DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Entered
This Office action is responsive to the Amendment filed on December 12th, 2025. The examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 5, and 9. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 12th, 2025 with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered. The claim objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 12th, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauser (US 20190015277 A1) in view of Brykalski (US 20110107514 A1), and further in view of Biondo (US 20020104535 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sauser discloses a system (patient support system 10, fig. 1), the system comprising: one or more radar sensors (“radio detection and ranging (RADAR) apparatus”; radar antenna 12, para. [0076, 0102]) configured to: transmit a radar signal towards a patient on a patient bed (emit a pulse 14 … patient … mattress, para. [0100], fig. 1); and receive a reflection of the radar signal from the patient (reflected signal 18 … detected, para. [0100], fig. 1); and circuitry (circuitry 20, 22, 24, para. [0101]) configured to: receive data from the one or more radar sensors indicative of the reflection of the radar signal from the patient (received analog reflected signal 18 … data, para. [0101]); determine a targeted body part of the patient (targets 16 (e.g., which portions of the patient 16); only targets 16 producing a Doppler shift, para. [0178-0179]); determine, based on the data from the one or more radar sensors, a location of the targeted body part (signals … body contour mapping; location … of patient’s legs, arms …, para. [0185, 0185]); and determine, based on the data from the one or more radar sensors, a position of the patient on the patient bed (“signals 18 … body contour mapping … used by circuitry 24 … determining whether the patient is … lying on their stomach … proper position”; “lying on their stomach … determined from the body contour mapping”, para. [0070, 0185, 0187]).
Sauser further discloses determining whether the patient is at risk of developing pressure ulcers and a microclimate management (MCM) layer 114 above the upper layer of bladders 30 (para. [0069, 0142], fig. 10C).
Sauser does not expressly disclose a system for managing a microclimate of a patient; and circuitry configured to determine a targeted body part of the patient for microclimate management; and control, based on the determined location of the targeted body part, an airflow to the targeted body part to provide microclimate management beneath the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski directed to climate control of medical beds discloses a system for managing a microclimate of a patient (climate control systems, para. [0075]); and circuitry (“controller”, para. [0012, 0015]) configured to determine a targeted body part of the patient for microclimate management (climate control zones, “targeted portions”; “high pressure, temperature, friction … regions … ulcers”, para. [0080, 0082, 0111]); and control, based on the determined location of the targeted body part, an airflow to the targeted body part to provide microclimate management beneath the targeted body part (“occupant situated on top of the topper member”; “air … delivered through the topper member 20 towards … back of head”; “zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0011, 0082-0083, 0100, 0143]). Brykalski further discloses that the conditioner mat or topper member for a bed (e.g., hospital or other medical bed) provides certain climate-control features to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort (para. [0007]).
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser to further comprise a system for managing a microclimate of a patient; and circuitry configured to determine a targeted body part of the patient for microclimate management; and control, based on the determined location of the targeted body part, an airflow to the targeted body part to provide microclimate management beneath the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of providing a conditioner mat with certain climate-control features to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Sauser, as modified by Brykalski hereinabove, does not disclose that if the patient is lying in a prone position, determine bed parameters for prone patient breathing.
However, Biondo directed to a pulmonary therapy apparatus including a proning device for turning a patient discloses a patient in a prone position (fig. 7, “prone position”, para. [0105, 0118]), and circuitry (air supply and control module 305 & controller 307, para. [0109, 0125-0126]) configured to determine bed parameters for prone patient breathing (“reducing concentrated pressure applications … prone position … bladders provide therapy … provide chest binding and compression … force air downwardly into the patient’s lungs”; “selectively inflated … prone position … chest binding or percussion therapy”; “pressure … inflated … improving oxygenation”, para. [0105, 0112, 0116-0118, 0126-0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention being made to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski hereinabove such that if the patient is lying in a prone position, the circuitry is configured to determine bed parameters for prone patient breathing, in view of the teachings of Biondo, for the obvious advantage of improving oxygenation by only applying pressure to the upper portion of the chest of the patient.
Regarding claim 2, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 1. Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control the airflow to the targeted body part based on a moisture level of the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski discloses wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control the airflow to the targeted body part (“zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0100, 0143]) based on a moisture level of the targeted body part (moisture sensor 1530 … excessive moisture near the occupant … feedback signal, para. [0144]).
