DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Abstract: “59676671” should be removed from underneath the abstract paragraph.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, and 8-25 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-21 of copending Application No. 18/600,381 in view of Carbotek Systems GmbH (DE 20 2017 005 461), hereinafter Carbotek Systems. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Following the analysis provided at MPEP § 804, Chart I-B (AIA ) for examining an AIA Application with conflicting claims between two applications.
Commonly Assigned: Ember Technologies Inc.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 1
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 1
A chilled liquid dispensing system, comprising:
[A] an insulated vessel having a chamber containing a phase change material;
[B] a conduit disposed in the chamber of the insulated vessel and having a portion submerged in the phase change material so that the phase change material is in thermal contact with an outer surface of the portion of the conduit, the conduit configured to receive therethrough a liquid at a first temperature above an ambient temperature that cools as it flows through the conduit and heat is transferred to the phase change material to cool the liquid to a second temperature below the ambient temperature;
[C] a first heat sink disposed in the chamber of the insulated vessel and submerged in the phase change material so that the phase change material is in thermal contact with an outer surface of the first heat sink;
[D] a thermoelectric module having one side in thermal communication with the first heat sink; a second heat sink disposed outside the chamber of the insulated vessel and in thermal communication with an opposite side of the thermoelectric module, and
[E] an inlet portion of the conduit upstream of the chamber or an outlet portion of the conduit downstream of the chamber being connected to a gas source via a first valve, the first valve actuatable to allow a gas to pass into the conduit to infuse the liquid flowing through the conduit with the gas,
[F] wherein the thermoelectric module is operable to charge or freeze the phase change material by pumping heat out of the phase change material via the first heat sink and into the second heat sink.
A chilled liquid dispensing system, comprising:
[A] an insulated vessel having a chamber containing a phase change material;
[B] a conduit disposed in the chamber of the insulated vessel and having a portion submerged in the phase change material so that the phase change material is in thermal contact with an outer surface of the portion of the conduit, the conduit configured to receive therethrough a liquid at a first temperature above an ambient temperature that cools as it flows through the conduit and heat is transferred to the phase change material to cool the liquid to a second temperature below the ambient temperature;
[C] a first heat sink disposed in the chamber of the insulated vessel and submerged in the phase change material so that the phase change material is in thermal contact with an outer surface of the first heat sink;
[D] a thermoelectric module having one side in thermal communication with the first heat sink; and a second heat sink disposed outside the chamber of the insulated vessel and in thermal communication with an opposite side of the thermoelectric module,
[F] wherein the thermoelectric module is operable to charge or freeze the phase change material by pumping heat out of the phase change material via the first heat sink and into the second heat sink.
Claim 1 of the instant application includes features [A]-[D] and [F] which are exactly claimed by the reference application.
However, claim 1 of the reference application does not include feature [E].
Carbotek Systems teaches feature [E] (Fig. 2, gas supply line 21, needle valve 22, mixing cell 107, dispensing line 115, spigot spout 7a).
Reference application (18/600,381) fails to teach feature [E], however Carbotek Systems teaches that it is a known method in the art of beverage dispensing to include feature [E]. This is strong evidence that modifying Reference application (18/600,381) as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a beverage that has been infused with a gas to diversify system marketability). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reference application (18/600,381) by Carbotek Systems and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a beverage that has been infused with a gas to diversify system marketability.
As such, claim 1 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 3
Note: Claim 2 depends from Claim 1, in addition to Claim 3 depending from Claim 2.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 4
Note: Claim 4 depends from Claim 1.
The system of Claim 1 (elements [A]- [F]),
[I] wherein the conduit comprises a continuous tube spiral with multiple spaced apart tube loops.
The system of Claim 2 (element [I]),
[J] wherein the continuous tube spiral extends circumferentially about and spaced from the first heat sink within the chamber.
The system of Claim 1 as modified (elements [A]-[F]),
[I] wherein the conduit comprises a continuous tube spiral with multiple spaced apart tube loops,
[J] the continuous tube spiral extending circumferentially about the first heat sink within the chamber.
Claim 3 of the instant application includes features [I] and [J] which are exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 3 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 4 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 8
Note: Claim 8 depends from Claim 1.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 2
Note: Claim 2 depends from Claim 1.
The system of Claim 1 (elements [A]- [F]),
[G] wherein air flows past the second heat sink to remove heat from the second heat sink.
The system of Claim 1 as modified (elements [A]- [F]),
[G] wherein air flows past the second heat sink to remove heat from the second heat sink.
Claim 8 of the instant application includes feature [G] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 8 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 2 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 9
Note: Claim 9 depends from Claim 1.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 3
Note: Claim 2 depends from Claim 3.
The system of Claim 1 (elements [A]-[F]),
[H] further comprising one or more fans operable to flow air past the second heat sink to remove heat from the second heat sink.
The system of Claim 2 as modified (elements [A]-[G]),
[H’] further comprising one or more fans operable to flow air past the second heat sink to remove heat from the second heat sink.
