DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim 1-8, 11-15, 17-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 10,693,620 in view of Shih et al. (US 2019/0098655) in view of Wu et al. (US 2019/0045549).
Regarding claim 1, 11, 17, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other:
Instant application claim 1
‘620 Claim 1
A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a first downlink bandwidth part (BWP), of downlink BWPs of a cell, as a first active downlink BWP of the cell;
A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a base station, one or more first messages comprising first configuration parameters of bandwidth parts of a cell, the first configuration parameters indicating a first default bandwidth part of the bandwidth parts;
activating, based on the one or more RRC messages, the first downlink BWP of the downlink BWPs of the cell;
activating a bandwidth part of the bandwidth parts as an active bandwidth part;
receiving an RRC reconfiguration of the first active downlink BWP of the cell, wherein the RRC reconfiguration indicates that a second downlink BWP, of the downlink BWPs of the cell, is the first active downlink BWP of the cell; and
receiving one or more second messages comprising second configuration parameter of the cell, the second configuration parameters indicating a second default bandwidth part of the bandwidth parts;
switching, in response to the RRC reconfiguration of the first active BWP of the cell, to the second downlink BWP, of the cell, as an active downlink BWP of the cell.
switching to the second default bandwidth part as the active bandwidth part in response to the one or more second messages; and
transmitting, in response to the switching, one or more uplink signals for the second default bandwidth part.
Claim 1 of ‘620 does not disclose: RRC messages, downlink BWP, or RRC reconfiguration. However, Shih teaches (see at least 0385, BWP may be activated through RRC configuration e.g. initial BWP. See at least 0353-0363, UL/DL bandwidth part pair may be configured, thus including downlink BWP), Wu teaches (see at least 0059-0061, RRC message may be used to switch to a second BWP for communication; 0073, RRC message may be RRC Reconfiguration). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate Shih, Wu into the system of claim 1 of ‘620 in order to enhance BWP configuration by allowing both UL and DL BWP configuration using well known RRC signaling.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art. Moreover, the doctrine of double patenting seeks to prevent the unjustified extension of patent exclusivity beyond the term of a patent.
Regarding claim 2, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 2 of ‘620.
Regarding claim 3, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 3 of ‘620.
Regarding claim 4, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 4 of ‘620.
Regarding claim 5, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 1 of ‘620.
Regarding claim 6, 13, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 8 of ‘620.
Regarding claim 7, 14, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 10 of ‘620.
Regarding claim 8, 15, 19, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 15 of ‘620.
Regarding claim 12, 18, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 1, 2, 3, 4 of ‘620.
Claim 9, 10, 16, 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 10,693,620 in view of Shih et al. (US 2019/0098655) in view of Wu et al. (US 2019/0045549) in view of in view of Heo et al. (US 2020/0288494).
Claim 9 is rejected in view of Heo, who teaches: further comprising starting a BWP inactivity timer, of the cell, in response to receiving, based on monitoring the downlink control channel, a downlink control information via the first downlink BWP of the cell (see at least 0162, a starting/restarting condition of a BWP inactivity timer may be a new data transmission indication in PDCCH). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate Heo into the system of claim 1, 15 of ‘620 as suggested by Heo, to enhance communications by starting/restarting BWP inactivity timer based on BWP data activity.
Claim 10, 16, 20 is rejected in view of Shih, who teaches: further comprising switching, while the BWP inactivity timer is running, to the second downlink BWP from the first downlink BWP in response to the RRC reconfiguration of the first active downlink BWP (see at least 0354, 0385, UE may be explicitly reconfigured with bandwidth parts other than the initial (first) bandwidth parts, comprising activating a second DL BWP; timer expiry is not disclosed to occur in this case). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate Shih into the system of claim 1, 15 of ‘620 as suggested by Shih, to enhance communications by switching BWP via explicit reconfiguration even if timer is running.
Claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, 4, 8 of US Patent 10,887,903 in view of Shih et al. (US 2019/0098655) in view of Wu et al. (US 2019/0045549).
