CTNF 18/737,986 CTNF 101654 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Blevins (US 20180319594 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Blevins teaches, an assisting apparatus comprising: a shaft member (110) that is insertable into a winding core (320) of a roll (310) around which a sheet is wound (Carpet) ; a moving member (150) movable in a vertical direction, the moving member including the shaft member (110) ; and a detector configured to detect a position of the moving member in the vertical direction ([0043] – position sensor for detecting height of shaft and moving member) , wherein the assisting apparatus is configured to assist in an operation of aligning a position of the roll in the vertical direction in a state in which the shaft member is inserted in the winding core (fig. 4F – shows shaft inside core and lifting vertically) , and the assisting apparatus further comprises a notifier (140) configured to provide a notification when the detector detects that the position of the moving member in the vertical direction reaches a predetermined target position ([0043] [0074] – screen provides alerts when a predetermined height corresponding to a roll height is reached) . Regarding claim 3, Bevins teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the notifier includes a light emitting member and is configured to provide a notification by light (140 – notifier is a screen) . Regarding claim 5, The assisting apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the light emitting member is capable of emitting light in a plurality of different colors (140 – screen is multicolor) , and the notifier is configured to provide a notification by causing the light emitting member to emit light in different colors between a state in which the position of the moving member is at the target position and another state (screen provides notification in multiple colors) . Regarding claim 6, Blevins teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the light emitting member (140) is capable of emitting light in a plurality of different patterns (screen emits light in a plurality of different patterns) , and the notifier (140) is configured to provide a notification by causing the light emitting member to emit light in different patterns between a state in which the position of the moving member is at the target position and another state (screen emits light in a plurality of different patterns) . Regarding claim 8, Blevins teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the shaft member has a tapered shape with an outer diameter increasing in a direction in which the shaft member is inserted into the winding core (fig. 1B – shows shaft tapers from (110) to (112) . Regarding claim 9, Blevins teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the shaft member has a stepped shape including a plurality of sections (110/112) with different outer diameters (fig. 1B – shows shaft tapers from (110) to (112) . Regarding claim 10, Blevins teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the detector is configured to detect a state in which the position of the moving member is at the target position ([0043] – sensor can detect height as well as height of roll cores)) , a state in which the moving member is at a position higher than the target position ([0043] – sensor can detect height as well as height of roll cores) , and a state in which the moving member is at a position lower than the target position ([0043] – sensor can detect height as well as height of roll cores) . Regarding claim 13, Blevins teaches, an assisting apparatus comprising: a shaft member (110) that is insertable into a winding core of a roll (320) around which a sheet is wound; a moving member (150) movable in a vertical direction, the moving member including the shaft member (fig. 1B – shaft (110) moves on moving member (150)); a support member (156) that supports the moving member such that the moving member is movable in the vertical direction; and an indicator (168) configured to indicate a position of the moving member in the vertical direction by moving in conjunction with movement of the moving member (distance scanner (168) indicates position of the moving member) , wherein the assisting apparatus is configured to assist in an operation of aligning a position of the roll in the vertical direction in a state in which the shaft member is inserted in the winding core (fig. 3G/3H) , and the indicator includes a mark (510) that enables visual identification that the position of the moving member in the vertical direction reaches a predetermined target position (Navigation buoys (510) serve as marks for visual identification) . Regarding claim 19, An assisting apparatus comprising: a shaft member (110) that is insertable into a winding core (320) of a roll around which a sheet is wound; and a detector (112) configured to detect a relative position between the winding core and the shaft member inserted in the winding core, the detector including the shaft member (112 – mounted on shaft member) , wherein the assisting apparatus is configured to assist in an operation of aligning a position of the roll in the vertical direction in a state in which the shaft member is inserted in the winding core (fig. 3G/3H - assisting apparatus moves roll vertically) , and the assisting apparatus further comprises a notifier (140) configured to provide a notification when the detector detects that the relative position between the shaft member and the winding core reaches a predetermined target position (notifier (140) provides alerts when certain heights are reached) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 14, 20, 21, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blevins (US 20180319594 A1) in view of Geun (US 20180339532 A1) . Regarding claim 2, Bevins teaches, Moving a moving member to a target position (fig. 3G/3H – device grabbing roll in target position) , However, Blevins fails to teach, the assisting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the roll is usable in a state in which the roll is attached to a rotation shaft of a roll using apparatus including the rotation shaft that is insertable into the winding core, an inner circumference surface of the winding core of the roll and an outer circumference surface of the rotation shaft do not interfere with each other. However, Geun teaches, wherein the roll (12) is usable in a state in which the roll is attached to a rotation shaft (100) of a roll using apparatus (10) including the rotation shaft that is insertable into the winding core (12 – core of roll) , an inner circumference surface (12– core of roll) of the winding core of the roll and an outer circumference surface of the rotation shaft (100) do not interfere with each other (fig. 1 - shows rotation shaft within winding core) . Blevins and Geun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of printing apparatuses and roll handling. