DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 5/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 23 and 25 are amended. Claims 1-27 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-18, 20-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins (US 7546953 B1), and further in view of Gao (US 20220232138 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 25, 26, 27, Collins discloses a barcode reader comprising:
a bioptic scanner (7, col. 3, lines 19-28) including:
(a) a housing having (i) a first housing portion with a first surface and a first window (20) facing a product scanning region, (ii) a second housing portion with a second surface and a second window (18) facing the product scanning region (Fig. 2);
(b) a first scanner assembly having a first scanner, the first scanner assembly having a first field of view (FOV) directed through the first window (scanning window 18 of scanner 7, col. 4, lines 18-29; Fig. 2); and
(c) a second scanner assembly having a second scanner, the second scanner assembly having a second FOV directed through the second window (scanning window 20 of scanner 7, col. 4, lines 40-46; Fig. 2);
a removable scanner module selectively couplable with a scanner cradle coupled with the first housing portion, the removable scanner module including at least one supplemental scanner assembly having a supplemental scanner with a supplemental FOV directed toward the product scanning region (scanner 2 in cradle 3, col. 3, lines 29-45; col. 4, lines 1-14 Fig. 2); and
a controller operatively coupled to the bioptic scanner and couplable to the removable scanner module (via processing unit 25, col. 5, lines 4-20).
Collins fails to disclose the scanners are imaging sensors and the controller is configured to synchronize the removable scanner module with the bioptic scanner.
Gao teaches a bioptic scanner and a top-down reader including imaging sensors to better read various types of optical codes (Para. 1-2, 38-41, Fig. 1); the scanner including a controller to synchronize the top-down reader with the bioptic scanner (Para. 70-71, 58).
From the teachings of Gao, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collins to include the scanners are imaging sensors in order to improve reading of products at checkout and the controller is configured to synchronize the removable scanner module with the bioptic scanner in order to synchronize the timing of activation light sources or imagers located in a top-down reader and a base, thereby improve quality of imaging by the sensors.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Collins and Gao teaches when coupled with the scanner cradle, the controller synchronizes the removable scanner module with the bioptic scanner by synchronizing image capturing (synchronize the timing of imagers located in a top-down reader and a base, Para. 71 of Gao).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Collins and Gao teaches wherein, when coupled with the scanner cradle, the controller synchronizes the removable scanner module with at least one of the first imaging assembly and the second imaging assembly to obtain images of the product scanning region (synchronize the timing of activation imagers located in a top-down reader and a base, Para. 71 of Gao).
Regarding claim 5, Collins discloses wherein, when coupled with the scanner cradle, the supplemental FOV is directed generally downward intersecting with at least one of the first FOV or second FOV over the product scanning region (beam 9 passes through vertical window 20 in the approximate direction of window 18. Typically, an angle of or about 45 degrees is used. In such an embodiment pattern 19 is visible on both of windows 18 and 20, col. 6, lines 29-40; col. 4, lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 6, Collins discloses wherein, when the removable scanner module is coupled with the scanner cradle, the scanner cradle module is configured to provide power to the removable scanner (The cradle preferably includes a terminal engageable with a complimentary socket on the handheld scanner for providing electrical power to the handheld scanner, col. 2, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, Collins discloses wherein the removable scanner is powered by a wired power source (via scanner 2 includes a tether for communicative connection with a processing unit and power source, col. 3, lines 63-65).
Regarding claim 9, Collins discloses a weight platter configured to support an object for obtaining a weight of the object in the product scanning region and wherein the supplemental FOV is directed toward the weight platter (via weighing plate, col. 6, lines 29-42).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Collins and Gao teach when coupled with the scanner cradle, the removable scanner module enters a synchronization mode (Gao, Para. 70-71, 58 and rejection of claim 1) and when decoupled from the scanner cradle, the removable scanner module enters an independent operation mode (Collins, col. 1, lines 28-35).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Collins and Gao teach wherein in the synchronization mode, the controller synchronizes one or more operations of the removable scanner module with the bioptic scanner to obtain images of an object disposed in the product scanning region (Gao, Para. 70-71, 58), and in the independent operation mode, the controller does not synchronize the removable scanner module with the bioptic scanner to obtain images (independent operation of handheld scanner, Collins, col. 1, lines 28-35).
