DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, line 3 recites “the ground”; claim 5, line 3 recites “the one side; the other side”; claim 6, line 2 recites “the moisture”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Park (KR1020160023346) in view of Bartlett (US 2011/0177215). A copy of Park (KR1020160023346) was included with the IDS submitted on 6/10/2024.
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Park teaches a double-sided induction range system (Abstract, pair of inductions) comprising: a main body portion (Figs 1-6, foldable section 20, Pg 4); a first induction unit (Fig 2, left side induction heating portion 14, Pg 4) coupled to the main body portion (20) to be hingedly rotatable (Figs 1, 2, shows rotated positions) and heating one side of a pan (bread holder 30) for induction by inducing a magnetic field through a first inner surface; a second induction unit (Fig 2, right side induction heating portion 14, Pg 4) coupled to the main body portion (20) to be hingedly rotatable (Figs 1, 2, shows rotated positions) and heating the other side of the pan (30) by inducing a magnetic field through a second inner surface; an oil collection bin (breadcrumb supporting board 40, which is configured receiving crumbs or oil) received inside the main body portion (20) and collecting moisture and oil discharged from the double-sided pan (30) during cooking. Park discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly showing the pan is a double-sided pan having sides that are heated inducing a magnetic field through a first and second inner surface; and a single control unit electrically connected to each of the first induction unit and the second induction unit.
However, Bartlett discloses the pan is a double-sided pan having sides (Figs 1, 6, toasting iron 20, platens 21, 22, 0045, 0045) that are heated inducing a magnetic field through a first and second inner surface (0026, oscillating magnetic field causes power in the magnetic field to be converted to heat in the ferromagnetic platens due to hysteresis); and a single control unit electrically connected to (0032, the apparatus preferably comprises control means for varying the temperature of the platens in accordance with the temperature of the food product) each of the first induction unit and the second induction unit (Fig 6, pair of flat induction coils 50, 0056) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the double-sided induction range system of Park having a pan silent to a double-sided pan with the pan is a double-sided pan having sides that are heated inducing a magnetic field through a first and second inner surface of Bartlett for the purpose of providing a known toasting iron configuration that allows heat from induction coils to heat to both sides of a food (0008, 0025, 0026), thereby improving the overall versatility of the device.
Additionally, it also would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the double-sided induction range system of Park silent to a single control unit with the single control unit electrically connected to each of the first induction unit and the second induction unit of Bartlett for the purpose of providing a known control means that controls the inductions coils to varying the temperature of the platens in accordance with the temperature of the food product, thereby improving the overall convenience of the device.
With respect to the limitations of claims 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7, Park teaches when the first induction unit faces vertically upward through a hinge rotation and the first inner surface is positioned perpendicular to the ground, the second induction unit is arranged such that the second inner surface and the first inner surface face with each other, and a heating groove portion receiving the double-sided pan is formed between the first induction unit and the second induction unit (see figures 1, 2);
when the first induction unit is horizontally arranged by a hinge rotation such that the first inner surface faces vertically upward, the second induction unit is positioned such that an angle between the first inner surface and the second inner surface is between 30 degrees and 90 degrees (hinged connection allows left side induction heating portion 14 to lay flay while right side induction heating portion 14 can be in an angled position between 30 degrees and 90 degrees;
the first inner surface and the second inner surface include a magnetic field transmission plate (side heating portion 14 covering induction 10, Fig 2, Pg 4);
that a separation distance between the first inner surface and the second inner surface is greater than a distance between the one side and the other side of the double-sided pan (Fig 1, central gap is larger than thickness of the side heating portion 14);
that the oil collection bin is drawn in or out of the main body portion in a sliding manner (see figures 5, 6).
With respect to the limitations of claim 6, Park teaches an oil receiving portion (side surfaces of heating portions 14) receiving the moisture and the oil generated in a cooking material is formed in the double-sided pan, and a linear opening into which the oil receiving portion is inserted (Figs 5, 6, opening for breadcrumb supporting board 40). Additionally, Bartlett discloses a curved mounting surface stably mounting (Figs 5, 6, rod 14, 0044) the double-sided pan (21, 22) on the main body portion are formed on a front surface of the main body portion.
With respect to the limitations of claim 8, Park discloses the claimed invention except for a temperature sensor portion measuring a temperature of the double-sided pan is disposed in at least one of the first induction unit and the second induction unit.
However, Bartlett discloses a temperature sensor portion (infrared temperature detector 61, 0057) measuring a temperature of the double-sided pan (21, 22) is disposed in at least one of the first induction unit and the second induction unit (coils 60) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the double-sided induction range system of Park silent to a temperature sensor with the temperature sensor portion measuring a temperature of the double-sided pan is disposed in at least one of the first induction unit and the second induction unit of Bartlett for the purpose of providing a known temperature sensor configuration that allows a temperature of the device to be monitored (0057).
With respect to the limitations of claim 3 and the limitations of how the device is arranged to allow for “when the first induction unit is horizontally arranged by a hinge rotation such that the first inner surface faces vertically upward, the second induction unit is positioned such that an angle between the first inner surface and the second inner surface is between 30 degrees and 90 degrees” is directed to functional language and the claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in term of structure rather than function (MPEP 2144).
While intended use recitations and other types of functional language cannot be entirely disregarded. However, in apparatus, article, and composition claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). See also MPEP § 2114.
The manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/28/2026