The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite on line 5 because of the term “decorative” to describe the cover plate. The term “decorative” means to make something look more attractive or ornamental. However, describing the cover plate as decorative is indefinite because it is subjective as to what a user would consider “decorative”.
Claim 4 is indefinite on line 4 because there is no positive antecedent basis for “the rubber pads (1211)”. For examination purpose only, the claim will be considered dependent from claim 3 which provides the antecedent basis.
Claim 4 is further indefinite on line 6 because there is no positive antecedent basis for “the inner side wall”.
Claim 8 is indefinite on line 3 because there is no positive antecedent basis for “the snap-in holes (20)”. For examination purpose only, the claim will be considered dependent from claim 7 which provides the antecedent basis.
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0202255) considered with Wu (CN 218241297 U, in view of the English Language Translation (ELT)).
Zhang discloses a microphone-hidden speaker structure (see fig. 1), comprising a speaker main body 2, wherein the speaker main body 2 comprises a housing 201, and a microphone accommodating cavity 2011 that extends inwards and has a certain depth is formed on the housing 201. The speaker main body 2 further comprises a cover plate 204 made of a hard material. The cover plate 204 is above the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. The cover plate 204 is connected to the housing 201. Zhang discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach either: that the cover plate 204 is decorative; that a recess is formed on one end of the microphone accommodating cavity 2011; that the cover plate 204 is embedded above the microphone accommodating cavity 2011; or that the cover plate 204 is detachably connected to the housing 201.
Wu discloses a microphone-hidden speaker structure (see figs. 3-6), comprising a microphone accommodating cavity 101 and a decorative cover plate 16 above the microphone accommodating cavity 101 (see page 6, line 1, regarding “patterns can be printed on the surface of the flip cover 16”), in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of having a cover plate 16 which is aesthetically pleasing to the user. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zhang, in view of Wu, such that the cover plate 204 is decorative. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of having a cover plate 204 which is aesthetically pleasing to the user.
Wu discloses a microphone-hidden speaker structure (see figs. 3-6), comprising a microphone accommodating cavity 101 and a recess (e.g., “finger hole”; see fig. 6, and page 6, lines 18-20) is formed on one end of the microphone accommodating cavity 101, in the same field of endeavor, “so that the user can take out the microphone 200 from the microphone card slot 101 more conveniently”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang, in further view of Wu, such that a recess is formed on one end of the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this so that the user can take out a microphone 1 from the microphone accommodating cavity 2011 more conveniently.
Wu discloses a microphone-hidden speaker structure (see figs. 3-6), comprising a housing 100, a microphone accommodating cavity 101 and a decorative cover plate 16 which is embedded above the microphone accommodating cavity 101 when the cover plate 16 is closed and secured by magnets, and the cover plate 16 is detachably connected to a front face of the housing 100 when the cover plate 16 is opened (see last paragraph of page 5, regarding “the flip cover 16 and the host can be attached by magnetic attraction”), in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of securely covering the microphone accommodating cavity 101 with the cover plate 16 through use of magnets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang, in further view of Wu, such that the cover plate 204 is embedded above the microphone accommodating cavity 2011, and that the cover plate 204 is detachably connected to a top face of housing 201, through use of magnets as taught by Wu. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of securely covering the microphone accommodating cavity 2011 with the cover plate 204 through use of magnets.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the top face of the housing 201 is provided with a first magnetic piece arranged on a side edge close to the microphone accommodating cavity 2011 and the cover plate 204 is provided with a second magnetic attractive piece along an edge of the cover plate 204 (see Wu, last paragraph of page 5, regarding “the magnetic combination can be divided into ‘magnet + magnet’, ‘magnet + iron sheet’, ‘magnet + magnetic sheet’, ‘magnetic sheet + magnetic sheet’ …”, and that the ends of the cover 16 can include a magnet attractive piece). The first and second magnetic attractive pieces are opposite each other, and the cover plate 204 is fixed on the housing 201 through the first and the second magnetic attractive pieces.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0202255), considered with Wu (CN 218241297 U, in view of the English Language Translation (ELT)), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Scharf (US 2023/0284832).
