DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10, what is a difference between “an adjacent second power terminal” in line 8 and “adjacent second power terminals” in line 10?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ngo (8,690,589).
Regarding claim 19, Ngo discloses an electronic system, comprising:
an electrical connector comprising:
a housing comprising a mating face (59, Fig. 3) and a slot (76, Fig. 3) recessed into the mating face;
a plurality of conductive elements (61 and 63, Fig. 3) held by the housing and each comprising a mating contact portion disposed in the slot and a mounting end (pointed at 61 and 63, Fig. 3) extending out of the housing, the plurality of conductive elements comprising a plurality of signal terminals (61, Fig. 3) and a plurality of power terminals (63, Fig. 3);
a first circuit board (52, Fig. 2B) comprising a mating portion inserted into the slot of the electrical connector (Fig. 2A) and first circuitry connected to the mating portion and configured to regulate a first voltage to a second voltage different from the first voltage, the mating portion of the first circuit board comprising a plurality of contact pads (86, Fig. 2B) contacting respective mating contact portions of the plurality of conductive elements; and
a second circuit board (54, fig. 2B) comprising a plurality of conductive portions (88, Fig. 2B) contacting respective mounting ends (pointed at 61 and 63, Fig. 3) of the plurality of conductive elements and second circuitry supplying the first voltage, the second circuitry connected to at least a conductive portion of the plurality of conductive portions; wherein:
the plurality of power terminals of the electrical connector comprises a first power terminal connected to the at least a conductive portion connected to the second circuitry supplying the first voltage and a plurality of second power terminals each configured for transmitting the second voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (10,826,215) in view of Chen (11,316,306).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. disclose an electrical connector, comprising:
a housing (1, Fig. 1) comprising a mating face (12, Fig. 2) and a slot (120) recessed into the mating face;
a plurality of power conductive elements (2, Fig. 1) held by the housing, each of the plurality of power conductive elements comprising a mating end (204, Fig. 5) having a plurality of contact fingers (202), a mounting end (203, Fig. 5) having a plurality of mounting tails (211, Fig. 6), and an intermediate portion (201) between the mating end and the mounting end, each of the plurality of contact fingers comprising a contact region disposed in the slot (Fig. 8); and
a plurality of signal conductive elements (3, Fig. 1), each of the plurality of signal conductive elements comprising a mating end (32, Fig. 2) having a mating contact portion disposed in the slot, a mounting end (33), and an intermediate portion (31) between the mating end and the mounting end, wherein:
the plurality of power conductive elements comprise first (X, FIGURE A below), second (Y, FIGURE A below), and third (Z, FIGURE A below) power conductive elements, the second power conductive element disposed between the first and third power conductive elements.
Zhang et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the second power conductive element is spaced from the first power conductive element by a first center-to-center spacing; the second power conductive element is spaced from the third power conductive element by a second center-to-center pitch less than the first center-to-center spacing; and adjacent signal conductive elements of the plurality of signal conductive elements are spaced from each other by a third center-to-center pitch less than the first center-to-center spacing.
Chen, Fig. 2 and FIGURE B below show the second power conductive element (Y’, FIGURE B below) is spaced from the first power conductive element (X’, FIGURE B below) by a first center-to-center spacing (M, FIGURE B below); the second power conductive element (Y’) is spaced from the third power conductive element (Z’) by a second center-to-center pitch (N, FIGURE B below) less than the first center-to-center spacing; and adjacent signal conductive elements of the plurality of signal conductive elements are spaced from each other by a third center-to-center pitch (L, FIGURE B below) less than the first center-to-center spacing.
It would have been obvious to modify Zhang et al. to have the second power conductive element is spaced from the first power conductive element by a first center-to-center spacing; the second power conductive element is spaced from the third power conductive element by a second center-to-center pitch less than the first center-to-center spacing; and adjacent signal conductive elements of the plurality of signal conductive elements are spaced from each other by a third center-to-center pitch less than the first center-to-center spacing, as taught by Chen for better engaging.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al. and Chen disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the first power conductive element is configured for transmitting a first voltage; each of the second and third power conductive elements are configured for transmitting a second voltage; and the first voltage is a multiple of the second voltage. It would have been obvious to modify Zhang et al. to have for the first power conductive element is configured for transmitting a first voltage; each of the second and third power conductive elements are configured for transmitting a second voltage; and the first voltage is a multiple of the second voltage, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) for better connection.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang et al., Fig. 2 shows the plurality of power conductive elements comprises fourth (P, FIGURE A above) and fifth (Q, FIGURE A above) power conductive elements each configured for transmitting the second voltage and the claimed invention as described above except for the first voltage is 48V and the second voltage is 12V. It would have been obvious to modify Zhang et al. to have the first voltage is 48V and the second voltage is 12V, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) for better connection.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang et al. and Chen disclose the claimed invention as described above except for each of the plurality of power conductive elements is configured to carry a current of 30 amperes with a temperature rise in a range of 0 to 30 degrees. It would have been obvious to modify Zhang et al. and Chen to have each of the plurality of power conductive elements is configured to carry a current of 30 amperes with a temperature rise in a range of 0 to 30 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 for better connection.