Claim 9 of the instant application includes feature [H] which is indistinct from [H’] claimed by the reference application, as the reference application necessarily requires the feature of [G] to provide airflow past the second heat sink to remove heat from the second heat sink, as expressly stated by [H]’. As such, claim 9 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 3 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 10
Note: Claim 10 depends from Claim 1.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 5
Note: Claim 5 depends from Claim 1.
The system of Claim 1 (elements [A]-[F]),
[K] wherein the insulated vessel is a double-walled vacuum insulated vessel.
The system of Claim 1 as modified (elements [A]-[F]),
[K] wherein the insulated vessel is a double-walled vacuum insulated vessel.
Claim 10 of the instant application includes feature [K] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 10 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 5 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 11
Note: Claim 11 depends from Claim 1.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 6
Note: Claim 6 depends from Claim 1.
The system of Claim 1 (elements [A]-[F]),
[L] further comprising a second insulated vessel surrounding the insulated vessel.
The system of Claim 1 as modified (elements [A]- [F]),
[L] further comprising a second insulated vessel surrounding the insulated vessel.
Claim 11 of the instant application includes feature [L] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 11 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 6 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 12
Note: Claim 12 depends from Claim 1.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 7
Note: Claim 7 depends from Claim 1.
The system of Claim 1 (elements [A]- [F]),
[M] further comprising a cover configured to close the insulated vessel, the second heat sink extending through the cover.
The system of Claim 1 as modified (elements [A]-[F]),
[M] further comprising a cover configured to close the insulated vessel, the second heat sink extending through the cover.
Claim 12 of the instant application includes feature [M] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 12 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 7 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 13
Note: Claim 13 depends from Claim 12.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 8
Note: Claim 8 depends from Claim 7.
The system of Claim 12 (elements [A]- [F] and [M]),
[N] wherein an inlet and an outlet of the conduit extend through the cover.
The system of Claim 7 as modified (elements [A]-[F] and [M]),
[N] wherein an inlet and an outlet of the conduit extend through the cover.
Claim 13 of the instant application includes feature [N] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 13 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 8 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 14
Note: Claim 14 depends from Claim 13.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 9
Note: Claim 9 depends from Claim 8.
The system of Claim 13 (elements [A]- [F] and [M]-[N]),
[O] further comprising an insulated cover configured to cover the cover.
The system of Claim 8 as modified (elements [A]-[F] and [M]-[N]),
[O] further comprising an insulated cover configured to cover the cover.
Claim 14 of the instant application includes feature [O] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 14 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 9 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 15
Note: Claim 15 depends from Claim 1.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 10
Note: Claim 10 depends from Claim 1.
The system of Claim 1 (elements [A]- [F]),
[P] wherein the first heat sink includes one or more heat pipes that are submerged in the phase change material.
The system of Claim 1 as modified (elements [A]-[F]),
[P] wherein the first heat sink includes one or more heat pipes that are submerged in the phase change material.
Claim 15 of the instant application includes feature [P] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 15 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 10 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 16
Note: Claim 16 depends from Claim 15.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 11
Note: Claim 11 depends from Claim 10.
The system of Claim 15 (elements [A]- [F] and [P]),
[Q] wherein the one or more heat pipes are two spaced apart heat pipes.
The system of Claim 10 as modified (elements [A]-[F] and [P]),
[Q] wherein the one or more heat pipes are two spaced apart heat pipes.
Claim 16 of the instant application includes feature [Q] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 16 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 11 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 17
Note: Claim 17 depends from Claim 15.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 12
Note: Claim 12 depends from Claim 10.
The system of Claim 15 (elements [A]- [F] and [P]),
[Q] wherein the first heat sink includes one or more fins extending from the one or more heat pipes, the one or more fins being submerged in the phase change material.
The system of Claim 10 as modified (elements [A]-[F] and [P]),
[Q] wherein the first heat sink includes one or more fins extending from the one or more heat pipes, the one or more fins being submerged in the phase change material.
Claim 17 of the instant application includes feature [Q] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 17 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 12 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 18
Note: Claim 18 depends from Claim 17.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 13
Note: Claim 13 depends from Claim 12.
The system of Claim 17 (elements [A]- [F] and [P]-[Q]),
[R] wherein the one or more fins are a plurality of fins that extend perpendicular to the one or more heat pipes.
The system of Claim 13 as modified (elements [A]-[F] and [P]-[Q]),
[R] wherein the one or more fins are a plurality of fins that extend perpendicular to the one or more heat pipes.
Claim 18 of the instant application includes feature [R] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 18 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 13 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 19
Note: Claim 19 depends from Claim 17.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 14
Note: Claim 14 depends from Claim 12.
The system of Claim 17 (elements [A]- [F] and [P]-[Q]),
[S] wherein the one or more fins extend radially from the one or more heat pipes and along a length of the one or more heat pipes.
The system of Claim 13 as modified (elements [A]-[F] and [P]-[Q]),
[S] wherein the one or more fins extend radially from the one or more heat pipes and along a length of the one or more heat pipes.
Claim 19 of the instant application includes feature [S] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 19 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 14 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 20
Note: Claim 20 depends from Claim 1.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 15
Note: Claim 15 depends from Claim 1.