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blevin’s assisting apparatus to be used with the roll using apparatus ( printer) taught by Geun. Doing so provides a way to automatically transport and align rolls for refilling, increasing printing speed and efficiency. Regarding claim 14, Blevins teaches, Moving the moving member to a target position Blevins fails to teach, wherein the roll is usable in a state in which the roll is attached to a rotation shaft of a roll using apparatus including the rotation shaft that is insertable into the winding core, an inner circumference surface of the winding core of the roll and an outer circumference surface of the rotation shaft do not interfere with each other. However, Geun teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the roll (12) is usable in a state in which the roll is attached to a rotation shaft (100) of a roll using apparatus (10) including the rotation shaft that is insertable into the winding core (100 – winding core of roll) , an inner circumference surface of the winding core of the roll and an outer circumference surface of the rotation shaft do not interfere with each other (winding core of roll (12) inserted into shaft (100) without interference) . Blevins and Geun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of printing apparatuses and roll handling. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blevin’s assisting apparatus to be useable with the roll using apparatus ( printer) and rotation shaft taught by Geun. Doing so provides a way to automatically transport and align rolls for refilling, increasing printing speed and efficiency for rolls being transported to roll using apparatus. Regarding claim 20, Blevins teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 19, Moving the winding core and shaft member to a target relative position, Blevins fails to teach, wherein the roll is usable in a state in which the roll is attached to a rotation shaft of a roll using apparatus including the rotation shaft that is insertable into the winding core, an inner circumference surface of the winding core and an outer circumference surface of the rotation shaft do not interfere with each other. However, Geun teaches, wherein the roll (12) is usable in a state in which the roll is attached to a rotation shaft (100) of a roll using apparatus (10) including the rotation shaft that is insertable into the winding core (12 – center of roll) , an inner circumference surface of the winding core and an outer circumference surface of the rotation shaft do not interfere with each other (winding core of roll (12) inserted into shaft (100) without interference) . Blevins and Geun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of printing apparatuses and roll handling. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blevin’s assisting apparatus to be useable with the roll using apparatus ( printer) and rotation shaft taught by Geun for the reasons disclosed above in claim 14. Regarding claim 21, Blevins teaches, an assisting apparatus configured to assist in an operation of aligning positions in a vertical direction of a rotation shaft of a roll using apparatus and a roll, the rotation shaft (110) being insertable into a winding core (320) of the roll around which a sheet is wound, the rotation shaft is insertable into the roll from a side corresponding to a second end portion that is opposite to the first end portion in the axial direction of the rotation shaft (fig. 3G/3H – rotation shaft is insertable into the roll from an opposite side) , the assisting apparatus comprises: an imager (112/160/162/164) ; and a display (140) configured to display a captured image captured by the imager, wherein the imager is arranged such that images of the second end portion of the rotation shaft and an end portion of the winding core in an axial direction that is closer to the rotation shaft are included in the captured image (imager (112) is able to capture images of the second end portion of the rotation shaft) . Blevins fails to teach, the roll using apparatus being capable of using the roll in a state in which the roll is attached to the rotation shaft, wherein a first end portion of the rotation shaft in an axial direction is fixed to the roll using apparatus, However, Geun teaches, the roll using (10) apparatus being capable of using the roll (12) in a state in which the roll is attached to the rotation shaft (100) , wherein a first end portion of the rotation shaft in an axial direction is fixed to the roll using apparatus (shaft (100) is integral to roll using apparatus)) , Blevins and Geun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of printing apparatuses and roll handling. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blevin’s assisting apparatus to be useable with the roll using apparatus ( printer) and fixed rotation shaft taught by Geun for the reasons disclosed above in claim 14. Regarding claim 24, Blevins teaches, and an assisting apparatus (100) , the assisting apparatus comprising: a shaft member (110) that is insertable into the winding core (320) of the roll around; a moving member (150) movable in a vertical direction, the moving member including the shaft member (fig. 1B – moving member with shaft attached)) ; a detector configured to detect a position of the moving member in the vertical direction (112 – detector mounted on end of shaft) ; and a notifier (140) configured to provide a notification when the detector detects that the position of the moving member in the vertical direction reaches a predetermined target position (notifier configured to give alerts of height of shaft based on height of rolls) , wherein the assisting apparatus is configured to assist in an operation of aligning a position of the roll in the vertical direction in a state in which the shaft member is inserted in the winding core (fig. 3G/3H – assisting apparatus aligns rolls in vertical direction) , and moving the moving member to the target position (fig.3G/3H – moving shaft to target height) , Blevins fails to teach, a recording apparatus configured to perform recording on a sheet comprising: a rotation shaft that is insertable into a winding core of a roll around which the sheet is wound; wherein the roll is usable in a state in which the roll is attached to the rotation shaft of the recording apparatus, and when the moving member is at the target position, an inner circumference surface of the winding core of the roll and an outer circumference surface of the rotation shaft do not interfere with each other. However, Geun teaches, a recording apparatus (10) configured to perform recording on a sheet comprising: a rotation shaft (100) that is insertable into a winding core of a roll (12 – core of roll) around which the sheet is wound (fig. 1 – shows sheet wound around core (12) ; wherein the roll is usable in a state in which the roll is attached to the rotation shaft of the recording apparatus (fig. 1 – roll being used while attached to rotation shaft (100)) , an inner circumference surface of the winding core of the roll and an outer circumference surface of the rotation shaft do not interfere with each other (inner circumference of winding core (12) and rotation shaft (100) do not interfere and allow rotation) . Blevins and Geun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of printing apparatuses and roll handling. