DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This office action considers claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17, 19, and 20 filed on 08/07/2026 are pending for prosecution.
Claim 3, 8, 13 and 18 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/07/2026 with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17, 19, and 20 have been considered but they are mute as they are not applicable to the combination of prior arts used in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20210195651 A1, of IDS, hereinafter 'ZHANG') in view of Zhou et al. (US 20230180141 A1, hereinafter ‘ZHOU’) and with further in view of Lee et al. (US 20160192376 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘LEE’).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (
Fig. 5, [0067] FIG. 5 illustrates an example communication flow 500 including a UE 502 performing a random access procedure with a secondary cell 506, such as a PSCell based on a configuration that is received from a PCell 504 serving the UE 502.), the method comprising:
receiving, from a serving cell, information on a measurement for a pathloss associated with a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission for at least one non-serving cell (
[0067] As illustrated in FIG. 5, the PCell 504 may configure the UE 502, at 501, to perform Layer 3 (L3) measurements on another cell, such as a PSCell 506. …... The UE may perform the measurements in corresponding SS/PBCH Block Measurement Time Configuration (SMTC) windows 503…… After performing the L3 measurement on the PSCell's SSBs, the UE 502 may transmit a beam report (e.g., an L1 or L3 beam report) 507 about the PSCell 506 to the PCell 504.
[0068] The PCell 504 may use the L3 beam report 507 about the PSCell 506, as received from the UE 502, to initiate a PSCell addition procedure 509 for the UE 502. The PCell 504 may transmit a PSCell RACH configuration 511 to the UE 502.
[0081] As illustrated in FIG. 9, the UE may perform L1/L3 beam measurements, at 902. …… The measurements may be based on an L1/L3 measurement configuration, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 5.),
identifying a way of the measurement for the pathloss associated with the PRACH transmission, based on an indication of a cell specific measurement or a layer 1 (L1) measurement (
[0067] The UE 502 may use the configuration 501 that is received from the PCell 504 to measure synchronization signals from the PSCell 506) …… The UE may perform the measurements in corresponding SS/PBCH Block Measurement Time Configuration (SMTC) windows 503. ….. the UE 502 may transmit a beam report (e.g., an L1 or L3 beam report) 507 about the PSCell 506 to the PCell 504.
[0081] As illustrated in FIG. 9, the UE may perform L1/L3 beam measurements, at 902. The beam report transmitted at 904 may be based on the measurements performed at 902. The measurements may be based on an L1/L3 measurement configuration, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 5.);
performing the measurement for the reference signal included in the information on the measurement, based on the identified way (
[0067] The UE may perform the measurements in corresponding SS/PBCH Block Measurement Time Configuration (SMTC) windows 503 ….. After performing the L3 measurement on the PSCell's SSBs, the UE 502 may transmit a beam report (e.g., an L1 or L3 beam report) 507 about the PSCell 506 to the PCell 504.); and
transmitting, to a non-serving cell among the at least one non- serving cell, the PRACH transmission (
[0068] The PCell 504 may transmit a PSCell RACH configuration 511 to the UE 502. The UE 502 may indicate to the PCell 504 that the RRC reconfiguration is complete, at 515, and the PCell 504 may indicate to the PSCell 506 that the PSCell reconfiguration is complete, at 517. The UE 502 may identify a best downlink RS beam for the PSCell 506, e.g., based on RS 513, and may use the identified beam to perform a random access procedure 519 with the PSCell 506. For example, the UE 502 may transmit a first random access message (e.g., a Msg 1 403) to the PSCell 506 during a corresponding RACH occasion. ).
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein the information on the measurement for the pathloss includes information about a reference signal used for the measurement for the pathloss for the at least one non-serving cell, in a form of a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state;
performing the measurement for the pathloss for the reference signal included in the information on the measurement for the pathloss, based on the identified way; and
transmitting, to a non-serving cell among the at least one non- serving cell, the PRACH transmission based on the pathloss.
In an analogous art, ZHOU teaches wherein the information on the measurement for the pathloss includes information about a reference signal used for the measurement for the pathloss for the at least one non-serving cell, in a form of a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (
[0005] the aspects may be applied for layer 1 (L1) or layer 2 (L2) inter-cell mobility based on beam management for the serving cell and one or more non-serving cells…
[0006] In order to provide for improved mobility for a UE, a base station may indicate a TCI state for downlink communication or a spatial relation for uplink communication based on a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship with a reference signal of another cell (e.g., a neighbor cell or a non-serving cell). For example, the base station may indicate a TCI state or a spatial relation for the UE that is QCL with an SSB of a non-serving cell
Fig. 5, signals 508, 510, [0059] With reference to FIG. 5, a communication flow 500 is illustrated for communication between a UE, a serving cell, and a non-serving cell, including the use of a PL RS from the non-serving cell for transmissions of PUCCH, PUSCH, PRACH ….. The serving cell 504 may transmit a spatial relation indication 508 based on RS of non-serving cell 506 (with PCI/TRP of non-serving cell 506) to the UE 502. For example, the serving cell 504 may configure multiple spatial relations for the UE 502, and one or more of the configured spatial relations may have a QCL relationship to a reference signal from the non-serving cell 506. Then, the serving cell 504 may indicate a spatial relation from the spatial relations that are configured for the UE 504. ….. the serving cell 504 may transmit a pathloss reference signal configuration 510 indicating for the UE 502 to use a reference signal from the non-serving 506 to calculate a pathloss as part of determining a transmission power for the uplink transmission. The serving cell 504 may indicate the pathloss reference signal with PCI/TRP ID of non-serving cell 506.);
performing the measurement for the pathloss for the reference signal included in the information on the measurement for the pathloss, based on the identified way (
Fig. 5, signal 512, box 514, [0060] The non-serving cell 506 transmits a reference signal 512, e.g., a SSB, CSI-RS, or PRS. The UE 502 receives the reference signal 512 from the non-serving base station based on the serving cell's indication of the pathloss reference signal. At 514, the UE 502 measures a pathloss of the reference signal 512 from the non-serving cell 506. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using pathloss measurement of non-serving cell for PRACH transmission of ZHOU to the system for wireless communication random access coverage and/or latency improvements of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of providing a method for improved mobility for a UE (ZHOU: [0006, 0059]).
