The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 15-20 are withdrawn without traverse.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 05/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first ring winding” and “second ring winding” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20080211326 A1) in view of Janecek, T. (US 20120119609 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kang discloses a
a rotor (7, fig. 12) configured to rotate about an axis (implied) and having a plurality of pairs of permanent magnets (magnets, annotated fig. 7, above), with a flux concentrating core (focusing core, annotated fig. 7) and a flux diverging core (diffusing core, annotated fig. 7) having alternating placements between the permanent magnets of each of the pairs of the permanent magnets (see annotated fig. 7), with each of the pairs of permanent magnets arranged to generate a magnetic flux in a circumferential direction into the flux concentrating core and away from the flux diverging core (see polarization directions in fig. 7);
a stator (fig. 14, above) including a plurality of transverse flux cores (10a in fig. 14 includes two disks),
each of the transverse flux cores configured to direct the magnetic flux in each of a radial direction and an axial direction (see flux flow direction in fig. 8, above; this is implied for a transverse flux machine); and
a first ring winding (11, fig. 15)
Kang does not teach: a second ring winding disposed in the transverse flux of core of the plurality of transverse flux cores and configured to conduct a corresponding current.
Janecek teaches a dual wound coil can be configured to “to achieve increased efficiency, increased output torque, and/or reduced operating losses via use of a dual wound coil.”, (see fig. 4A and the Abstract: “Electrical machines, for example transverse flux machines and/or commutated flux machines, may be configured to achieve increased efficiency, increased output torque, and/or reduced operating losses via use of a dual wound coil. The coil ends of a dual wound coil can be on a common side, simplifying wiring. The dual wound coil may be configured with a low resistance, reducing resistive losses.”)
“To achieve increased efficiency, increased output torque, and/or reduced operating losses via use of a dual wound coil”, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a second coil to Kang’s design resulting in: a first ring winding and a second ring winding each disposed in a shared transverse flux core of the plurality of transverse flux cores and each configured to conduct a corresponding current.
Regarding claim 11, Kang as modified by Janecek in claim 10 discloses the dual-wound transverse flux machine of claim 10, Kang further discloses wherein the first ring winding and the second ring winding each include wires having a rectangular cross-section. (implied, see the flat coil in fig. 11 in Kang; see also para [0045] in Janecek: “In an exemplary embodiment, dual wound coil 420 comprises flat copper wire having cross-sectional dimensions of about 0.144 inches (3.66 mm) wide by about 0.057 inches (1.45 mm) thick.”)
Regarding claim 12, Kang as modified by Janecek in claim 10 discloses the dual-wound transverse flux machine of claim 10, wherein the TFM has an internal rotor configuration with the stator extending annularly about the rotor (see the inner rotor 7 in fig. 12).
Regarding claim 13, Kang as modified by Janecek in claim 10 discloses the dual-wound transverse flux machine of claim 10, but does not disclose: wherein the TFM has an external rotor configuration with the rotor extending annularly about the stator.
However, as Kang states, a TFM with outer rotors are known in the art, see para [0003]: “The present invention relates to an inner rotor type permanent magnet excited transverse flux motor and, more particularly, to an inner rotor type permanent magnet excited transverse flux motor, in which a laminated structure in an axial direction or in a radial shape is applied to a stator iron core so as to employ a small amount of permanent magnets compared with a conventional outer rotor type permanent magnet excited transverse flux motor, thus providing high output power, increasing the efficiency of power generation, and reducing noise and vibration.” Accordingly, when minimizing the amount of magnets is not a design criterion, larger torques can be obtained with more magnets in an outer rotor configuration.
To achieve larger torques, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the design in such a way that: the TFM has an external rotor configuration with the rotor extending annularly about the stator.
Regarding claim 14, Kang as modified by Janecek in claim 10 discloses the dual-wound transverse flux machine of claim 10, Kang further discloses wherein the TFM is a multi-phase machine (see N-phase in fig. 13, below), wherein each transverse flux core of the plurality of transverse flux cores have a ring shape (see fig. 13), and wherein the plurality of transverse flux cores are stacked axially and shifted circumferentially from one-another (see indicated axial shifts in fig. 13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 allowed.
Regarding claim 1, Kang as discussed regarding claim 10 discloses a transverse flux machine (TFM) comprising:
a rotor configured to rotate about an axis and having a plurality of pairs of permanent magnets, with a flux concentrating core and a flux diverging core having alternating placements between the permanent magnets of each of the pairs of the permanent magnets, with each of the pairs of permanent magnets arranged to generate a magnetic flux in a circumferential direction into the flux concentrating core and away from the flux diverging core; and
a stator including a transverse flux core configured to direct the magnetic flux in each of a radial direction and an axial direction.
Kang does not disclose: the rotor further includes a non-magnetic material located between the permanent magnets of each of the pairs of the permanent magnets, adjacent to the flux concentrating core and opposite from the stator, the non-magnetic material having a thickness (TH) in a radial direction.
None of the prior art of record anticipates or in combination renders obvious the limitations of claim 1; hence, claim 1 is allowed.
Claims 2-9 are also allowed because they depend on claim 1.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/MASOUD VAZIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834