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blevin’s assisting apparatus to be useable with the recording apparatus ( printer) taught by Geun for the reasons disclosed above in claim 14 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 7, 12, 18, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blevins (US 20180319594 A1) in view of Hiroaki (US 20240409348 A1) . Regarding claim 4 , Blevins fails to teach, wherein the notifier is configured to provide a notification by applying light with the light emitting member to a wall surface, a ceiling, or a floor surface of a space in which the assisting apparatus is set. However, Hiroaki teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the notifier (289) is configured to provide a notification by applying light with the light emitting member (24) to a wall surface, a ceiling, or a floor surface of a space in which the assisting apparatus is set (fig. 5 – light emitting member emits light explicitly to wall) surface) . Blevins and Hiroaki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of printing apparatuses and roll handling. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blevin’s assisting apparatus to include the light emitting member facing a wall surface as taught by Hiroaki. Doing so allows for operators and workers to be notified of position without being directly in line of sight with the screen. Regarding claim 7, Blevins fails to teach, the assisting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the notifier includes a sound emitting member and is configured to provide a notification by sound However, Hiroaki teaches , the assisting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the notifier (289) includes a sound emitting member (276) and is configured to provide a notification by sound ([0116] – notifier emits a beep) . Blevins and Hiroaki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of printing apparatuses and roll handling. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blevin’s assisting apparatus to include the sound emitting member as taught by Hiroaki. Doing so allows for operators and workers to be notified of position without being directly in line of sight with the screen. Regarding claim 12, Blevins teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the shaft member (110) is configured to be inserted into the winding core (32) of the roll Blevins does not teach, a lifting apparatus that is capable of moving the roll in the vertical direction and the assisting apparatus is configured independently of the lifting apparatus. However, Hiroaki teaches, a lifting apparatus (20) that is capable of moving the roll in the vertical direction (fig 6/7) and the assisting apparatus is configured independently of the lifting apparatus (lifting apparatus (20) separate from assisting apparatus) . Blevins and Hiroaki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of printing apparatuses and roll handling. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blevin’s assisting apparatus be used with the lifting apparatus taught by Hiroaki. Doing so allows for quicker end to end transport and loading for rolls compared to other well-known methods in the art. Regarding claim 18, Blevins teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the shaft member (110) is configured to be inserted into the winding core of the roll (320) Blevins fails to teach, a lifting apparatus that is capable of moving the roll in the vertical direction, and the assisting apparatus is configured independently of the lifting apparatus. However, Hiroaki teaches, a lifting apparatus (20) that is capable of moving the roll in the vertical direction (fig. 6/7) , and the assisting apparatus is configured independently of the lifting apparatus (lifting apparatus is distinct from assisting apparatus) . Blevins and Hiroaki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of printing apparatuses and roll handling. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blevin’s assisting apparatus be used with the lifting apparatus taught by Hiroaki. Doing so allows for quicker end to end transport and loading for rolls compared to other well-known methods in the art. Regarding claim 22, Blevins teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the imager is arranged such that images of an upper surface of the second end portion of the rotation shaft and an upper end of the winding core are included in the captured image ([0045] [0046] imager is able to capture 3D images entire work area). Regarding claim 23, Blevins teaches, the assisting apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the imager is arranged such that images of a lower surface of the second end portion of the rotation shaft and a lower end of the winding core are included in the captured image ([0045] [0046] imager is able to capture 3D images entire work area) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 11, 15, 16, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure Pienta (US 5308217 A) – discloses a roll chucking apparatus for the lifting and transporting of rolls Salsburg (US 6264417 B1) – a roll handling and transport assembly for rolls Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUAN SALVADOR MOSCOSO whose telephone number is (571)272-8604. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Saul Rodriguez can be reached at (571) 272-7097. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652 /J.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 2 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 3 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 4 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 5 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 6 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 7 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 8 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 9 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 10 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 11 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 12 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 13 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 14 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/737,986 Page 15 Art Unit: 3652