The system of Claim 17 (elements [A]- [F]),
[T] further comprising a heat spreader attached to the first heat sink, disposed in the chamber and extending circumferentially about an axis of the insulated vessel.
The system of Claim 1 as modified (elements [A]-[F]),
[T] further comprising a heat spreader attached to the first heat sink, disposed in the chamber and extending circumferentially about an axis of the insulated vessel.
Claim 20 of the instant application includes feature [T] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 20 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 15 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 21
Note: Claim 21 depends from Claim 20.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 16
Note: Claim 16 depends from Claim 15.
The system of Claim 17 (elements [A]- [F] and [T]),
[U] wherein the heat spreader extends circumferentially about the conduit, the conduit comprising a continuous tube spiral with multiple spaced apart tube loops.
The system of Claim 15 as modified (elements [A]-[F] and [T]),
[U] wherein the heat spreader extends circumferentially about the conduit, the conduit comprising a continuous tube spiral with multiple spaced apart tube loops.
Claim 21 of the instant application includes feature [U] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 21 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 16 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 22
Note: Claim 22 depends from Claim 20.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 17
Note: Claim 17 depends from Claim 15.
The system of Claim 17 (elements [A]- [F] and [T]),
[V] wherein the heat spreader includes a plurality of folded fins.
The system of Claim 15 as modified (elements [A]-[F] and [T]),
[V] wherein the heat spreader includes a plurality of folded fins.
Claim 22 of the instant application includes feature [V] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 22 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 17 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 23
Note: Claim 23 depends from Claim 1.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 19
Note: Claim 19 depends from Claim 1.
A beverage dispensing machine [W], comprising the chilled liquid dispensing system of Claim 1 (elements [A]-[F]).
A beverage dispensing machine [W], comprising the chilled liquid dispensing system of Claim 1 as modified (elements [A]-[F]).
Claim 23 of the instant application includes feature [W] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 23 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 19 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 24
Note: Claim 24 depends from Claim 23.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 20
Note: Claim 20 depends from Claim 19.
The beverage dispensing machine of Claim 23 (elements [A]- [F] and [W]),
[X] further comprising a housing, and a hot beverage brewing unit disposed in the housing, the chilled beverage dispensing system disposed in the housing and in fluid communication with the hot beverage brewing unit.
The beverage dispensing machine of Claim 19 as modified (elements [A]- [F] and [W]),
[X] further comprising a housing, and a hot beverage brewing unit disposed in the housing, the chilled beverage dispensing system disposed in the housing and in fluid communication with the hot beverage brewing unit.
Claim 24 of the instant application includes feature [X] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 24 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 20 of the reference application.
Instant Application (18/738,415) Claim 25
Note: Claim 25 depends from Claim 23.
Reference Application (18/600,381) Claim 21
Note: Claim 21 depends from Claim 19.
The beverage dispensing machine of Claim 23 (elements [A]- [F] and [W]),
[Y] wherein the chilled liquid dispensing system is removable as a unit.
The beverage dispensing machine of Claim 19 as modified (elements [A]- [F] and [W]),
[Y] wherein the chilled liquid dispensing system is removable as a unit.
Claim 25 of the instant application includes feature [Y] which is exactly claimed by the reference application. As such, claim 25 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 21 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-25 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7: “the conduit configured to receive therethrough” should read “the conduit configured to receive through the conduit”
Claims 2, 4, 6-12, 15, 20, and 23 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 3 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 2.
Claim 5 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 13 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 12.
Claim 14 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 13.
Claims 16-17 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 15.
Claims 18-19 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 17.
Claims 21-22 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 20.
Claims 24-25 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 23.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi et al. (JPH0821679), hereinafter Adachi in view of Carbotek Systems GmbH (DE 20 2017 005 461), hereinafter Carbotek Systems.