Zhang, as modified and applied to claim 1 above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that a notch is formed on the decorative cover plate 204. Scharf discloses a container structure (see figs. 1 and 2) including a cover plate 13, wherein a notch 33 is formed on the cover plate 13, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of allowing a user to insert a finger into the notch 33 and pull up the cover plate 13 to remove it from the container structure (see para. 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang, in view of Scharf, such that a notch is formed on the decorative cover plate 204. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of allowing a user to insert a finger into the notch and pull up on the cover plate 204 to open it.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0202255), considered with Wu (CN 218241297 U, in view of the English Language Translation (ELT)), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Wu (US 2019/0301665).
Zhang, as modified and applied to claim 1 above, discloses the invention as claimed, including that the speaker main body 2 further comprises a microphone 1, wherein the microphone 1 is adapted to the microphone accommodating cavity 2011, and the microphone 1 is fixed inside the microphone accommodating cavity 2011 by means of magnetic attraction (see Zhang, para. 0055), but fails to specifically teach that a flexible buffer pad is arranged inside the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. Wu (US 2019/0152675) discloses a support structure for a portable electronic device 200 (see fig. 1), wherein the support structure has disposed thereon a protective pad 70 made of a flexible material, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of protecting a surface of the portable electronic device 200 from scratches when the portable electronic device 200 is placed on the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang, in view of Wu (US 2019/0152675), such that a flexible buffer pad is arranged inside the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of protecting a surface of the microphone 1 from scratches when the microphone 1 is adapted to the microphone accommodating cavity 2011.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0202255) considered with Wu (CN 218241297 U, in view of the English Language Translation (ELT)), in further view of He (US 2019/0152675).
Zhang discloses a microphone-hidden speaker structure (see fig. 1), comprising a speaker main body 2, wherein the speaker main body 2 comprises a housing 201, and a microphone accommodating cavity 2011 that extends inwards and has a certain depth is formed on the housing 201. The speaker main body 2 further comprises a cover plate 204 made of a hard material. The cover plate 204 is above the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. The cover plate 204 is connected to the housing 201. Zhang discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach either: that the cover plate 204 is decorative; that a recess is formed on one end of the microphone accommodating cavity 2011; that the cover plate 204 is embedded above the microphone accommodating cavity 2011; or that the cover plate 204 is detachably connected to the housing 201.
Wu discloses a microphone-hidden speaker structure (see figs. 3-6), comprising a microphone accommodating cavity 101 and a decorative cover plate 16 above the microphone accommodating cavity 101 (see page 6, line 1, regarding “patterns can be printed on the surface of the flip cover 16”), in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of having a cover plate 16 which is aesthetically pleasing to the user. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zhang, in view of Wu, such that the cover plate 204 is decorative. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of having a cover plate 204 which is aesthetically pleasing to the user.
Wu discloses a microphone-hidden speaker structure (see figs. 3-6), comprising a microphone accommodating cavity 101 and a recess (e.g., “finger hole”; see fig. 6, and page 6, lines 18-20) is formed on one end of the microphone accommodating cavity 101, in the same field of endeavor, “so that the user can take out the microphone 200 from the microphone card slot 101 more conveniently”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang, in further view of Wu, such that a recess is formed on one end of the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this so that the user can take out a microphone 1 from the microphone accommodating cavity 2011 more conveniently.
He discloses a container 10 for housing an electronic device (see para. 0011) including a container body 16 and a cover 20 (see figs. 1-3), wherein the cover 20 is embedded into the container body 16, and the cover 20 is detachably connected to the container body 16, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of protecting the electronic device within the container body 16 from environmental conditions when the electronic device is deposited therein and the cover 20 is fitted to the container body 16. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang such that the cover plate 204 is of a form, as taught by He, wherein the cover plate is embedded above the microphone accommodating cavity 2011, and the cover plate is detachably connected to the housing 201. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of protecting the microphone 1 within the microphone accommodating cavity 2011 from environmental conditions when the microphone 1 is placed therein and the cover plate is fitted to the housing 201 as taught by He.