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, such that to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control the airflow to the targeted body part based on a moisture level of the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of determining whether to activate or deactivate the fluid module based on the feedback signal from the moisture sensor to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Regarding claim 3, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 1. Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control a humidity of airflow to the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski discloses wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part (“zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0100, 0143]) comprises to control a humidity of airflow to the targeted body part (dehumidifier; “humidity level”, selectively … conditioning (e.g., heating, cooling, dehumidifying, etc.), para. [0078, 0081, 0116])). Brykalski further discloses that providing a customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes (para. [0127])
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, such that to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control the airflow to the targeted body part based on a moisture level of the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of providing customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Regarding claim 4, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 1. Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control a temperature of airflow to the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski discloses wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part (“zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0100, 0143]) comprises to control a temperature of airflow to the targeted body part (“temperature”, selectively … conditioning (e.g., heating, cooling, dehumidifying, etc.), para. [0081, 0116])). Brykalski further discloses that providing a customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes (para. [0127])
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, such that to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control a temperature of airflow to the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of providing customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Regarding claim 5, Sauser discloses a method (fig. 2), the method comprising: transmitting, by one or more radar sensors (“radio detection and ranging (RADAR) apparatus”; radar antenna 12, para. [0076, 0102]), a radar signal towards a patient on a patient bed (emit a pulse 14 … patient … mattress, para. [0100], fig. 1); receiving, by the one or more radar sensors (“radio detection and ranging (RADAR) apparatus”; radar antenna 12, para. [0076, 0102]), a reflection of the radar signal from the patient (reflected signal 18 … detected, para. [0100], fig. 1); receiving, by circuitry (circuitry 20, 22, 24, para. [0101]), data from the one or more radar sensors indicative of the reflection of the radar signal from the patient (received analog reflected signal 18 … data, para. [0101]); determining, by the circuitry (circuitry 20, 22, 24, para. [0101]), a targeted body part of the patient (targets 16 (e.g., which portions of the patient 16); only targets 16 producing a Doppler shift, para. [0178-0179]); determining, by the circuitry (circuitry 20, 22, 24, para. [0101]) and based on the data from the one or more radar sensors, a location of the targeted body part (signals … body contour mapping; location … of patient’s legs, arms …, para. [0185, 0185]); and determining, by the circuitry (circuitry 20, 22, 24, para. [0101]) and based the data from the one or more radar sensors, a position of the patient on the patient bed (“signals 18 … body contour mapping … used by circuitry 24 … determining whether the patient is … lying on their stomach … proper position”; “lying on their stomach … determined from the body contour mapping”, para. [0070, 0185, 0187]).
Sauser further discloses determining whether the patient is at risk of developing pressure ulcers and a microclimate management (MCM) layer 114 (para. [0069, 0142]).
Sauser does not expressly disclose a method for managing a microclimate of a patient; determining, by the circuitry, a targeted body part of the patient for microclimate management; and controlling, by the circuitry and based on the determined location of the targeted body part, an airflow to the targeted body part to provide microclimate management beneath the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski discloses a method for managing a microclimate of a patient (climate control systems; “methods”, para. [0075]); determining, by the circuitry (“controller”, para. [0012, 0015]), a targeted body part of the patient for microclimate management (climate control zones, “targeted portions”; “high pressure, temperature, friction … regions … ulcers”, para. [0080, 0082, 0111]); and controlling, by the circuitry (“controller”, para. [0012, 0015]) and based on the determined location of the targeted body part, an airflow to the targeted body part to provide microclimate management beneath the targeted body part (“occupant situated on top of the topper member”; “air … delivered through the topper member 20 towards … back of head”; “zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0011, 0082-0083, 0100, 0143]). Brykalski further discloses that the conditioner mat or topper member for a bed (e.g., hospital or other medical bed) provides certain climate-control features to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort (para. [0007]).
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser to further comprise a method for managing a microclimate of a patient; determining, by the circuitry, a targeted body part of the patient for microclimate management; and controlling, by the circuitry and based on the determined location of the targeted body part, an airflow to the targeted body part to provide microclimate management beneath the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of providing a conditioner mat with certain climate-control features to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Sauser, as modified by Brykalski hereinabove, does not disclose that if the patient is lying in a prone position, determine bed parameters for prone patient breathing.