Regarding claim 1, 11, 17 although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other:
Instant application claim 1
‘903 Claim 1
A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a first downlink bandwidth part (BWP), of downlink BWPs of a cell, as a first active downlink BWP of the cell;
A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, at least one message comprising: first configuration parameters of a first bandwidth part;
activating, based on the one or more RRC messages, the first downlink BWP of the downlink BWPs of the cell;
(claim 4) wherein the first bandwidth part is an active bandwidth part when the wireless device receives the downlink control information
receiving an RRC reconfiguration of the first active downlink BWP of the cell, wherein the RRC reconfiguration indicates that a second downlink BWP, of the downlink BWPs of the cell, is the first active downlink BWP of the cell; and
A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, at least one message comprising: …second configuration parameters of a second bandwidth part,
switching, in response to the RRC reconfiguration of the first active BWP of the cell, to the second downlink BWP, of the cell, as an active downlink BWP of the cell.
receiving a downlink control information indicating switching from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part;
and in response to the scheduling request resources being available on the second bandwidth part: canceling the random access process; and transmitting a scheduling request signal via the scheduling request resources.
Claim 1 of ‘903 does not disclose: RRC messages, downlink BWP, or RRC reconfiguration. However, Shih teaches (see at least 0385, BWP may be activated through RRC configuration e.g. initial BWP. See at least 0353-0363, UL/DL bandwidth part pair may be configured, thus including downlink BWP), Wu teaches (see at least 0059-0061, RRC message may be used to switch to a second BWP for communication; 0073, RRC message may be RRC Reconfiguration). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate Shih, Wu into the system of claim 1 of ‘903 in order to enhance BWP configuration by allowing both UL and DL BWP configuration using well known RRC signaling.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art. Moreover, the doctrine of double patenting seeks to prevent the unjustified extension of patent exclusivity beyond the term of a patent.
Regarding claim 2, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 2 of ‘903.
Regarding claim 3, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 8 of ‘903.
Regarding claim 4, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 1 of ‘903.
Claim 6, 13 is rejected in view of Shih, who teaches: wherein the one or more RRC messages comprise configuration parameters, of the first downlink BWP of the cell, indicating at least one of: a frequency location; a bandwidth; a value of subcarrier spacing; cyclic prefix; and one or more reference signal resource configuration (see at least 0353-0363 and fig. 1, a UE may be configured with an initial active UL/DL bandwidth part pair for communication, thus would include the bandwidth). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate Shih into the system of claim 1, 2, 4, 8 of ‘903 as suggested by Shih, to enhance communications by configuring appropriate BWP.
Claim 7, 14 is rejected in view of Shih, who teaches: wherein the activating the first downlink BWP is in response to receiving a medium access control control element indicating an activation of the cell (see at least 0357-0358, bandwidth parts may be activated/deactivated via MAC CE). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate Shih into the system of claim 1, 2, 4, 8 of ‘903 as suggested by Shih, to enhance communications by activating BWP via well known MAC CE.
Regarding claim 8, 15, 19, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from claim 4 of ‘903.
Claim 9, 10, 16, 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, 4, 8 of US Patent 10,887,903 in view of Shih et al. (US 2019/0098655) in view of Wu et al. (US 2019/0045549) in view of in view of Heo et al. (US 2020/0288494).
Claim 9 is rejected in view of Heo, who teaches: further comprising starting a BWP inactivity timer, of the cell, in response to receiving, based on monitoring the downlink control channel, a downlink control information via the first downlink BWP of the cell (see at least 0162, a starting/restarting condition of a BWP inactivity timer may be a new data transmission indication in PDCCH). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate Heo into the system of claim 1, 2, 4, 8 of ‘903 as suggested by Heo, to enhance communications by starting/restarting BWP inactivity timer based on BWP data activity.
