Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II, claims 6-20, in the reply filed on 7/27/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/27/26.
Drawings
Figures 1 and 5 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8. The claim recites, “… further comprising a third seal sandwiched …” It is unclear if this requires a first and second seal in addition to the third seal. For the purpose of substantive examination, Examiner will consider the third seal as not necessarily requiring a first or second seal. It is kindly recommended to amend the claim to read, “… comprising a first seal …”
Regarding claim 10. The claim recites, “… wherein the rear cover is provided with a second cooling channel …” It is unclear if this requires a first cooling channel in addition to the second cooling channel.
For the purpose of substantive examination, Examiner will consider the claim as if dependent upon claim 9, which properly introduces a first cooling channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 9-10, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 213845292 U to Lin.
Note: Reference is made to the attached translation of Lin.
Regarding claim 6. Lin teaches a furnace rear sealing device configured to seal a rear end of a furnace body (fig. 6, furnace tail cover 34 and associated parts), the furnace rear sealing device comprising:
a flange mounting plate (furnace tail inner flange 33) arranged on the rear end of the furnace body (p. 5 para. 2, “the furnace tail inner flange 33 is sleeved on the outer circumference of the cavity 2”);
a furnace rear flange (furnace tail outer flange 31) mounted on the flange mounting plate (p. 5 para. 2, “the furnace tail inner flange 33 and the furnace tail outer flange 31 are tightly set. similar to the furnace opening 1” see fig. 4); and
a rear cover (furnace tail cover 34) connected to the furnace rear flange (p. 5 para. 2, “between the furnace tail outer flange 31 and the furnace tail cover 34 is further provided with a sealing ring four 35, through the sealing ring four 35, realizing the sealing of the cavity 2.” Thus, the cover 34 and the flange 31 are substantially connected via seal 35) and configured to seal the rear end of the furnace body (see seal 35), the rear cover provided with an air pipe that communicates with a furnace tube in the furnace body (tail outlet 38 having nitrogen pipe 381 and furnace tail pipeline 382, see end of p. 5 para. 2).
Regarding claim 9. Lin teaches the furnace rear sealing device according to claim 6, wherein a side of the furnace rear flange facing the flange mounting plate is provided with a first cooling channel, the first cooling channel is configured to flow with coolant (p. 5 second to last paragraph, “the furnace tail outer flange 31 and the furnace tail inner flange 33 is also provided with hydrocooling 16.” See fig. 4 for further details of the hydrocooling structure).
Regarding claim 10. Lin teaches the furnace rear sealing device according to claim 9, wherein the rear cover is provided with a second cooling channel, a liquid inlet pipeline, and a liquid outlet pipeline, the liquid inlet pipeline and the liquid outlet pipeline are communicated with the second cooling channel, the second cooling channel is configured to flow with coolant (fig. 5, showing the hydrocooling 16, which is applied to the tail flanges 31, 32. See also p. 5 para. 1, “hydrocooling pipe 16 comprises a water inlet 161, water outlet 162 connecting pipe 163 and water cooling pipe 164. wherein the water cooling inner tube 164 respectively set on the furnace opening inner flange 14 and the furnace opening outer flange 11, water cooling inner tube 164 close to the sealing ring 15 of the part; the water inlet 161 is set on the furnace opening outer flange 11; the water outlet 162 is set on the furnace opening inner flange 14; the water cooling inner pipe 164 of the flange 14 in the furnace opening and the water cooling inner pipe 164 of the furnace opening outer flange 11 are further provided with a connecting pipe 163.”).
Regarding claim 19. The claim is rejected using substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claims 6 and 19, respectively and as set forth above, and further in view of US 20210078075 A1 to Woodard.
Regarding claim 7. Lin teaches the furnace rear sealing device according to claim 6, wherein the rear cover is provided with an inserting protrusion (fig. 6, supporting ring 36, p. 5 para. 2, “the supporting ring 36 is annular; one end of the supporting ring 36 is fixedly connected with the furnace tail cover 34, the furnace tail cover 34 and the cavity 2, the supporting ring 36 is located in the cavity 2, and the inserting protrusion is inserted into the furnace tube (p. 5 para. 2, “the outer diameter of the supporting ring 36 is less than the inner diameter of the inner layer cavity 21; the inner cavity 21 is sleeved on the supporting ring 36 periphery,” see also fig. 6, copied above);
the rear cover is further provided with an inserting groove (area around the supporting ring 36), the inserting groove is surrounding the inserting protrusion (area around the supporting ring 36 necessarily surrounds 36), and the furnace tube is inserted into the inserting groove (see fig. 6, copied above, where the inner layer cavity 21 is inserted into the space around ring 36).
But fails to teach the air pipe is inserted into the inserting protrusion
Woodard teaches a door’s air pipe extending into the chamber (fig. 3, see gas inlet 618 and outlet 620, which partially extend into the chamber 228).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Lin to implement suitable inlet and outlet ports, as taught by Woodard. With this modification, at least the furnace tail pipe 382 of Lin would be inserted into the supporting ring 36. This would provide the predictable result and benefit of providing a desired gas flow through the chamber of Lin, as suggested by Woodard in para. 71, “As illustrated in FIG. 3, process gas 71 may be supplied by an inlet 618 formed in door 602. Process gas 71 may form a flow 634 of gas that passes around parts 90 in work zone 228. Effluent 75 may be withdrawn from work zone 228 via one or more vacuum pumps (not shown) connected to outlet 620.”
Regarding claim 20. The claim is rejected using substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 7.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of CN 212610889 U to Wang.
Note: Reference is made to the attached translation of Wang.