Regarding claim 5, FIGURE A above shows the fourth power conductive element is disposed between the third and fifth conductive elements and spaced from the third and fifth power conductive elements by the second center-to- center pitch (Fig. 1).
Zhang et al. and Chen disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the first center-to-center spacing is 9.1 mm; and the second center-to-center pitch is 8.5 mm. It would have been obvious to modify Zhang et al. and Chen to have the first center-to-center spacing is 9.1 mm; and the second center-to-center pitch is 8.5 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 for better connection.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang et al. and Chen discloses the plurality of mounting tails of the mounting end of each of the plurality of power conductive elements are configured for inserting into a circuit board (not shown); and the mounting end of each of the plurality of signal conductive elements is configured for surface mount to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al. and Chen disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the third center-to-center pitch is 0.65 mm. It would have been obvious to modify Zhang et al. and Chen to have the third center-to-center pitch is 0.65 mm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) for better connection.
Regarding claim 8, FIGURE B above shows the housing comprises: a first rib (pointed at M) disposed between the first and second conductive elements of the plurality of power conductive elements;
a second rib (pointed at N) disposed between the second and third conductive elements of the plurality of power conductive elements, the second rib narrower than the first rib (Fig. 2) in a direction the slot of the housing elongated; and
a third rib (L) disposed between the plurality of signal conductive elements and the first conductive element of the plurality of power conductive elements, the third rib wider than the first rib in the direction the slot of the housing elongated.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang et al. disclose an electrical connector, comprising:
a housing (1, Fig. 1) comprising a mating face (12, Fig. 2) and a slot (120) recessed into the mating face;
a plurality of conductive elements (2 and 3, Fig. 1) held by the housing and disposed in two rows on opposite sides of the slot (Fig. 8), each of the two rows of conductive elements comprising a plurality of signal terminals (3) and a plurality of power terminals (2), wherein, for each of the two rows:
the plurality of power terminals comprise a first power terminal (X, FIGURE above) and a number of second power terminals (Y and Z, FIGURE A above), wherein the number is at least two;
Zhang et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the first power terminal is spaced edge-to-edge from an adjacent second power terminal of the number of second power terminals by a first distance;
adjacent second power terminals of the number of second power terminals are spaced edge-to-edge from each other by a second distance less than the first distance in a direction the slot elongated; and
the first power terminal is disposed between the plurality of signal terminals and the number of second power terminals and spaced edge-to-edge from the plurality of signal terminals by a third distance greater than the first distance in the direction the slot elongated.
Chen, FIGURE B above shows the first power terminal (X’) is spaced edge-to-edge from an adjacent second power terminal (Y’) of the number of second power terminals by a first distance (M);
adjacent second power terminals (Y’) of the number of second power terminals are spaced edge-to-edge from each other by a second distance (N) less than the first distance in a direction the slot elongated; and
the first power terminal (X’) is disposed between the plurality of signal terminals and the number of second power terminals (Y’ and Z’) and spaced edge-to-edge from the plurality of signal terminals by a third distance (L) greater than the first distance in the direction the slot elongated.
