DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on July 31, 2026 has been received and considered. By this amendment, claims 1-3, 9, and 13 are amended, claim 17 is added, and claims 1-17 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dzhekiev et al. (U.S. 2022/0338756, previously cited), herein Dzhekiev. Regarding claim 1, Dzhekiev discloses a method of automatically detecting cough events (Abstract) comprising the following steps: a. continuously recording ambient sound (“portable devices such as cell phones and/or audio recorders may be used to continuously record sounds in the vicinity of a user”, paragraph [0630]), b. monitoring ambient sound at a frequency at or above 100 Hz (“portable devices such as cell phones and/or audio recorders may be used to continuously record sounds in the vicinity of a user”, paragraph [0630], where all ambient sounds are monitored, including those at or above 100 Hz, and “The overall energy of a cough reflex may be much stronger relative to the surrounding environment and the initial burst of air may cause significant energy, for example well into the 15 kHz range.”, paragraph [0625], which shows monitoring sounds at or above 100 Hz) and, upon detecting a change in acoustic energy exceeding a predefined first threshold, identifying an onset of a possible cough event (“The overall energy of a cough reflex may be much stronger relative to the surrounding environment and the initial burst of air may cause significant energy”, paragraph [0625] and “The extracted features may be the mean decibel energy of a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) of all or a portion of the audio signal, the mean decibel energy of the FFT coefficients above 16 kHz (or other threshold in other examples), and below 16 kHz (or other threshold in some examples).”, paragraph [0629]) , c. recording an audio snippet including the onset of a possible cough event and continuing for a predefined audio snippet duration exceeding 100 msec thereafter (“the extracted features may correspond to the representation of the portion of audio signal corresponding to the cough sound as detected using the cough model plus an additional amount of the audio signal (e.g., 1-5 additional seconds of audio signal)”, paragraph [0628]), d. classifying the audio snippet recorded in step (c) as cough or non-cough based on analyzing acoustic energy distribution of the audio snippet (“Once a comparison has been performed with the cough model, one or more tiers of classification may be used to determine whether the audio signal or portion thereof corresponds with a cough sound.”, paragraph [0627]), e. discarding all identified non-cough events (“Extracted features which are classified as a cough (e.g., determined to correspond to a cough sound) may be stored.”, paragraph [0628], it is inherent that non-coughs are discarded due to the explicit disclosure of storing classified coughs), f. repeating steps (b) through (e) if further possible cough events are identified after the audio snippet recorded in step (c), and g. compiling a record of all cough events detected during the duration of continuously recording ambient sound in step (a) (“ the computing system may be configured to provide (e.g., display) data regarding the frequency, quality, length, number of coughs, and/or cough epochs (e.g., multiple coughs within a certain time combined to form one coughing episode).”, paragraph [0628]).
Regarding claim 2, Dzhekiev discloses that in step (b), monitoring of ambient sound and detecting a change in acoustic energy is conducted in a frequency-time domain at the frequency at or above 100 Hz (see data illustration in Figures 6 and 7 which show the frequency-time domain).
Regarding claim 15, Dzhekiev discloses that in step (d), the classifying the audio snippet recorded in step (c) as cough or non- cough is done by detecting individual changes in acoustic energy in a plurality of frequency bins, wherein each frequency bin corresponds to a predefined acoustic frequency or a narrow range of acoustic frequencies, wherein all acoustic frequencies are above 100 Hz (see Figure 4 and paragraphs [0690]-[0691]).
