CTNF 18/738,317 CTNF 82508 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA 2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 3. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 4. Claim s 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1)/(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by HANO US Patent Application No. 2017/0248887 (hereinafter HANO) . Regarding claim 1 , HANO discloses an image forming apparatus ( An image forming apparatus 100, Figure 1), comprising: an image former that forms an image of a plurality of colors on a sheet by an intermediate transfer method on a basis of acquired image data ( An image forming apparatus includes an image forming unit configured to form an image on a sheet includes exposure devices 13Y, 13M, 13C, and 13K, an intermediate transfer portion, a fixing device 5, and a conveyance mechanism configured to convey a sheet P. The exposure devices 13Y, 13M, 13C, and 13K are provided for the respective colors ; paragraph 27, Figure 1); and a hardware processor that acquires sheet information of the sheet ( Printer processor 407 is configured to control and perform the processing of forming an image onto the sheet P ; paragraphs 57, 64, Figure 5), extracts an edge from the image data ( The printer processor 407 extracts the maximum value and the minimum value of the average values of the sheet P ; paragraph 81), subjects the extracted edge to image processing according to the sheet information of the sheet ( Printer processor 407 reads the conveyance behavior profile. The CPU 501 of the printer processor extracts the data of the same position as the sheet-white portion ; paragraphs 81, 101-102), and causes the image former to form an image of a plurality of colors on the sheet on the basis of the image data subjected to the image processing ( Image forming apparatus 100 is configured to perform weighting based on the determination result of the conveyance behavior state at the time of gradation correction, to suppress the measurement fluctuation of the image density due to the conveyance behavior of the sheet P to have different colors on the sheet ; paragraphs 27-28, 88-93). Regarding claim 2 , HANO discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image former forms a white background image of a plurality of colors on the sheet, and the hardware processor extracts a negative edge from the image data, and changes a line width of the negative edge according to the sheet information on the sheet (Printer processor 407 reads the conveyance behavior profile and extracts the data of the same position as the sheet-white portion of the density patch from the conveyance; paragraphs 101-103 ). Regarding claim 3 , HANO discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the sheet information includes basis weight or rigidity of the sheet, and the hardware processor increases the line width of the negative edge according to the basis weight or the rigidity of the sheet (Measurement results are obtained while conveying a white sheet P having a basis weight; paragraphs 84, 88, 93, 97-98, 100-103) . Regarding claim 4 , HANO discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the hardware processor performs the image processing on a basis of a correspondence table between the sheet information of the sheet and a change amount in the line width of the negative edge (CPU 508 performs calculation processing so as to match the gradation table with the gradation target table, to thereby generate the final LUT to be used during image formation; paragraphs 64, 91-92, 94, 98-101 ). Regarding claim 5 , HANO discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor changes lightness at which inking is started according to the sheet information of the sheet (control the measuring unit to measure the reflected light from the sheet conveyed by the backup roller, and generate profile data corresponding to measurement results of the reflected light from a plurality of positions in a direction in which the sheet is conveyed; paragraphs 99, 103 ). Regarding claim 6 , HANO discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the hardware processor changes lightness at which inking is started according to the sheet information on the sheet, and increases the lightness at which inking is started according to the basis weight or the rigidity of the sheet (intensity of laser light of the exposure devices 13Y, 13M, 13C, and 13K to be applied to the developing sleeves of the developing devices 14Y, 14M, 14C, and 14K; paragraph 99 ). Regarding claim 7 , HANO discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a detector that detects the sheet information of the sheet, wherein the hardware processor acquires a detection result by the detector (Image forming apparatus 100 is configured to detect light diffusely reflected from a white part of the sheet P with reference to a timing at which the color sensor 301 detects the trigger patch St; paragraphs 49, 54, 62, 64 ). Regarding claim 8 , HANO discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor extracts an edge from the image data by an edge extraction filter (Printer processor 407 extracts the maximum value and the minimum value of the average values of the sampling results of the respective white regions; paragraphs 81, 101 ). Regarding claim 9 , claim 9 is the method claim of device claim 1. Therefore, method claim 9 is rejected for the reason given in device claim 1. Regarding claim 10 , claim 10 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium , and recites identical features as claim 1. Thus, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in claim 1 above . Information Disclosure Statement 5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Cited Art 07-96 AIA 6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. UESHIMA (US 2013/0208042) discloses a recording defect inspection method for an image recording apparatus, comprising: a recording step of sequentially recording test patterns of respective recording heads onto a recording medium; an image capturing step of capturing an image of a test pattern recorded on the recording medium by means of a scanner; an analysis step of analyzing the captured test pattern and detecting a recording defect of the recording head which has recorded the test pattern; an evaluation frequency setting step of setting an evaluation frequency for each of the recording heads on the basis of a recording defect occurrence frequency for each recording head; and a control step of setting a frequency of analysis and detection for each of the recording heads in the analysis step to the set evaluation frequency, wherein a test pattern of one color is recorded on one sheet of paper P, but if it is possible to record test patterns of a plurality of colors on the test pattern recording region, then test patterns for a plurality of colors may be recorded. Yamasaki et al. (US 20020070990) discloses a printing control apparatus for generating print data to be supplied to a printing unit to perform printing during main scans, the printing control apparatus comprising: a dot data generator configured to generate dot data from image data indicative of a image to be printed, the dot data representing a state of dot formation at each pixel; a contour line extractor configured to extract a first type contour line of a specific type image area represented by the dot data, the first contour line being parallel to a main scan direction, the specific type image area being composed of pixels at which specific type dots are to be formed; and a dot data adjuster configured to adjust the dot data so as to regularly reduce an amount of ink for forming dots on the first contour line, wherein the contour line extractor is configured to further extract a second contour line of the specific type image area, the second contour line being not parallel to the main scan direction; and the dot data adjuster is configured to adjust the dot data so as to maintain the amount of ink for forming dots at pixels on the second contour line even if these pixels are on the first contour line, wherein the contour line extractor is configured to further extract a second contour line of the specific type image area, the second contour line being not parallel to the main scan direction; and the dot data adjuster is configured to adjust the dot data so as to regularly reduce the amount of ink for forming dots at pixels next to the first and/or the second contour line. 7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALLEN H NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-1229. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7 am-4 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN can be reached at (571) 270-5254. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALLEN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/738,317 Page 2 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/738,317 Page 3 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/738,317 Page 4 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/738,317 Page 5 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/738,317 Page 6 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/738,317 Page 7 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/738,317 Page 8 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/738,317 Page 9 Art Unit: 2683