DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed with respect to the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the Amendment. Accordingly, the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections with respect to have been fully considered but they are moot. Applicant has amended the claims to recite new combinations of limitations. Applicant’s arguments are directed at the amendment. Please see below for new grounds of rejection, necessitated by Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhunia (US20170040654A1: Previously cited) in view of Yen (US20230143123A1: Previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Bhunia discloses a battery cooling system, the battery cooling system configured for use with a battery comprising a battery core (100) and the battery cooling system comprising:
a structured surface (i.e. an outer wall of the battery core) surrounding the battery core (Figure 2C),
a plurality of wicking structures (201, 202, 203) arranged axially around the structured surface (Figure 2C and Paragraph 39), each of the plurality of wicking structures arranged a distance apart from one another such that a space exists between each of the plurality of wicking structures (Figures 1-2C and Paragraph 39: The powders are spaced apart to define channels therebetween), and a battery case surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 6A).
Bhunia does not teach a fluid reservoir fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe, wherein the fluid reservoir is configured to store a volume of cooling fluid.
Yen teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), a manifold (Figure 1 and Paragraph 8: Defined by regions of the battery case), the manifold comprising a fluid inlet (Figure 1: See inlet flow line) and one or more fluid outlets (Figure 1: See outlet flow line), where the one or more fluid outlets are fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), a condenser (76), the condenser fluidly coupled to the space between each of the plurality of wicking structures and the condenser fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe (74: Figure 1), a pump (84) fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Figure 1), and the fluid transfer pipe fluidly coupled to the manifold (Figure 1), and a fluid reservoir (22: see Figure 1) fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe (74), wherein the fluid reservoir (22) is configured to store a volume of cooling fluid (Examiner notes that Yen’s fluid reservoir (22) is configured to store a volume of cooling fluid due to its shape/ configuration, i.e. see the left and right ends of 22 where they extend downward which make fluid reservoir (22) capable of storing fluid therein) .
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia with a fluid reservoir fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe, wherein the fluid reservoir is configured to store a volume of cooling fluid, as taught by Yen, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively circulating a heat transfer fluid between a dedicated heat source and a dedicated heat sink.
Regarding claim 2, Bhunia does not teach further comprising: a manifold, the manifold comprising a fluid inlet and one or more fluid outlets, wherein the one or more fluid outlets are fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures; a condenser, the condenser fluidly coupled to the space between each of the plurality of wicking structures and the condenser fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe; a pump fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe; and the fluid transfer pipe fluidly coupled to the manifold.
Yen teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), a manifold (Figure 1 and Paragraph 8: Defined by regions of the battery case), the manifold comprising a fluid inlet (Figure 1: See inlet flow line) and one or more fluid outlets (Figure 1: See outlet flow line), where the one or more fluid outlets are fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), a condenser (76), the condenser fluidly coupled to the space between each of the plurality of wicking structures and the condenser fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe (74: Figure 1), a pump (84) fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Figure 1), and the fluid transfer pipe fluidly coupled to the manifold (Figure 1).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia with a manifold, the manifold comprising a fluid inlet and one or more fluid outlets, wherein the one or more fluid outlets are fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures; a condenser, the condenser fluidly coupled to the space between each of the plurality of wicking structures and the condenser fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe; a pump fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe; and the fluid transfer pipe fluidly coupled to the manifold, as taught by Yen, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively circulating a heat transfer fluid between a dedicated heat source and a dedicated heat sink.
Regarding claim 3, Bhunia as modified further teaches wherein the battery cooling system is configured to be used with a plurality of batteries (Figure 1 where the battery cooling system is configured to be used with a plurality of batteries).
Regarding claim 7, Bhunia does not explicitly teach or disclose that the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle.
Yen et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), where the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle (Paragraph 24).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia to be arranged on an electric vehicle, as taught by Yen, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system versatility by configuring the battery cooling system to cool a variety of types of battery installations.
Claims 8-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhunia (US20170040654A1: Previously cited) in view of Yen (US20230143123A1: Previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, Bhunia discloses a battery cooling system, the battery cooling system configured for use with a battery comprising a battery core (100) and the battery cooling system comprising:
an outer surface (i.e. an outer wall of a battery core 100) and a battery core (i.e. 100) and the battery cooling system comprising:
a plurality of wicking structures configured to be arranged axially around the outer surface of the battery, each of the plurality of wicking structures (201, 202, 203) arranged a distance apart from one another such that a channel exists between each of the plurality of wicking structures (Figures 1-2C and Paragraph 39: The powders are spaced apart to define channels therebetween) and a structured surface (e.g. 400) arranged around each of the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 2C and Paragraph 43).
Bhunia does not teach a fluid reservoir coupled to a fluid transfer pipe, wherein the fluid reservoir is configured to store a volume of cooling fluid.