ZHANG and ZHOU do not explicitly disclose transmitting, to a non-serving cell among the at least one non- serving cell, the PRACH transmission based on the pathloss.
In an analogous art, LEE teaches transmitting, to a non-serving cell among the at least one non- serving cell, the PRACH transmission based on the pathloss (
[0334] ….. The RACH configuration that may be provided by the Macro may include a frequency offset, for example, for similar reasons as for the increased guard time. The Macro cell may include a pathloss offset value. This pathloss offset value may be used by the WTRU to determine an appropriate initial transmission power for the PRACH preamble.
[0336] A WTRU, for example in a scenario such as described herein, may perform a random access (e.g., random access procedure) that may involve both a LPN and Macro. For example, upon (or following or after) obtaining the PRACH preamble transmission parameters, a WTRU may transmit an appropriate PRACH preamble to a LPN that may be nearby.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using pathloss measurement of non-serving cell for PRACH transmission of LEE to the system for wireless communication random access coverage and/or latency improvements of ZHANG and ZHOU in order to take the advantage of providing a method for improved performance (LEE: [0098, 0334]).
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system (
Fig. 5, Fig. 5, PCell 504, PSCell 506, [0067] FIG. 5 illustrates an example communication flow 500 including a UE 502 performing a random access procedure with a secondary cell 506, such as a PSCell based on a configuration that is received from a PCell 504 serving the UE 502).
Further, claim 6 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, ZHANG teaches a terminal in a wireless communication system (
Fig. 3, UE 350,
Fig. 5, UE 502, [0067] FIG. 5 illustrates an example communication flow 500 including a UE 502 performing a random access procedure with a secondary cell 506, such as a PSCell based on a configuration that is received from a PCell 504 serving the UE 502), the terminal comprising:
a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to (
Fig. 3, UE 350 with Controller/Processor 359 coupled to TX Processor 368 and RX Processor 356 which are coupled to 354TXes and 354RXes,
See [0054-0066]).
Further, claim 11 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, ZHANG teaches a base station in a wireless communication system (
Fig. 3, Base Station 310,
Fig. 5, PCell 504, PSCell 506, [0067] FIG. 5 illustrates an example communication flow 500 including a UE 502 performing a random access procedure with a secondary cell 506, such as a PSCell based on a configuration that is received from a PCell 504 serving the UE 502), the base station comprising:
a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to (
Fig. 3, Base Station 310 with Controller/Processor 375 coupled to TX Processor 316 and RX Processor 370 which are coupled to 318TXes and 318RXes,
See [0054-0066]).
Further, claim 16 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG, in view of ZHOU and LEE, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the L1 measurement is performed for the measurement for the pathloss, in case that the L1 measurement is indicated (
See [0067] After performing the L3 measurement on the PSCell's SSBs, the UE 502 may transmit a beam report (e.g., an L1 or L3 beam report) 507 about the PSCell 506 to the PCell 504.
See also Fig. 9 Box 902,
[0081] The measurements may be based on an L1/L3 measurement configuration, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 5. ).
See also ZHOU [0005] the aspects may be applied for layer 1 (L1) or layer 2 (L2) inter-cell mobility based on beam management for the serving cell and one or more non-serving cells…
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG, in view of ZHOU and LEE, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pathloss is identified for a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with the PRACH (
[0067] The UE may perform the measurements in corresponding SS/PBCH Block Measurement Time Configuration (SMTC) windows 503.
See also Fig. 5 Step 511 RRC reconfig SS, CSI-RS for RACH,
[0068] The PCell 504 may transmit a PSCell RACH configuration 511 to the UE).
See also ZHOU Fig. 5, Signal 512 SSB, [0059] PL RS from the non-serving cell for transmissions of PUCCH, PUSCH, PRACH ….
[0060] The non-serving cell 506 transmits a reference signal 512, e.g., a SSB …
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG, in view of ZHOU and LEE, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the reference signal includes an SSB or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (
See also Fig. 5 Step 511 RRC reconfig SS, CSI-RS for RACH,
[0068] The PCell 504 may transmit a PSCell RACH configuration 511 to the UE.
Fig. 8, [0077] The UE 802 may select one or more beams to transmit the Msg 1 based on random access measurements of a reference signal, e.g., as described in connection FIG. 5. For example, the random access measurements may be based on an RRC configuration, or reconfiguration (e.g., 511), and the UE may perform measurements on configured reference signals 513. FIG. 8 illustrates a non-limiting example in which the configured reference signals may be CSI-RS.
Fig. 9, Box 906, 0082] As illustrated at 906, the UE may perform random access measurements based on a reference signal …. based on a random access configuration or reconfiguration, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 5. …. the reference signal may comprise CSI-RS, e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 8.).
See also ZHOU Fig. 5 Signal 512 SSB/CSI-RS, [0059] PL RS from the non-serving cell for transmissions of PUCCH, PUSCH, PRACH ….
[0060] The non-serving cell 506 transmits a reference signal 512, e.g., a SSB, CSI-RS …
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhang et al. (US 20250274240 A1), describing METHODS FOR UPLINK RESOURCE MAPPING
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413