DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on January 30, 2026. Claims 1, 4-11, 12-18, and 20 are currently pending, with Claims 1, 4, 11, 18, and 20 being amended, and Claims 2-3, 12-13, and 19 being cancelled.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed January 30, 2026, the Examiner withdraws the previous claim objections, and withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, filed January 30, 2026, pertaining to Fischer and the limitations regarding the speed plan (see page 10 of instant arguments), the Examiner is unpersuaded. Fischer teaches that the time-varying command for changing the position of the seat is received, which causes the processor to direct an increase or decrease in speed of the actuator over that time period. Fischer further teaches the actuator changes its speed when the seat component transitions to a new stage of motion or zone of motion for each actuator based on the time-varying command, and that the time-varying command indicates when the actuator should change speed for that motion profile (i.e., in response to a request to transition to a new phase and associated speed for the next motion) (see at least Paragraphs [0077]-[0078], [0088]-[0089], of Fischer). As such, the Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
The rejection previous has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Fischer, in view of Sakai.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 recites dependency to canceled Claim 19. The Examiner is interpreting Claim 20 to be depended from Claim 18.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 14-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0375865 A1, to Fischer, et al (hereinafter referred to as Fischer; previously of record).
As per Claim 1, Fischer discloses the features of a system for seat motion control (e.g. Paragraph [0009]; where the motion of movable components of a powered seat may be controlled), comprising:
a seat including actuators coupled to movable seat components (e.g. Paragraph [0019]; where one or more actuator(s) are configured to move at least one of the back support, seat pan, and leg rest in response to one more time-varying command(s) and to provide motion-status signal(s));
a seat controller operatively coupled to the actuators (e.g. Paragraphs [0022], [0041]; where the driver is configured to provide motion command(s) in response to a time-varying motion command and the controller sends signals to move a seat component);
a motion planner communicatively coupled to the seat controller (e.g. Paragraphs [0056], [0058]; where each actuator controller generates motion commands, and the actuators may be moved in accordance with their own direction and motion profile); and
an interface operable for entering a sitting position change from a user (e.g. Paragraphs [0059], [0065], [0078]; where the controller(s) (186) may include a user interface (HMI), and in response to user selections on the passenger control unit (PCU, 240), the module can transmit data including indications of a desired motion to modules or actuator controllers (187)); wherein
the motion planner includes a processor (e.g. Paragraphs [0073], [0112]; where the actuator controller (187) can include a processor (486) in order to process stat information, and where the processor (486) runs (i.e. executes computer program instructions to carry out computations for a digital control loop indicative of motion-status signals) and is configured to:
receive a request for a sitting position change from the interface (e.g. Paragraphs [0059], [0065], [0078]; where the controller(s) (186) may include a user interface (HMI), and in response to user selections on the passenger control unit (PCU, 240), the module can transmit data including indications of a desired motion to modules or actuator controllers (187));
retrieve from memory a motion plan corresponding to the requested sitting position change, the motion plan including a plurality of way points, wherein each way point includes definite positions of the actuators (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0058], [0081]; where the controllers (186, 187) each comprise a memory, which can store the parameter(s) of at least one zone of motion of at least one of the actuator(s); and where each of the actuators can be a linear actuator; and where the actuators may need to move in multiple stages, each with its own direction and motion profile);
receive a request for a transition speed associated with the requested sitting position change (e.g. Paragraphs [0077]-[0078]; where the processor (486) is configured to transmit a time-varying motion command, including an acceleration signal, which can direct an increase in speed of the actuator speed over a selected period of time); and
instruct the seat controller to operate the actuators to execute the requested sitting position change at the requested transition speed (e.g. Paragraphs [0077]-[0078]; where the controller can provide the motion command(s), e.g., a time-varying motion command(s), in response to the received indication), wherein
the motion planner, during motion of the seat, is further configured to: receive a request for a new transition speed from the interface (e.g. Figure 5; where a reference state of motion command is detected during the acceleration phase (i.e., during motion of a movable seat component), and the system determines the reference value, and feedback signal limit to determine when to transition to a steady-state speed phase); and