Regarding claim 16, Dzhekiev discloses that in step (d), the audio snippet is first divided into a plurality of consecutive time frames, and the step of classifying the audio snippet as cough or non-cough is done by comparing individual changes in acoustic energy in the plurality of frequency bins between consecutive time frames (see Figure 4 and paragraphs [0690]-[0691]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dzhekiev (U.S. 2022/0338756, cited above) in view of Rizzardini et al. (U.S. 2025/0134409). Regarding claim 3, Dzhekiev discloses a method for automatically detecting and verifying cough events as originating from a target user (Abstract and “The method may further comprise automatically distinguishing between a respiratory event of a user of the device and a respiratory event of a non-user of the device”, paragraph [0631]), comprising the following steps: a. continuously recording ambient sound (“portable devices such as cell phones and/or audio recorders may be used to continuously record sounds in the vicinity of a user”, paragraph [0630]), b. monitoring the ambient sound at a frequency at or above 100 Hz (“portable devices such as cell phones and/or audio recorders may be used to continuously record sounds in the vicinity of a user”, paragraph [0630], where all ambient sounds are monitored, including those at or above 100 Hz, and “The overall energy of a cough reflex may be much stronger relative to the surrounding environment and the initial burst of air may cause significant energy, for example well into the 15 kHz range.”, paragraph [0625], which shows monitoring sounds at or above 100 Hz) and, upon detecting a change in acoustic energy exceeding a predefined first threshold, identifying an onset of a possible cough event (“The overall energy of a cough reflex may be much stronger relative to the surrounding environment and the initial burst of air may cause significant energy”, paragraph [0625] and “The extracted features may be the mean decibel energy of a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) of all or a portion of the audio signal, the mean decibel energy of the FFT coefficients above 16 kHz (or other threshold in other examples), and below 16 kHz (or other threshold in some examples).”, paragraph [0629]), c. recording an audio snippet including the onset of the possible cough event and continuing for a predefined audio snippet duration exceeding 100 msec thereafter (“the extracted features may correspond to the representation of the portion of audio signal corresponding to the cough sound as detected using the cough model plus an additional amount of the audio signal (e.g., 1-5 additional seconds of audio signal)”, paragraph [0628]), d. classifying the possible cough event of step (b) as cough or non-cough based on analyzing acoustic energy distribution of the audio snippet recorded in step c (“Once a comparison has been performed with the cough model, one or more tiers of classification may be used to determine whether the audio signal or portion thereof corresponds with a cough sound.”, paragraph [0627]), f. identifying the cough as originating from the target user once a secondary criterion is satisfied (“However, before extracting the characteristics of the detected cough, the source of the cough needs to be identified. A trained model capable of identifying the user by the sound of the cough is therefore provided.”, paragraph [0712]), g. discarding the cough event as not originating from the target user when the secondary criterion is not satisfied (“If the nearest vectors do not belong to the User, the cough shall be deemed not to belong to the User.”, paragraph [0715], and “If the cough has been identified, signs are extracted from it for further analysis.”, paragraph [0716], where the cough event not originating from the target user is considered “discarded” because it does not undergo further analysis), h. repeating steps (b) through (g) for a subsequent possible cough event identified in step (b), and i. compiling a record of all cough events originating from the target user and detected during the duration of continuously recording ambient sound in step (a) (“ the computing system may be configured to provide (e.g., display) data regarding the frequency, quality, length, number of coughs, and/or cough epochs (e.g., multiple coughs within a certain time combined to form one coughing episode).”, paragraph [0628]). However, Dzhekiev fails to use data from a secondary sensor recorded simultaneously with the cough event in order to classify the cough event as originating from the target user. Rizzardini teaches a method of detecting a cough event in wireless headphones that combines cough detection from vocal activity with cough detection from an accelerometer (“generating, by a motion sensor, acceleration measurements along a plurality of axes; detecting, by a processor coupled to the motion sensor, a head movement event based on the acceleration measurements, the head movement event indicating cough head movement by a user; detecting, by the processor, a vocal activity event based on the acceleration measurements, the vocal activity event indicating cough vocal activity by the user; detecting, by the processor, a cough event in response to detecting the head movement event and the vocal activity event”, paragraph [0083]), where the “dual identification of head movement and vocal activity allows precise cough detection with minimal false positives and negatives.” (paragraph [0065]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dzhekiev to use data from a secondary sensor recorded simultaneously with the cough event, as taught by Rizzardini, in order to allow precise cough detection with minimal false positives and negatives.
Regarding claim 4, Dzhekiev in view of Rizzardini discloses that the secondary sensor is an accelerometer associated with the target user (Rizzardini “generating, by a motion sensor, acceleration measurements along a plurality of axes”, paragraph [0083]).
Regarding claim 5, Dzhekiev discloses that the secondary criterion is an output from a convolutional neural network classifier that the cough event originates from the target user (Dzhekiev “However, before extracting the characteristics of the detected cough, the source of the cough needs to be identified. A trained model capable of identifying the user by the sound of the cough is therefore provided.”, paragraph [0712]).