It would have been obvious to modify Zhang et al to have the first power terminal is spaced edge-to-edge from an adjacent second power terminal of the number of second power terminals by a first distance; adjacent second power terminals of the number of second power terminals are spaced edge-to-edge from each other by a second distance less than the first distance in a direction the slot elongated; and
the first power terminal is disposed between the plurality of signal terminals and the number of second power terminals and spaced edge-to-edge from the plurality of signal terminals by a third distance greater than the first distance in the direction the slot elongated, as taught by Chen for better connection.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang et al. disclose the first power terminal is configured for transmitting a first voltage; each of the number of second power terminals is configured for transmitting a second voltage. Zhang et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the first voltage is equal to the second voltage multiplied by the number. It would have been obvious to modify Zhang et al. to have the first voltage is equal to the second voltage multiplied by the number for better connection.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al., Fig. 8 shows the two rows of conductive elements have mating contact portions (202) disposed in the slot.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang et al. disclose the first power terminal and the number of second power terminals in one of the two rows are configured for positive electrodes; and the first power terminal and the number of second power terminals in the other of the two rows are configured for negative electrodes.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang et al., Fig. 8 shows the housing comprises, on each side of the opposite sides of the slot, a first accommodating portion (pointed at 120) and a plurality of second accommodating portions (pointed at 121) recessed into a side wall of the housing from the slot; and
for each of the two rows of the conductive elements:
each power terminal of the first power terminal and the number of second power terminals comprises a mating end (204) having a mating contact portion (202);
the mating end of the first power terminal is disposed in the first accommodating portion such that the mating contact portion of the mating end of the first power terminal extends into the slot; and
the mating end of each of the number of second power terminals is disposed in a corresponding second accommodating portion of the plurality of second accommodating portions such that the mating contact portion of the mating end of the second power terminal extends into the slot.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang et al., Fig. 11 shows the side wall (17’) of the housing comprises a plurality of holes (171’) extending therethrough.
Regarding claim 16, FIGURE B above shows the housing comprises, on each side of the opposite sides of the slot:
first rib (M) disposed between the first accommodating portion and an adjacent second accommodating portion of the plurality of second accommodating portions;
a plurality of second ribs (N) each disposed between adjacent second accommodating portions of the plurality of second accommodating portions; and
each of the plurality of second ribs is narrower than the first rib in a direction the slot elongated.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. and Chen as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (9,899,759).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang et al., Fig. 6 shows for each of the two rows:
each of the plurality of power terminals comprises a mating end (204) having a plurality of contact fingers (202), a mounting end (211) having a plurality of mounting tails, and an intermediate portion (201) between the mating end and the mounting end.
Zhang et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for each of the plurality of contact fingers comprises a straight portion, a curved portion, and a contact portion;
the straight portion extends from the intermediate portion towards the mating face;
the curved portion connects the straight portion and the contact portion; and
the contact portion extends from the curved portion away from the mating face and comprises a contact region extending into the slot.
Yu, Fig. 5 shows each of the plurality of contact fingers (21) comprises a straight portion (2115), a curved portion (2116), and a contact portion (2117);
the straight portion extends from the intermediate portion (2121) towards the mating face;
the curved portion connects the straight portion and the contact portion; and
the contact portion extends from the curved portion away from the mating face and comprises a contact region extending into the slot.
It would have been obvious to modify Zhang et al. to have each of the plurality of contact fingers comprises a straight portion, a curved portion, and a contact portion;
the straight portion extends from the intermediate portion towards the mating face;
the curved portion connects the straight portion and the contact portion; and the contact portion extends from the curved portion away from the mating face and comprises a contact region extending into the slot, as taught by Yu et al. for better connection.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. and Chen and Yu et al. as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Vrenna et al. (7,744,376).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang et al., Chen and Yu et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the plurality of mounting tails are at least four mounting tails; and the plurality of contact fingers are at least eight contact fingers.
Vrenna et al., Fig. 5 shows the plurality of mounting tails (296) are at least four mounting tails; and the plurality of contact fingers (294) are at least eight contact fingers. It would have been obvious to modify Zhang et al. to have the plurality of mounting tails are at least four mounting tails; and the plurality of contact fingers are at least eight contact fingers, as taught by Vrenna et al. for better engaging.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ngo in view of Zhang et al. (10,826,215).
Regarding claim 20, Ngo, Fig. 3 show the plurality of signal terminals of the electrical connector comprise mounting ends (pointed at 61, Fig. 3) for surface mount to the second circuit board except for the plurality of power terminals of the electrical connector comprise mounting ends for inserting into the second circuit board.
Zhang et al., fig. 16 shows the plurality of power terminals of the electrical connector comprise mounting ends (2032’’) for inserting into the second circuit board (500). It would have been obvious to modify Ngo to have the plurality of power terminals of the electrical connector comprise mounting ends for inserting into the second circuit board, as taught by Zhang et al. for better connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THANH TAM T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 08/13/26
thanh-tam.le@uspto.gov