DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a Final Office Action for application no. 18/738,060 for a BEAM CLAMP, AND A MOUNTING ASSEMBLY, filed on 6/10/2024. Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 12-19 and 26-31 are pending. This correspondence is in response to applicant’s reply filed on 3/17/2026. Claims 10, 12-19, 26, 30 and 31 are withdrawn.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/627,859, filed on 1/18/2022.
Applicant is advised of possible benefits under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f), wherein an application for patent filed in the United States may be entitled to claim priority to an application filed in a foreign country.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the direction from the leading edge" therein. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haddock (U.S. Pub. 5,228,248) in view of Haddock et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,502,457).
Regarding clam 1, Haddock (‘248) teaches a beam clamp (54) for attachment to a flange (14) of a structural building member and from which to support or brace a service component, the beam clamp comprising: a clamp body, the clamp body includes including: a first jaw section that includes at least one mounting through hole, a second jaw section that has a pair of lateral faces (sides, one shown below), a joining section that interconnects the first and second jaw sections, the first and second jaw sections, and the joining section of the clamp body being formed of a single piece of material, a transverse opening that is to receive the flange, the transverse opening being defined by the first and second jaw sections and the joining section, and a contact surface on the second jaw section, the outer peripheral edges of the contact surface being defined on two sides by vertices (edges) formed with the lateral faces and on a third side by a leading edge of the second jaw section, wherein in use of the beam clamp, the contact surface is in contact with the flange of the structural member; and at least one set screw that is to be installed in the mounting through hole, the set screw having a tip with a leading end with a cross sectional area that is less than the cross sectional area of the shank of the set screw, the cross sectional areas being in planes that are transverse to the longitudinal direction of the shank, whereby, in use of the beam clamp, the flange is secured within transverse opening between the tip of the at least one set screw and the contact surface, but does not teach that the clamp body is made of hardened steel that has a minimum hardness of 150 BHN and wherein the contact surface has surface irregularities formed on at least a portion of the contact surface that extends the width between the vertices and from the leading edge, providing a roughness that enhances engagement of the second jaw section with the flange.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the invention of Haddock (‘248) where the clamp body is made of hardened steel that has a minimum hardness of 150 BHN, in order to provide a strong and durable structural member and further, discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Furthermore, Haddock (‘457) teaches a clamp (142) wherein the contact surface has surface irregularities (Fig. 152) formed on at least a portion of the contact surface, providing a roughness that enhances engagement of the contact surface. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the invention of Haddock (‘248) wherein the contact surface has surface irregularities formed on at least a portion of the contact surface that extends the width between the vertices and from the leading edge, providing a roughness that enhances engagement of the contact surface second jaw section with the flange in order to securely grip the flange and prevent undesired movement, in view of Haddock (‘457).
[AltContent: textbox (Mounting through hole)][AltContent: textbox (Mounting through hole)][AltContent: textbox (Joining section)][AltContent: textbox (Clamp body)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Tip with leading end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd jaw section)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1st jaw section)][AltContent: textbox (tip)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Longitudinal direction)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lateral face )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mounting through hole)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Contact surface)][AltContent: textbox (Set screw)]
[AltContent: textbox (shank)][AltContent: textbox (Leading edge of 2nd jaw section)]
[AltContent: textbox (Transverse opening)]
Regarding claim 2, Haddock (‘248) and Haddock (‘457) teach the clamp of claim 1, wherein Haddock (‘457) teaches that the surface irregularities are in the form of one or more sets of alternating ridges and furrows that are formed in the contact surface (see Fig. 8A).
Regarding claims 5-7, Haddock (‘248) and Haddock (‘457) teach the clamp of claim 1, but do not teach that the amplitude of the surface irregularities is less than 1 mm, the ratio of the width of the second jaw section between the pair of lateral faces to the minimum separation of the first and second jaw sections is at least 1.25:1 or that the ratio of the depth of the second jaw section to the minimum separation of the first and second jaw sections is at least 1.5:1. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the invention of Haddock (‘248) and Haddock (‘457) wherein the amplitude of the surface irregularities is less than 1 mm, the ratio of the width of the second jaw section between the pair of lateral faces to the minimum separation of the first and second jaw sections is at least 1.25:1 and the ratio of the depth of the second jaw section to the minimum separation of the first and second jaw sections is at least 1.5:1 in order to provide a gripping surface with a firm hold, and further, discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 27, Haddock (‘248) and Haddock (‘457) teach the clamp of claim 1, wherein Haddock (‘248) teaches that the second jaw section includes at least one mounting through hole (see figure above).
Regarding claim 28, Haddock (‘248) and Haddock (‘457) teach the clamp of claim 27, wherein Haddock (‘248) teaches that there is provided a contact surface on the first jaw section, but does not teach that the contact surface is formed with surface irregularities providing a roughness that enhances engagement of the contact surface with the flange. Haddock (‘457) teaches a contact surface has surface irregularities (Fig. 152) providing a roughness that enhances engagement of the contact surface with the flange in order to prevent slippage. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable degree of success, to construct the invention of Haddock (‘248) and Haddock (‘457), wherein the contact surface on the first jaw section is formed with surface irregularities providing a roughness that enhances engagement of the contact surface with the flange in order to securely grip the flange and prevent undesired movement.
Although claim 29 contains purely functional limitations, it is nonetheless rejected because as best understood, Haddock (‘248) and Haddock (‘457) teach the clamp of claim 28, wherein Haddock (‘248) teaches that the clamp body can be mounted in either of two orientations (through one of the first or second jaw sections) on the flange and a set screw extends through either mounting through hole, depending on which of the two contact surfaces is to be in contact with the flange.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7 and 27-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 May 20, 2026