Claim 10, 16, 20 is rejected in view of Shih, who teaches: further comprising switching, while the BWP inactivity timer is running, to the second downlink BWP from the first downlink BWP in response to the RRC reconfiguration of the first active downlink BWP (see at least 0354, 0385, UE may be explicitly reconfigured with bandwidth parts other than the initial (first) bandwidth parts, comprising activating a second DL BWP; timer expiry is not disclosed to occur in this case). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate Shih into the system of claim 1, 2, 4, 8 of ‘903 as suggested by Shih, to enhance communications by switching BWP via explicit reconfiguration even if timer is running.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 13, 14, 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih et al. (US 2019/0098655) in view of Wu et al. (US 2019/0045549).
For claim 1, Shih teaches: A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a first downlink bandwidth part (BWP), of downlink BWPs of a cell, as a first active downlink BWP of the cell (see at least 0353-0363 and fig. 1, a UE may be configured with an initial active UL/DL bandwidth part pair for communication; see at least 0385, BWP may be activated through RRC configuration e.g. initial BWP. See at least fig. 2-3, UE and BS may comprise processor/memory for communication);
activating, based on the one or more RRC messages, the first downlink BWP of the downlink BWPs of the cell (see at least 0385, BWP may be activated through RRC configuration e.g. initial BWP);
receiving an reconfiguration of the first active downlink BWP of the cell, wherein the reconfiguration indicates that a second downlink BWP, of the downlink BWPs of the cell, is the first active downlink BWP of the cell (see at least 0354, UE may be explicitly reconfigured with bandwidth parts other than the initial (first) bandwidth parts, comprising activating a second DL BWP); and
switching, in response to the reconfiguration of the first active BWP of the cell, to the second downlink BWP, of the cell, as an active downlink BWP of the cell (see at least 0354, UE may be explicitly reconfigured with bandwidth parts other than the initial (first) bandwidth parts, comprising activating a second DL BWP (also see 0385, one bandwidth part may be activated at a time)).
Shih does not explicitly teach: …RRC reconfiguration. Wu from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0059-0061, RRC message may be used to switch to a second BWP for communication; 0073, RRC message may be RRC Reconfiguration). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Wu to the system of Shih, so RRC Reconfiguration is used to switch to the second BWP, as suggested by Wu. The motivation would have been to enhance BWP configuration by using well known RRC signaling for BWP switching (Wu 0073).
For claim 4, Shih, Wu teaches claim 1, Shih further teaches: wherein the first downlink BWP is different from the second downlink BWP (see at least 0353-0363 and 0385, the second bandwidth part may be a reconfigured bandwidth part other than the initial (first) bandwidth part, each associated with a specific numerology).
For claim 5, Shih, Wu teaches claim 1, Shih further teaches: wherein the first active downlink BWP is a default downlink BWP of the cell (see at least 0360, the default DL bandwidth part may be the initial active DL bandwidth part).
For claim 6, Shih, Wu teaches claim 1, Shih further teaches: wherein the one or more RRC messages comprise configuration parameters, of the first downlink BWP of the cell, indicating at least one of: a frequency location; a bandwidth; a value of subcarrier spacing; cyclic prefix; and one or more reference signal resource configuration (see at least 0353-0363 and fig. 1, a UE may be configured with an initial active UL/DL bandwidth part pair for communication, thus would include the bandwidth).
For claim 7, Shih, Wu teaches claim 1, Shih further teaches: wherein the activating the first downlink BWP is in response to receiving a medium access control control element indicating an activation of the cell (see at least 0357-0358, bandwidth parts may be activated/deactivated via MAC CE).
Claim 11 recites an apparatus substantially similar to the method of claim 1 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 13 recites an apparatus substantially similar to the method of claim 6 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 14 recites an apparatus substantially similar to the method of claim 7 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 17 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium substantially similar to the method of claim 1 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 2, 3, 8, 12, 15, 18, 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih et al. (US 2019/0098655) in view of Wu et al. (US 2019/0045549) in view of Chen et al. (US 2019/0036673).