Regarding claim 2, one side of the decorative cover plate is provided with an annular snap-fitting stand protruding from the surface of the decorative cover plate. See He, figs. 1-3, wherein the bottom of the cover 20, which snaps into the container body 16, can be considered the annual snap-fitting stand as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang, as further modified by He, discloses a rubber pad 22 which is annularly arranged on a side edge of the annular snap-fitting stand, and the rubber pad 22 protrudes from the side edge of the annular snap-fitting stand, but fails to specifically teach that the rubber pad 22 is a plurality of sets of rubber pads. Rather, the rubber pad 22 is a continuous single rubber pad. It is considered obvious to modify the rubber pad 22 to be a plurality of sets of rubber pads, e.g., two per side of the cover, for the purpose of creating a press seal without the need to circumferentially seal the entire cover plate.
Regarding claim 4, the annular snap-fitting stand is adapted to an opening of the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. The annular snap-fitting stand on the decorative cover plate is snapped into the opening of the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. The rubber pads on the side edge of the annular snap-fitting stand are squeezed and deformed to contact with an inner side wall of the microphone accommodating cavity 2011, such that quick mounting and fixation of the decorative cover plate are realized.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0202255), considered with Wu (CN 218241297 U, in view of the English Language Translation (ELT)) and He (US 2019/0152675), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Scharf (US 2023/0284832).
Zhang, as modified and applied to claim 1 above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that a notch is formed on the decorative cover plate. Scharf discloses a container structure (see figs. 1 and 2) including a cover plate 13, wherein a notch 33 is formed on the cover plate 13, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of allowing a user to insert a finger into the notch 33 and pull up the cover plate 13 to remove it from the container structure (see para. 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang, in view of Scharf, such that a notch is formed on the decorative cover plate. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of allowing a user to insert a finger into the notch and pull up on the cover plate to open it.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0202255), considered with Wu (CN 218241297 U, in view of the English Language Translation (ELT)) and He (US 2019/0152675), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Wu (US 2019/0301665).
Zhang, as modified and applied to claim 1 above, discloses the invention as claimed, including that the speaker main body 2 further comprises a microphone 1, wherein the microphone 1 is adapted to the microphone accommodating cavity 2011, and the microphone 1 is fixed inside the microphone accommodating cavity 2011 by means of magnetic attraction (see Zhang, para. 0055), but fails to specifically teach that a flexible buffer pad is arranged inside the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. Wu (US 2019/0152675) discloses a support structure for a portable electronic device 200 (see fig. 1), wherein the support structure has disposed thereon a protective pad 70 made of a flexible material, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of protecting a surface of the portable electronic device 200 from scratches when the portable electronic device 200 is placed on the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang, in view of Wu (US 2019/0152675), such that a flexible buffer pad is arranged inside the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of protecting a surface of the microphone 1 from scratches when the microphone 1 is adapted to the microphone accommodating cavity 2011.
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0202255) considered with Wu (CN 218241297 U, in view of the English Language Translation (ELT)), in further view of Wang (US 2019/0368244).
Zhang discloses a microphone-hidden speaker structure (see fig. 1), comprising a speaker main body 2, wherein the speaker main body 2 comprises a housing 201, and a microphone accommodating cavity 2011 that extends inwards and has a certain depth is formed on the housing 201. The speaker main body 2 further comprises a cover plate 204 made of a hard material. The cover plate 204 is above the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. The cover plate 204 is connected to the housing 201. Zhang discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach either: that the cover plate 204 is decorative; that a recess is formed on one end of the microphone accommodating cavity 2011; that the cover plate 204 is embedded above the microphone accommodating cavity 2011; or that the cover plate 204 is detachably connected to the housing 201.