instruct the seat controller to operate the actuators to continue executing the sitting position change at the requested new transition speed (e.g. Figure 5; where the feedback signal is determined and the steady-state speed phase is entered for executing the time-varying motion command); wherein the instruction to the seat controller to operate the actuators to continue executing the sitting position change at the requested new transition speed comprises
determining a next way point of the actuators (e.g. Paragraphs [0088]-[0089], [0107]-[0108]; Figures 5, 6; where the motion command includes a sequence of velocity command values, and a reference state is detected when the sequence of velocity command values exhibits a peak value; and where the motion of the actuator can be divided into zones according to the percentage of travel (e.g., between an upright and reclined position) to determine the time and speed to the next zone) and
linearly ramping up or down the speed of the actuators to the new transition speed until the determined next way point is reached (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0058], [0076]; Figure 1; where each of actuators can be a linear actuator; and where the actuators may need to move in multiple stages, each with its own direction and motion profile until the reference state of the time-varying motion command has been detected and where the controller (186, 187) can adjust the motion profiles for the seat (101), the back support (114)m, the leg rest (10), and foot rest (112)p; and the system changes the feedback signal as the current or motor speed changes), and thereafter
continuing at the new transition speed until through completion of the motion plan (e.g. Figure 5; where the controller drives the motor of at least one movable seat component at a steady-state speed (i.e., new transition speed) until the feedback signal exceeds the limit).
As per Claim 11, Fischer discloses the features of a motion planner for use with a seat including movable components (e.g. Paragraph [0009]; where the motion of movable components of a powered seat may be controlled),
actuators coupled to the movable components (e.g. Paragraph [0019]; where one or more actuator(s) are configured to move at least one of the back support, seat pan, and leg rest in response to one more time-varying command(s) and to provide motion-status signal(s)), and
a seat controller operatively coupled to the actuators (e.g. Paragraphs [0022], [0041]; where the driver is configured to provide motion command(s) in response to a time-varying motion command and the controller sends signals to move a seat component), the motion planner configured to be
communicatively coupled to the seat controller (e.g. Paragraphs [0056], [0058]; where each actuator controller generates motion commands, and the actuators may be moved in accordance with their own direction and motion profile) and to
interface for selecting, from a user (e.g. Paragraphs [0059], [0065], [0078]; where the controller(s) (186) may include a user interface (HMI), and in response to user selections on the passenger control unit (PCU, 240), the module can transmit data including indications of a desired motion to modules or actuator controllers (187)),
predefined sitting positions and predefined transition speeds for completing sitting position changes (e.g. Paragraphs [0067], [0081]; where the control system can synchronize transitions of component(s) from a current position to any preset position defined by the occupant, such as TTOL, dine, lounge, or sleep/ bed position, and compare these positions with predefined forbidden zones; and where at least one actuator is configured to move a respective component of the seat over a range of positions divided into a plurality of zones having respective values of a parameter), and
the motion planner including a processor (e.g. Paragraphs [0073], [0112]; where the actuator controller (187) can include a processor (486) in order to process stat information, and where the processor (486) runs (i.e. executes computer program instructions to carry out computations for a digital control loop indicative of motion-status signals) configured to:
receive a request for a sitting position change from the interface (e.g. Paragraphs [0059], [0065], [0078]; where the controller(s) (186) may include a user interface (HMI), and in response to user selections on the passenger control unit (PCU, 240), the module can transmit data including indications of a desired motion to modules or actuator controllers (187));
retrieve from memory a motion plan corresponding to the requested sitting position change, the motion plan including a plurality of way points, wherein each way point includes definite positions of the actuators (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0058], [0081]; where the controllers (186, 187) each comprise a memory, which can store the parameter(s) of at least one zone of motion of at least one of the actuator(s); and where each of the actuators can be a linear actuator; and where the actuators may need to move in multiple stages, each with its own direction and motion profile);
receive a request for a transition speed associated with the requested sitting position change (e.g. Paragraphs [0077]-[0078]; where the processor (486) is configured to transmit a time-varying motion command, including an acceleration signal, which can direct an increase in speed of the actuator speed over a selected period of time); and
instruct the seat controller to operate the actuators to execute the requested sitting position change at the requested transition speed (e.g. Paragraphs [0077]-[0078]; where the controller can provide the motion command(s), e.g., a time-varying motion command(s), in response to the received indication), wherein