Regarding claim 9, Dzhekiev discloses a method for automatically detecting and verifying cough events as originating from a target user (Abstract and “The method may further comprise automatically distinguishing between a respiratory event of a user of the device and a respiratory event of a non-user of the device”, paragraph [0631]), comprising the following steps: a. continuously recording ambient sound (“portable devices such as cell phones and/or audio recorders may be used to continuously record sounds in the vicinity of a user”, paragraph [0630]), b. identifying an onset of a possible cough event by analyzing the ambient sound recorded in step (a) (“The overall energy of a cough reflex may be much stronger relative to the surrounding environment and the initial burst of air may cause significant energy”, paragraph [0625] and “The extracted features may be the mean decibel energy of a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) of all or a portion of the audio signal, the mean decibel energy of the FFT coefficients above 16 kHz (or other threshold in other examples), and below 16 kHz (or other threshold in some examples).”, paragraph [0629]), c. classifying the possible cough event of step (b) as cough or non-cough based on analyzing the ambient sound recorded in step (a) (“Once a comparison has been performed with the cough model, one or more tiers of classification may be used to determine whether the audio signal or portion thereof corresponds with a cough sound.”, paragraph [0627]),d. classifying the possible cough event as a cough event and analyzing the data stream from the secondary sensor recorded simultaneously with the cough event using a predetermined secondary criterion, e identifying the cough as originating from the target user once the secondary criterion is satisfied (“However, before extracting the characteristics of the detected cough, the source of the cough needs to be identified. A trained model capable of identifying the user by the sound of the cough is therefore provided.”, paragraph [0712]), f. in case the secondary criterion is not satisfied, discarding the cough event as not originating from the target user when the secondary criterion is not satisfied (“If the nearest vectors do not belong to the User, the cough shall be deemed not to belong to the User.”, paragraph [0715], and “If the cough has been identified, signs are extracted from it for further analysis.”, paragraph [0716], where the cough event not originating from the target user is considered “discarded” because it does not undergo further analysis), g. repeating steps (b) through (f) for a subsequent possible cough event identified in step (b), and h. compiling a record of all cough events originating from the target user and detected during the duration of continuously recording ambient sound in step (a) (“the computing system may be configured to provide (e.g., display) data regarding the frequency, quality, length, number of coughs, and/or cough epochs (e.g., multiple coughs within a certain time combined to form one coughing episode).”, paragraph [0628]). However, Dzhekiev fails to use data from a secondary sensor recorded simultaneously with the cough event in order to classify the cough event as originating from the target user. Rizzardini teaches a method of detecting a cough event in wireless headphones that combines cough detection from vocal activity with cough detection from an accelerometer (“generating, by a motion sensor, acceleration measurements along a plurality of axes; detecting, by a processor coupled to the motion sensor, a head movement event based on the acceleration measurements, the head movement event indicating cough head movement by a user; detecting, by the processor, a vocal activity event based on the acceleration measurements, the vocal activity event indicating cough vocal activity by the user; detecting, by the processor, a cough event in response to detecting the head movement event and the vocal activity event”, paragraph [0083]), where the “dual identification of head movement and vocal activity allows precise cough detection with minimal false positives and negatives.” (paragraph [0065]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dzhekiev to use data from a secondary sensor recorded simultaneously with the cough event, as taught by Rizzardini, in order to allow precise cough detection with minimal false positives and negatives.
Regarding claim 10, Dzhekiev in view of Rizzardini discloses that the secondary sensor is an accelerometer associated with the target user (Rizzardini “generating, by a motion sensor, acceleration measurements along a plurality of axes”, paragraph [0083]).
Regarding claim 11, Dzhekiev discloses that the secondary criterion is an output from a convolutional neural network classifier that the cough event originates from the target user (Dzhekiev “However, before extracting the characteristics of the detected cough, the source of the cough needs to be identified. A trained model capable of identifying the user by the sound of the cough is therefore provided.”, paragraph [0712]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 12-14, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schmidt (U.S. 2015/0245788) discloses a cough detection method of detecting cough based on cough frequency components.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796