Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsunaga et al. (US 20230034464 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsunaga discloses a motor unit (1, fig. 1) configured to drive a working unit (leveling machine 100, fig. 1; see also para [0033]), the motor unit comprising:
a body housing (power unit main body 2, fig. 1; see also para [0034]) comprising a first housing (first housing, annotated fig. 3) and a second housing (first housing, annotated fig. 3), wherein an accommodating space is defined between the first housing and the second housing (see the space the motor is placed in), and the first housing and the second housing define an entire outer contour of the body housing (see figs. 1 and 3);
a motor (motor, annotated fig. 3) positioned in the accommodating space;
an output unit configured to be fixed to the working unit and drive the working unit when the motor operates (see fig. 1 and para [0044]: “The electric motor 20 is a drive source of the leveling machine 100 which generates the rotational power for driving the vibration mechanism portion 103 via the power transmission mechanism portion 102.”);
a battery terminal (battery terminal, annotated fig. 3) exposed to outside of the body housing and configured to be connected to a battery configured to supply power to the motor (implied); and
a control unit (control unit, annotated fig. 3) positioned in the accommodating space (see annotated fig. 3) and configured to control the motor (implied).
Regarding claim 2, Matsunaga discloses the motor unit according to claim 1, further comprising a motor housing (motor housing, annotated fig. 3) accommodating the motor and positioned in the accommodating space, wherein the motor housing, the battery terminal, and the control unit are each held between the first housing and the second housing (see annotated fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Matsunaga discloses the motor unit according to claim 1, wherein a center of gravity of the motor unit is positioned within the motor (implied).
Regarding claim 10, Matsunaga discloses the motor unit according to claim 1, wherein the body housing comprises:
a lower wall (lower wall, annotated fig. 2) configured to contact with a reference plane when the motor unit is on the reference plane (reference plane is the surface that the motor unit is placed on); and an upper wall (upper wall, annotated fig. 2) opposing the lower wall and on which the battery terminal is positioned.
Regarding claim 19, Matsunaga discloses a working machine (100, fig. 1), comprising: a working unit (101-104, fig. 1); and
as discussed regarding claim 1: a motor unit configured to drive the working unit, wherein the motor unit comprises: a body housing comprising a first housing and a second housing, wherein an accommodating space is defined between the first housing and the second housing, and the first housing and the second housing define an entire outer contour of the body housing; a motor positioned in the accommodating space; an output unit configured to be fixed to the working unit and drive the working unit when the motor operates; a battery terminal exposed to outside of the body housing and configured to be connected to a battery configured to supply power to the motor; and a control unit positioned in the accommodating space and configured to control the motor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al. (US 20230034464 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Matsunaga discloses the motor unit according to claim 1, further comprising a cooling fan positioned in the accommodating space and configured to rotate with the motor, wherein the body housing includes an inlet and an outlet configured to allow the accommodating space to communicate with the outside of the body housing (see para [0047]: “The second electric motor cover 203b includes a gas intake port 203d opened for a cooling fan (not illustrated) disposed on a left side of the electric motor 20. The gas intake port 203d is covered by a fan cover 203e.”; given the inlet, an outlet is implied.)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al. (US 20230034464 A1) in view of Sprague et al. (US 20230246522 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Matsunaga discloses the motor unit according to claim 1, but does not discloses wherein a diameter of the motor is equal to or less than 100 mm.
A diameter of the motor is a design option and selecting a proper range is within the skills of a person having ordinary skills in the art. For example, Sprague discloses a battery powered motor unit that has a rotor with a diameter range of 70mm to 100mm (see para [0253]: “In some embodiments, the rotor 876 has a diameter ranging from 70 mm to 120 mm.”)
For a motor unit for a work machine, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that: a diameter of the motor is equal to or less than 100 mm.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al. (US 20230034464 A1) in view of Osada et al. (US 20220388196 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Matsunaga discloses the motor unit according to claim 1, but is silent about: wherein the body housing is constituted of a resin material.
