DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I and sub-invention IC in the reply filed on 2/4/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2-3, 7-8, and 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention and sub-invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/4/26.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 9-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/740032 in view of Katsuragi et al. (JP 2019123841 A). Claim 11 of 18/740032 discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 4, 6, and 9-10, except for “wherein the ink contains titanium oxide and a wax particle,” found in claim 1. However, Katsuragi discloses “wherein the ink contains titanium oxide and a wax particle.” See highlighting on 7 and 9 of translation of Katsuragi’s. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to adopt the use of an ink containing titanium oxide and a wax particle for the purpose of printing white ink and “imparting slipperiness to the image area.” See highlighting on pg. 5 of translation of Katsuragi’s.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/740032, as modified by Katsuragi et al. (JP 2019123841 A), and further in view of Yamada et al. (US 2021/0394525 A1).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 of 18/740032, as modified by Katsuragi, discloses all the limitations introduced in parent claims 1, 4, 6, and 8-10.
Claim 11 of 18/740032, as modified by Katsuragi, does not appear to disclose The ink-jet recording method according to Claim 10, wherein part of a surface of the first pressure control chamber is constituted by a first flexible member configured to be displaceable, and the first pressure control chamber includes a first pressure plate configured to be displaceable together with the first flexible member, and a first urging member that urges the first pressure plate in a direction in which a volume of the first pressure control chamber increases, the first pressure control chamber being configured such that the first valve is openable and closable according to a displacement of the first pressure plate and the first flexible member.
However, claim 11 of 18/740032, as modified by Katsuragi, and further modified by Yamada, discloses The ink-jet recording method according to Claim 10, wherein part of a surface of the first pressure control chamber (Yamada’s 2026, fig. 2, para 34-35) is constituted by a first flexible member (Yamada’s 2023, fig. 2, para 34-35) configured to be displaceable (see Yamada’s fig. 2, para 34-35), and the first pressure control chamber includes a first pressure plate (Yamada’s 2022, fig. 2, para 34-35) configured to be displaceable together with the first flexible member (Yamada’s fig. 2, para 34-35), and a first urging member (Yamada’s 2021, fig. 2, para 34-35) that urges the first pressure plate in a direction in which a volume of the first pressure control chamber increases (Yamada’s fig. 2, para 34-35), the first pressure control chamber being configured such that the first valve (Yamada’s 2027, fig. 2, para 34-35) is openable and closable according to a displacement of the first pressure plate and the first flexible member (Yamada’s fig. 2, para 34-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 11 of 18/740032, as modified by Katsuragi, with the teachings of Yamada, for the purpose of sufficiently circulating the ink.
Regarding claim 12, claim 11 of 18/740032, as modified by Katsuragi, and further modified by Yamada, further discloses The ink-jet recording method according to Claim 11, wherein the ink-jet recording head further includes a second pressure adjusting unit (Yamada’s 204, fig. 2, para 37) configured to adjust a pressure of the ink in the individual collecting channel (Yamada’s fig. 2, para 37).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/740032 in view of Katsuragi et al. (JP 2019123841 A), and further in view of case law In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Regarding claim 5, claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/740032 in view of Katsuragi et al. (JP 2019123841 A) teaches all claimed limitations except for “has a volume of 30 mL or less.” It would have been an obvious matter of design choice for the volume to be 30 mL or less for the purpose of providing a printer with commercially viable dimensions, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 2021/0394525 A1) in view of Katsuragi et al. (JP 2019123841 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada discloses An ink-jet recording method comprising ejecting an ink from an ink-jet recording head (1, fig. 1,2, para 31),
wherein the ink contains titanium oxide and a wax particle (Yamada does not appear to teach this, but this is taught in Katsuragi. See below.), and
the ink-jet recording head includes
an ejection port through which the ink is ejected (103, fig. 2, para 38),
a pressure chamber (106, fig. 2, para 38) having therein an energy-generating element that generates energy for ejecting the ink (inherent in fig. 2 and para 38),
an ejection port portion configured to communicate between the ejection port and the pressure chamber (region between 106 and bottom of 103, fig. 2),
an individual supply channel communicating with the pressure chamber and configured to supply the ink to the pressure chamber (105a, fig. 2, para 38-39), and
an individual collecting channel communicating with the pressure chamber and configured to collect the ink from the pressure chamber (105b, fig. 2, para 38-39).
