DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to communication: response to original application filed on 06/10/2024.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending in this application.
The IDS filed on 06/10/224 and 07/09/2025 have been accepted.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,034,861. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the current application are found in the parent patent. An example of Claim 1 of the parent patent is found below. The items in bold are all the limitations of claim 1 of the present application.
Claim 1. A method for distributing event data for smart contracts executed on a blockchain to subscribing systems, comprising: monitoring, by a processor of a blockchain node in a blockchain network, an execution of a smart contract to detect execution of an emit function; collecting, by the processor of the blockchain node, a set of event data specified by the emit function and emitted by the smart contract executed on a blockchain associated with the blockchain network, wherein the smart contract specifies a predetermined period of time that stipulates when the event data is to be distributed; identifying, by the processor of the blockchain node, communication data for one or more subscriber computing systems that are external to the blockchain network; and after expiration of the predetermined period of time specified in the smart contract, transmitting, by a transmitter of the blockchain node, the collected event data to each of the one or more subscriber computing systems using the communication data.
The dependent claims of the present claims mirror the dependent claims of the parent patent in the same manner. For example, claims 2-5 of the current limitation mirror claims 2 and 4-6, respectively. In addition, claims 6-16 of the parent application mirror claims 7, 8, 10-12, 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being unpatentable over Salkinzis US Patent Application Publicatoin 2023/0156455 (Salkinzis).
As per claim 1, Salkinzis teaches a method for distributing event ta for smart contracts executed on a blockchain to subscribing systems, comprising: monitoring, by a processor of a blockchain node in a blockchain network, an execution of a smart contract to detect execution of an emit function (paragarphs 71-72 with monitoring for messages/events in the smart contract; also see Fig 6a; performed by processor which is part of blockchain apparatus as seen in paragraph 66 and Figure 3; see also Figure 2 for blockchain node); collecting, by the processor of the blockchain node, a first set of event data specified by the emit function and emitted by the smart contract executed on a blockchain associated with the blockchain network (paragraph 72 and throughout with collecting messages; see also Figure 6a with collecting messages/offers from mobile networks); identifying, by the processor of the blockchain node, a communication data for one or more subscriber computing systems that are external to the blockchain network (Figure 6A and throughout with sending collected offers back to first address; see also paragraph 73; see paragraph 40 with device owner; see Figure 2 with owner/UE not part of blockchain); after expiration of a predetermined period of time, transmitting, by a transmitter of the blockchain node, the collected first set of event data to each of the one or more subscriber computing systems using the communication data (Figure 6A; paragraph 73 with sending offers to owner/address/ue).
As per claim 3, Salkinzis teaches collecting, by the processor of the blockchain onde, a second set of event data emitted by a second smart contract exected on the blockchain, wherein the collected second set of event data is tramsitted to each of the one or more subscriber computing systems if collected prior to expiration of the predetermined time (see paragraphs 71-73 and Figure 6A with collecting multipole offers; if collected before the timeframe expiration, all are aggregated and sent after expiration time).
As per claim 5, Salkinzis teaches wherein each of the one or more subscriber computing systems are not blockchain nodes in the blockchain network (see Figure 1 with remote unit/owner not part of blockchain)
Claim 6 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 1 above.
Claim 8 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 3 above.
Claim 10 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 5 above.
As per claim 11, Salkinzis teaches a method for distributing event ta for smart contracts executed on a blockchain to subscribing systems, comprising: collecting, by a processor of the blockchain node, a first set of event data specified by the emit function and emitted by the smart contract executed on a blockchain associated with the blockchain network (paragraph 72 and throughout with collecting messages; see also Figure 6a with collecting messages/offers from mobile networks; also see Fig 6a; performed by processor which is part of blockchain apparatus as seen in paragraph 66 and Figure 3; see also Figure 2 for blockchain node); wherein the smart contract specifies a predetermined period of time that stipulates when the event data is to be distributed (paragraph 73 with offer timeframe parameter in the smart contract; see als Figure 6A with collecting offers until expiration time); identifying, by the processor of the blockchain node, a communication data for one or more subscriber computing systems that are external to the blockchain network (Figure 6A and throughout with sending collected offers back to first address; see also paragraph 73; see paragraph 40 with device owner; see Figure 2 with owner/UE not part of blockchain); after expiration of a predetermined period of time specified int eh smart contract, transmitting, by a transmitter of the blockchain node, the collected first set of event data to each of the one or more subscriber computing systems using the communication data (Figure 6A; paragraph 73 with sending offers to owner/address/ue after expiration of time).
Claim 13 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 3 above.
Claim 14 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 11 above.
Claim 16 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkinzis as applied above, in view of Narang et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0012248 (Narang).
As per claim 2, Salkinzis does not explicitly teach wherein receiving, by a receiver of the blockchain node, a new block for the blockchain, wherein the smart contract self-executes after receipt of the new block. However, this would have been obvious. For example, see Narang paragraph 26-29; see paragraph 26 with reservation request being added to new block in blockchain; see paragraphs 26-29 wherein after all terms/conditions are satisfied in smart contract, smart contract self-executes)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Salkinzis with Narang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to efficiently have a safe but open system to improve reservations (paragraphs 3-4).
Claim 7 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 2 above.
Claim 12 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 2 above.
Claim 15 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkinzis as applied above, in view of Liu et al. US Patent Application Publication 2019/0066079 (Liu)
As per claim 4, the Habic combination does not explicitly teach wherein the blockchain node does not store the collected event data in the blockchain node or storage media accessible by the blockchain node. However, storing event data offsite is merely a design choice and notoriously well known in the art. For a further showing of obviousness, see Liu (paragraph 57 wherein event data is stored on the cloud).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the Habic combination with Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to increase security and authenticity (paragraph 57 of Liu).
Claim 9 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 4 above.
Conclusion
/JASON K GEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495