DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka et al. (US 2019/0393556) in view of Qin et al. (CN 106 099 189), machine translation.
Regarding claims 1 and 6-9, Matsuoka teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte solution comprising:
a lithium salt (abstract);
organic solvent (para 0036-0037);
triphenyl phosphate, (chemical formula 1) (para 0404); and
2,6-di-tert-butyl-p-cresol (para 0055).
Matsuoka does not expressly teach an amount of triphenyl phosphate.
Qin, directed to the safety of an electrolyte, teaches triphenyl phosphate used in an amount of 5-10 wt.% (para 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to turn to the prior art for an express teaching of express amounts of triphenyl phosphate; moreover, used in the above amounts when used as a flame-retardant (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Matsuoka teaches vinylene carbonate (para 0046) used in an amount of 0.5-4 vol% (para 0047), which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of 0.01-5 wt.%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited concentration because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "[ A ] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 15, Matsuoka teaches battery casing 110, an electrode assembly (sequentially stacked positive electrode 150, separator 170, and negative electrode 160) (para 0382) and the above electrolyte solution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723