The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plasmonic structure beneath the break junction electrodes of claim 3, the layer of metal nanoparticles or metal film on the substrate beneath the electrodes of claim 4, the atomic or nanoscale roughness formed on outer surfaces of the electrodes of claim 6, the nonconductive material coating of the electrodes of claim 7, the second Mems-based actuator of claim 9, the conductive metal coating on the tip of the needle electrode of claim 10 and the surface coating of molecules of claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: plasmonic nanocavity 44 (see paragraphs [0061], [0063] and [0065] of the instant specification). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claims 3-4, 6-10, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 3, the structural relationship between the plasmonic structure, the planar substrate, the transverse bore and the electrodes is not clear. Is the plasmonic structure part of the electrodes (i.e. on a bottom surface of the electrodes), between the electrodes and the planar substrate, part of the transverse bore of claim 1 or the linear channel of claim 2 (i.e. forming a portion of a wall of either the transverse bore or the linear channel) or does it have some other structural relationship (i.e. on a bottom surface of the planar substrate)? With respect to the transverse bore or leaner channel, does the plasmonic structure extend into the transverse bore or the linear channel, is it adjacent to the to a wall of the transverse bore or linear channel or is it separated from the transverse bore or linear channel by some defined distance that enables it to perform the enhancement function? For examination purposes, examiner will not place any particular limitation on what can be the plasmonic structure including a layer of metal nanoparticles or a metal film on the bottom side of the electrodes. With respect to claim 4, many of the above questions of claim 3 still apply to the structural relationship between the layer of metal nanoparticles or metal film. With respect to claim 6, it is not clear what constitutes atomic or nanoscale roughness. Is it the simple roughness inherent in a layer formed through the know metal electrode deposition/formation processes, the roughness inherent in nanoscale electrode dimensions (i.e. an incomplete layer based on layer thickness or simply the electrode shape based on nanometer thickness and/or width) or roughness produced after some treatment designed to create roughness? With respect to claim 7, “the tip” does not have antecedent basis. With respect to claim 8, are the first and second conductive needle electrodes a further definition of the shape of the opposing nanoscale electrodes or are they additional/different from the electrodes coupled to the MEMS-based actuator? Because of the above issue, it is also not clear what structural relationship the first and second conductive needle electrodes have with the transverse bore or linear channel: either side or some other structural relationship. With respect to claim 16, “the electrode materials does not have antecedent basis. Also, it is not clear what constitutes a plasmon cavity: some part or all of the transverse bore or channel or a cavity that is different from the transverse bore or channel. Additionally, it is not clear if there are critical dimensions, required structure and/or essential materials needed for the “plasmon cavity” to function as intended. With respect to claim 18, is a substrate bore the same or different from a transverse bore? With respect to claim 19, “each movable electrode” does not have antecedent basis. With respect to claim 20, does “treating target molecules with thiols or other chemical linkers” mean reacting the target molecules with the thiols or other chemical linkers prior to translocating the target molecule the transverse bore or channel? Alternatively, are the thiols or other chemical linkers attached to some structure as they treat target molecules to improve binding to the electrodes during translocation? Claims not specifically mentioned above are dependent from one or more of these claims and fail to fix the issue of the claim(s) from which they depend.
