DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0156007) in view of Cui et al. (Applicant’s submitted prior art of record, “wear resistance of FeCoCrNiMnAlx..”).
Regarding claim 1, the Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen) reference discloses a seal (Para. [0021]) comprising:
a metallic substrate (inherent that a piston ring and the parts of the engine turbine are metallic); and
a coating layer (Para. [0002]),
wherein:
the coating layer comprises in atomic percent of all metals in the coating layer:
6.5 to 22.0 Al (Abstract);
14.0 to 23.0 Co (Abstract); and
14.0 to 23.0 Ni (Abstract).
However, the Chen reference fails to explicitly disclose the coating layer including:
14.0 to 23.0 Fe;
14.0 to 23.0 Cr ;
14.0 to 23.0 Mn.
The Cui et al. (hereinafter Cui) reference, a coating, discloses the claimed ranges for Al, Co, Ni, Fe, Cr, and Mn (Table 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the coating of the Chen et al. reference with the coating as taught in the Cui reference in order to greatly reduce production costs (Cui, Introduction, Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 2, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the coating layer comprises in overall atomic percent: at least 15.0 O (Cui, Table 4).
Regarding claim 3, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the coating layer comprises by atomic percent of all metals in the coating layer: no more than 1.0 other individually and 5.0 other total (Cui, Table 4).
Regarding claim 4, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the substrate is a nickel-based alloy (Chen, Para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Chen reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1.
However, the modified Chen reference fails to explicitly disclose the coating layer has a thickness of at least 50 micrometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed thickness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal thermal properties while keeping manufacturing costs low. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the coating layer is an outermost layer (Chen, Para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Chen reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1.
However, the modified Chen reference fails to explicitly disclose the coating layer comprises in atomic percent of all metals in the coating layer:
12.0 to 22.0 Al;
14.0 to 22.0 Fe;
14.0 to 22.0 Co;
14.0 to 22.0 Cr;
14.0 to 22.0 Mn
14.0 to 22.0 Ni; and
no more than 1.0 other individually and 5.0 other total.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed ranges of materials, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal thermal properties while keeping manufacturing costs low. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the substrate has a bellows section; and
the coating layer is at least on axial ends of the bellows section;
or wherein:
the seal is a split ring (Chen, Para. [0002]); and
the coating layer is at least on an outer diameter surface of the substrate (Chen, Para. [0002]);
or wherein:
the seal is a finger seal; and
the coating layer is at least on contact face of the substrate. It is to noted that the different types of seals are well known in the art of turbines and are known equivalents.
Regarding claim 9, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses a gas turbine engine (Chen, Para. [0003]) including the seal of claim 1 and further comprising:
one or more compressor sections (Chen, Para. [0003]);
a combustor (Chen, Para. [0003]);
one or more turbine sections (Chen, e.g. Para. [0003]); and
a gaspath (inherent that a gaspath is within a turbine) passing through the one or more compressor sections, the combustor section, and the one or more turbine sections, said seal sealing between relatively nonrotating components (piston rings of a turbine are well known to be sealing between relatively nonrotating components) .
Regarding claim 10, the examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art at the time filing to coat on the sealing surface and not the mating surface in order to reduce manufacturing costs and maintain excellent sealing properties.
Regarding claim 11, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses a method for manufacturing the seal of claim 1, the method comprising:
spraying powder to form the coating layer (Chen, Para. [0016]).
Regarding claim 12, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 11, discloses the spraying is HVOF, HVAF, or cold spray (Chen, Para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 14, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 11, discloses the powder by blending an aluminum-based powder with an HEA powder; and thermally diffusing the blend (Chen Para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses a method for using the seal of claim 1, the method comprising: engaging the coating layer with a counterface (coatings are placed on a contacting surface); and subjecting the seal and counterface to relative sliding movement (it is well known in the art that the seals of a turbine are subject to relative movement because of the forces caused during use) .
Regarding claim 16, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 15, discloses the engaging comprises compressing (it is inherent that a piston ring must be compressed to seal).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Mars et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0307968)
Regarding claim 20, the Chen reference discloses a method for coating an article, the article comprising:
a metallic substrate (Para. [0021]), the method comprising:
blending an Al-based powder with a high entropy alloy powder of Fe, Co, Cr, Mn, and Ni thermally diffusing the blended powders (Para. [0004], Abstract).
However, the Chen reference fails to explicitly disclose HVOF spraying the diffused powders atop the substrate to form a coating layer.