the motion planner, during motion of the seat, is further configured to: receive a request for a new transition speed from the interface (e.g. Figure 5; where a reference state of motion command is detected during the acceleration phase (i.e., during motion of a movable seat component), and the system determines the reference value, and feedback signal limit to determine when to transition to a steady-state speed phase); and
instruct the seat controller to operate the actuators to continue executing the sitting position change at the requested new transition speed (e.g. Figure 5; where the feedback signal is determined and the steady-state speed phase is entered for executing the time-varying motion command); wherein the instruction to the seat controller to operate the actuators to continue executing the sitting position change at the requested new transition speed comprises
determining a next way point of the actuators (e.g. Paragraphs [0088]-[0089], [0107]-[0108]; Figures 5, 6; where the motion command includes a sequence of velocity command values, and a reference state is detected when the sequence of velocity command values exhibits a peak value; and where the motion of the actuator can be divided into zones according to the percentage of travel (e.g., between an upright and reclined position) to determine the time and speed to the next zone) and
linearly ramping up or down the speed of the actuators to the new transition speed until the determined next way point is reached (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0058], [0076]; Figure 1; where each of actuators can be a linear actuator; and where the actuators may need to move in multiple stages, each with its own direction and motion profile until the reference state of the time-varying motion command has been detected and where the controller (186, 187) can adjust the motion profiles for the seat (101), the back support (114)m, the leg rest (10), and foot rest (112)p; and the system changes the feedback signal as the current or motor speed changes), and thereafter
continuing at the new transition speed until through completion of the motion plan (e.g. Figure 5; where the controller drives the motor of at least one movable seat component at a steady-state speed (i.e., new transition speed) until the feedback signal exceeds the limit).
As per Claim 18, Fischer discloses the features of a method for seat motion control (e.g. Paragraph [0009]; where the motion of movable components of a powered seat may be controlled), comprising the steps of:
providing a seat including actuators coupled to movable seat components (e.g. Paragraph [0019]; where one or more actuator(s) are configured to move at least one of the back support, seat pan, and leg rest in response to one more time-varying command(s) and to provide motion-status signal(s));
providing a seat controller operatively coupled to the actuators (e.g. Paragraphs [0022], [0041]; where the driver is configured to provide motion command(s) in response to a time-varying motion command and the controller sends signals to move a seat component);
providing a motion planner, including a processor (e.g. Paragraphs [0073], [0112]; where the actuator controller (187) can include a processor (486) in order to process stat information, and where the processor (486) runs (i.e. executes computer program instructions to carry out computations for a digital control loop indicative of motion-status signals), communicatively coupled to the seat controller (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0056], [0058]; where each actuator controller generates motion commands, and the actuators may be moved in accordance with their own direction and motion profile; and where the controllers (186, 187) each comprise a memory, which can store the parameter(s) of at least one zone of motion of at least one of the actuator(s); and where each of the actuators can be a linear actuator; and where the actuators may need to move in multiple stages, each with its own direction and motion profile); and
providing an interface operable for entering a sitting position change from a user (e.g. Paragraphs [0059], [0065], [0078]; where the controller(s) (186) may include a user interface (HMI), and in response to user selections on the passenger control unit (PCU, 240), the module can transmit data including indications of a desired motion to modules or actuator controllers (187)); wherein
receiving, by the motion planner, a request for a sitting position change from the interface (e.g. Paragraphs [0059], [0065], [0078]; where the controller(s) (186) may include a user interface (HMI), and in response to user selections on the passenger control unit (PCU, 240), the module can transmit data including indications of a desired motion to modules or actuator controllers (187));
retrieving, by the motion planner, from memory a motion plan corresponding to the requested sitting position change, the motion plan including a plurality of way points, wherein each way point includes definite positions of the actuators (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0058], [0081]; where the controllers (186, 187) each comprise a memory, which can store the parameter(s) of at least one zone of motion of at least one of the actuator(s); and where each of the actuators can be a linear actuator; and where the actuators may need to move in multiple stages, each with its own direction and motion profile);
receiving, by the motion planner, a request for a transition speed associated with the requested sitting position change (e.g. Paragraphs [0077]-[0078]; where the processor (486) is configured to transmit a time-varying motion command, including an acceleration signal, which can direct an increase in speed of the actuator speed over a selected period of time); and
