DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ni 2016/0000004.
In regards to Independent Claim 16, Ni teaches a work implement (10) for dispensing agricultural product (liquid tank 26) to a field (paragraph [0004]), the work implement comprising: a plurality of row units (nozzles N1 through N4); a product delivery system (fluid conduit 38) operatively connected to the plurality of row units (as shown in figure 2), wherein the product delivery system is configured to deliver a predetermined delivered amount of product to one or more of the plurality of row units (paragraph [0028]), and wherein each of the plurality of row units is configured to dispense a predetermined dispensed amount of product to the field (paragraph [0028]); a sensor system (S1 through S5) directed to one of or both of the product delivery system (sensor S5) or the plurality of row units (sensors S1 through S4), wherein the sensor system is configured to identify an actual delivered amount of product being delivered to one or more of the plurality row units and to identify an actual dispensed amount of product being dispensed by one or more of the plurality of row units (flow rate sensors S1 through S5 will monitor flow to each nozzles N1 through N4, and flow from pump 40 to conduit 38), and wherein the sensor system transmits a first sensor signal of the actual delivered amount of product being delivered (sensor S5, paragraph [0031]) or a second sensor signal of the actual dispensed amount of product being dispensed (sensors S1 through S4); a controller (EPC 54), operatively connected to the sensor system (paragraph [0030]), the controller configured to: receive the first sensor signal or the second sensor signal (paragraph [0030]); determine, based on the first sensor signal, if the actual delivered amount of product being delivered is less than the predetermined delivered amount of product (percentage of flow, paragraph [0035]); determine, based on the second sensor signal, if the actual dispensed amount of product being dispensed is less than the predetermined dispensed amount of product (paragraph [0035]); and identify which of the plurality of row units fails to or would fail to deliver a sufficient amount of product based on the first sensor signal or the second sensor signal (paragraph [0035], and percentage of flow of each nozzle shown in chart of figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni 2016/0000004 in view of Sharma 2022/0198643.
In regards to Independent Claim 1 and Dependent Claims 2 and 3, Ni teaches an agricultural work system (system 10 shown in its entirety in figure 1) for dispensing agricultural product (liquid tank 26) to a field (paragraph [0004]) in a plurality of passes based on a field plan (intended use for the system, where the system uses GPS to direct the vehicle, paragraph [0004]), the agricultural work system comprising: an implement (booms 18 and 2) including a plurality of row units (nozzles N1 through N4) defining an implement width of one of the plurality of passes (distance between each nozzle as shown in figure 2), wherein each of the plurality of row units is configured to dispense the agricultural product to the field in rows across the width of the one of the plurality of passes (spraying of nozzles N1 through N4 shown in figure 2); a product delivery system (fluid conduit 38), operatively connected to the plurality of row units (as shown in figure 2), configured to deliver the agricultural product to the plurality of row units (paragraph [0028]); a sensor system (sensors S1 through S4 in figure 2) directed to the plurality of row units (paragraph [0029]), wherein the sensor system is configured to transmit a first signal configured to identify a lack of the agricultural product being dispensed from one or more of the plurality of row units (sensors S1-S4 are flow rate sensors, paragraph [0029]); and a controller (54), operatively connected to the sensor system (paragraph [0030]), the controller configured to: identify a non-working plurality of the plurality of row units that fail to deliver a sufficient amount of agricultural product based on the first sensor signal (determines existence of blockage of nozzles based upon sensors, paragraph [0030]); identify a working plurality of the plurality of row units that deliver a sufficient amount of agricultural product based on the first sensor signal (paragraph [0030], where detecting presence of clogging of nozzles will also detect nozzles that are not clogged). However, Ni does not teach that the controller is configured to facilitate providing a modified field plan for dispensing the product to the field, wherein the modified field plan identifies a field location of the reduced plurality of row units that fail to deliver the sufficient amount of agricultural product when dispensing the agricultural product to the field. Sharma teaches a controller (detection system 210 of farming vehicle 140) configured to facilitate providing a modified field plan for passing over a field (malfunction detection module 340 determines damaged shank of farming vehicle and modifies route through field, paragraph [0049], wherein number of shank malfunctions determines width to be modified), wherein the modified field plan identifies a field location of the damaged units (paragraph [0077], where detection system 210 monitors field already treated to determine if there was a malfunction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use the control system step of modifying a field plan based upon portions of the field not being treated, as taught by Sharma, in the control system of Ni, in order to successfully complete treatment of a field without having to stop an autonomous farming vehicle if job quality exceeds a satisfactory percentage (paragraph [0056]). Although the agricultural work system of Sharma does not dispense a product over a field, Sharma’s teachings are analogous to the agricultural work system of Ni and the system claimed because Sharma teaches a system with a plurality of row units and a control system that detects failure of one or more of the row units, and modifies operation of the system based upon the failure.
