DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 12, 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the recitation “the fluid transfer pipe” (lines 1-2) lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 13, the recitation “the fluid transfer pipe” (line 2) lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 14, the recitation “the fluid transfer pipe” (line 2) lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 17, the recitation “the fluid transfer pipe” (line 3) lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12 is rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhunia et al. (US 2017/0040654).
Regarding claim 1, Bhunia et al. discloses a battery cooling system, the battery cooling system configured for use with a battery comprising a battery core (100) and the battery cooling system comprising:
A structured surface (i.e. an outer wall of the battery core) surrounding the battery core (Figure 2C),
A plurality of wicking structures (201, 202, 203) arranged axially around the structured surface (Figure 2C and Paragraph 39), each of the plurality of wicking structures arranged a distance apart from one another such that a space exists between each of the plurality of wicking structures (Figures 1-2C and Paragraph 39: The powders are spaced apart to define channels therebetween), and
A battery case surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 6A).
Regarding claim 8, Bhunia et al. discloses a battery cooling system, the battery cooling system configured for use with a battery comprising a battery core (100) and the battery cooling system comprising:
An outer surface (i.e. an outer wall of a battery core 100) and a battery core (i.e. 100) and the battery cooling system comprising:
A plurality of wicking structures configured to be arranged axially around the outer surface of the battery, each of the plurality of wicking structures (201, 202, 203) arranged a distance apart from one another such that a channel exists between each of the plurality of wicking structures (Figures 1-2C and Paragraph 39: The powders are spaced apart to define channels therebetween) and a structured surface (e.g. 400) arranged around each of the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 2C and Paragraph 43).
Regarding claim 9, Bhunia et al. discloses a battery cooling system as discussed above, where the structured surface further comprises a porosity gradient (Figure 2C).
Regarding claim 16, Bhunia et al. discloses a method for cooling a battery comprising the steps of:
Drawing a cooling fluid through a plurality of wicking structures (Paragraph 39: Defined by powders) (Figures 1-2C and Paragraph 39), where the plurality of wicking structures are arranged axially around an outer surface of a battery cover (i.e. an outer wall of a battery core 100) (Figures 1 and 2C) and are each spaced a distance apart from one another (Figures 1-2C and Paragraph 39: The powders are spaced apart to define channels therebetween), and where the battery cover surrounds a battery core (Figure 6A),
Heating the cooling fluid with the battery core such that the cooling fluid becomes vaporized (Paragraph 40), and
Venting the vaporized cooling fluid through a space between each of the plurality of wicking structures (Paragraph 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 7, 10, 14, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bhunia et al. (US 2017/0040654) and Yen et al. (US 2023/0143123).
Regarding claim 2, Bhunia et al. discloses a battery cooling system as discussed above. While Bhunia et al. discloses a flowing working fluid (Paragraph 36), Bhunia et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose a working fluid loop with manifolds.
Yen et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), a manifold (Figure 1 and Paragraph 8: Defined by regions of the battery case), the manifold comprising a fluid inlet (Figure 1: See inlet flow line) and one or more fluid outlets (Figure 1: See outlet flow line), where the one or more fluid outlets are fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), a condenser (76), the condenser fluidly coupled to the space between each of the plurality of wicking structures and the condenser fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe (Figure 1), a pump (84) fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Figure 1), and the fluid transfer pipe fluidly coupled to the manifold (Figure 1). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. in the form of a working fluid loop as taught by Yen et al. to improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively circulating a heat transfer fluid between a dedicated heat source and a dedicated heat sink.
Regarding claim 3, Bhunia et al. discloses a battery cooling system as discussed above, where the battery cooling system is configured to be used with a plurality of batteries (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Bhunia et al. discloses a battery cooling system as discussed above. While Bhunia et al. discloses a flowing working fluid (Paragraph 36), Bhunia et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose that the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle.
Yen et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), where the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle (Paragraph 24). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. to be arranged on an electric vehicle as taught by Yen et al. improve battery cooling system versatility by configuring the battery cooling system to cool a variety of types of battery installations.
Regarding claim 10, Bhunia et al. discloses a battery cooling system as discussed above. While Bhunia et al. discloses a flowing working fluid (Paragraph 36), Bhunia et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose a working fluid loop.
Yen et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44), a fluid transfer line (Figure 1: See outlet flow line), a fluid feed line fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer line (Figure 1: See inlet flow line), the plurality of wicking structures (i.e. 40, 44), a condenser (76) fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures and the fluid transfer line (Figure 1), and a pump (84) fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer line (Figure 1). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. in the form of a working fluid loop as taught by Yen et al. to improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively circulating a heat transfer fluid between a dedicated heat source and a dedicated heat sink.
Regarding claim 14, Bhunia et al. discloses a battery cooling system as discussed above. While Bhunia et al. discloses a flowing working fluid (Paragraph 36), Bhunia et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose a fluid reservoir.