Yen teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), a manifold (Figure 1 and Paragraph 8: Defined by regions of the battery case), the manifold comprising a fluid inlet (Figure 1: See inlet flow line) and one or more fluid outlets (Figure 1: See outlet flow line), where the one or more fluid outlets are fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), a condenser (76), the condenser fluidly coupled to the space between each of the plurality of wicking structures and the condenser fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe (74: Figure 1), a pump (84) fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Figure 1), and the fluid transfer pipe fluidly coupled to the manifold (Figure 1), and a fluid reservoir (22: see Figure 1) coupled to a fluid transfer pipe (74), wherein the fluid reservoir (22) is configured to store a volume of cooling fluid (Examiner notes that Yen’s fluid reservoir (22) is configured to store a volume of cooling fluid due to its shape/ configuration, i.e. see the left and right ends of 22 where they extend downward which make fluid reservoir (22) capable of storing fluid therein) .
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia with a fluid reservoir coupled to a fluid transfer pipe, wherein the fluid reservoir is configured to store a volume of cooling fluid, as taught by Yen, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively circulating a heat transfer fluid between a dedicated heat source and a dedicated heat sink.
Regarding claim 9, Bhunia as modified further teaches wherein the structured surface further comprises a porosity gradient (see Figure 2C).
Regarding claim 10, Bhunia does not teach a fluid feed line fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe and the plurality of wicking structures; a condenser fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures and the fluid transfer line; and a pump fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe.
Yen et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44), a fluid transfer line (Figure 1: See outlet flow line), a fluid feed line fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer line (Figure 1: See inlet flow line), the plurality of wicking structures (i.e. 40, 44), a condenser (76) fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures and the fluid transfer line (Figure 1), and a pump (84) fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer line (Figure 1).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia with a fluid feed line fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe and the plurality of wicking structures; a condenser fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures and the fluid transfer line; and a pump fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe, as taught by Yen, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively circulating a heat transfer fluid between a dedicated heat source and a dedicated heat sink.
Regarding claim 15, Bhunia does not explicitly teach or disclose that the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle.
Yen et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), where the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle (Paragraph 24).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia to be arranged on an electric vehicle, as taught by Yen, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system versatility by configuring the battery cooling system to cool a variety of types of battery installations.
Claims 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhunia (US20170040654A1: Previously cited) in view of Yen (US20230143123A1: Previously cited).
Regarding claim 16, Bhunia discloses a method for cooling a battery comprising the steps of:
drawing a cooling fluid through a plurality of wicking structures (Paragraph 39: Defined by powders) (Figures 1-2C and Paragraph 39), where the plurality of wicking structures are arranged axially around an outer surface of a battery cover (i.e. an outer wall of a battery core 100) (Figures 1 and 2C) and are each spaced a distance apart from one another (Figures 1-2C and Paragraph 39: The powders are spaced apart to define channels therebetween), and where the battery cover surrounds a battery core (Figure 6A),
heating the cooling fluid with the battery core such that the cooling fluid becomes vaporized (Paragraph 40), and
venting the vaporized cooling fluid through a space between each of the plurality of wicking structures (Paragraph 40).
Bhunia does not teach a volume of cooling fluid stored in a fluid reservoir.
Yen teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), a manifold (Figure 1 and Paragraph 8: Defined by regions of the battery case), the manifold comprising a fluid inlet (Figure 1: See inlet flow line) and one or more fluid outlets (Figure 1: See outlet flow line), where the one or more fluid outlets are fluidly coupled to the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), a condenser (76), the condenser fluidly coupled to the space between each of the plurality of wicking structures and the condenser fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe (74: Figure 1), a pump (84) fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Figure 1), and the fluid transfer pipe fluidly coupled to the manifold (Figure 1), and a fluid reservoir (22: see Figure 1) coupled to a fluid transfer pipe (74), wherein the fluid reservoir (22) is configured to store a volume of cooling fluid (Examiner notes that Yen’s fluid reservoir (22) is configured to store a volume of cooling fluid due to its shape/ configuration, i.e. see the left and right ends of 22 where they extend downward which make fluid reservoir (22) capable of storing fluid therein) .
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the method of Bhunia with a volume of cooling fluid stored in a fluid reservoir, as taught by Yen, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively circulating a heat transfer fluid between a dedicated heat source and a dedicated heat sink.
Regarding claim 17, Bhunia does not explicitly teach or disclose pumping the cooling fluid through a fluid feed line with a pump, the fluid feed line arranged to flow fluid to the battery and the pump fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe.
Yen et al. teaches a method for cooling a battery comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), pumping the cooling fluid through a fluid feed line (Figure 1: See inlet flow line) with a pump (84), the fluid feed line arranged to flow fluid to the battery and the pump fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (e.g. see outlet flow line: see Figure 1).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the method of Bhunia with pumping the cooling fluid through a fluid feed line with a pump, the fluid feed line arranged to flow fluid to the battery and the pump fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe, as taught by Yen, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively circulating a heat transfer fluid between a dedicated heat source and a dedicated heat sink.
Regarding claim 20, Bhunia does not explicitly teach or disclose that the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle.
