DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This communication is a First Office Action Non-Final Rejection on the merits.
Claim(s) 32-48 is/are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 34-35, 40, and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the tie". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, “the tie” is construed as the elongate length of the sterilized textile material.
Claim 35 recites the limitation "the tie". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, “the tie” is construed as the elongate length of the sterilized textile material
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the sterilized, reusable textile item comprises a textile article used in foodservice". The sterilized textile item is not recited as “reusable” previously, making the limitation confusing. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is construed as “the sterilized textile item comprises a reusable textile article used in foodservice”
Claim 43 recites the limitation "the sterilized, reusable textile item comprises a textile article used in healthcare". The sterilized textile item is not recited as “reusable” previously, making the limitation confusing. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is construed as “the sterilized textile item comprises a reusable textile article used in healthcare”
All dependent claims of the above claims inherit all of the limitations and thus are likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Friends of the Alameda Animal Shelter (FAAS)” (“Wrapping Surgical Gowns”, a YouTube video posted 5 March 2019; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2PT4XE2iQQ ; hereinafter “FAAS”) in view of Engers Fernandez (“346 Wrapping”, a YouTube video posted 9 May 2013; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzHCk3OTqJY ; hereinafter “Fernandez”).
Regarding claim 32, FAAS discloses a method, comprising:
(a) inserting a sterilized textile item (Surgical gown placed on the table on top of the first wrap, considered a bag, in 4:42) through an open end of a bag (first wrap placed below the surgical gown, in 4:42) into an interior space of the bag and closing the open end of the bag such that the bag completely contains the item within the interior space (as shown in 5:24), the bag comprising a sterilized textile material defining the interior space of the bag (the bag is made of sterilized textile material);
(b) folding a sheet of a sterilized textile material (second wrap upon which the bag is placed, in 5:40) about the bag into a configuration such that the folded sheet of textile material defines an envelope that entirely envelops the bag (as shown in 6:27).
Timestamp 4:24
Timestamp 5:24
Timestamp 5:40
Timestamp 6:27
FAAS does not disclose the method comprising
(c) securing the folded sheet of material in the configuration enveloping of the bag using an elongate length of a sterilized textile material.
However, Fernandez discloses the method comprising
(c) securing the folded sheet of material in the configuration enveloping of the bag using an elongate length of a sterilized textile material (see timestamp 2:17 below).
Timestamp 2:17
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method, as disclosed by FAAS, to comprise the step of securing the folded sheet of material in the configuration enveloping of the bag using an elongate length of a sterilized textile material, as taught by Fernandez, with the motivation to further secure the folded sheet of material from unfolding.
Regarding claim 33, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 32, further comprising before said steps (a), (b), and (c), sterilizing the textile item, sterilizing the sheet to be folded to define the envelope, and sterilizing the tie by washing, heating, or washing and heating (it is well known to one having ordinary skill in the art that surgical textile items like those of FAAS and Fernandez is sterilized by washing and heating).
Regarding claim 34, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 33, wherein the sterilizing of the textile item, the sterilizing of the sheet, and the sterilizing of the tie are performed in the same process (it is well known to one having ordinary skill in the art that surgical textile items like those of FAAS and Fernandez can be sterilized in the same process or in separate processes).
Regarding claim 35, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 33, wherein the sterilizing of the textile item, the sterilizing of the sheet, and the sterilizing of the tie are performed in different processes (it is well known to one having ordinary skill in the art that surgical textile items like those of FAAS and Fernandez can be sterilized in the same process or in separate processes).
Regarding claim 36, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 32, further comprising after said steps (a), (b), and (c), and after the textile item has been unpacked and used, sterilizing the textile item, sterilizing the sheet to be folded to define the envelope, and sterilizing the tie by washing, heating, or washing and heating (it is well known to one having ordinary skill in the art that surgical textile items like those of FAAS and Fernandez are to be sterilized after each use).
Regarding claim 37, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 36, wherein the sterilizing of the textile item, the sterilizing of the sheet, and the sterilizing of the tie are performed in the same process (it is well known to one having ordinary skill in the art that surgical textile items like those of FAAS and Fernandez can be sterilized in the same process or in separate processes).
Regarding claim 38, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 36, wherein the sterilizing of the textile item, the sterilizing of the sheet, and the sterilizing of the tie are performed in different processes (it is well known to one having ordinary skill in the art that surgical textile items like those of FAAS and Fernandez can be sterilized in the same process or in separate processes).
Regarding claim 39, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 32.
FAAS does not disclose the method comprising repackaging the textile item, comprising:
(a) inserting the textile item through an open end of a bag into an interior space of the bag and closing the open end of the bag such that the bag completely contains the item within the interior space, the bag comprising a textile material;
(b) folding a sheet of a textile material about the bag into a configuration such that the folded sheet of textile material defines an envelope that entirely envelops the bag; and
(c) securing the folded sheet of material in the configuration enveloping of the bag.
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified FAAS to comprise the above steps, as it is a simple repetition of adding another layer of wrapping to provide further protection. FAAS discloses wrapping an item twice, making it obvious to repeat the process once more to provide additional protection.
Regarding claim 40, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 32, wherein the sterilized, reusable textile item comprises a textile article used in foodservice (it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify FAAS’s item, a surgical gown, to be any other item that requires sterile protection, such as a textile article used in foodservice).
Regarding claim 41, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 40, wherein the textile article comprises an apron (it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify FAAS’s item, a surgical gown, to be any other item that requires sterile protection, such as an apron).
Regarding claim 42, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 40, wherein the textile article comprises a head covering (it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify FAAS’s item, a surgical gown, to be any other item that requires sterile protection, such as a head covering).
Regarding claim 43, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 32, wherein the sterilized, reusable textile item comprises a textile article used in healthcare (surgical gown, as shown by FAAS).
Regarding claim 44, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 43, wherein the textile article comprises a gown (surgical gown, as shown by FAAS).
Regarding claim 45, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 43, wherein the textile article comprising a surgical drape (surgical gown, as shown by FAAS).
Regarding claim 46, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 43, wherein the textile article comprises scrubs (surgical gown, as shown by FAAS).
Regarding claim 47, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 43, wherein the textile article comprises a sanitary piece of textile clothing worn by a healthcare provider (surgical gown, as shown by FAAS).
Regarding claim 48, modified FAAS discloses the method of claim 43, wherein the textile article comprises a sanitary piece of textile clothing worn by a healthcare patient (surgical gown, as shown by FAAS).
Conclusion
/HIMCHAN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3731