For claim 2, Shih, Wu teaches claim 1, but not explicitly: wherein the cell is a primary cell of a plurality of cells. Chen from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0082, bandwidth parts may be configured for both a PCell and SCell out of a plurality of component carriers). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the features of Chen to the system of claim 1, so the UE is configured with bandwidth parts on a PCell, as suggested by Chen. The motivation would have been to implement bandwidth configuration on a variety of component carriers including PCell and/or SCell (Chen 0082).
For claim 3, Shih, Wu teaches claim 1, but not explicitly: wherein the cell is a secondary cell of a plurality of cells. Chen from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0082, bandwidth parts may be configured for both a PCell and SCell out of a plurality of component carriers). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the features of Chen to the system of claim 1, so the UE is configured with bandwidth parts on a SCell, as suggested by Chen. The motivation would have been to implement bandwidth configuration on a variety of component carriers including PCell and/or SCell (Chen 0082).
For claim 8, Shih, Wu teaches claim 7, but not explicitly: further comprising monitoring a downlink control channel of the first downlink BWP in response to the activating the first downlink BWP. Chen from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0096, an indication e.g. DCI, MAC CE, etc. may be sent on an active bandwidth part to activate another bandwidth part configuration). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the features of Chen to the system of claim 7, so the UE monitors control channel of an already active bandwidth part e.g. in order to receive indication of a second bandwidth part activation, as suggested by Chen. The motivation would have been to enhance communications by implementing control data monitoring on an already established bandwidth part (Chen 0096).
For claim 12, Shih, Wu teaches claim 11, Shih further teaches: wherein the first downlink BWP is different from the second downlink BWP (see at least 0353-0363 and 0385, the second bandwidth part may be a reconfigured bandwidth part other than the initial (first) bandwidth part, each associated with a specific numerology); and wherein the first active downlink BWP is a default downlink BWP of the cell (see at least 0360, the default DL bandwidth part may be the initial active DL bandwidth part), but not explicitly: wherein the cell is one of a primary cell and a secondary cell of a plurality of cells. Chen from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0082, bandwidth parts may be configured for both a PCell and SCell out of a plurality of component carriers). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the features of Chen to the system of claim 11, so the UE is configured with bandwidth parts on a PCell or SCell, as suggested by Chen. The motivation would have been to implement bandwidth configuration on a variety of component carriers including PCell and/or SCell (Chen 0082).
Claim 15 recites an apparatus substantially similar to the method of claim 8 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 18 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium substantially similar to the method of claim 12 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 19 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium substantially similar to the method of claim 8 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 9, 10, 16, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih et al. (US 2019/0098655) in view of Wu et al. (US 2019/0045549) in view of Chen et al. (US 2019/0036673) in view of Heo et al. (US 2020/0288494).
For claim 9, Shih, Wu, Chen teaches claim 8, but not explicitly: further comprising starting a BWP inactivity timer, of the cell, in response to receiving, based on monitoring the downlink control channel, a downlink control information via the first downlink BWP of the cell. Heo from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0162, a starting/restarting condition of a BWP inactivity timer may be a new data transmission indication in PDCCH). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the features of Heo to the system of claim 8, so the UE may monitor PDCCH on the active (first) BWP and start a BWP inactivity timer when downlink control information e.g. new data indication is received, as suggested by Heo. The motivation would have been to enhance communications by starting/restarting BWP inactivity timer based on BWP data activity (Heo 0162).
For claim 10, Shih, Wu, Chen, Heo teaches claim 9, Shih further teaches: further comprising switching, while the BWP inactivity timer is running, to the second downlink BWP from the first downlink BWP in response to the RRC reconfiguration of the first active downlink BWP (see at least 0354, 0385, UE may be explicitly reconfigured with bandwidth parts other than the initial (first) bandwidth parts, comprising activating a second DL BWP; timer expiry is not disclosed to occur in this case).
Claim 16 recites an apparatus substantially similar to the method of claim 10 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium substantially similar to the method of claim 10 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yiu et al. (US 2019/0044689) discloses bandwidth part signaling and measurement handling.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SIREN WEI whose telephone number is (571)272-0687. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Thursday 7-4. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Siren Wei/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2467