However, Biondo directed to a pulmonary therapy apparatus including a proning device for turning a patient discloses a patient in a prone position (fig. 7, “prone position”, para. [0105, 0118]), and determining, by circuitry (air supply and control module 305 & controller 307, para. [0109, 0125-0126]), bed parameters for prone patient breathing (“reducing concentrated pressure applications … prone position … bladders provide therapy … provide chest binding and compression … force air downwardly into the patient’s lungs”; “selectively inflated … prone position … chest binding or percussion therapy”; “pressure … inflated … improving oxygenation”, para. [0105, 0112, 0116-0118, 0126-0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention being made to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski hereinabove, such that if the patient is lying in a prone position, determining, by the circuitry, bed parameters for prone patient breathing, in view of the teachings of Biondo, for the obvious advantage of improving oxygenation.
Regarding claim 6, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the method of claim 5. Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein controlling the airflow to the targeted body part comprises controlling the airflow to the targeted body part based on a moisture level of the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski discloses wherein controlling the airflow to the targeted body part comprises controlling the airflow to the targeted body part (“zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0100, 0143]) based on a moisture level of the targeted body part (moisture sensor 1530 … excessive moisture near the occupant … feedback signal, para. [0144]).
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, such that controlling the airflow to the targeted body part comprises controlling the airflow to the targeted body part based on a moisture level of the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of determining whether to activate or deactivate the fluid module based on the feedback signal from the moisture sensor to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Regarding claim 7, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the method of claim 5. Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein controlling the airflow to the targeted body part comprises controlling a humidity of airflow to the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski discloses wherein controlling the airflow to the targeted body part (“zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0100, 0143]) comprises controlling a humidity of airflow to the targeted body part (dehumidifier; “humidity level”, selectively … conditioning (e.g., heating, cooling, dehumidifying, etc.), para. [0078, 0081, 0116])). Brykalski further discloses that providing a customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes (para. [0127])
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, such that controlling the airflow to the targeted body part comprises controlling a humidity of airflow to the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of providing customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Regarding claim 8, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the method of claim 5. Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein controlling the airflow to the targeted body part comprises controlling a temperature of airflow to the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski discloses wherein controlling the airflow to the targeted body part (“zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0100, 0143]) comprises controlling a temperature of airflow to the targeted body part (“temperature”, selectively … conditioning (e.g., heating, cooling, dehumidifying, etc.), para. [0081, 0116])). Brykalski further discloses that providing a customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes (para. [0127])
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, such that controlling the airflow to the targeted body part comprises controlling a temperature of airflow to the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of providing customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Regarding claim 9, Sauser further discloses one or more tangible computer-readable media comprising a plurality of instructions stored thereon that, when executed, causes a computing device (microcontroller circuitry … instructions; circuitry … computer device, para. [0110, 0185]) to: transmit, by one or more radar sensors (“radio detection and ranging (RADAR) apparatus”; radar antenna 12, para. [0076, 0102]), a radar signal towards a patient on a patient bed (emit a pulse 14 … patient … mattress, para. [0100], fig. 1); receive, by the one or more radar sensors (“radio detection and ranging (RADAR) apparatus”; radar antenna 12, para. [0076, 0102]), a reflection of the radar signal from the patient (reflected signal 18 … detected, para. [0100], fig. 1); receive data from the one or more radar sensors indicative of the reflection of the radar signal from the patient (received analog reflected signal 18 … data, para. [0101]); determine a targeted body part of the patient (targets 16 (e.g., which portions of the patient 16); only targets 16 producing a Doppler shift, para. [0178-0179]); determine, based on the data from the one or more radar sensors, a location of the targeted body part (signals … body contour mapping; location … of patient’s legs, arms …, para. [0185, 0185]); determine, based on the data from the one or more radar sensors, a position of the patient on the patient bed (“signals 18 … body contour mapping … used by circuitry 24 … determining whether the patient is side-lying … proper position”; “side-lying … determined from the body contour mapping”, para. [0070, 0185, 0187]); and determine, based on the data from the one or more radar sensors, a position of the patient on the patient bed (“signals 18 … body contour mapping … used by circuitry 24 … determining whether the patient is … lying on their stomach … proper position”; “lying on their stomach … determined from the body contour mapping”, para. [0070, 0185, 0187]).
Sauser further discloses determining whether the patient is at risk of developing pressure ulcers and a microclimate management (MCM) layer 114 (para. [0069, 0142]).
