DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 11, 13-17, and 19-25 are pending.
Claims 1-10, 12, and 18 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but it is moot in light of a new ground of rejection. See discussion below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13-15, and 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hultgren (US 20150305669 Al, April 24, 2014) in view of Shewman ("3-Dimensional Physiologic Postural Range of the Mandible: A Computerized-Assisted Technique-A Case Study," August 2013) and Kopelman et al. (US 20180168781 A1, 2018-06-21) (hereinafter “Kopelman”).
Regarding claims 11, 13-15, and 19-25, Hultgren teaches a method for facilitating a dental procedure, comprising: generating a three dimensional (3D) model of kinesiologic activity of a craniomandibular complex based upon a sensing of a plurality of wireless position sensors (e.g., para [0063], [0071]-[0075], Figs. 5, 6) while an upper and lower jaw are in motion with respect to each other; calculating a dental procedure needed to achieve a stable physiologic bite based upon the 3D model. See, e.g., para [0027], [0031], [0075], [0085], [0113]-[0118], [0124], [0145].
Note that Hultgren teaches use of various display devices, such as projectors (e.g., [0095]), applications for various types of dental treatments that remove and add material (e.g., [0123]), and updating data during treatment (e.g., [0139]).
Hultgren does not teach generating a 3D visualization to implement the dental procedure that depicts a portion of an individual tooth to be adjusted. Shewman teaches that jaw motion data may be useful in the construction of oral appliances for sleep apnea patients. For example, Shewman teaches that “[i]ntraoral lateral pterygoid recordings may lend important information in the construction of 'pullforward' appliances for sleep apnea patients to ensure the chosen appliance and/or position is within the physiologic range” (pp. 8-9).
Hultgren does not teach displaying within eyewear a graphic output corresponding to the dental procedure during the dental procedure. Kopelman teaches use of AR in the dental context. See, e.g., [0057] (“The AR display 150 may include lenses through which a wearer (e.g., a dental practitioner) may see a physical, real-world environment (e.g., a patient's oral cavity) and a projector for projecting visual elements onto the lenses. Examples of AR displays include HoloLens®, Google Glass®, Vuzix Smart Glasses®, and Sony SmartEyeGlass®. The AR display 150 may therefore overlay information for a dental practitioner onto the lenses in a position in the field of view of the practitioner that corresponds to a location of an identified area of interest. To determine where to display information, the AR display 150 may include one or more sensors to track the eyes of a user and/or determine a position of the user in relation to positions of objects viewed by the user. The AR display 150 may also use images provided from image capture device 160 to determine where to display information to the dental practitioner. In some embodiments the image capture device 160 is mounted to the AR display 150.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shewman with that of Hultgren such that the invention further comprises generating a 3D visualization to implement the dental procedure that depicts a portion of an individual tooth to be adjusted, and displaying within eyewear a graphic output corresponding to the dental procedure during the dental procedure (as recited in claim 11); further comprising updating the 3D visualization during the dental procedure to reflect progress of the dental procedure (as recited in claim 13); wherein the dental procedure is removal of the portion of the individual tooth (as recited in claim 14); wherein the dental procedure is the addition of structure to the individual tooth (as recited in claim 15); further comprising fabricating, based upon the 3D model, a dental appliance to implement the dental procedure (as recited in claim 19); further comprising manufacturing the dental appliance based upon the 3D model by employing CAD/CAM software (as recited in claim 20); wherein the dental appliance is employed for treatment of sleep apnea (as recited in claim 21); wherein the dental appliance is a crown (as recited in claim 22); wherein the dental appliance is a filling (as recited in claim 23); wherein the dental appliance is dentures (as recited in claim 24); wherein the graphic output corresponding to the dental procedure appears within the eyewear over the individual tooth to be adjusted (as recited in claim 25) in order to improve the usability and functionality of the invention.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hultgren, in view of
Shewman, as applied to claim 11, and further in view of Teixeira (US 20120022844 Al, January 26,
2012).
Regarding claim 16, Hultgren teaches a method for facilitating a dental procedure, except further comprising correlating the 3D model with physiologic data. Teixeira teaches data fusion of various physiologic data corresponding to the patient in order to reduce the influence of multiple sources of signal noise affecting mechanical sensors. See, e.g., para [0031], [0254]-[0260], [0312]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Teixeira with the method taught by Hultgren such that the method further comprises correlating the 3D model with physiologic data (as recited in claim 16); wherein the physiological data of on one or more physiological dutum from a list, the list consisting of: pulse oximetry; heart rate; EKG of the heart; brain EEG; REM; blood pressure; skeletal muscle EMG; respiratory rate; pharyngometry; rhinometry; tooth contact sensors; cervical posturel; and vertebral posturel (as recited in claim 17) in order to enhance the diagnostic efficacy of the invention.
Conclusion
Scott Luan
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792