Detailed Action
IDS
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 10, 2025, is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawing
The drawing filed on June 7, 2024, is accepted by the Examiner.
Claim rejection – 35 U.S.C. §102
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abtahi (U.S. Patent No. 5,436,443, hereon Abtahi).
In reference to claim 1: Abtahi discloses a temperature measurement device (see Abtahi, Fig. 1 and Abstract) comprising:
a measurement light source (incandescent lamp) configured to irradiate one point of a surface of a target substance with measurement light for measuring a surface temperature of the target substance (see Abtahi, column 4, lines 32-39);
an optical system configured to form an optical path of the measurement light toward the surface of the target substance (see Abtahi, Fig. 1, light source 10, surface 11, I LAMP, forms optical path);
a plurality of detection members configured to detect an intensity of each of incident light and reflected light of the measurement light (see Abtahi, Fig. 1, detectors 13 and 14 respectively); and
a processor configured to: calculate reflectivity of the target substance based on a detection value of each of the plurality of detection members (see Abtahi, Fig. 1, PSA 12, and analyzer 16, and column 7, lines 1-36, and claim 1); and
determine the surface temperature of the target substance based on the reflectivity (see Abtahi, Fig. 1, temperature display 19, and column 6, lines 37-63).
Regarding claim 2: Abtahi further discloses that the optical system comprises a polarization separator (PSA: polarization state analyzer) configured to separate the reflected light into p-polarized reflected light and s-polarized reflected light (see Abtahi, column 4, lines 32-57).
Regarding claim 3: Abtahi further discloses that the plurality of detection members comprises: a first detection member configured to output the intensity of the incident light (see Abtahi, Fig. 1, unit 12); a second detection member configured to output an intensity of the p-polarized reflected light (see Abtahi, Fig. 1, 13a and 14a, produces part of the polarized light after being incident on the surface 11); and a third detection member configured to output an intensity of the s-polarized reflected light (Fig. 1, 13a and 14a at 15 also output the s-polarized component).
Regarding claim 4: Abtahi further discloses that the processor is configured to calculate a polarization reflectivity of the target substance based on the detection value of each of the plurality of detection members (see Abtahi, column 6, lines 1-37).
Regarding claim 5: Abtahi further discloses that the processor is configured to determine the surface temperature of the target substance by applying the polarization reflectivity of the target substance to a temperature relation equation defining a relationship between a surface temperature of the target substance and a reflectivity of the target substance (see Abtahi, column 6, lines 30-52).
Regarding claim 8: Abtahi further discloses that the display is configured to display a change of the surface temperature of the target substance over time (see Abtahi, Figs. 3 and 4, as the temperature the hot body increases, the output for p-polarized and s-polarized output from 13a and 14a in voltage and power also changes).
In reference to claim 9: Abtahi discloses a temperature measurement method (see Abtahi, Fig. 1 and Abstract) comprising:
irradiating a same point of a target substance with a heating light which is a pulsed beam for heating the target substance and a measurement light for detecting a change of a reflectivity of the target substance caused by the heating light (see Abtahi, column 4, lines 32-39, incandescent light includes heating effect);
detecting an intensity of each of an incident light of the measurement light and a reflected light of the measurement light (see Abtahi, Fig. 1, I1 and I2);
deriving a temperature relation equation defining relationship between a surface temperature of the target substance and the reflectivity of the target substance by using a value of the detected intensity of each of the incident light of the measurement light and the reflected light of the measurement light (see Abtahi, column 6, lines 1-51); and
determining the surface temperature of the target substance by using the temperature relation equation (see Abtahi, column 6, lines 38-52).
Regarding claim 10: Abtahi further discloses that the intensity of the reflected light is detected by separating the reflected light into p-polarized light and s-polarized light (see Abtahi, column 4, lines 32-57).
Regarding claim 11: Abtahi further discloses that the temperature relation equation is derived from a value detected from at least one of the p-polarized light and s-polarized light of the reflected light according to a type of a substance of a surface of the target substance (see Abtahi, column 5, line 67 to column 6, line 52, emissivity and reflectivity are properties of the substance or the surface 11).
Regarding claim 12: Abtahi further discloses that deriving the temperature relation equation comprises: calculating a polarization reflectivity of the target substance; and deriving a linear temperature relation equation of the target substance based on the polarization reflectivity (see Abtahi, column 6, lines 13-52).