Regarding claim 1, Adachi discloses a chilled liquid dispensing system (Fig. 2; Pg. 2, paragraph 1, The present invention relates to a small electronic refrigeration type drinking water cooling device for use in households or commercial settings), comprising:
an insulated vessel having a chamber containing a phase change material (Fig. 2, heat storage container 10, heat storage material 11; Pg. 9, paragraph 11, 10 is a heat storage container in which the circumferential surface of a highly heat-conductive metal container is covered with an insulating material. Inside the heat storage container 10, a phase-change type latent heat storage material (for example, paraffinic hydrocarbons (C14-C16 paraffin)) with a melting point (phase change temperature) of 5 to 10°C is contained as a heat storage material 11, and a drinking water cooling coil 3 is piped through which tap water is passed while immersed in this heat storage material 11; Pg. 11, paragraph 14, Example 2: Figure 2 shows an application example of Example 1 described above);
a conduit disposed in the chamber of the insulated vessel and having a portion submerged in the phase change material so that the phase change material is in thermal contact with an outer surface of the portion of the conduit, the conduit configured to receive therethrough a liquid at a first temperature above an ambient temperature that cools as it flows through the conduit and heat is transferred to the phase change material to cool the liquid to a second temperature below the ambient temperature (Fig. 2, drinking water cooling coil 3; Pg. 9, paragraph 11, a drinking water cooling coil 3 is piped through which tap water is passed while immersed in this heat storage material 11; Pg. 10-11, paragraph 13, On the other hand, when tap water is passed through the drinking water cooling coil 3 in the heat storage state described above, the water is cooled by heat exchange with the heat storage material 11 and supplied as cold water at a suitable temperature for drinking through the water supply tap 8);
a first heat sink disposed in the chamber of the insulated vessel and submerged in the phase change material so that the phase change material is in thermal contact with an outer surface of the first heat sink (Fig. 2, heat-absorbing fin 17; Pg. 11, paragraph 14, In this example, a heat-absorbing fin 17 (comb-shaped fin block) is installed on the inner wall side of the heat storage container 10, facing the heat-absorbing surface of the thermomodule 12 installed on the outer wall surface of the heat storage container 10, so as to protrude into the heat storage material 11);
a thermoelectric module having one side in thermal communication with the first heat sink (Fig. 2, thermomodule 12; Pg. 11-12, paragraph 14-15, In this example, a heat-absorbing fin 17 (comb-shaped fin block) is installed on the inner wall side of the heat storage container 10, facing the heat-absorbing surface of the thermomodule 12 installed on the outer wall surface of the heat storage container 10, so as to protrude into the heat storage material 11. With this configuration, the heat absorption fins 17 function as a heat sink, so the heat transfer coefficient between the heat absorption surface of the thermomodule 12 and the heat storage material 11 is improved compared to the above embodiment 1);
a second heat sink disposed outside the chamber of the insulated vessel and in thermal communication with an opposite side of the thermoelectric module (Fig. 2, heat dissipation fins 13; Pg. 10, paragraph 12, Furthermore, the heat generated on the heat-generating surface side of the thermomodule 12, which is the high-temperature part, is dissipated to the surroundings by the heat dissipation fins 13 and the blower fan 14), and
wherein the thermoelectric module is operable to charge or freeze the phase change material by pumping heat out of the phase change material via the first heat sink and into the second heat sink (Pg. 10, paragraph 12, As the power supply time to the thermomodule 12 progresses, the temperature of the heat storage material 11 gradually decreases. Eventually, when it falls below the phase change temperature (melting point: 5-10°C), the heat storage material, which was previously in the liquid phase, solidifies, and cold energy corresponding to its latent heat is stored in the heat storage material 11; Pg. 11-12, paragraph 14-15, In this example, a heat-absorbing fin 17 (comb-shaped fin block) is installed on the inner wall side of the heat storage container 10, facing the heat-absorbing surface of the thermomodule 12 installed on the outer wall surface of the heat storage container 10, so as to protrude into the heat storage material 11. With this configuration, the heat absorption fins 17 function as a heat sink, so the heat transfer coefficient between the heat absorption surface of the thermomodule 12 and the heat storage material 11 is improved compared to the above embodiment 1).
However, Adachi does not disclose an inlet portion of the conduit upstream of the chamber or an outlet portion of the conduit downstream of the chamber being connected to a gas source via a first valve, the first valve actuatable to allow a gas to pass into the conduit to infuse the liquid flowing through the conduit with the gas.
Carbotek Systems teaches an inlet portion of the conduit upstream of the chamber or an outlet portion of the conduit downstream of the chamber being connected to a gas source via a first valve, the first valve actuatable to allow a gas to pass into the conduit to infuse the liquid flowing through the conduit with the gas (Fig. 2, gas supply line 21, needle valve 22, mixing cell 107, dispensing line 115, spigot spout 7a; Pg. 2, As a KEG-barrel or a bag-in-box container leads to a tap, connected to the tap line pressure gas source, for example, filled with N .sub.2 or CO .sub.2 compressed gas cylinder, usually designed as a pump conveyor to a volume flow through the tap line; Pg. 5, This serves to mix the beverage feed gas bubble volume flow with crushing of the contained gas bubbles. If the dispensing system is used to tap cold coffee with the addition of nitrogen, this results in a creamy foam crown in the style of a Stout beer).
Adachi fails to teach feature an inlet portion of the conduit upstream of the chamber or an outlet portion of the conduit downstream of the chamber being connected to a gas source via a first valve, the first valve actuatable to allow a gas to pass into the conduit to infuse the liquid flowing through the conduit with the gas, however Carbotek Systems teaches that it is a known method in the art of beverage dispensing to include an inlet portion of the conduit upstream of the chamber or an outlet portion of the conduit downstream of the chamber being connected to a gas source via a first valve, the first valve actuatable to allow a gas to pass into the conduit to infuse the liquid flowing through the conduit with the gas. This is strong evidence that modifying Adachi as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a beverage that has been infused with a gas to diversify system marketability). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adachi by Carbotek Systems and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a beverage that has been infused with a gas to diversify system marketability.