Yen et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44), a fluid transfer line (Figure 1: See outlet flow line), a fluid feed line fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer line (Figure 1: See inlet flow line), the plurality of wicking structures (i.e. 40, 44), a condenser (76) fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures and the fluid transfer line (Figure 1), a pump (84) fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer line (Figure 1), and a fluid reservoir fluidly (80) coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Figure 1). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. in the form of a working fluid loop with a reservoir as taught by Yen et al. to improve battery cooling system reliability and safety by providing a reserve amount of working fluid and separating impurities form the working fluid.
Regarding claim 15, Bhunia et al. discloses a battery cooling system as discussed above. While Bhunia et al. discloses a flowing working fluid (Paragraph 36), Bhunia et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose that the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle.
Yen et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), where the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle (Paragraph 24). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. to be arranged on an electric vehicle as taught by Yen et al. improve battery cooling system versatility by configuring the battery cooling system to cool a variety of types of battery installations.
Regarding claim 17, Bhunia et al. discloses a method for cooling a battery as discussed above. While Bhunia et al. discloses a flowing working fluid (Paragraph 36), Bhunia et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose a pump.
Yen et al. teaches a method for cooling a battery comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), pumping the cooling fluid through a fluid feed line (Figure 1: See inlet flow line) with a pump (84), the fluid feed line arranged to flow fluid to the battery and the pump fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (e.g. see outlet flow line) (Figure 1). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. in the form of a working fluid loop with a pump as taught by Yen et al. to improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively circulating a heat transfer fluid between a dedicated heat source and a dedicated heat sink.
Regarding claim 20, Bhunia et al. discloses a method for cooling a battery as discussed above. While Bhunia et al. discloses a flowing working fluid (Paragraph 36), Bhunia et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose that the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle.
Yen et al. teaches a method for cooling a battery comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), where the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle (Paragraph 24). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. to be arranged on an electric vehicle as taught by Yen et al. improve battery cooling system versatility by configuring the battery cooling system to cool a variety of types of battery installations.
Claims XXXX are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bhunia et al. (US 2017/0040654) and Yen et al. (US 2023/0143123), and further in view of Bray et al. (US 2021/0283978).
Regarding claim 4, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. discloses a battery cooling system in the form of a working fluid loop as discussed above. However, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose a working fluid loop with a valve.
Bray et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where the valve is fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe of the working fluid loop (Figure 2). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. with a valve as taught by Bray et al. to improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively controlling a distribution of a heat transfer fluid through a working fluid loop.
Regarding claim 5, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. discloses a battery cooling system in the form of a working fluid loop as discussed above. However, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose a controller.
Bray et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where a controller (50) is communicatively coupled to the valve and to the pump (Paragraph 73). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. with a controller as taught by Bray et al. to improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by actively controlling a distribution of a heat transfer fluid through a working fluid loop.
Regarding claim 6, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. discloses a battery cooling system in the form of a working fluid loop as discussed above. However, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose one or more electronic devices fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe.
Bray et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where one or more electronic devices are fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Paragraph 55). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. with one or more electronic devices as taught by Bray et al. to improve battery cooling system versatility by providing cooling to a plurality of heat generating elements.
Regarding claim 11, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. discloses a battery cooling system in the form of a working fluid loop as discussed above. However, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose a working fluid loop with a valve.
Bray et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where the valve is fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe of the working fluid loop (Figure 2). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. with a valve as taught by Bray et al. to improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively controlling a distribution of a heat transfer fluid through a working fluid loop.
Regarding claim 12, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. discloses a battery cooling system in the form of a working fluid loop as discussed above. However, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose a controller.
Bray et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where a controller (50) is communicatively coupled to the valve and to the pump (Paragraph 73). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. with a controller as taught by Bray et al. to improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by actively controlling a distribution of a heat transfer fluid through a working fluid loop.
Regarding claim 13, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. discloses a battery cooling system in the form of a working fluid loop as discussed above. However, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose one or more electronic devices fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe.
Bray et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where one or more electronic devices are fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Paragraph 55). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. with one or more electronic devices as taught by Bray et al. to improve battery cooling system versatility by providing cooling to a plurality of heat generating elements.
Regarding claim 18, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. discloses a method for cooling a battery as discussed above. However, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose one or more valves.
Bray et al. teaches a method for cooling a battery comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), one or more valves (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where a controller (50) is communicatively coupled to the valve and to the pump (Paragraph 73), and where the controller is configured to control a flow of cooling fluid through the fluid feed line by a controller sending a signal corresponding to at least one of the following: (a) turn on or off the pump, (b) change a speed of the pump, or (c) change an open state of at least one of the one or more valves (Paragraphs 73 and 75). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. with a controller as taught by Bray et al. to improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by actively controlling flow of a heat transfer fluid through a working fluid loop.
Regarding claim 19, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. discloses a method for cooling a battery as discussed above. However, Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. does not explicitly teach or disclose one or more electronic devices fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe.
Bray et al. teaches a method for cooling a battery comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where one or more electronic devices are fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Paragraph 55). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the battery cooling system as disclosed by Bhunia et al. as modified by Yen et al. with one or more electronic devices as taught by Bray et al. to improve battery cooling system versatility by providing cooling to a plurality of heat generating elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2018/0034116 discloses a battery cooling system.
US 2014/0011059 discloses a battery cooling system.
/JASON N THOMPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763