Yamada does not appear to disclose wherein the ink contains titanium oxide and a wax particle.
However, Yamada, as modified by Katsuragi, discloses wherein the ink contains titanium oxide and a wax particle (Katsuragi’s teaches white ink comprising titanium oxide and wax. See highlighting on 7 and 9 of translation of Katsuragi’s.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with the teachings of Katsuragi, for the purpose of printing white ink and “imparting slipperiness to the image area.” See highlighting on pg. 5 of translation of Katsuragi’s.
Regarding claim 4, Yamada, as modified by Katsuragi, further discloses The ink-jet recording method according to Claim 1, wherein the ink-jet recording head further includes a pump configured to cause the ink in the individual collecting channel to flow into the individual supply channel (Yamada’s 203, fig. 2, para 34-35).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada, as modified by Katsuragi, further discloses The ink-jet recording method according to Claim 4, wherein the ink-jet recording head is configured to eject the ink while scanning in a scanning direction (inherent in Yamada’s fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada, as modified by Katsuragi, further discloses The ink-jet recording method according to Claim 6, wherein the ink-jet recording head further includes a first pressure adjusting unit configured to adjust a pressure of the ink in the individual supply channel (see Yamada’s 202, fig. 2, para 34-35).
Regarding claim 10, Yamada, as modified by Katsuragi, further discloses The ink-jet recording method according to Claim 9, wherein the first pressure adjusting unit includes a first valve chamber (see Yamada’s 2025, fig. 2, para 34-35), a first pressure control chamber (see Yamada’s 2026, fig. 2, para 34-35), a first opening that communicates between the first valve chamber and the first pressure control chamber (see Yamada’s opening in which valve 2027 rests, fig. 2), and a first valve configured to be capable of opening and closing the first opening (see Yamada’s 2027, fig. 2, para 34-35).
Regarding claim 11, Yamada, as modified by Katsuragi, further discloses The ink-jet recording method according to Claim 10, wherein part of a surface of the first pressure control chamber (Yamada’s 2026, fig. 2, para 34-35) is constituted by a first flexible member (Yamada’s 2023, fig. 2, para 34-35) configured to be displaceable (see Yamada’s fig. 2, para 34-35), and the first pressure control chamber includes a first pressure plate (Yamada’s 2022, fig. 2, para 34-35) configured to be displaceable together with the first flexible member (Yamada’s fig. 2, para 34-35), and a first urging member (Yamada’s 2021, fig. 2, para 34-35) that urges the first pressure plate in a direction in which a volume of the first pressure control chamber increases (Yamada’s fig. 2, para 34-35), the first pressure control chamber being configured such that the first valve (Yamada’s 2027, fig. 2, para 34-35) is openable and closable according to a displacement of the first pressure plate and the first flexible member (Yamada’s fig. 2, para 34-35).
Regarding claim 12, Yamada, as modified by Katsuragi, further discloses The ink-jet recording method according to Claim 11, wherein the ink-jet recording head further includes a second pressure adjusting unit (Yamada’s 204, fig. 2, para 37) configured to adjust a pressure of the ink in the individual collecting channel (Yamada’s fig. 2, para 37).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 2021/0394525 A1) in view of Katsuragi et al. (JP 2019123841 A).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada, as modified by Katsuragi, teaches all claimed limitations except for “has a volume of 30 mL or less.” It would have been an obvious matter of design choice for the volume to be 30 mL or less for the purpose of providing a printer with commercially viable dimensions, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
The following reference(s) is/are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is/are cited for disclosing related limitations to the applicant’s claimed and disclosed invention.
CN 107160861 A
The invention claims a liquid jetting device, comprising a liquid jet part, which has a nozzle capable of ejecting a liquid onto a medium of the wiping part, capable of the liquid jetting part for wiping the waste liquid receiving part; it and the liquid spraying part of opposite position, to receive the waste liquid due to the maintenance operation of maintenance of the liquid ejection part and is discharged, the waste liquor recycling part, which contacts with the waste liquid receiving part and received by the waste liquid receiving part is recovered. the wiping part contacted with the recovering part, the waste liquid and recycling by the recycling part by wiping.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN SEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853
March 28, 2026