Regarding claim 6, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the gas is nitrogen or air (Carbotek Systems, Pg. 2, As a KEG-barrel or a bag-in-box container leads to a tap, connected to the tap line pressure gas source, for example, filled with N .sub.2 or CO .sub.2 compressed gas cylinder, usually designed as a pump conveyor to a volume flow through the tap line; Pg. 5, This serves to mix the beverage feed gas bubble volume flow with crushing of the contained gas bubbles. If the dispensing system is used to tap cold coffee with the addition of nitrogen, this results in a creamy foam crown in the style of a Stout beer). Further, the limitations of claim 6 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the gas source is a canister or cartridge filled with the gas (Carbotek Systems, Pg. 2, As a KEG-barrel or a bag-in-box container leads to a tap, connected to the tap line pressure gas source, for example, filled with N .sub.2 or CO .sub.2 compressed gas cylinder, usually designed as a pump conveyor to a volume flow through the tap line; Pg. 5, This serves to mix the beverage feed gas bubble volume flow with crushing of the contained gas bubbles. If the dispensing system is used to tap cold coffee with the addition of nitrogen, this results in a creamy foam crown in the style of a Stout beer). Further, the limitations of claim 7 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein air flows past the second heat sink to remove heat from the second heat sink (Adachi, Fig. 2, blower fans 14; Pg. 10, paragraph 12, Furthermore, the heat generated on the heat-generating surface side of the thermomodule 12, which is the high-temperature part, is dissipated to the surroundings by the heat dissipation fins 13 and the blower fan 14).
Regarding claim 9, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising one or more fans operable to flow air past the second heat sink to remove heat from the second heat sink (Adachi, Fig. 2, blower fans 14; Pg. 10, paragraph 12, Furthermore, the heat generated on the heat-generating surface side of the thermomodule 12, which is the high-temperature part, is dissipated to the surroundings by the heat dissipation fins 13 and the blower fan 14).
Regarding claim 23, Adachi as modified discloses a beverage dispensing machine (Fig. 2; Pg. 2, paragraph 1, The present invention relates to a small electronic refrigeration type drinking water cooling device for use in households or commercial settings), comprising the chilled liquid dispensing system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claims 2-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi as modified by Carbotek Systems as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20130085669), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 2, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Adachi as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the conduit comprises a continuous tube spiral with multiple spaced apart tube loops.
Kim teaches wherein the conduit comprises a continuous tube spiral with multiple spaced apart tube loops (Fig. 3, two-dimensional rotatable center pipes 270, three-dimensional rotatable outer pipes 272, three-dimensional rotatable inner pipes 274; Pg. 3, The hot water and cooling supply devices 100 and 200 are equipped with two-dimensional rotatable center pipes 170 and 270 in the thermoelectric housings 130, 140, 230 and 240, and two-dimensional rotatable center pipes 170 and 270. The three-dimensional rotatable outer pipes 172 and 272 and the three-dimensional rotatable inner pipes 17 4 and 27 4 are wound by a plurality of rotations at intervals of a predetermined distance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conduit of Adachi as modified wherein the conduit comprises a continuous tube spiral with multiple spaced apart tube loops as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to increaser the surface area of the conduit to increase the heat transfer capabilities between the conduit and the phase change material to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 3, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the continuous tube spiral extends circumferentially about and spaced from the first heat sink within the chamber (Fig. 2 of Adachi depicts the drinking water cooling coil 3 to be spaced apart from the heat-absorbing fin 17; Fig. 7 of Kim depicts the two-dimensional rotatable center pipes 270, three-dimensional rotatable outer pipes 272, and three-dimensional rotatable inner pipes 274 to extend circumferentially about and within the vacuum tube case 210 and will maintain the same configuration when modified as described herein). Further, the limitations of claim 3 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Adachi as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the insulated vessel is a double-walled vacuum insulated vessel.
Kim teaches wherein the insulated vessel is a double-walled vacuum insulated vessel (Fig 2, vacuum tube case 210; Pg. 8-9, The vacuum tube cases 110 and 210 form an outer shape of the hot water and cold water supplying devices 100 and 200 by a metal body such as copper or aluminum and prevent heat loss due to heat transfer due to air convection and heat transfer due to contact with an object It is a double insulation case. The vacuum tube cases 110 and 210 form a contact getter G on one side to which zirconium (Zr) is applied as a material so as to continuously adsorb the residual gas therein and maintain a high vacuum continuously).
Adachi as modified fails to teach wherein the insulated vessel is a double-walled vacuum insulated vessel, however Kim teaches that it is a known method in the art of chilled liquid dispensing systems to include wherein the insulated vessel is a double-walled vacuum insulated vessel. This is strong evidence that modifying Adachi as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. preventing heat loss due to heat transfer due to air convection and heat transfer due to contact with an object (Kim, Pg. 8)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adachi as modified by Kim and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of preventing heat loss due to heat transfer due to air convection and heat transfer due to contact with an object (Kim, Pg. 8).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi as modified by Carbotek Systems as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lynch (US 20220340406), hereinafter Lynch.