instructing, by the motion planner, the seat controller to operate the actuators to execute the requested sitting position change at the requested transition speed (e.g. Paragraphs [0077]-[0078]; where the controller can provide the motion command(s), e.g., a time-varying motion command(s), in response to the received indication),
receiving, by the motion planner, a request for a new transition speed from the interface (e.g. Figure 5; where a reference state of motion command is detected during the acceleration phase (i.e., during motion of a movable seat component), and the system determines the reference value, and feedback signal limit to determine when to transition to a steady-state speed phase); and
instructing, by the motion planner, the seat controller to operate the actuators to continue executing the sitting position change at the requested new transition speed (e.g. Figure 5; where the feedback signal is determined and the steady-state speed phase is entered for executing the time-varying motion command); wherein the instruction to the seat controller to operate the actuators to continue executing the sitting position change at the requested new transition speed comprises
determining a next way point of the actuators (e.g. Paragraphs [0088]-[0089], [0107]-[0108]; Figures 5, 6; where the motion command includes a sequence of velocity command values, and a reference state is detected when the sequence of velocity command values exhibits a peak value; and where the motion of the actuator can be divided into zones according to the percentage of travel (e.g., between an upright and reclined position) to determine the time and speed to the next zone) and
linearly ramping up or down the speed of the actuators to the new transition speed until the determined next way point is reached (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0045], [0058], [0076]; Figure 1; where each of actuators can be a linear actuator; and where the actuators may need to move in multiple stages, each with its own direction and motion profile until the reference state of the time-varying motion command has been detected and where the controller (186, 187) can adjust the motion profiles for the seat (101), the back support (114)m, the leg rest (10), and foot rest (112)p; and the system changes the feedback signal as the current or motor speed changes), and thereafter
continuing at the new transition speed until through completion of the motion plan (e.g. Figure 5; where the controller drives the motor of at least one movable seat component at a steady-state speed (i.e., new transition speed) until the feedback signal exceeds the limit).
As per Claim 4, Fischer discloses the features of Claim 1, and Fischer further discloses the features of wherein the transition speed corresponds to a first predefined time interval and the new transition speed corresponds to a second predefined time interval different from the first predefined time interval (e.g. Paragraphs [0077], [0083]; Figure 7; where the processor can transmit a time-varying motion command, including an acceleration signal, which can detect an increase, decrease, or maintaining in speed of the actuator over a selected period of time; and where the processor transmits the time-varying (i.e. at a different time interval) motion command including a steady-state motion signal, to maintain the speed and change the time interval when transitioning between zones).
As per Claim 5, Fischer discloses the features of Claim 1, and Fischer further discloses the features of wherein the movable seat components include a seat pan, a backrest, and a leg rest, and the actuators include a seat pan actuator, a backrest actuator, and a leg rest actuator (e.g. Paragraphs [0058], [0071], [0019]; Figure 1; where one or more actuator(s) are configured to move at least one of the back support, seat pan, and leg rest in response to one more time-varying command(s) and to provide motion-status signal(s)).
As per Claim 6, and similarly for Claim 14, Fischer discloses the features of Claim 1 and 11, respectively, and Fischer further discloses the features of wherein: the system further comprises
at least one sensor configured to monitor an environment in which the seat operates (e.g. Paragraphs [0053], [0065], [0110]; where the system can alter the motion of a powered seat based on the environment around the seat, e.g., by halting or reversing motion when an obstruction is detected; and where the sensors can include sensors for position detection, or load, and when an actuator controller (187) detects an obstruction, the corresponding module can transmit the status information (i.e. environmental information));
the motion planner is communicatively coupled to the at least one sensor (e.g. Paragraphs [0053], [0084]-[0085]; when an actuator controller (187) detects an obstruction, the corresponding module can transmit the status information to the controller); and the motion planner is further configured to:
receive outputs from the at least one sensor regarding sensed objects affecting the motion plan (e.g. Paragraphs [0053], [0065], [0110]; where when an actuator controller (187) detects an obstruction, the corresponding module can transmit the status information on the communication bus); and
responsive to the outputs received from the at least one sensor, modify the motion plan and instruct the seat controller to operate the actuators according to the modified motion plan (e.g. Paragraphs [0053], [0065], [0110]; where the system can alter the motion of a powered seat based on the environment around the seat, e.g., by halting or reversing motion when an obstruction is detected; and where the sensors can include sensors for position detection, or load, and when an actuator controller (187) detects an obstruction, the corresponding module can transmit the status information).