Claims 1-6, 8-11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (Advanced Functional Materials 2020) in view of Belkin (ACS Nano 2015) and further in view of Ivanov (Nano Letters 2011), Liang (Nano Letters 2008) or Taniguchi (Proceedings of the ASME-JSME-KSME 2011 Joint Fluids Engineering Conference). In the paper Jeong teaches an on-chip break junction system for combined single-molecule conductance and Raman spectroscopies using a new approach for achieving a reliable single-molecule break junction system by using a microelectromechanical system (MEMS) device on a chip. It was demonstrated that the platform can (i) provide sub-nanometer mechanical resolution over a wide temperature range (≈77–300 K), (ii) provide mechanical stability on par with scanning tunneling microscopy and mechanically controllable break junction systems, and (iii) operate in a variety of environmental conditions. Given these fundamental device performance properties, the electrical characteristics of two standard molecules (hexane-dithiol and biphenyl-dithiol) at the single molecule level, and their stability in the junction at both room and cryogenic temperatures (≈77 K) were studied. One of the possible distinctive applications of the system is demonstrated, i.e., observing real-time Raman scattering in a single-molecule junction. This approach may pave a way to achieving high-throughput electrical characterization of single-molecule devices and provide a reliable platform for the convenient characterization and practical application of single-molecule electronic systems in the future. The MEMS-based break junction (MEMS-BJ) uses conventional MEMS chip fabrication techniques to create an electrostatic comb drive that can actuate nanoscale metal electrodes with sub-nanometer precision to manipulate single-molecule junctions. Figure 1 provides a schematic illustration of the MEMS-BJ system. They demonstrated one of the many possible distinctive applications for the system; the study of combined single-molecule Raman spectroscopy and molecular conductance measurements in real time. Figure 2 presents a simplified fabrication procedure of the device. Figure 7 presents a schematic of the Raman spectroscopy measurement system. A description of the system(s) and the electrical and junction enhanced Raman spectroscopy measurements is presented in the experimental section on page 9 of the paper. The conductance measurements at 50 mV bias were also conducted simultaneously with the Raman measurements to correlate the spectra with specific molecular binding events. On page 16 of the supporting information section, potential improvements for further applications of the system are discussed including conductance measurement based detection and identification of single molecules including biomolecules such as a DNA, RNA, and proteins. Jeong does not teach structures for presentation of molecules such as DNA, RNA or proteins to the MEMS-BJ system for that purpose.
In the paper Belkin investigated the development of a DNA sequencing methodology using nanoplasmonics to control the translocation of a DNA molecule through a solid-state nanopore and to read off sequence information using surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy. Using molecular dynamics simulations, they showed that high-intensity optical hot spots produced by a metallic nanostructure can arrest DNA translocation through a solid-state nanopore, thus providing a physical knob for controlling the DNA speed. Switching the plasmonic field on and off can displace the DNA molecule in discrete steps, sequentially exposing neighboring fragments of a DNA molecule to the pore as well as to the plasmonic hot spot. Surface-enhanced Raman scattering from the exposed DNA fragments contains information about their nucleotide composition, possibly allowing the identification of the nucleotide sequence of a DNA molecule transported through the hot spot. The principles of plasmonic nanopore sequencing can be extended to detection of DNA modifications and RNA characterization. Figure 1 shows the concept of the approach to use a plasmonic nanopore device for trapping and sequencing DNA. Two gold triangular prisms form a bow tie structure on top of a solid-state membrane. A nanopore in the gap of the bow tie structure connects one side of the membrane to the other; the entire structure is submerged in an electrolyte solution. Driven by a transmembrane potential, DNA molecules travel from one side of the membrane to the other through the nanopore. The bow tie structure focuses the incident laser beam onto nanometer-size hot spots in proximity of the nanopore. The optical field of the hot spots applies a restraining force on the DNA molecule, counteracting the pull of the electrophoretic force. Switching the laser beam on and off produces stepwise displacement of DNA through the nanopore. Surface-enhanced Raman scattering (SERS) reports the nucleotide composition of the DNA fragment confined within the hot spots. The nucleotide sequence of DNA is deciphered through deconvolution of the SERS signals at the frequencies that uniquely identify each of the four DNA nucleotides.