Regarding claim 4, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Adachi as modified does not disclose further comprising a second valve connected to the outlet portion of the conduit downstream of the chamber and one or more return lines connected to the second valve and the inlet portion of the conduit upstream of the chamber to facilitate recirculation of the liquid through the chamber.
Lynch teaches further comprising a second valve connected to the outlet portion of the conduit downstream of the chamber and one or more return lines connected to the second valve and the inlet portion of the conduit upstream of the chamber to facilitate recirculation of the liquid through the chamber (Fig. 1, beverage dispensing system 100, liquid circulation loop 120 (comprises one or more return lines on either side of pump 150) one way valve 152, outlet valve 162; Pg. 5, paragraph 46, The controller 190 may control the pump 150 to circulate the liquid through the loop 120 when the inlet valve 112 and the outlet valve 162 are both closed, to enable the circulating liquid to pass through the TEC 130 multiple times to reduce its temperature, and to enable the reduced temperature liquid to pass through the reservoir 122 to re-freeze the melted PCM 172 (if there is any)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Adachi as modified to include a second valve connected to the outlet portion of the conduit downstream of the chamber and one or more return lines connected to the second valve and the inlet portion of the conduit upstream of the chamber to facilitate recirculation of the liquid through the chamber. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the circulating liquid to pass through the TEC multiple times to reduce its temperature, and to enable the reduced temperature liquid to pass through the chamber to re-freeze the melted PCM (if there is any) (Lynch, Pg. 5, paragraph 46).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi as modified by Carbotek Systems and Lynch as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Rudick et al. (US Patent No. 11,713,232), hereinafter Rudick.
Regarding claim 5, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 4 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above), a first return line and a second return line (Lynch, Fig. 1, liquid circulation loop 120 (comprises one or more return lines on either side of pump 150). Further, the first and second return lines of claim 5 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above.
However, Adachi as modified does not disclose further comprising a reservoir hydraulically connected to the first return line extending between the second valve and the reservoir and to the second return line extending between the reservoir and the inlet portion of the conduit.
Rudick teaches further comprising a reservoir hydraulically connected to the first return line extending between the second valve and the reservoir and to the second return line extending between the reservoir and the inlet portion of the conduit (Fig 1, beverage dispenser 100, female IPN fitting 140, male IPN fitting 150, three-way diverter valve 160, first storage tube 180, three-way diverter valve 190, second storage stube 210, ingredient storage tank 220).
Adachi as modified fails to teach a reservoir hydraulically connected to the first return line extending between the second valve and the reservoir and to the second return line extending between the reservoir and the inlet portion of the conduit, however Rudick teaches that it is a known method in the art of beverage dispensers to include a reservoir hydraulically connected to the first return line extending between the second valve and the reservoir and to the second return line extending between the reservoir and the inlet portion of the conduit. This is strong evidence that modifying Adachi as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. allowing any number of beverages to be created (Col. 4, lines 21-23)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adachi as modified by Rudick and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of allowing any number of beverages to be created (Col. 4, lines 21-23).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi as modified by Carbotek Systems as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alexander et al. (US 20200408452), hereinafter Alexander.
Regarding claim 11, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Adachi as modified does not disclose further comprising a second insulated vessel surrounding the insulated vessel.
Alexander teaches further comprising a second insulated vessel surrounding the insulated vessel (Fig. 33, container 1000’’’, vacuum insulated chamber 107’’’, first portion 102A’’’, second portion 102B’’’; Pg. 13, paragraph 120-121, In another implementation, the first portion 102A"' can additionally or alternatively be made of a thermally insulative material. The second portion 102B"' is optionally made of a thermally insulative material, such as a foam material).
Adachi as modified fails to teach a second insulated vessel surrounding the insulated vessel, however Alexander teaches that it is a known method in the art of thermally insulated vessels to include a second insulated vessel surrounding the insulated vessel. This is strong evidence that modifying Adachi as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. reducing heat transfer between the insulated vessel and the environment to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adachi as modified by Alexander and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of reducing heat transfer between the insulated vessel and the environment to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi as modified by Carbotek Systems as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gagliano (US 20070056296), hereinafter Gagliano.
Regarding claim 12, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising a cover configured to close the insulated vessel (See annotated Fig. 2 of Adachi below, cover A).
However, Adachi as modified does not disclose the second heat sink extending through the cover.
Gagliano teaches the second heat sink extending through the cover (See annotated Fig. 2 of Gagliano, heat sink 32 is depicted extending through the cover A’).
Adachi as modified fails to teach the second heat sink extending through the cover, however Gagliano teaches that it is a known method in the art of chilled liquid dispensing systems to include the second heat sink extending through the cover. This is strong evidence that modifying Adachi as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. maintaining thermal separation between the first heat sink and the second heat sink to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adachi as modified by Gagliano and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of maintaining thermal separation between the first heat sink and the second heat sink to improve overall system efficiencies.
Annotated Fig. 2 of Adachi
Annotated Fig. 2 of Gagliano
Regarding claim 13, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 12 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 12 above), wherein an inlet and an outlet of the conduit extend through the cover (See annotated Fig. 2 of Adachi below, inlet 3-A and outlet 3-B extend through the cover A).
