Response to Arguments
Arguments filed 30 January 2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant argues newly amended claims are patentably distinct from the cited references. The Office disagrees, under the breadth of the claim, the first curved portion of Silvanto bends in a first direction (to the left), the curvature of the bend runs from 316 toward 312, from the ‘inside surface’ of the first chassis to the second chassis. The second curved portion of Silvanto bends in a second direction (to the right), the curvature of the bend runs from 316 toward 312, from the first chassis toward the second chassis. Thus, Silvanto continues to read upon newly amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silvanto (US 2018.0113493).
Regarding claim 1, Silvanto disclose:
An electronic apparatus comprising: a first chassis; a second chassis; a hinge connecting the first chassis and the second chassis relatively rotatably; and a flat cable provided across the first chassis and the second chassis, wherein in the first chassis, the flat cable forms: a first extending portion extending, along an inside surface of the first chassis, toward a first edge of the first chassis connected to the second chassis; a first curved portion that bends in a first direction toward the second chassis (see Fig. 1, 3a,b; [0058, 0062-0085]; electronic apparatus 100; first chassis 112/305; second chassis 110/331; hinge 301 connecting 112/305 and 110/331 relatively rotatably; flat cable 310 has first portion at 313 extending, along (essentially parallel to) the ‘inside surface’, toward first edge 320 where 110/331 and 112/305 connect; the first curved portion bends in a first direction (to the left), the curvature of the bend runs from 316 toward 312);
a second extending portion extending from the first extending portion through a first curved portion toward a side opposite to the first edge; a second curved portion that bends in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction toward the second chassis; and a third extending portion extending from the second second curved portion toward the first edge, and wherein the second extending portion is fixed (see Fig. 1, 3a,b; [0058, 0062-0085]; second extending portion at 316 extending away from 320 via first curved portion; the second curved portion of Silvanto bends in a second direction (to the right), the curvature of the bend runs from 316 toward 312, from the first chassis toward the second chassis; a third extending portion extending from 2nd extending portion via a second curved portion at 310 toward 320; where second extending portion is fixed at 316).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Silvanto further disclose:
a block fixed to the first chassis and protruding from a vicinity of the first edge toward the side opposite to the first edge, wherein a protruding end of the block regulates a curved shape of the second curved portion (see Fig. 1, 3a,b; [0058, 0062-0085]; block 314 attached to 112/305 at 312 which goes from 320 to opposite side to regulate shape of second curved portion at 310))
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein. Silvanto further disclose:
the second extending portion is fixed to the first chassis via the block (see Fig. 1, 3a,b; [0058, 0062-0085]; fixed to block 314 via 316)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Silvanto further disclose:
the second extending portion is fixed planarly to the block (see Fig. 1, 3a,b)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Silvanto further disclose:
the first chassis has a flat shape with a keyboard mounted on a top surface thereof, and wherein the second extending portion is parallel to a flat surface of the first chassis or is at an angle so as to separate from the top surface in a direction toward the side opposite to the first edge (see Fig. 1, 3a,b; [0058, 0062-0085]; keyboard 116, where second extending portion is parallel to 112/305)
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Silvanto further disclose:
the first chassis has a flat shape, wherein the second chassis has a flat shape with a display in front, and includes a cable opening that is formed at a second edge of the second chassis connected to the first chassis and through which the flat cable is inserted, and wherein at least in a state in which a display surface of the display overlaps the first chassis, a circular arc radius of a curvature of the flat cable in a part inserted into the cable opening is larger than a circular arc radius of the second curved portion (see Fig. 1, 3a,b; [0058, 0062-0085]; display 108 in second chassis 110/331 with flat shape and cable opening, which through cable 310 is inserted (see annotated Fig. 3B in claim 10 below); where curvature shown to be expanded by circle which makes R2>R1 (see annotated Fig. 3A below))
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Silvanto further disclose:
the first chassis has a flat shape, wherein the second chassis has a flat shape with a display in front, and includes a cable opening that is formed at a second edge of the second chassis connected to the first chassis and through which the flat cable is inserted, and wherein at least in an angle range of 90 degrees to 120 degrees with respect to a state in which a display surface of the display overlaps the first chassis, the flat cable is linear in a part inserted into the cable opening (see Fig. 1, 3a,b; [0058, 0062-0085]; display 108 in second chassis 110/331 with flat shape and cable opening, which through cable 310 is inserted (see annotated Fig. 3B in claim 10 below); where the angle range of 90 to 120 degrees, linear flat cable opening)
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein. Silvanto further disclose:
an entire angle range of relative rotation of the first chassis and the second chassis, the circular arc radius of the curvature of the flat cable in the part inserted into the cable opening is larger than the circular arc radius of the second curved portion (see Fig. 1, 3a,b; [0058, 0062-0085]; see annotated Fig. 3A above)
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Silvanto further disclose:
the entire angle range of relative rotation of the first chassis and the second chassis, a circular arc angle of the curvature of the flat cable in the part inserted into the cable opening is smaller than a circular arc angle of the second curved portion (see Fig. 1, 3a,b; [0058, 0062-0085]; circular arc angle at insert smaller than circular arc angle at second curved portion – see annotated Fig. 3A above where arc angles are shown by radius arrows)
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Silvanto further disclose:
the first chassis is a main body chassis including a keyboard on a top surface thereof, wherein the second chassis includes a flat plate portion that includes a display, and a bent portion that is bent from an end of the flat plate portion and, at a position facing the first edge of the main body chassis, connected to the hinge, wherein the bent portion includes an inside member on a side facing the first edge and an outside member on a side opposite to the side facing the first edge, and a cable hole through which the flat cable passes is formed between the inside member and the outside member, wherein at a cable opening from which the flat cable is inserted into the cable hole, the inside member and the outside member form respective circular arcs so as to widen from each other in a direction toward the opening, and wherein a center of the circular arc of the inside member and a center of the circular arc of the outside member differ in position in an extending direction of the bent portion (see Fig. 1, 3a,b; [0058, 0062-0085]; 110/331 with display 108 on flat plate and bent end at 301/306 facing edge of main body chassis 112/305; see also annotated Fig. 3a below, for cable hole, inside and outside member placement, where circular arcs are in different positions extending in direction of bent portion)
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Silvanto further disclose:
the first chassis is a main body chassis including a keyboard on a top surface thereof, and wherein the second extending portion is fixed at a position in a bottom half of a thickness of the first chassis in a top-bottom direction (see Fig. 1, 3a,b; [0058, 0062-0085]; keyboard 116 in first chassis 112/305 where second extending portion is in bottom half of chassis 112/305)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvanto.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated herein. While Silvanto provides inside and outside members to receive the flexible cable, it is not explicit as to, the circular arc radius of each member to be equal. However, determining the radius would be a design choice, as it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to provide equal radii of the arcs of the outside and inside, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Such is evidenced by Horikoshi (JP 7082221 B1) at Fig. 4, where 44b and 42a have equal radii, allowing bending of the flexible cable running between a first and second chassis, to avoid breakage during the opening and closing of the device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/kenneth bukowski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621