In the paper Ivanov reported the fabrication and characterization of a DNA nanopore detector with integrated tunneling electrodes. Functional tunneling devices were identified by tunneling spectroscopy in different solvents and then used in proof-of-principle experiments demonstrating, for the first time, concurrent tunneling detection and ionic current detection of DNA molecules in a nanopore platform. This is an important step toward ultrafast DNA sequencing by tunneling. Figure 1 presents a schematic of the nanopore/nanogap device integrated into an electrochemical cell. The tunneling junction is located at the exit of the nanopore. DNA is inserted in the bottom reservoir and electrophoretically driven through the nanopore and the tunneling junction. also shown in the figure are an optical image of a 5 mm ×5 mm chip, a free-standing 40 μm × 40 μm Si3N4 membrane aligned to the Au microelectrodes, a SEM image of the window in the PECVD Si3N4 layer opened by RIE, a SEM image of the Pt nanoelectrodes fabricated by EBID (the additional Pt contact pads (250 × 500 nm) were deposited to improve electrical connection to the Au microelectrodes) and a magnified SEM image showing the nanopore aligned to the Pt nanoelectrodes. Figure 5 shows λ-DNA events detected with the electrodes/nanopore architecture in an electrolyte solution of 1 M KCl, Tris-HCl EDTA buffer, Et ) 0.3 V and Ei ) -0.8 V. Note that ionic current (black curves) is always negative and that events occurring upward decrease the nanopore conductance. Acquisition frequency: 50 kHz for ionic current, 5 kHz Bessel filter; 5 kHz for tunneling, no filter. In the figure, section a) shows ionic current for short-lived type I events, section b) shows tunneling current for long-lived type II events and section c) shows examples of coincident type II events detected in both detection channels.
In the paper Liang reported the fabrication and characterization of a novel real-time, label-free DNA detector, that uses a long nanofluidic channel to stretch a DNA strand and a nanogap detector (with a gap as small as 9 nm) inside the channel to measure the electrical conduction perpendicular to the DNA backbone as it moves through the gap. They observed electrical signals caused by 1.1 kilobase-pair (kbp) double-stranded (ds)-DNA passing through the gap in the nanogap detectors with a gap equal to or less than 13 nm. Figure 1 provides a schematic of a DNA detector with a nanogap inside a nanofluidic channel. The detector uses a long nanofluidic channel to stretch a DNA strand into a linear chain, while using a nanogap detector, consisting of a pair of metal nanowires with a gap (as small as 9 nm), to measure electrical conduction perpendicular to the backbone of a DNA strand as it passes through the gap. Figure 2 shows the key steps in the device fabrication. The paragraph bridging the columns of page 1474 teaches that the DNA in solution were driven by electrophoresis with Pt electrodes inserted into the liquid reservoirs, which provide an electrophoretic voltage of 20 V. For the nanogap detector with a cross section of 18 nm (gap) × 35 nm (height), there was no detectable difference in the measured electrical current signals between the pure buffer solution and the buffer solution containing 1.1 kbp DNAs (see Figure 5a). The paragraph bridging the columns of page 1475 teaches that when the nanogap detector cross section is reduced to 13 nm (gap) × 26 nm (height), clear negative pulses are observed only in the buffer solution containing the 1.1 kbp DNAs but not in the pure buffer solution (see Figure 5b). The amplitude of the pulse signals ranges from 100 to 150 pA (noticeably larger than the noise). Furthermore, when the nanogap cross section is further reduced to 9 nm (gap) × 16 nm (height), the average magnitude of negative pulses increases by ∼ 00% and becomes ∼350 pA (see Figure 5c).
In the paper Taniguchi reported the development of two types of devices — vertical and parallel — for incorporating a microfluidic channel into a gating nanopore. The vertical device consists of a single nanogap electrode with a nanopore perpendicular to the surface of a silicon substrate. The parallel device is similar, except the nanopore is parallel to the surface of the substrate. Furthermore, while the vertical device was fabricated using nanofabrication technologies, the parallel device was fabricated using a mechanically controllable break junction (MCBJ)enables atomic-level control of the electrode gap; hence, measurement of single atoms and molecules is possible. Both devices can identify single gold nanoparticles passing through them by measuring the strength of their electrical signals. The parallel device can also identify the individual nucleotides in a DNA molecule. Figure 1 shows a schematic diagram of a gating nanopore consisting of a nanopore and a nanogap electrode. Figure 2 shows a schematic diagram of MCBJ operation. This is described in the first full paragraph on page 2 of the paper. The paragraph bridging pages 2-3 of the paper describes using the parallel gating nanopores to detect and identify the individual nucleotides in a DNA molecule. In this experiment, the four mononucleotides shown in figure 4A were used. The nanoelectrode gap was configured (mechanically adjusted) to a width of approximately 1 nm, equal to the molecular size of the nucleotides. Spiky signals (see Figure 4B) similar to those observed for identification of single gold nanoparticles were observed for the nucleotides. These signals were absent when the nanoelectrode gap was wider than the molecular size of the nucleotides. Furthermore, measurements in the solvent alone resulted in no detectable signals. The summary on page 3 teaches that they hope/intend to use this platform to develop a high-throughput, ultra-fast, inexpensive system for driving DNA sequencing technology to the next-generation level.