Regarding claim 8. Lin teaches the furnace rear sealing device according to claim 6, further comprising a third seal sandwiched between the furnace rear flange and the rear cover (fig. 6, sealing ring 35; close up copied below),
wherein furnace rear flange is provided with a mating groove on one side facing the rear cover (flange 31 can be seen to have a groove housing the seal 35), the rear cover is provided with a mating surface on one side facing the furnace rear flange, the mating surface is configured to press the third seal to be secured to the mating groove (see close up of fig. 6 below, where the cover 34 presses the seal 35).
But fails to teach the mating surface as a mating protrusion, per se.
Wang teaches a door sealing surface being a protrusion (figs. 3-4, where the door 101 has a protruding surface in which the seal 303 is pressed, see in particular fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Lin to implement a door structure similar to Wang, in which the door has a protruding sealing surface. This would provide the predictable result and benefit of sealing the opening of Lin in a known way, as described in Wang on p. 6 para. 4.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of CN 205317037 U to Xu.
Note: Reference is made to the attached translation of Xu.
Regarding claim 11. Lin teaches the furnace rear sealing device according to claim 6,
But fails to teach wherein the rear cover is provided with a first mounting hole, the furnace rear flange is provided with a second mounting hole corresponding to the first mounting hole, the flange mounting plate is provided with a third mounting hole corresponding to the second mounting hole;
the first mounting hole, the second mounting hole, and the third mounting hole are configured to be inserted through with a connecting piece to securely connect the rear cover, the furnace rear flange, and the flange mounting plate.
Xu teaches a rear cover provided with a first mounting hole (fig. 3, sealing head 106), a furnace rear flange is provided with a second mounting hole corresponding to the first mounting hole (plate flange 103), the flange mounting plate is provided with a third mounting hole corresponding to the second mounting hole (flange 102, where the holes correspond, i.e. line up, for the fastener 205);
the first mounting hole, the second mounting hole, and the third mounting hole are configured to be inserted through with a connecting piece (fig. 3, fastener 205) to securely connect the rear cover, the furnace rear flange, and the flange mounting plate (p. 5 last paragraph, “In the first embodiment, the shell is fixed with a shell flange 102, sealing head 106 is fixed on a plate flange 103, flange 102 and plate flange 103 are fixedly connected by a fastener 205.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Lin to implement a suitable fastening means, as taught by Xu. This would provide the predictable result and benefit of connecting the various flanges and seals in a known way, as suggested by Xu in p. 5 last paragraph to p. 6 second paragraph.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 20170074588 A1 to Stuffer.
Regarding claim 12. Lin teaches the furnace rear sealing device according to claim 6,
But fails to teach wherein the rear cover is provided with a cooling cavity therein, the cooling cavity is configured to flow with coolant, a part of the cooling cavity is provided in a structure of the rear cover, the structure of the rear cover is configured to seal the rear end of the furnace body.
Stuffer teaches a cover is provided with a cooling cavity therein (fig. 4, door 225 with ), the cooling cavity is configured to flow with coolant (para. 40, “FIG. 4 is a side sectional view of vessel 105 in a horizontal configuration. FIG. 4 illustrates that the outer walls that comprise cylinder 107 and door 225 may be hollow. In other words, the outer walls of cylinder 107 and door 225 include inside channel 460, 465, respectively. The purpose of inside channel 460, 465 is to allow a liquid such as water to flow through. The purpose of allowing liquid to flow through channels 460, 465 is to cool the exterior of vessel 105.”), a part of the cooling cavity is provided in a structure of the cover (see fig. 4), the structure of the rear cover is configured to seal the end of the furnace body (para. 31, “Door 225 includes door section 215 and door rim 216. Door section 215 includes side section 268. Door rim 216 may include a seal (not shown) for enabling an airtight seal between door 225 and vessel 107 when vacuum furnace 100 is in use.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Lin to implement a suitable cooling cavity in the door, as taught by Stuffer. This would provide the predictable result and benefit of cooling the exterior of the vessel, as suggested by Stuffer in para. 40, cited above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13. The combination of Lin and Stuffer, applied to claim 12, represents the closest prior art of record to the claimed invention.
Modified Lin teaches the furnace rear sealing device according to claim 12,
wherein the cooling cavity comprises a second cavity (Stuffer fig. 4, 465)
a longitudinal section of the second cavity is perpendicular to an axial direction of the furnace tube (the longitudinal section of Stuffer’s 465 is substantially perpendicular to the axial direction of the furnace when applied to the device of Lin).
The prior art fails to teach, “wherein the cooling cavity comprises a first cavity communicating with the second cavity, the first cavity is arranged surrounding a circumference of the second cavity.”, in addition to the rest of the claim.
Instead, one of ordinary skill in the art would only have considered the suitable cooling chamber of Stuffer fig. 4 as having a single cavity 465. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an additional cavity which both communicates with and surrounds a circumference of the suitable cavity of Stuffer, as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 3460604 A, fig. 2 shows a copper tubing which is routed around a gasket of a door, see col. 3 ll. 10-15.
CN 114111347 A, fig. 5 shows a furnace bottom cover having a plurality of fan shaped segments, see p. 11 second to last paragraph of the attached translation.
CN 218602391 U, having a publicly accessible date of 3/10/23 (prior to the priority date of the instant application) but appearing to be from the same Applicant and cited in the Applicant’s 9/18/24 IDS as well as the written opinion of PCT/CN2024/098197. Does not teach the limitations of allowable claim 13, but instead teaches only a single cavity 33, see fig. 6 below.
/KURT J WOLFORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN S ANDERSON II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762