In reference to claim 17. Abtahi discloses a temperature measurement method (see Abtahi, Fig. 1 and abstract) comprising:
calculating and storing a temperature relation equation defining relationship between a surface temperature of a target substance and a reflectivity of the target substance (see Abtahi, column 6, lines 30-52);
irradiating a measurement light for measuring a surface temperature of the target substance to be incident obliquely on one point of the target substance (see Abtahi, Fig. 1, surface 11, I LAMP);
detecting an intensity of each of an incident light of the measurement light and a reflected light of the measurement light which is incident obliquely on the target substance (see Abtahi, Fig. 1, detector 13 and 14); and
calculating the surface temperature of the target substance by applying a value of the detected intensity of each of the incident light of the measurement light and the reflected light of the measurement light to the temperature relation equation, wherein in the detecting of light, the intensity of the reflected light is detected by separating the reflected light into p-polarized light and s-polarized light (see Abtahi, column 5, line 67 to column 6, line 52).
Regarding claim 20: Abtahi further discloses that the display is configured to display a change of the surface temperature of the target substance over time (see Abtahi, Figs. 3 and 4, as the temperature the hot body increases, the output for p-polarized and s-polarized output from 13a and 14a in voltage, and power also changes).
Claim rejection – 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 6-7, 13-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Abtahi in view of Perrot (U.S. Patent No. 11,454,543, hereon Perrot).
Regarding claim 6: Abtahi further discloses that the temperature relation equation is a linear relation equation derived from a polarization reflectivity of the target substance, but silent about the temperature range from a surface maintained at a room temperature and a polarization reflectivity of the target substance at a melting point thereof.
Perrot discloses the temperature range from a surface maintained at a room temperature and a polarization reflectivity of the target substance at a melting point or high temperature thereof.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify temperature measurement device as taught by Abtahi and includes room temperature and high temperatures or meting point variables into the surface temperature computation in order to characterize the material between two extreme ranges in order to improve the temperature detection apparatus for the purpose of a wider application.
Regarding claim 7. Abtahi in view of Perrot further discloses that the temperature relation equation is derived by changing the surface temperature of the target substance up to melting point of the target substance by irradiating the surface of the target substance with heating light and the measurement light (see Abtahi, column 6, lines 30-63, and Perrot, column 7, lines 22-33).
Regarding claim 13: Abtahi in view of Perrot further discloses that the linear temperature relation equation is derived from a polarization reflectivity at a time at which the target substance is at a room temperature and a polarization reflectivity at a time at which the surface temperature of the target substance reaches a melting point of the target substance (see Abtahi, column 6, lines 30-52, and Perrot, column 7, lines 22-33).
Regarding claims 14-16: Abtahi in view of Perrot further discloses that the polarization reflectivity is used to compute polarization reflectivity; however, the combination does not show plotting points or interpreting the various data points on the effective equation to characterize the temperature of the surface; however ordinary kill in the art would have been able to deduce maximum and minimum inflection points as applied to the temperature characteristic equation modified by the two references.
Regarding claim 18: Abtahi in view of Perrot further discloses that the temperature relation equation is a linear relation equation derived from a polarization reflectivity of the target substance at a room temperature and a polarization reflectivity of the target substance at a melting point thereof (see Abtahi, column 6, lines 30-63, and Perrot, column 7, lines 22-33).
Regarding claim 19. Abtahi in view of Perrot further discloses that the surface temperature of the target substance is calculated by using a value detected from at least one of the p-polarized light and s-polarized light of the reflected light according to a type of a substance of a surface of the target substance, and wherein calculating the surface temperature of the target substance comprises: calculating a polarization reflectivity of the target substance; and calculating the surface temperature of the target substance by applying the polarization reflectivity to the temperature relation equation (see Abtahi, column 5, line 67 to column 6, line 52).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grek et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,744,274) discloses an apparatus for Substrate processing. The apparatus includes a radiation source emitting a photonic beam, an optical system to form a beam image, a scanning stage, a temperature monitoring means, an output signal generator that compares the monitored temperature with a preset temperature, and a controller coupled to the radiation Source and the stage. The stage may be adapted to scan the Substrate so the beam image heats a region of the Substrate surface, and the temperature monitoring may collect and analyzes p-polarized radiation of at least three different spectral regions emitted from one or more places on the heated substrate region.
/ELIAS DESTA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857