With respect to claims 1 and 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the Jeong structure and method with a nanopore as taught by Belkin or Ivanov or a linear channel as taught by Liang or Taniguchi to present a molecule such as DNA to the nanogap electrodes of Jeong for combined electrical and Raman spectral detection/analysis because Jeong intends their structure to be used on DNA and the disclosures of Belkin, Ivanov, Liang and Taniguchi clearly teach the use of a transverse bore (nanopore) and linear channel as structures for presenting molecules such as DNA to nanogap electrodes for detection by conductance or Raman spectroscopy. With respect to claims 3-4, at least Belkin teaches that metallic nanostructures around to nanopore create a plasmonic nanopore so that modification of Jeong with the teachings of Belkin would have shown the benefits of a plasmonic structure near the electrodes involved in the break junction and/or that the electrodes of Jeong constitute the plasmonic structure. With respect to claim 5, at least Belkin and Liang teach a translator element configured to translocate a target through the transverse bore or linear channel so that modification of the Jeong teachings by these references would show the obviousness of claim 5 for the reasons given above for claim 1. With respect to claim 6, the nanoscale dimensions of the Jeong break junction would lead to the required atomic or nanoscale roughness of claim 6. With respect to claim 8, the structure of Jeong meets the MEMS-based actuator language of claim 8. With respect to claims 9 at least the Taniguchi structure shows a break junction in which the distance between the electrodes is caused by movement of both electrodes away from each other. The Court in In re Harza (274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)), held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Applicant has not shown that the result of duplicating the MEMS-based actuator is significantly more than what happens with the Taniguchi structure show that the structure of claim 9 is considered to be mere duplication of parts and is obvious therefore. With respect to claim 10, Ivanov teaches an electrode in which a gold metal is coated with/joined to platinum which forms the nanogap aligned with the nanopore. This modification of Jeong with the teachings of Ivanov would have shown the obviousness of claim 10 for the reasons given above for claim 1. With respect to claim 11 the opposing electrodes of Jeong meet the limitation of claim 11. With respect to claims 13-14, the Raman spectroscopy structure of Jeong meets the requirements of claim 13 and the fact that the conductance measurements at 50 mV bias were also conducted simultaneously with the Raman measurements to correlate the spectra with specific molecular binding events shows that the requirements of claim 14 were met.
With respect to claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the Jeong structure and method with a nanopore as taught by Belkin or Ivanov or a linear channel as taught by Liang or Taniguchi and translocate molecules such as DNA and/or nucleotides through the nanopore or linear channel to present a molecule such as DNA to the nanogap electrodes of Jeong for combined electrical and Raman spectral detection/analysis because Jeong intends their structure to be used on DNA and the disclosures of Belkin, Ivanov, Liang and Taniguchi clearly teach the use of a transverse bore (nanopore) and linear channel as structures for presenting molecules such as DNA to nanogap electrodes for detection by conductance or Raman spectroscopy. With respect to claim 16, at least Belkin teaches that metallic nanostructures around the nanopore create a plasmonic nanopore so that modification of Jeong with the teachings of Belkin would have shown the benefits of a plasmonic structure near the electrodes involved in the break junction and/or that the electrodes of Jeong constitute the plasmonic structure. With respect to claims 17 and 19, the fact that the conductance measurements at 50 mV bias were also conducted simultaneously with the Raman measurements to correlate the spectra with specific molecular binding events shows that the control requirements of claims 17 and 19 were met. With respect to claim 18, at least Belkin and Liang teach a translator element configured to translocate a target through the transverse bore or linear channel so that modification of the Jeong method teachings by these references would show the obviousness of claim 18 for the reasons given above for claim 15.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Belkin and further in view of Ivanov, Liang or Taniguchi as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Fanget (Nano Letters 2014). Jeong does not teach coating the electrodes with a non-conductive material except at the tip.