Sauser does not expressly disclose determine a targeted body part of the patient for microclimate management; and control, based on the determined location of the targeted body part, an airflow to the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski discloses determine a targeted body part of the patient for microclimate management (climate control zones, “targeted portions”; “high pressure, temperature, friction … regions … ulcers”, para. [0080, 0082, 0111]); and control, based on the determined location of the targeted body part, an airflow to the targeted body part (“zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0100, 0143]). Brykalski further discloses that the conditioner mat or topper member for a bed (e.g., hospital or other medical bed) provides certain climate-control features to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort (para. [0007]).
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser to further comprise determine a targeted body part of the patient for microclimate management; and control, based on the determined location of the targeted body part, an airflow to the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of providing a conditioner mat with certain climate-control features to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Sauser, as modified by Brykalski hereinabove, does not disclose that if the patient is lying in a prone position, determine bed parameters for prone patient breathing.
However, Biondo directed to a pulmonary therapy apparatus including a proning device for turning a patient discloses a patient in a prone position (fig. 7, “prone position”, para. [0105, 0118]), and a computing device (air supply and control module 305 & controller 307, para. [0109, 0125-0126]) to determine bed parameters for prone patient breathing (“reducing concentrated pressure applications … prone position … bladders provide therapy … provide chest binding and compression … force air downwardly into the patient’s lungs”; “selectively inflated … prone position … chest binding or percussion therapy”; “pressure … inflated … improving oxygenation”, para. [0105, 0112, 0116-0118, 0126-0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention being made to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski hereinabove such that if the patient is lying in a prone position, determining bed parameters for prone patient breathing, in view of the teachings of Biondo, for the obvious advantage of improving oxygenation.
Regarding claim 10, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 9. Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control the airflow to the targeted body part based on a moisture level of the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski discloses wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control the airflow to the targeted body part (“zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0100, 0143]) based on a moisture level of the targeted body part (moisture sensor 1530 … excessive moisture near the occupant … feedback signal, para. [0144]).
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove , such that to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control the airflow to the targeted body part based on a moisture level of the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of determining whether to activate or deactivate the fluid module based on the feedback signal from the moisture sensor to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Regarding claim 11, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 9. Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control a humidity of airflow to the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski discloses wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part (“zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0100, 0143]) comprises to control a humidity of airflow to the targeted body part (dehumidifier; “humidity level”, selectively … conditioning (e.g., heating, cooling, dehumidifying, etc.), para. [0078, 0081, 0116])). Brykalski further discloses that providing a customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes (para. [0127])
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, such that to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control the airflow to the targeted body part based on a moisture level of the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of providing customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Regarding claim 12, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 9. Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control a temperature of airflow to the targeted body part.
However, Brykalski discloses wherein to control the airflow to the targeted body part (“zones 34, 36, or 44, 46 controlled separately … target a bed occupant's head, shoulders, hips, ischial region, lower back, etc.)”; regulate the operation … sensor, para. [0100, 0143]) comprises to control a temperature of airflow to the targeted body part (“temperature”, selectively … conditioning (e.g., heating, cooling, dehumidifying, etc.), para. [0081, 0116])). Brykalski further discloses that providing a customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes (para. [0127])
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, such that to control the airflow to the targeted body part comprises to control a temperature of airflow to the targeted body part, in view of the teachings of Brykalski, for the obvious advantage of providing customized ventilation, heating, cooling and/or other environmentally-conditioned schemes to help prevent bed sores and/or help enhance comfort.
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauser in view of Brykalski and Biondo, as applied to claims 1, 5, and 9 above, and further in view of Weffers-Albu (US 20210338174 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the airflow to the targeted body part is provided through a mattress underlying the patient (mattress 100c has microclimate management layer 114, para. [0142], fig. 10C). Sauser further discloses that the RADAR system may be used for body contour mapping (para. [0069]).
Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the one or more radar sensors are situated above the patient.
However, Weffers-Albu discloses wherein the one or more sensors are situated above the patient (IR/thermal camera 210 and RGB camera 212 positioned above the screen; support 215, para. [0130-0132], figs. 2 & 6). Weffers-Albu further discloses that the body contour is detected using IR camera 210 which is mounted on a support 215 that moves along the length of the patient body allowing IR camera 210 to scan the whole body of the patient, para. [0132].
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, such that the one or more radar sensors are situated above the patient, in view of the teachings of Weffers-Albu, as such a modification would have yielded predictable results of body contour mapping/detection by incorporating the support of Weffers-Albu, and further incorporating the radar sensors into the support such that the sensors are positioned above the screen and configured to move along the patient body to scan the whole body of the patient.