However, using a resin material for the housing of a work machine is a general practice and known to a person having ordinary skills in the art. For example, Osada discloses a work machine having a body made from a resin (“[0057] As shown in FIGS. 5 to 8, the motor housing 33 is formed of resin”). Housings made of a molded resin are lightweight, low cost and can be shaped into many forms while providing electrical isolation.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that: the body housing is constituted of a resin material.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga et al. (US 20230034464 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2018010699 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Matsunaga, as discussed regarding claim 1, discloses a motor unit configured to drive a working unit, the motor unit comprising: a body housing including an accommodating space therein; a motor positioned in the accommodating space; an output unit configured to be fixed to the working unit and drive the working unit when the motor operates; a battery terminal exposed to outside of the body housing and configured to be connected to a battery configured to supply power to the motor; and a control unit positioned in the accommodating space and configured to control the motor.
Matsunaga is silent about: wherein a maximum output of the motor ranges from 0.5 kW to 1.5 kW, and wherein a weight of the motor unit is equal to or less than 7.5 kg.
Zhang discloses a motor unit for a work machine (see various work tools in fig. 1) wherein: “Preferably, the power device has a rated output power of between 200w and 2500w.” and wherein: “Optionally, the weight of the power device is 2Kg to 2.1Kg.”
For a motor unit capable of driving a work machine, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that: a maximum output of the motor ranges from 0.5 kW to 1.5 kW and a weight of the motor unit is equal to or less than 7.5 kg.
Regarding claim 17, Matsunaga as modified by Zhang in claim 15 discloses the motor unit according to claim 15, but does disclose: wherein a volume of the motor unit is equal to or less than 13000 cm3.
Zhang further discloses: “The volume of the motor (700a) is v, the power of the motor (700a) in work is P, the rated power of the motor (700a) is P.sub.rated, and the proportion of the rated power P.sub.rated of the motor (700a) to the volume v of the motor (700a) is k, k≥16.5w/cm.sup.3. The power density of the motor is improved.” (see the abstract). This implies that the volume of the motor is a design option that can be driven by a number of factors such as cost and power level. In addition, a volume of the motor unit includes the space within the body for accommodating the control unit and the cooling fan.
For a motor unit capable of driving a work machine, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that: a volume of the motor unit is equal to or less than 13000 cm3.
Regarding claim 18, Matsunaga, as discussed regarding claim 1, discloses a motor unit configured to drive a working unit, the motor unit comprising: a body housing including an accommodating space therein; a motor positioned in the accommodating space; an output unit configured to be fixed to the working unit and drive the working unit when the motor operates; a battery terminal exposed to outside of the body housing and configured to be connected to a battery configured to supply power to the motor; and a control unit positioned in the accommodating space and configured to control the motor.
Matsunaga does not disclose: a maximum output of the motor ranges from 0.5 kW to 2.0 kW, a torque of the motor ranges from 1.5 N・m to 3.0 N・m, and a rotation speed of the motor ranges from 4000 rpm to 10000 rpm.
As discussed regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses a motor unit for a work machine wherein: “Preferably, the power device has a rated output power of between 200w and 2500w.” Zhang furthermore discloses “The motor has a no-load speed of 10,000 rpm or more” and “Optionally, when the output torque of the motor is between 0.2 NM and 2 NM.”
For a motor unit capable of driving a work machine, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that: a maximum output of the motor ranges from 0.5 kW to 2.0 kW, a torque of the motor ranges from 1.5 N・m to 3.0 N・m, and a rotation speed of the motor ranges from 4000 rpm to 10000 rpm.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7, 9, 11-12 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kataoka et al. (US 20260054365 A1) discloses a work machine that anticipates at least claims 1 and 8. Other relevant prior art are cited on form PTO-892.
/MASOUD VAZIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834