Regarding Dependent Claim 4, Ni in view of Sharma teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Ni in view of Sharma does not teach the modified field plan includes an adjusted plurality passes for dispensing the agricultural product to the field, wherein the adjusted plurality of passes includes dispensing the agricultural product to the coverage gap. Sharma teaches using another vehicle to make a pass over the portion of the field that was unsuccessfully treated, such that there are multiple passes over the same untreated gap (paragraph [0118], where it is not claimed that the agricultural work system is a single vehicle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use a second vehicle to make a pass over the untreated gap, as taught by Sharma, for the system of Ni in view of Sharma, in order to successfully treat the entire field (paragraph [0118]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 12, Ni in view of Sharma teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above, and Ni further teaches the sensor system includes a product delivery sensor (S5, upstream of all nozzles as shown in figure 2) directed to the product delivery system (S5 is between tank 26 and all nozzles N1 through N4), wherein the product delivery sensor is configured to transmit a second signal configured to identify a lack of the agricultural product being dispensed from the product delivery system to the implement (S5 detecting no flow would indicate an issue with flow upstream of S5 in figure 2).
Regarding Dependent Claim 13, Ni in view of Sharma teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above, and Ni further teaches the controller is configured to identify a non-working plurality of the plurality of row units that fail to deliver a sufficient amount of agricultural product based on the second signal (EPC 54 can identify all clogs in a row N1-N4, and set an alarm, paragraph [0035]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 14, Ni in view of Sharma teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above, and Ni further teaches the identified field location includes identifying a coverage gap having a width based on the one or more rows of the modified field plan that that lack dispensed agricultural product (EPC 54 identifies clogged nozzles, paragraph [0035], and autonomously follows a route by GPS, paragraph [0004], such that an alarm is sounded when inadequate flow is applied to the field with a width of the clogged nozzle, paragraph [0035]).
In regards to Independent Claim 15, Ni teaches a method for dispensing an agricultural product (liquid tank 26) to a field (paragraph [0004]) with an implement moving across the field in multiple passes (the system uses GPS to direct the vehicle over the field, paragraph [0004]), wherein the implement includes a plurality of row units (nozzles N1 through N4) defining a pass width for each one of the multiple passes (width between each nozzle N1 through N4), wherein each of the plurality or row units deposits the agricultural product in a row (spraying of nozzles N1 through N4 shown in figure 2), the method comprising: identifying a non-working plurality of the plurality of row units that fail to deliver a sufficient amount of agricultural product (determines existence of blockage of nozzles based upon sensors S1-S4, paragraph [0030]); identifying a working plurality of the plurality of row units that deliver a sufficient amount of agricultural product (paragraph [0030], where detecting presence of clogging of nozzles will also detect nozzles that are not clogged); identifying a coverage gap having a gap width based on the one or more rows of the row units that fail to deliver the sufficient amount of agricultural product (EPC 54 identifies clogged nozzles, paragraph [0035], and autonomously follows a route by GPS, paragraph [0004], such that an alarm is sounded when inadequate flow is applied to the field with a width of the clogged nozzle, paragraph [0035]). However, Ni does not teach depositing agricultural product with the working plurality of the plurality of row units at the coverage gap by overlapping adjacent passes of the multiple passes such that the non-working row units are located at some of the plurality of rows having the sufficient amount of product. Sharma teaches a controller (detection system 210 of farming vehicle 140) configured to facilitate providing a modified field plan for passing over a field (malfunction detection module 340 determines damaged shank of farming vehicle and modifies route through field, paragraph [0049], wherein number of shank malfunctions determines width to be modified), wherein the modified field plan identifies a field location of the damaged units (paragraph [0077], where detection system 210 monitors field already treated to determine if there was a malfunction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use the control system step of modifying a field plan based upon portions of the field not being treated, as taught by Sharma, in the dispensing method of Ni, in order to successfully complete treatment of a field without having to stop an autonomous farming vehicle if job quality exceeds a satisfactory percentage (paragraph [0056]).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Sharma.
