DETAILED ACTION
The present application is a Continuation (CON) of PCT/JP2023/007030.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because there is a typographical error in line 1. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a distillation unit configured to distill hydrocarbons, wherein hydrocarbons are distilled in the distillation unit by reaction heat generated by generating hydrocarbons in the reaction unit, and carbon dioxide absorbed or adsorbed in the carbon dioxide collection unit is separated by a low-temperature heat medium that has a temperature lower than a high-temperature heat medium being a heat medium introduced to the distillation unit, as a result of consuming part of the reaction heat in the distillation unit” in lines 6-11.
The term “heat medium” renders the claim indefinite, because it is unclear what structural and/or chemical requirements are necessary to meet the claimed invention, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The phrase “low-temperature heat medium” in Claim 1 contains a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The phrase “high-temperature heat medium” in Claim 1 contains a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heat medium” in Claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a distillation unit configured to distill hydrocarbons, wherein hydrocarbons are distilled in the distillation unit by reaction heat generated by generating hydrocarbons in the reaction unit, and carbon dioxide absorbed or adsorbed in the carbon dioxide collection unit is separated by a low-temperature heat medium that has a temperature lower than a high-temperature heat medium being a heat medium introduced to the distillation unit, as a result of consuming part of the reaction heat in the distillation unit” in lines 6-11. This recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Based on the original disclosure, the term “heat medium” is interpreted to be steam and/or oil (See Applicant’s Specification, filed 06/10/2024: [0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamata et al. (JP 2021187773 A) in view of Shah et al. (US 2007/0232706).
Claim 1. Kamata discloses A reaction system (Abstract; [0014]), comprising:
a carbon dioxide collection unit (recovery section 30, capture unit 80) configured to collect carbon dioxide by an absorption process (absorption tower 31) or an adsorption process ([0016]; [0017]; [0022]);
a reaction unit (reactor 60) configured to generate hydrocarbons from a raw material containing hydrogen and carbon dioxide ([0014]; [0028] – [0031]); and
a distillation unit (separation device 70 comprising separation towers 71, 72) configured to distill hydrocarbons, wherein hydrocarbons are distilled in the distillation unit (70) by reaction heat generated by generating hydrocarbons in the reaction unit (70), and carbon dioxide absorbed or adsorbed in the carbon dioxide collection unit (30) is separated by a low-temperature heat medium (low-temperature side separation tower 72) that has a temperature lower than a high-temperature heat medium (high-temperature side separation tower 71) being a heat medium introduced to the distillation unit (70), as a result of consuming part of the reaction heat in the distillation unit ([0032] – [0035]).
Kamata discloses a hydrocarbon production system and method (Abstract; [0014] – [0042]); wherein the system comprises:
a recovery section (30) that recovers carbon dioxide from gas containing carbon dioxide ([0014]; [0016] – [0024]), wherein the recovery unit includes: an absorption tower (31) that absorbs carbon dioxide with an alkaline solution, and a steam-type heater (40) that heats the alkaline solution through a circulation pipe (39) such that carbon dioxide is dissipated from the alkaline solution at the bottom or the dissipating tank (36) ([0016]; [0017]; [0022]);
a reactor (60) that produces hydrocarbons from a raw material containing carbon dioxide recovered by the recovery unit (30), carbon dioxide captured by a capture unit (80), and hydrogen ([0014]; [0028] – [0031]);
a separation device (70) that includes a high-temperature side separation tower (71) and a low-temperature side separation tower (72), configured to separate hydrocarbons and water from the exhaust gas discharged from the reactor (60) ([0032] – [0035]); and
a capture unit (80) that captures unreacted carbon dioxide discharged from the reactor (60) ([0036] – [0038]).
Although Kamata does not expressly disclose the terminology (distillation unit) as instantly claimed, Kamata discloses that the separation towers (which is a genus of a distillation tower) are capable of separating the hydrocarbons based on carbon content and molecular structure ([0032] – [0035]). The Examiner notes that a distillation tower can separate hydrocarbon components based on carbon atoms based on their differing boiling points or relative volatilities due to their carbon atoms and molecular structure. Moreover, Shah teaches a method for producing carbon dioxide from a synthesis gas stream via an adsorption process and a distillation process ([00042]; [0055] – [0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the separation device in Kamata with a distillation tower, as taught by Shah, in order to separate hydrocarbons with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 2. Kamata in view of Shah teach The reaction system according to claim 1. Kamata discloses wherein the distillation unit (70) distills hydrocarbons being generated in the reaction unit (60) ([0032] – [0035]).
Claim 3. Kamata in view of Shah teach The reaction system according to claim 1. Kamata discloses wherein carbon dioxide contained in the raw material includes carbon dioxide being collected in the carbon dioxide collection unit (30, 80) ([0028]; [0032] – [0035]).
Claim 4. Kamata in view of Shah teach The reaction system according to claim 1. Kamata discloses wherein the carbon dioxide collection unit (30, 80) includes: an absorption unit (absorption tower 31) configured to absorb carbon dioxide into an absorption solution (alkaline solution) ([0016]; [0017]; [0022]); and a separation unit (separation device 70) configured to separate, from the absorption solution, carbon dioxide being absorbed into the absorption solution, and the separation unit (70) separates carbon dioxide by the low-temperature heat medium (72) ([0032] – [0035]).
Claim 5. Kamata in view of Shah teach The reaction system according to claim 1. Regarding the limitation: wherein the reaction unit includes a fixed bed reactor, Kamata discloses that any known reactor can be used ([0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize a well-known reactor, such as a fixed bed reactor, in Kamata to produce hydrocarbons with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (including any corrections and/or rebuttals required by 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)).
Conclusion
/CRYSTAL J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738