DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 8/5/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by McCullough (US 20020179155 A1).
Regarding claim 1, McCullough discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising:
a chamber (12) that provides a processing space configured to perform a process on a substrate coated with a processing solution or organic solvent by using a fluid in a supercritical state; and
a fluid supply unit configured to supply the fluid to the chamber, wherein the fluid supply unit includes:
a fluid storage (14) configured to store the fluid;
a main supply line connecting the fluid storage to the chamber (Fig);
a pump (20) provided on the main supply line to pressurize the fluid in the fluid storage and supply the fluid toward the chamber;
a buffer tank (16) provided at a rear end of the pump on the main supply line and configured to accommodate the fluid; and
a bypass line (26) bypassing the buffer tank to connect the pump to the chamber.
Regarding claim 2, McCullough discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the bypass line branches off from the main supply line between the pump and the buffer tank and is merged with the main supply line between the buffer tank and the chamber (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, McCullough discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a first orifice (orifice of the valve 24) between the buffer tank and the chamber on the main supply line, wherein the bypass line is merged with the main supply line of a front end of the first orifice (it is inherent that the valve 24 has a front end of a first orifice; para. 21).
Regarding claim 4, McCullough discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a first orifice (orifice of the valve 24) between the buffer tank and the chamber on the main supply line, wherein the bypass line is merged with the main supply line of a rear end of the first orifice (it is inherent that the valve 24 has a rear end of a first orifice; para. 21).
Regarding claim 5, McCullough discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 4, further comprising a second orifice (orifice connected to valve 22) on the bypass line.
Regarding claim 6, McCullough discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein, when the fluid is supplied toward the chamber and pressurized to a predetermined process pressure (abstract and para. 11), a first pressurization step of supplying the fluid from the buffer tank toward the chamber (para. 11), and a second pressurization step of supplying the fluid toward the chamber through the bypass line are provided (para. 24) (note: the valves 22, 24, 28, and pump 20 can be operated manually by the operator and therefore can be adjusted to perform the claimed functions; para. 23).
Regarding claim 7, McCullough discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 6, wherein a converting point at which the first pressurization step is converted to the second pressurization step is determined by at least one of a predetermined time of the first pressurization step or the second pressurization step, a pressure value inside the chamber, a pressure change rate inside the chamber, a pressure value inside the buffer tank, a pressure change rate inside the buffer tank, and a pressure difference between the chamber and the buffer tank (note: the valves 22, 24, 28, and pump 20 can be operated manually by the operator and therefore can be adjusted to perform the claimed functions at a predetermined time; para. 23).
Regarding claim 8, McCullough discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein, when the pressure inside the chamber reaches a predetermined pressure and a process for the substrate is performed, the fluid is supplied toward the chamber through the bypass line and the fluid is discharged from the chamber (para. 28) (note: the valves 22, 24, 28, and pump 20 can be operated manually by the operator and therefore can be adjusted to perform the claimed functions; para. 23).
Regarding claim 9, McCullough discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein, when the fluid is discharged from an inside of the chamber, the fluid is discharged from the inside of the chamber and fluid is supplied to the buffer tank from the fluid storage (para. 30; step 6) (note: the valves 22, 24, 28, and pump 20 can be operated manually by the operator and therefore can be adjusted to perform the claimed functions; para. 23).
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762