In the paper Fanget reports a high-throughput fabrication of sub-10 nm nanogap electrodes combined with solid-state nanopores. These devices should allow concomitant tunneling and ionic current detection of translocating DNA molecules. The optimal fabrication parameters in terms of dose, resist thickness, and gap shape that allow easy reproduction of the fabrication process at wafer scale were reported. The device noise and current voltage characterizations performed and the influence of the nanoelectrodes on the ionic current noise was identified. In some cases, ionic current rectification for connected or biased nanogap electrodes was also observed. In order to increase the extremely low translocation rates, several experimental strategies were tested and modeled using finite element analysis. The findings are useful for future device designs of nanopore integrated electrodes for DNA sequencing. The paragraph bridging pages 245-246 teaches passivating the contacting electrodes with 150 nm of Al2O3 (dielectric), so that thick metallic electrodes are electrochemically inactive. The paragraph bridging pages S2-S3 of the supporting information teaches that the 150nm Al2O3 coating is to passivate the electrodes from the electrolytic solution and avoid ionic cross-conductance. However the pads and nanogap electrodes are left unprotected and passivated later on by atomic layer deposition (ALD) of Al2O3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to coat the electrodes with a non-conductive material except at the tip as taught by Fanget because of the ability to provide electrodes that are electrochemically inactive and avoid ionic cross-conductance as taught by Fanget.
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Belkin and further in view of Ivanov, Liang or Taniguchi as applied to claims 1-2 and 15 above, and further in view of Majima (US 2022/0291194). Jeong does not teach a surface coating of molecules to improve target molecule binding during translocation, improve dwell time and current and Raman signals.
In the patent publication, Majima teaches a nanopore structure that includes a first metal member having a thin film structure and a through hole, and a second metal member arranged to narrow a diameter of the through hole. The first metal member and the second metal member form a nanopore having a pore diameter of 10 nm or less. Paragraph [0003] teaches that development of devices and methods for DNA and RNA sequencing using nanoscale pores, called nanopores, is underway. For example, a base sequence analyzer (DNA sequencer) that forms nanopores with ring-shaped proteins and measures ion currents when DNA strands pass through the nanopores to decode base sequences is known. Paragraph [0004] teaches that because of mechanical durability, stability, and heat resistance problems, nanopores formed by proteins cannot be reused once they are used for analysis. Paragraph [0005] teaches that an embodiment achieves nanopores having a pore diameter of 10 nm or less and a base sequence analyzer using the nanopores. Relevant to the instant claims are figures 5A and 5B showing a cross-sectional structure of an inventive nanopore structure with a configuration in which a self-assembled monolayer is formed on a first metal member and a second metal member. Paragraph [0084] is part of the description of these figures and teaches that the self-assembled monolayer 126 includes a first functional group chemisorbed on the second metal members 116a, 116b and a second functional group bonded to the first functional group. The first functional group is one of a thiol group, a dithiocarbamate group and a xanthate group. The second functional group is an alkane, an alkene, an alkane or a group obtained by substituting a part or all of a hydrogen molecule of the alkene with fluorine, an amino group, a nitro group, an amide group, and any group containing the following fluorescent dye. Paragraph [0085] gives an example in which the self-assembled monolayer 126 is formed of a monolayer obtained from an alkanethiol. The self-assembled monolayer 126 is water repellent and acts to keep the surface condition. A small number of alkane dithiols are mixed in the alkane thiols of the self-assembled monolayer 126. The alkane dithiol is a structure in which a thiol is positioned at a bonding group containing sulfur (S) at both ends of an alkane chain, and sulfur (S) exists at locations in an alkane thiol monolayer. In order to mix an alkane dithiol in an alkane thiol, an electrode coated with an alkanethiol self-assembled monolayer 126 is immersed in a solution of the alkane dithiol, and a part of the alkane thiol is replaced with the alkane dithiol.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to a surface coating of molecules such as the molecules that make up the self-assembled layer of Majima because of their ability to provide a water repellant surface or keep a desired surface condition as taught by Majima.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited art is directed toward structures using metal electrodes and/or nanostructure in combination with a conductometric or Raman spectroscopic measurement device.
/ARLEN SODERQUIST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797