Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recess 25 of amended claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Recess 25 is not shown in any of the drawings nor mentioned in the specification. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The recess 25/25’ now claimed in amended claim 1 is not mentioned described in the specification, nor is it shown or labeled in the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US-20190307076-A1) in view of Jensen (US-7043877-B1) and Holbrook (US-10442617-B1).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a detachable flowerpot, comprising a flowerpot body (1), the bottom of the flowerpot body (1, see figs 1-4) being provided with a pot bottom (13, see fig 3),
a planting chamber being formed inside the flowerpot body (see figs 1-4),
characterized in that the flowerpot body (1) is composed of a plurality of pot rings (3-6, see figs 1-4), the pot rings (3-6, see fig 4) can be nested together,
wherein the plurality of pot rings (3-6) after assembly have an inverted truncated cone structure, with a conical surface inclined outwards from the upper end on its periphery (see figs 1-3).
Smith fails to disclose the pot rings being detachable, and a detachable structure is arranged between the adjacent pot rings; and the detachable structure comprises a first connecting portion (2) arranged at a lower end of the pot ring (11) and a second connecting portion (3) arranged at an upper end of the pot ring (11) and adapted to the first connecting portion (2), the first connecting portion (2) and the second connecting portion (3) are connected and fixed, and a sealing structure is arranged between the first connecting portion (2) and the second connecting portion (3), the first connecting portion (2) is provided with a hooked portion (21') and a recess portion (25'), and the second connecting portion (3') is provided with a groove (31') and a protrusion portion (33') adapted to the hooked portion (21'): The recess portion (25) is fit within the protrusion portion (33);the lower surface of the hooked portion (21) is a first inclined plane (21a): the protrusion portion (33) is provided with a second inclined plane (33a) in a same inclined direction as the inclined plane (21a) after the first connecting portion (2) and the second connecting portion (3) are fixed, an accommodating chamber (4a) is formed between the recess portion (25) and the second inclined plane (33a) of the protrusion portion (33); and a sealing ring (4) is arranged inside the accommodating chamber (4a): the first connecting portion (2) is provided with a first step surface (22), and the second connecting portion (3) is provided with a second step surface (32) adapted to the first step surface (22): and wherein the plurality of detachable pot rings (11) after assembly have an inverted truncated cone structure, with a conical surface (1la) inclined outwards from the upper end on its periphery.
Jensen teaches characterized in that the flowerpot body (1) is composed of a plurality of detachable pot rings (12a-d, see figs 21-22), the detached pot rings (11) can be nested together (see fig 25), and a detachable structure is arranged between the adjacent pot rings (pegs 30 and holes 32, see figs 5-6); and the detachable structure comprises a first connecting portion (pegs 30, see fig 6) arranged at a lower end of the pot ring (see fig 6) and a second connecting portion (holes 32, see fig 5) arranged at an upper end of the pot ring (see fig 5) and adapted to the first connecting portion, the first connecting portion (30) and the second connecting portion (32) are connected and fixed (see fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the pot of Smith with the detachable pot rings of Jensen with a reasonable expectation of success because this will allow for a more compact nesting configuration for easier transport or storage and this will allow for easier cleaning of the pot.
Holbrook teaches a sealing structure is arranged between the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion (hook, groove and sealing O-ring 178, see col 6, lines 25-50 and annotated figure 5 below), the first connecting portion (174) is provided with a hooked portion and a recess portion (see annotated fig 5) and the second connecting portion (172) is provided with a groove and a protrusion portion adapted to the hooked portion (see annotated fig 5); the recess portion is fit within the protrusion portion (see annotated fig 5); the lower surface of the hooked portion is a first inclined plane (see annotated fig 5); the protrusion portion is provided with a second inclined plane in a same inclined direction as the inclined plane (see annotated fig 5); after the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion are fixed, an accommodating chamber (chamber for 178, see annotated fig 5 below) is formed between the recess portion and the second inclined plane of the protrusion portion (see annotated fig 5); and a sealing ring (sealing O ring 178, see fig 5 and col 6, lines 25-50) is arranged inside the accommodating chamber; the first connecting portion (72B, see fig 3B) is provided with a first step surface (76B, see fig 3B), and the second connecting portion (70B, see fig 3B) is provided with a second step surface (67B, see fig 3B) adapted to the first step surface.
Annotated fig 5
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the connection system with the connections and sealing O ring and of Holbrook with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the planters stay securely connected so that the plants have a stable growing environment.
Regarding claim 10, the modified reference teaches the detachable flowerpot according to
claim 1, and Smith further discloses characterized in that the periphery of the pot ring is a conical surface with an upper end inclined outwards (see figs 1-3).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US-20190307076-A1) in view of Jensen (US-7043877-B1) and Holbrook (US-10442617-B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Peterson (US 9521811 B2).
Regarding claim 3, the modified reference teaches the detachable flowerpot according to
claim 1, and Holbrook further teaches characterized in that both the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion are of ring structures (see figs 1-2 and 4, ring shaped connections).
The modified reference fails to teach the ring structure of the first connecting portion is provided with a gap.
Peterson teaches the ring structure of the first connecting portion is provided with a gap (see fig 1, ring portion has gap between each level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the gap between connecting portions as taught by Peterson with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide increased airflow throughout the planting container and easier disassembly of the pot for nesting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While Applicant did submit a “Remarks” section, Applicant merely restates the amended claims
in bold and does not provide any arguments of substance. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642