DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The specification does not enable the claim limitation “wherein as viewed along the extending direction in the state where the cartridge is mounted to the printing apparatus, a shape of the first horizontal portion has a longer length in the vertical direction than a length thereof in a width direction”. In paragraph 0092 of the specification a width w of the horizontal portion 808 is larger than a height h of the horizontal portion 808, which is contrary to the claim limitation. Further, in Figure 8D it is evident that the width is larger than the height of the horizontal portion 808. Thus, if one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed made the invention as described in the claims would not have the same results as the present invention as described in the specification.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "3" in “the second reservoir”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 12-13, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurobe (2009/0244181).
Regarding Claim 1, Kurobe teaches a cartridge (H1001, Fig. 10A) mountable to a printing apparatus (see Fig. 13) capable of performing printing by ejecting a liquid onto a print medium (108, Fig. 13) [Paragraphs 0002, 0053-0055], the cartridge (H1001) comprising: a first accommodation chamber (H1501, Fig. 5A) capable of accommodating the liquid [Paragraph 0055]; and a first channel (H2111, Fig. 5B) connecting the first accommodation chamber (H1501) and a printing element board (H1101, Fig. 12) including an element (H1103, Fig. 12) configured to apply an energy for ejecting the liquid to the liquid [Paragraphs 0057 and 0093], wherein in a state where the cartridge (H1001) is mounted to the printing apparatus (see Fig. 13), the first channel (H2111) includes a first horizontal portion (see Fig. 6C) extending along a horizontal direction [Paragraph 0094], a first connection portion (H2211, Fig. 5B) connected to the printing element board (H1101) and extending along a vertical direction [Paragraphs 0094-0095], and a first reservoir portion (S11, Fig. 6A) capable of storing a bubble, and as viewed along an extending direction in which the first horizontal portion (see Fig. 6C) extends, a width of the first reservoir portion (S11) is larger than a width of the first connection portion (H2211) [see Figs. 6A and 6C].
Regarding Claim 2, Kurobe teaches the cartridge (H1001), wherein the first horizontal portion (see Fig. 6C) has an angular portion (see Fig. 6A and 6C) as viewed along the extending direction in the state where the cartridge (H1001) is mounted to the printing apparatus (see Fig. 13) [see Figs. 6A and 6C].
Regarding Claim 4, Kurobe teaches the cartridge (H1001), wherein as viewed from vertically above in the state where the cartridge (H1001) is mounted to the printing apparatus (see Fig. 13), a width of an end portion of the first horizontal portion (see Fig. 6C) farther from the printing element board (H1101) is smaller than a width of an end portion of the first horizontal portion (see Fig. 6C) closer to the printing element board (H1101) [see Figs. 6A, 6C, and 12A].
Regarding Claim 5, Kurobe teaches the cartridge (H1001), wherein the end portion of the first horizontal portion (see Fig. 6C) farther from the printing element board (H1101] is disposed inside the first accommodation chamber (H1501) [see Figs. 5A-5B].
Regarding Claim 6, Kurobe teaches the cartridge (H1001), wherein the first reservoir portion (S11) has a tapered portion with an opening portion (see Fig. 6C) at an upper end thereof in the vertical direction and an opening portion (see Fig. 6C) at a lower end thereof in the state where the cartridge (H1001) is mounted to the printing apparatus (see Fig. 13), the opening portion (see Fig. 6C) at the upper end being larger than the opening portion (see Fig. 6C) at the lower end [see Fig. 6C].
Regarding Claim 12, Kurobe teaches the cartridge (H1001), wherein the cartridge includes a first member (see Figs. 5A-5B), and a second member (see Figs. 5A-5B) joined to the first member (see Fig. 5A), the first accommodation chamber (H1501) is formed in the first member (see Fig. 5A), the first channel (H2111) is formed in the first member (see Figs. 5A-5B) and the second member (see Figs. 5A-5B) [Paragraphs 0055, 0057 and 0093], and the first horizontal portion (see Fig. 6C) is formed at portions of the first member (see Figs. 5A-5B) and the second member (see Figs. 5A-5B) at which the first member (see Figs. 5A-5B)and the second member (see Figs. 5A-5B) are joined to each other [See Figs. 5A-5B and 6C].
Regarding Claim 13, Kurobe teaches the cartridge (H1001) [Paragraphs 0002, 0053-0055].
Kurobe fails to explicitly teach in the first embodiment the printing element board is disposed at a printing-element placement portion formed at the second member.
Kurobe further teaches in the third embodiment the printing element board (H1101) is disposed at a printing-element placement portion (see Fig. 9A) formed at the second member (see Figs. 8A-8B and 9A) [see Fig. 9A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the printing element board is disposed at a printing-element placement portion formed at the second member as taught by (insert reference name) for the purposes of substituting the printing element board of the third embodiment with the printing element board of the first embodiment.
Regarding Claim 28, Kurobe teaches the cartridge (H1001), wherein the cartridge (H1001) is capable of ejecting the liquid while reciprocally moving along a direction crossing the vertical direction and the extending direction in the state where the cartridge (H1001) is mounted to the printing apparatus (see Fig. 13) [Paragraphs 0067, 0123-0129].
Regarding Claim 29, Kurobe teaches a printing apparatus (see Fig. 13) capable of performing printing by ejecting a liquid onto a print medium (108, Fig. 13) [Paragraphs 00123-0129], comprising: a cartridge (H1001) [Paragraphs 0002, 0053-0055]; and a mount unit (see Fig. 13) configured such that the cartridge (H1001) is mountable to the mount (102, Fig. 13) [Paragraphs 0126-0127], wherein the cartridge (H1001) includes a first accommodation chamber (H1501, Fig. 5A) capable of accommodating the liquid [Paragraph 0055]; and a first channel (H2111, Fig. 5B) connecting the first accommodation chamber (H1501) and a printing element board (H1101, Fig. 12) including an element (H1103, Fig. 12) configured to apply an energy for ejecting the liquid to the liquid [Paragraphs 0057 and 0093], wherein in a state where the cartridge (H1001) is mounted to the printing apparatus (see Fig. 13), the first channel (H2111) includes a first horizontal portion (see Fig. 6C) extending along a horizontal direction [Paragraph 0094], a first connection portion (H2211, Fig. 5B) connected to the printing element board (H1101) and extending along a vertical direction [Paragraphs 0094-0095], and a first reservoir portion (S11, Fig. 6A) capable of storing a bubble, and as viewed along an extending direction in which the first horizontal portion (see Fig. 6C) extends, a width of the first reservoir portion (S11) is larger than a width of the first connection portion (H2211) [see Figs. 6A and 6C].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 and 14-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of claims 8 and 10-11 is the inclusion of the limitation of a cartridge that includes second reservoir portion having a tapered portion with an opening portion at an upper and lower end in a vertical direction in a state where the cartridge is mounted to a printing apparatus, the opening portion at the upper end is larger than the at the lower end. It is these limitations found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of claim(s) 9 is the inclusion of the limitation of a cartridge that includes a first partition partitioning a second reservoir portion into a plurality of spaces connected to each other. It is these limitations found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of claims 14-27 is the inclusion of the limitation of a cartridge that includes a second channel connecting a second accommodation chamber to a printing element board, wherein the second channel includes a second horizontal portion extending in an extending direction, a second connection portion connected to the printing element board along a vertical direction, and a third reservoir storing a bubble, and a width of the third reservoir is larger than a width of the second connection portion as viewed along the extending direction. It is these limitations found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/LISA SOLOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853