Wu discloses a microphone-hidden speaker structure (see figs. 3-6), comprising a microphone accommodating cavity 101 and a decorative cover plate 16 above the microphone accommodating cavity 101 (see page 6, line 1, regarding “patterns can be printed on the surface of the flip cover 16”), in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of having a cover plate 16 which is aesthetically pleasing to the user. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zhang, in view of Wu, such that the cover plate 204 is decorative. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of having a cover plate 204 which is aesthetically pleasing to the user.
Wu discloses a microphone-hidden speaker structure (see figs. 3-6), comprising a microphone accommodating cavity 101 and a recess (e.g., “finger hole”; see fig. 6, and page 6, lines 18-20) is formed on one end of the microphone accommodating cavity 101, in the same field of endeavor, “so that the user can take out the microphone 200 from the microphone card slot 101 more conveniently”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang, in further view of Wu, such that a recess is formed on one end of the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this so that the user can take out a microphone 1 from the microphone accommodating cavity 2011 more conveniently.
Wang discloses a speaker structure (see fig. 2), comprising a housing M11, speakers M120 and a cover M13 which is embedded above the speakers M120, and the cover M13 is detachably connected to the housing M11, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of securely covering and protecting the speakers M120 with the cover M13 which can also be easily detached from the housing M11. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang such that the cover plate 204 is of a form, as taught by Wang, wherein the cover plate is embedded above the microphone accommodating cavity 2011, and the cover plate is detachably connected to the housing 201. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of protecting the microphone 1 within the microphone accommodating cavity 2011 from environmental conditions when the microphone 1 is placed therein and the cover plate is fitted to the housing 201 as taught by Wang.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, snap-in holes are formed on the housing 201, and the snap-in holes are arranged on a side edge close to the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. Snap-fitting columns are arranged on the decorative cover plate, the snap-fitting columns and the snap-in holes are opposite to each other, and quick installation and fixation of the cover plate are completed when the snap-fitting columns on the cover plate are snapped into the snap-in holes.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0202255), considered with Wu (CN 218241297 U, in view of the English Language Translation (ELT)) and Wang (US 2019/0368244), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Scharf (US 2023/0284832).
Zhang, as modified and applied to claim 1 above, discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that a notch is formed on the decorative cover plate. Scharf discloses a container structure (see figs. 1 and 2) including a cover plate 13, wherein a notch 33 is formed on the cover plate 13, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of allowing a user to insert a finger into the notch 33 and pull up the cover plate 13 to remove it from the container structure (see para. 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang, in view of Scharf, such that a notch is formed on the decorative cover plate. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of allowing a user to insert a finger into the notch and pull up on the cover plate to open it.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0202255), considered with Wu (CN 218241297 U, in view of the English Language Translation (ELT)) and Wang (US 2019/0368244), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Wu (US 2019/0301665).
Zhang, as modified and applied to claim 1 above, discloses the invention as claimed, including that the speaker main body 2 further comprises a microphone 1, wherein the microphone 1 is adapted to the microphone accommodating cavity 2011, and the microphone 1 is fixed inside the microphone accommodating cavity 2011 by means of magnetic attraction (see Zhang, para. 0055), but fails to specifically teach that a flexible buffer pad is arranged inside the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. Wu (US 2019/0152675) discloses a support structure for a portable electronic device 200 (see fig. 1), wherein the support structure has disposed thereon a protective pad 70 made of a flexible material, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of protecting a surface of the portable electronic device 200 from scratches when the portable electronic device 200 is placed on the support structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Zhang, in view of Wu (US 2019/0152675), such that a flexible buffer pad is arranged inside the microphone accommodating cavity 2011. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of protecting a surface of the microphone 1 from scratches when the microphone 1 is adapted to the microphone accommodating cavity 2011.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on the PTO-892 each disclose a microphone speaker structure.
/PAUL W HUBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
pwh
December 10, 2025