As per Claim 8, Fischer discloses the features of Claim 6, and Fischer further discloses the features of wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect a transient object affecting the motion plan and modify the motion plan by changing an instruction to the seat controller corresponding to an operating parameter of at least one of the actuators (e.g. Paragraphs [0053], [0065], [0110]; where the system can alter the motion of a powered seat based on the environment around the seat, e.g., by halting or reversing motion when an obstruction is detected; and where the sensors can include sensors for position detection, or load, and when an actuator controller (187) detects an obstruction, the corresponding module can transmit the status information).
As per Claim 9, Fischer discloses the features of Claim 8, and Fischer further discloses the features of wherein the operating parameter includes at least one of activation, deactivation, power supplied to, and speed (e.g. Paragraphs [0076], [0114], [0134]-[0135]; where the drive current increases when an obstruction is encountered; and the processor can transmit an acceleration signal to increase the speed over selected period of time, or can reverse motion after detecting an obstruction).
As per Claim 10, Fischer discloses the features of Claim 1, and Fischer further discloses the features of wherein the motion planner is a component of the interface (e.g. Paragraphs [0059], [0065], [0078]; where the controller(s) (186) may include a user interface (HMI), and in response to user selections on the passenger control unit (PCU, 240), the module can transmit data including indications of a desired motion to modules or actuator controllers (187)).
As per Claim 20, Fischer discloses the features of Claim 18, and Fischer further discloses the features of wherein the transition speed corresponds to a first predefined time interval and the new transition speed corresponds to a second predefined time interval different from the first predefined time interval (e.g. Paragraphs [0077], [0083]; Figure 7; where the processor can transmit a time-varying motion command, including an acceleration signal, which can detect an increase, decrease, or maintaining in speed of the actuator over a selected period of time; and where the processor transmits the time-varying (i.e. at a different time interval) motion command including a steady-state motion signal, to maintain the speed and change the time interval when transitioning between zones).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0375865 A1, to Fischer, et al (hereinafter referred to as Fischer; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0066137 A1, to Sakai, et al (hereinafter referred to as Sakai; previously of record).
As per Claim 7, and similarly for Claim 15, Fischer discloses the features of Claims 6 and 14, respectively, but Fischer fails to disclose every feature of wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a millimeter wave (mmWave) radar configured to output to the motion planner a map of an environment in which the seat operates, and a camera configured to output to the motion planner images of the environment in which the seat operates.
However, Sakai, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a power seat system for a vehicle, where the system includes a camera system which displays an image captured by the camera and superimposes the guidelines on the capture image (e.g. Paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the powered seat system of Fischer, with the feature of utilizing a camera in the system of Sakai, in order to display the seat information and status to the user (see at least Paragraph [0026] of Sakai).
As per Claim 16, Fischer, in view of Sakai, teaches the features of Claim 15, and Fischer further discloses the features of wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect a transient object affecting the motion plan and modify the motion plan by changing an instruction to the seat controller corresponding to an operating parameter of at least one of the actuators (e.g. Paragraphs [0053], [0065], [0110]; where the system can alter the motion of a powered seat based on the environment around the seat, e.g., by halting or reversing motion when an obstruction is detected; and where the sensors can include sensors for position detection, or load, and when an actuator controller (187) detects an obstruction, the corresponding module can transmit the status information).
As per Claim 17, Fischer, in view of Sakai, teaches the features of Claim 16, and Fischer further discloses the features of wherein the operating parameter includes at least one of activation, deactivation, power supplied to, and speed (e.g. Paragraphs [0076], [0114], [0134]-[0135]; where the drive current increases when an obstruction is encountered; and the processor can transmit an acceleration signal to increase the speed over selected period of time, or can reverse motion after detecting an obstruction).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663