Regarding Dependent Claims 17 and 18, Ni teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Ni does not teach the controller is configured to determine a field plan for dispensing product to the field, wherein the field plan identifies a field location where the one or more plurality row units fail to or would fail to deliver the sufficient amount of product based on the first sensor signal or the second sensor signal. Sharma teaches a controller (detection system 210 of farming vehicle 140) configured to facilitate providing a modified field plan for passing over a field (malfunction detection module 340 determines damaged shank of farming vehicle and modifies route through field, paragraph [0049], wherein number of shank malfunctions determines width to be modified), wherein the modified field plan identifies a field location of the damaged units (paragraph [0077], where detection system 210 monitors field already treated to determine if there was a malfunction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use the control system step of modifying a field plan based upon portions of the field not being treated, as taught by Sharma, in the dispensing method of Ni, in order to successfully complete treatment of a field without having to stop an autonomous farming vehicle if job quality exceeds a satisfactory percentage (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 19, Ni in view of Sharma teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Ni in view of Sharma does not teach the controller provides a field plan signal to a user interface to display to a user of the user interface the field location where the one or more plurality row units fails to or would fail to deliver a sufficient amount of product. Sharma teaches that the controller (210) provides a field plan signal (signal sent to generate map 1510) to a user interface (1500) to display to a user of the user interface the field location where the one or more plurality row units fails to or would fail (1521 and 1531 in map 1510 indicate where there was a failure in the field, paragraph [0099]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use the graphical user interface of Sharma to show failures of row units of Ni in view of Sharma, in order to alert the farmer as to whether treatment of a portion of the field was unsuccessfully finished (paragraph [0099]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Sharma as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Gould WO 0116661 A1.
Regarding Dependent Claim 20, Ni in view of Sharma teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Ni in view of Sharma does not teach the controller provides a field plan signal to a machine controller of an autonomous agricultural vehicle, wherein the machine controller directs the autonomous agricultural vehicle to deliver the sufficient amount of product based on the first sensor signal or the second sensor signal. Gould teaches a controller provides (30) a field plan signal (signal 32 to 18 shown in figure 1) to a machine controller (18) of an autonomous agricultural vehicle (vehicle shown in figure 1), wherein the machine controller directs the autonomous agricultural vehicle to deliver the sufficient amount of product based on a first sensor signal (flow meter 20 monitors flow from main line, and outputs signal to nozzles 14 to spray fluid, page 5, ll. 15-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use the machine controller of Gould to control flow through each nozzle of Ni in view of Sharma based upon the flow rate through the main line of Ni in view of Sharma, in order to provide the desired application rate of fluid from each nozzle of the system (Page 5, ll. 27-28).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: prior art fails to teach, in combination with the other limitations of dependent claim 5, that the adjusted plurality of passes includes an overlap portion that overlaps a portion of the field which received a sufficient amount of product during a prior pass, such that the working plurality of the plurality of row units deposits the agricultural product at the coverage gap.
Conclusion
/STEVEN M SUTHERLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752