Regarding claim 12, Collins discloses the removable scanner module further comprises an illumination assembly adapted to illuminate a portion of the product scanning region when coupled with the scanner cradle (via scanner 2 provides beam 4, col. 4, line 1-14; col. 6, lines 29-40).
Regarding claim 13, Collins discloses the removable scanner module further comprises a visual indicator adapted to indicate a direction of the supplemental FOV (pattern 19, col. 6, lines 29-40).
Regarding claim 14, Collins discloses wherein the visual indicator comprises an aiming system (A line pattern becomes visible on the barcode-carrying surface of item 42, and this is brought into appropriate alignment with barcode 43 to affect reading, col. 6, lines 37-40).
Regarding claim 15, Gao teaches synchronizing illumination of light sources at the scanners (Para. 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collins and Gao to include wherein the aiming system is synchronized with the bioptic scanner to prevent imaging of the visual indicator by the first imaging assembly or the second imaging assembly in order to improve operations of the reader.
Regarding claim 16, Collins and Gao teach wherein the first imaging sensor and the second imaging sensor are a same imaging sensor (see Collins, Bi-optic scanner 7, col. 4, lines 18-46; Fig. 2; Abstract), and the first FOV is captured on a first portion of the imaging sensor, and the second FOV is captured on a second portion of the imaging sensor (via scanning windows 18 and 20, Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 17, 18, claims 17, 18 are equivalent to the combination of claims 1 and 11 above; therefore, claims 17 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1 and 11.
Regarding claim 20, Collins discloses wherein, when coupled with the scanner cradle, the supplemental FOV is directed generally downward intersecting with at least one of the first FOV or second FOV over the product scanning region (beam 9 passes through vertical window 20 in the approximate direction of window 18. Typically, an angle of or about 45 degrees is used. In such an embodiment pattern 19 is visible on both of windows 18 and 20, col. 6, lines 29-40; col. 4, lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 21, Collins discloses a weight platter configured to support an object for obtaining a weight of the object in the product scanning region and wherein the supplemental FOV is directed toward the weight platter (via weighing plate, col. 6, lines 29-42).
Regarding claim 22, Collins discloses wherein the removable scanner module further comprises an illumination assembly adapted to illuminate a portion of the product scanning region when coupled with the scanner cradle (via scanner 2 provides beam 4, col. 4, line 1-14; col. 6, lines 29-40).
Regarding claim 23, Gao teaches synchronizing illumination of light sources at the scanners (Para. 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collins and Gao to include wherein the aiming system is synchronized with the bioptic scanner to prevent imaging of the visual indicator by the first imaging assembly or the second imaging assembly in order to improve operations of the scanner.
Regarding claim 24, Collins discloses wherein the removable scanner comprises a handheld scanner (col. 3, lines 19-28).
Claim(s) 4, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins in view of Gao, and further in view of Dickson (US 4431912 A).
Regarding claim 4, 19, Collins and Gao fail to disclose wherein the removable scanner module has a same symbol timeout time, and wherein the controller coordinates the same symbol timeout time of the removable scanner module with a same symbol timeout time of the bioptic scanner.
Dickson teaches scanners are configured to have a same symbol timeout time (col. 4, lines 34-38).
And Gao already teaches a controller to synchronize the top-down reader with the bioptic scanner (Para. 70-71, 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collins and Gao to include wherein the removable scanner module has a same symbol timeout time, and wherein the controller coordinates the same symbol timeout time of the removable scanner module with a same symbol timeout time of the bioptic scanner in order to prevent accidental double reading of a product at a checkout.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Gao, and further in view of Genuise (US 20220075973 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Collins and Gao fail to disclose wherein the cradle is repositionable to support use by various users.
Genuise teaches a cradle for a handheld scanner can be configured to be adjustable to provide the flexibility to use the scanner in different modes (Para. 32).
From the teachings of Genuise, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Collins and Gao to include wherein the cradle is repositionable in order to use the removable scanner in different configurations within the cradle, thereby improve functionality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes a new reference, Gao, not presented before.
Conclusion
/YONG HANG JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689