Annotated Fig. 2 of Adachi
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi as modified by Carbotek Systems and Gagliano as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Abramov (WO 2013124778), hereinafter Abramov.
Regarding claim 14, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 13 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 13 above).
However, Adachi as modified does not disclose further comprising an insulated cover configured to cover the cover.
Abramov teaches further comprising an insulated cover configured to cover the cover (Fig. 4, first cover 2, second insulating cover 29; Pg. 10, lines 3-6, The variation of embodiment in Figures 4, 5 and 6 is completed by a first cover 2 8 of the vessel 2, which is provided with openings 28a, through which the pre-cooled cooling bodies 3 are inserted into the vessel 2, and by a second, insulating cover 29, which is fitted over the first cover 28).
Adachi as modified fails to teach an insulated cover configured to cover the cover, however Y teaches that it is a known method in the art of chilled liquid dispensing systems to include an insulated cover configured to cover the cover. This is strong evidence that modifying Adachi as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. reducing heat transfer between the insulated vessel and the environment to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adachi as modified by Y and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of reducing heat transfer between the insulated vessel and the environment to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi as modified by Carbotek Systems as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sheng et al. (CN 2694359), hereinafter Sheng.
Regarding claim 15, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 11 above), wherein the first heat sink is submerged in the phase change material (Adachi, Fig. 2; Pg. 11, paragraph 14, In this example, a heat-absorbing fin 17 (comb-shaped fin block) is installed on the inner wall side of the heat storage container 10, facing the heat-absorbing surface of the thermomodule 12 installed on the outer wall surface of the heat storage container 10, so as to protrude into the heat storage material 11).
However, Adachi as modified does not disclose wherein the first heat sink includes one or more heat pipes.
Sheng teaches wherein the first heat sink includes one or more heat pipes and a plurality of radially extending fins perpendicular to the one or more heat pipes (Fig. 1, base 1, heat pipes 3, plurality of fins 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first heat sink of the system of Adachi as modified wherein the first heat sink includes one or more heat pipes and a plurality of radially extending fins perpendicular to the one or more heat pipes as taught by Sheng. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a heat sink that increases the contact area with the base so as to quickly heat, improving the radiating effect (Sheng, Abstract). Further, the modification as described herein results in the one or more heat pipes that are submerged in the phase change material.
Regarding claim 16, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above), wherein the one or more heat pipes are two spaced apart heat pipes (Sheng, Fig. 2, heat pipes 3). Further, the limitations of claim 16 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 17, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 15 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above), wherein the first heat sink includes one or more fins extending from the one or more heat pipes, the one or more fins being submerged in the phase change material (Fig. 1, base 1, heat pipes 3, plurality of fins 4). Further, the limitations of claim 17 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 18, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 17 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 17 above), wherein the one or more fins are a plurality of fins that extend perpendicular to the one or more heat pipes (Fig. 1, base 1, heat pipes 3, plurality of fins 4; Fig. 2 of Sheng depicts the plurality of fins 4 to extend perpendicular to the one or mor heat pies 3). Further, the limitations of claim 18 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Regarding claim 19, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 17 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 17 above), wherein the one or more fins extend radially from the one or more heat pipes and along a length of the one or more heat pipes (Fig. 1, base 1, heat pipes 3, plurality of fins 4; Fig. 2 of Sheng depicts the plurality of fins 4 to extend radially from the one or more heat pipes 3 and along a length of the one or more heat pipes 3). Further, the limitations of claim 19 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi as modified by Carbotek Systems as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (WO 2024096288), hereinafter Kim ‘288.
Regarding claim 20, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Adachi as modified does not disclose further comprising a heat spreader attached to the first heat sink, disposed in the chamber and extending circumferentially about an axis of the insulated vessel.
Kim ‘288 teaches a heat spreader attached to the first heat sink, disposed in the chamber and extending circumferentially about an axis of the insulated vessel and extends circumferentially about the conduit (Fig. 6, cooling frame 300, cooling body 310, cooling plate 320, flow path accommodating portion 340, concave portion 341, convex portion 342; Fig. 13 (b) of Kim ‘288 depicts the cooling frame 300 to be disposed in the frame 100 and extending circumferentially about an axis of the frame 100 and extends about the cooling flow path 400).
Adachi as modified fails to teach a heat spreader attached to the first heat sink, disposed in the chamber and extending circumferentially about an axis of the insulated vessel, however Kim ‘288 teaches that it is a known method in the art of chilled liquid dispensing systems to include a heat spreader attached to the first heat sink, disposed in the chamber and extending circumferentially about an axis of the insulated vessel and extends circumferentially about the conduit. This is strong evidence that modifying Adachi as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. facilitating heat transfer from the thermoelectric module to inside of the insulated vessel). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adachi as modified by Kim ‘288 and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of facilitating heat transfer from the thermoelectric module to inside of the insulated vessel.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi as modified by Carbotek Systems and Kim ‘288 as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20130085669), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 21, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 20 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 20 above).
However, Adachi as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the conduit comprises a continuous tube spiral with multiple spaced apart tube loops.
