DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 26 January 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Acknowledgement of applicant’s election of species A is acknowledged.
Specification
The specification is objected to for the following informalities:
The title is not descriptive. Examiner suggests emphasizing the claimed floating buck converter.
¶7 is a run on sentence and not proper English grammar. Applicant is cordially reminded they are only limited to one sentence in the claims.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
Figure 1 is objected to because the unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 12 June 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 1, 4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotowski (US 20140340943 A1) in view of Herfurth (US 20160294282)
As to claim 1, Kotowski discloses An optional unit for a liquid ejection apparatus attached to a liquid ejection apparatus for use, comprising (see image below): a rectifier circuit to which a commercial power supply is input and which outputs a rectified voltage signal, a first drive power output circuit to which the rectified voltage signal is input and which outputs a first drive power signal, and a first drive unit which is driven by the first drive power signal, wherein the first drive power output circuit includes
Kotowski does not explicitly teach a first capacitor, a second capacitor, one end of the first capacitor, one end of the second capacitor, , the other end of the first capacitor. However, input and output capacitors are known in the art as shown by
Hefurth teaches one end of the first capacitor (C1), a second capacitor,(C2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use input and output capacitors as disclosed in Hefurth to improve voltage stability..
As to claim 4, Kotowski in view of Herfurth makes obvious further comprising: a second drive power output circuit to which the rectified voltage signal is input and which outputs a second drive power signal; and a second drive unit which is driven by the second drive power signal, wherein the second drive power output circuit includes a third capacitor, a fourth capacitor, a second inductor, a second diode, and a third switching element, one end of the third capacitor, a cathode terminal of the second diode, and one end of the second inductor are electrically coupled to a fifth node, the other end of the second inductor and one end of the fourth capacitor are electrically coupled to a sixth node, the other end of the fourth capacitor, an anode terminal of the second diode, and one end of the third switching element are electrically coupled to a seventh node, the other end of the third capacitor and the other end of the third switching element are electrically coupled to an eighth node, the rectified voltage signal is supplied to the fifth node, and the second drive unit has one end electrically coupled to the sixth node and the other end electrically coupled to the seventh node. Though this is not explicitly taught, the courts have held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04 VI, B).
As to claim 6, Kotowski in view of Herfurth teaches wherein the first drive unit is a heater (Broadly interpreted, an LED generates light, which is a form of energy that heats things. For example.it is warmer in sunnier spots than shady spots).
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotowski (US 20140340943 A1) in view of Herfurth (US 20160294282) and Qahouq (US 20090085536).
As to claim 2, Kotowswki in view of Herfurth does not teach wherein the first drive power output circuit includes a second switching element, one end of the second switching element is electrically coupled to the third node, and the other end of the second switching element is electrically coupled to the fourth node.
Cahouq teaches wherein the first drive power output circuit includes a second switching (106b, parallel to 106a) element, one end of the second switching element is electrically coupled to the third node, and the other end of the second switching element is electrically coupled to the fourth node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device above to use parallel switches as disclosed in Cahouq to increase maximum current capacity of the switches..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 112(a) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3, the prior art fails to disclose: “wherein the one end and the other end of the second switching element are controlled to be discontinuous in a period in which the one end and the other end of the first switching element are controlled to be continuous, and the one end and the other end of the first switching element are controlled to be discontinuous in a period in which the one end and the other end of the second switching element are controlled to be continuous.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Please note: while objected or allowed claims have been indicated, only the presented claims have been examined for compliance with form and 35 USC 112 consideration. As a reminder, claims that are dependent upon objected claims still require examination for form and 35 USC 112 issues even if they overcome 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections. Similarly, amendments incorporating allowable subject matter into independent claims requires reconsideration for dependent claim form and any possible 35 USC 112 issues that arise through amendments even if the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections are overcome. As such, applicant is advised that while examiner can enter previously allowed claims or previously objected claims rewritten into independent form after final rejection, any other claims may not be entered.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839