalent to “gRS (glue refence signal)”) is located in one or both of a last symbol of the transmission prior to the gap and a first symbol of the transmission after the gap when the last symbol or the first symbol does not include the DMRS (Hasegawa: FIG. 2B, para [0161], where, “illustrates an example of DMRS bundling over 2 consecutive slots for type B repetitions. The example in FIG. 2B illustrates that DMRS symbols in 2 actual repetitions and 3 nominal repetitions are bundled over 2 consecutive slots. The WTRU may start to maintain phase and power continuity starting in symbol #12 in slot #1 and stop maintaining power and phase continuity at symbol #13 in slot #2. Symbols including symbol #0 through symbol #11 in slot #1 may be configured to receive downlink signals or used as flexible symbols or gap symbols where no downlink reception or uplink transmission take place”).
Conclusion
Prior Art considered but not used: LIU; Yang et al (US 20240214151 A1), “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR CONFIGURING DMRS PATTERNS, METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR GENERATING DMRSS, STORAGE MEDIUM”.
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461