Kim teaches wherein the conduit comprises a continuous tube spiral with multiple spaced apart tube loops (Fig. 3, two-dimensional rotatable center pipes 270, three-dimensional rotatable outer pipes 272, three-dimensional rotatable inner pipes 274; Pg. 3, The hot water and cooling supply devices 100 and 200 are equipped with two-dimensional rotatable center pipes 170 and 270 in the thermoelectric housings 130, 140, 230 and 240, and two-dimensional rotatable center pipes 170 and 270. The three-dimensional rotatable outer pipes 172 and 272 and the three-dimensional rotatable inner pipes 17 4 and 27 4 are wound by a plurality of rotations at intervals of a predetermined distance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conduit of Adachi as modified wherein the conduit comprises a continuous tube spiral with multiple spaced apart tube loops as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to increaser the surface area of the conduit to increase the heat transfer capabilities between the conduit and the phase change material to improve overall system efficiencies.
Further, Adachi as modified result in wherein the heat spreader extends circumferentially about the conduit as the cooling frame 300 of Kim ‘288 is depicted to extend circumferentially about the cooling flow path 400 (Kim ‘288, Fig. 13 (b)). Further, the limitation of “wherein the heat spreader extends circumferentially about the conduit” is a result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 20 above.
Regarding claim 22, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 20 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 20 above), wherein the heat spreader includes a plurality of folded fins (Kim ‘288, Fig. 6, cooling frame 300, cooling body 310, cooling plate 320, flow path accommodating portion 340, concave portion 341, convex portion 342). Further, the limitations of claim 22 are a result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 20 above.
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi as modified by Carbotek Systems as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Licare (US Patent No. 9,357,874), hereinafter Licare.
Regarding claim 24, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Adachi as modified does not explicitly disclose further comprising a housing, and a hot beverage brewing unit disposed in the housing, the chilled liquid dispensing system disposed in the housing and in fluid communication with the hot beverage brewing unit.
Licare teaches further comprising a housing, and a hot beverage brewing unit disposed in the housing, the chilled liquid dispensing system disposed in the housing and in fluid communication with the hot beverage brewing unit (Fig. 1, beverage maker 100, housing 102; Fig. 2, brewing unit 116, cold brewing unit 122; Col. 5, lines 24-28, In some instances, having a removable cold brewing unit 122 may allow the beverage maker 100 to function as a typical beverage maker. In other cases, it may allow existing beverage makers 100 to be retrofit with the cold brewing unit 122; Col. 8, lines 39-48, The brewed beverage enters the entrance 164 and travels down the pathway 166 through the core 172. The beverage then leaves the core 172 and cold brewing unit 122 as a whole via the exit 168. The beverage is now considerably colder than when initially brewed, making for a non-diluted and satisfyingly cold brewed beverage. In trial studies run using this technology, the cooled beverage ranged from about 60 degrees to about 70 degrees Fahrenheit, whereas the hot brewed beverage was about 170 degrees Fahrenheit).
Adachi as modified fails to teach a housing, and a hot beverage brewing unit disposed in the housing, the chilled liquid dispensing system disposed in the housing and in fluid communication with the hot beverage brewing unit, however Licare teaches that it is a known method in the art of chilled liquid dispensing systems to include a housing, and a hot beverage brewing unit disposed in the housing, the chilled liquid dispensing system disposed in the housing and in fluid communication with the hot beverage brewing unit. This is strong evidence that modifying Adachi as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. permitting one to select and fine tune their beverage temperature preference and also provides for more efficient brewing of some beverages (Licare, Abstract)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adachi as modified by Licare and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of permitting one to select and fine tune their beverage temperature preference and also provides for more efficient brewing of some beverages (Licare, Abstract).
Regarding claim 25, Adachi as modified discloses the system of Claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Adachi as modified does not disclose further comprising wherein the chilled liquid dispensing system is removable as a unit.
Licare teaches wherein the chilled liquid dispensing system is removable as a unit (Fig. 1, beverage maker 100, housing 102; Fig. 2, brewing unit 116, cold brewing unit 122; Col. 5, lines 24-28, In some instances, having a removable cold brewing unit 122 may allow the beverage maker 100 to function as a typical beverage maker. In other cases, it may allow existing beverage makers 100 to be retrofit with the cold brewing unit 122).
Adachi as modified fails to teach wherein the chilled liquid dispensing system is removable as a unit, however Licare teaches that it is a known method in the art of chilled liquid dispensing systems to include wherein the chilled liquid dispensing system is removable as a unit. This is strong evidence that modifying Adachi as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. allowing existing beverage makers to be retrofit with the cold brewing unit (Licare, Col. 5, lines 24-28)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adachi as modified by Licare and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of allowing existing beverage makers to be retrofit with the cold brewing unit (Licare, Col. 5, lines 24-28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fournier et al. (US Patent No. 6,442,960) discloses a similar chilled liquid dispensing system.
Ghoshal et al. (US 20140318152) discloses a similar chilled liquid dispensing system.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 March 19th, 2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763