DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 2, 7a, 7b, 8a, and 8b appear to be color photographs and Figs. 3-5 appear to be CAD renderings. These figures do not provide sufficient clarity or reproducibility. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second coverboard" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what structure is being referenced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagarajan et al., US 2024/0392570.
Regarding claims 1 and 9:
Nagarajan discloses a low-slope roofing system (para. 0114) and the method of making it, comprising:
a geogrid layer (126 and 128, a reinforcement layer, para. 0150), and
a first coverboard layer (102), wherein the geogrid layer is attached to the first coverboard layer (via fasteners 112 and/or adhesive 129, refer to Fig. 2B and para. 0144).
Regarding claims 2-4 and 10-12:
Nagarajan discloses wherein the geogrid layer is attached to the first coverboard layer with adhesive (para. 0144) and/or fasteners (112, the fasteners are driven through the layers into the corrugated substrate further attaching the layers together).
Regarding claims 5 and 13:
Nagarajan discloses wherein the fasteners are plate fasteners (refer to Fig. 1B)
Regarding claims 6-7 and 14-15:
Nagarajan discloses a second coverboard layer (121, Fig. 2B) that is water resistant (via its upper membrane 110, para. 0008).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarajan et al., US 2024/0392570.
Regarding claims 8 and 16:
Nagarajan discloses wherein the geogrid layer has a thickness between 3 and 5mm (para. 0166) overlapping with the claimed range of 3.25 and 4.5mm.
In the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRENT W HERRING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633