Yen et al. teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (24), a plurality of wicking structures (40, 44) arranged around the structured surface (Figure 1 and Paragraph 31), a battery case (20) surrounding the plurality of wicking structures (Figure 1), where the battery cooling system is arranged on an electric vehicle (Paragraph 24).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery of Bhunia to be arranged on an electric vehicle, as taught by Yen, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system versatility by configuring the battery cooling system to cool a variety of types of battery installations.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhunia (US20170040654A1: Previously cited) in view of Yen (US20230143123A1: Previously cited) and further in view of Bray (US20210283978A1: Previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, Bhunia as modified by Yen does not explicitly teach or disclose a valve fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe.
Bray teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where the valve is fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe of the working fluid loop (Figure 2).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia in view of Yen with a valve fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe, as taught by Bray, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively controlling a distribution of a heat transfer fluid through a working fluid loop.
Regarding claim 5, Bhunia as modified by Yen does not explicitly teach or disclose a controller communicatively coupled to the valve and to the pump.
Bray teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where a controller (50) is communicatively coupled to the valve and to the pump (Paragraph 73).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia in view of Yen with a controller communicatively coupled to the valve and to the pump, as taught by Bray, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by actively controlling a distribution of a heat transfer fluid through a working fluid loop.
Regarding claim 6, Bhunia as modified by Yen does not explicitly teach or disclose one or more electronic devices fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe.
Bray teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where one or more electronic devices are fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Paragraph 55).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia in view of Yen with one or more electronic devices fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe, as taught by Bray, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system versatility by providing cooling to a plurality of heat generating elements.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhunia (US20170040654A1: Previously cited) in view of Yen (US20230143123A1: Previously cited) and further in view of Bray (US20210283978A1: Previously cited).
Regarding claim 11, Bhunia as modified by Yen does not explicitly teach or disclose a valve fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe.
Bray teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where the valve is fluidly coupled to a fluid transfer pipe of the working fluid loop (Figure 2).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia in view of Yen with a valve fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe, as taught by Bray, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by operatively controlling a distribution of a heat transfer fluid through a working fluid loop.
Regarding claim 12, Bhunia as modified by Yen does not explicitly teach or disclose a controller communicatively coupled to the valve and to the pump.
Bray teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where a controller (50) is communicatively coupled to the valve and to the pump (Paragraph 73).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia in view of Yen with a controller communicatively coupled to the valve and to the pump, as taught by Bray, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by actively controlling a distribution of a heat transfer fluid through a working fluid loop.
Regarding claim 13, Bhunia as modified by Yen does not explicitly teach or disclose one or more electronic devices fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe.
Bray teaches a battery cooling system comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where one or more electronic devices are fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Paragraph 55).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia in view of Yen with one or more electronic devices fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe, as taught by Bray, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system versatility by providing cooling to a plurality of heat generating elements.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhunia (US20170040654A1: Previously cited) in view of Yen (US20230143123A1: Previously cited) and further in view of Bray (US20210283978A1: Previously cited).
Regarding claim 18, Bhunia as modified by Yen does not explicitly teach or disclose one or more valves fluidly coupled to the fluid feed line; and controlling a flow of cooling fluid through the fluid feed line by a controller sending a signal corresponding to at least one of the following:(a) turn on or off the pump;(b) change a speed of the pump; or (c) change an open state of at least one of the one or more valves.
Bray teaches a method for cooling a battery comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), one or more valves (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where a controller (50) is communicatively coupled to the valve and to the pump (Paragraph 73), and where the controller is configured to control a flow of cooling fluid through the fluid feed line by a controller sending a signal corresponding to at least one of the following: (a) turn on or off the pump, (b) change a speed of the pump, or (c) change an open state of at least one of the one or more valves (Paragraphs 73 and 75).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery cooling system of Bhunia in view of Yen with one or more valves fluidly coupled to the fluid feed line; and controlling a flow of cooling fluid through the fluid feed line by a controller sending a signal corresponding to at least one of the following:(a) turn on or off the pump;(b) change a speed of the pump; or (c) change an open state of at least one of the one or more valves, as taught by Bray, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system heat exchange efficiency by actively controlling a distribution of a heat transfer fluid through a working fluid loop.
Regarding claim 19, Bhunia as modified by Yen does not explicitly teach or disclose pumping the cooling fluid across one or more electronic components, the one or more electronic components fluidly coupled to the fluid feed line.
Bray teaches a method for cooling a battery comprising: a battery core (20), a pump (18), a valve (22), and a working fluid loop (12), where one or more electronic devices are fluidly coupled to the fluid transfer pipe (Paragraph 55).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the method of Bhunia in view of Yen with pumping the cooling fluid across one or more electronic components, the one or more electronic components fluidly coupled to the fluid feed line, as taught by Bray, such provision would provide the benefit of improve battery cooling system versatility by providing cooling to a plurality of heat generating elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 21 is containing allowable subject matter since Bhunia in view of Yen and Bray fails to teach wherein the fluid reservoir is positioned vertically above the manifold and a cooling fluid stored in the fluid reservoir utilizes a gravitational force to flow downward into the manifold.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763