Regarding claim 14, upon the modification of Sauser to incorporate the support of Weffers-Albu, as described with respect to claim 13 above, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski, Biondo, and Weffers-Albu hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more radar sensors situated above the patient are suspended over the patient by at least one arm (Weffers-Albu, support 215, figs. 2 & 6, para. [0132]).
Regarding claim 15, upon the modification of Sauser to incorporate the support of Weffers-Albu, as described with respect to claims 13-14 above, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski, Biondo, and Weffers-Albu hereinabove, discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the at least one arm is coupled to a frame of the patient bed to move therewith (Weffers-Albu, support 215 as seen in figs. 2 & 6, para. [0132]).
Regarding claim 16, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the airflow to the targeted body part is provided through a mattress underlying the patient (mattress 100c has microclimate management layer 114, para. [0142], fig. 10C). Sauser further discloses that the RADAR system may be used for body contour mapping (para. [0069]).
Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the one or more radar sensors are situated above the patient.
However, Weffers-Albu discloses wherein the one or more sensors are situated above the patient (IR/thermal camera 210 and RGB camera 212 positioned above the screen; support 215, para. [0130-0132], figs. 2 & 6). Weffers-Albu further discloses that the body contour is detected using IR camera 210 which is mounted on a support 215 that moves along the length of the patient body allowing IR camera 210 to scan the whole body of the patient, para. [0132].
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, such that the one or more radar sensors are situated above the patient, in view of the teachings of Weffers-Albu, as such a modification would have yielded predictable results of body contour mapping/detection by incorporating the support of Weffers-Albu, and further incorporating the radar sensors into the support such that the sensors are positioned above the screen and configured to move along the patient body to scan the whole body of the patient.
Regarding claim 17, upon the modification of Sauser to incorporate the support of Weffers-Albu, as described with respect to claim 16 above, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski, Biondo, and Weffers-Albu hereinabove, discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the one or more radar sensors situated above the patient are suspended over the patient by at least one arm (Weffers-Albu, support 215, figs. 2 & 6, para. [0132]).
Regarding claim 18, upon the modification of Sauser to incorporate the support of Weffers-Albu, as described with respect to claims 16-17 above, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski, Biondo, and Weffers-Albu hereinabove, discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the at least one arm is coupled to a frame of the patient bed to move therewith (Weffers-Albu, support 215 as seen in figs. 2 & 6, para. [0132]).
Regarding claim 19, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 9, wherein the airflow to the targeted body part is provided through a mattress underlying the patient (mattress 100c has microclimate management layer 114, para. [0142], fig. 10C). Sauser further discloses that the RADAR system may be used for body contour mapping (para. [0069]).
Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the one or more radar sensors are situated above the patient.
However, Weffers-Albu discloses wherein the one or more sensors are situated above the patient (IR/thermal camera 210 and RGB camera 212 positioned above the screen; support 215, para. [0130-0132], figs. 2 & 6). Weffers-Albu further discloses that the body contour is detected using IR camera 210 which is mounted on a support 215 that moves along the length of the patient body allowing IR camera 210 to scan the whole body of the patient, para. [0132].
It would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sauser, as modified by Brykalski and Biondo hereinabove, such that the one or more radar sensors are situated above the patient, in view of the teachings of Weffers-Albu, as such a modification would have yielded predictable results of body contour mapping/detection by incorporating the support of Weffers-Albu, and further incorporating the radar sensors into the support such that the sensors are positioned above the screen and configured to move along the patient body to scan the whole body of the patient.
Regarding claim 20, upon the modification of Sauser to incorporate the support of Weffers-Albu, as described with respect to claim 19 above, Sauser, as modified by Brykalski, Biondo, and Weffers-Albu hereinabove, discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 19, wherein the one or more radar sensors situated above the patient are suspended over the patient by at least one arm that is coupled to a frame of the patient bed to move therewith (Weffers-Albu, support 215 as seen in figs. 2 & 6, para. [0132]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Heinrich (US 20150141762 A1) directed to a method and an apparatus for the detection of the body position and a data processing means connected to actuators capable to stimulate a subject to change his or her body posture (para. [0029, 0040, 0083], fig. 10); Scarberry (US 20150126912 A1) directed to a system/method for applying negative pressure on neck to treat obstructive sleep apnea, using position and/or orientation information to determine if the subject 106 is in a prone position and using the information as a basis for controlling a source of negative pressure 140 to reduce temporary airway obstruction (para. [0034, 0047]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/A.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791