The Mars et al. (hereinafter Mars) reference, a method of cladding, discloses that HVOF, thermal, and cold spray are well known equivalents (Para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the modified Chen reference to use HVOF in view of the teachings of the Mars reference since the methods are well known equivalents and since the methods would provide predictable results.
Claim(s) 13 and 17-19 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Cui as applied to claims 1-12 and 14-16 above, and further in view of Mars.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Chen reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 11.
However, the modified Chen reference fails to explicitly disclose the spraying is HVOF.
The Mars reference, a method of cladding, discloses that HVOF, thermal, and cold spray are well known equivalents (Para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the modified Chen reference to use HVOF in view of the teachings of the Mars reference since the methods are well known equivalents and since the methods would provide predictable results.
Regarding claim 17, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the claimed metallic substrate forming a split ring (Chen, Para. [0003]) and the claimed composition (Cui, Table 4).
However, the modified Chen reference fails to explicitly disclose the spraying is HVOF.
The Mars reference, a method of cladding, discloses that HVOF, thermal, and cold spray are well known equivalents (Para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the modified Chen reference to use HVOF in view of the teachings of the Mars reference since the methods are well known equivalents and since the methods would provide predictable results.
Regarding claim 18, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 17, discloses the coating layer comprises by atomic percent of all metals in the coating layer: no more than 1.0 other individually and 5.0 other total (Cui, Table 4).
Regarding claim 19, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 17, discloses the substrate has shape to form a split ring seal (Chen, Para. [0002]) and the spraying is to an outer diameter surface of the substrate (Chen, Para. [0002]); or
the substrate has shape to form an axial spring seal and the spraying is to axial end surfaces of the substrate; or the substrate has shape to form a finger seal and the spraying is to a contact surface of the substrate; or
the substrate has shape to form a radial spring seal and the spraying is to radial end surfaces of the substrate; or
the substrate has shape to form a HALO seal and the spraying is to an inner diameter surface of the substrate. It is to noted that the different types of seals are well known in the art of turbines and are known equivalents.
Claim(s) 21-23 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Mars as applied to claims 20 and 22-23 above, and further in view of Cui.
Regarding claim 21, the Chen refernece, as modified in claim 20, discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but fails to explicitly disclose the blend comprises by atomic percent:
6.5 to 22.0 Al (Abstract);
14.0 to 23.0 Co( Abstract); and
14.0 to 23.0 Ni (Abstract).
However, the Chen reference fails to explicitly disclose the coating layer including:
14.0 to 23.0 Fe;
14.0 to 23.0 Cr ;
14.0 to 23.0 Mn.
The Cui et al. (hereinafter Cui) reference, a coating, discloses the claimed ranges for Al, Co, Ni, Fe, Cr, and Mn (Table 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the coating of the Chen et al. reference with the coating as taught in the Cui reference in order to greatly reduce production costs (Cui, Introduction, Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Chen reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 20.
However, the modified Chen reference fails to explicitly disclose the blend comprises by atomic percent: no more than 1.0 other individually and 5.0 other total.
The Cui reference, a coating, discloses Regarding claim 22, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 20, discloses the blend comprises by atomic percent: no more than 1.0 other individually and 5.0 other total (Table 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the coating of the Chen reference with the coating as taught in the Cui reference in order to greatly reduce production costs (Cui, Introduction, Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 23, the Chen reference, as modified in claim 22, discloses the substrate has shape to form a split ring seal and the spraying is to an outer diameter surface of the substrate (Chen, Para. [0002]); or
the substrate has shape to form an axial spring seal and the spraying is to axial end surfaces of the substrate; or
the substrate has shape to form a finger seal and the spraying is to a contact surface of the substrate; or
the substrate has shape to form a radial spring seal and the spraying is to radial end surfaces of the substrate; or
the substrate has shape to form a HALO seal and the spraying is to an inner diameter surface of the substrate (Chen, Para. [0002]); or
the substrate has shape to form a locating pin and the spraying is to a base of the locating pin or a distal end section of the locating pin; or
the substrate interfaces with a locating pin and the spraying is to a counterface surface for the locating pin; or
the substrate has shape to form a snap fastener and the spraying is to a shaft and a barb underside; or
the substrate has shape to form a component having a snap fit bead or groove and the spraying is to said bead or groove; or
the substrate has shape to form a component having a tab and the spraying is to a face of the tab; or
the substrate has shape to form a component having a seal counterface and the spraying is to the seal counterface (Chen, Para. [0002]). It is to noted that the different types of seals are well known in the art of turbines and are known equivalents.
Conclusion
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675