The instant application is a continuation of 16/134,225 (now US 12,016,750). Therein was a restriction amongst five species. The original claims herein (independent claims 1 and 8) were directed to species I (figures 6-9). Applicant is reminded of 37 CFR 1.145 regarding subsequent presentation of claims for different inventions; commonly referred to as election by original presentation. MPEP 821.03.
The claims received 11/24/2025 are entered (the claims received 6/25/2025 were not entered). Claims 1-13 are cancelled and claims 14-30 are new.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,750. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include all features of the identified instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 29 recites that the syringe housing is “sloped” this term is not found in the original disclosure.
Claim 30 is rejected for its dependency to claim 29.
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites that the syringe housing is “sloped” as stated above this limitation is not found in the original disclosure nor is it clear what the limitation means within the context of the claim.
Claim 30 is rejected for its dependency to claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-15 and 17-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiesman (US 6,230,515).
Regarding claim 14, Wiesman discloses a bodily fluid transport unit, comprising:
an elongated housing (100), the elongated housing includes a bottom portion, a top portion, a first end portion and a second end portion (top, bottom, and two ends ports shown in cross section of figure 1);
the first end portion includes a first passageway;
the second end portion includes a second passageway, the second passageway providing a different shape than a shape of the first passageway (figures 3 and 4 show two passageways axially aligned and of different shapes).
Regarding claim 15, Wiesman further discloses the first passageway is a u-shape passageway (as identified in the annotated figure above the u-shape is formed by two parallel vertical portions connected at their bottom).
Regarding claim 17, Wiesman discloses the first passageway extends along a first length of the elongated housing (the first passageway, identified in annotated figure above, extends along a length of the housing).
Regarding claim 18, Wiesman discloses the second passageway extends along a second length of the elongated housing, distinct from the first length (the second passageway, identified in annotated figure above, extends along a length of the housing distinct from the first passageway).
Regarding claim 19, Wiesman discloses the top portion is open along the second length (as shown in at least figure 2 the top portion of the housing is open along the length).
Regarding claim 20, Wiesman discloses the top portion is closed along the first length (with the lid in place the top portion is closed).
Regarding claim 21, Wiesman discloses a bodily fluid transport unit, comprising:
a container (100) having a top surface (100e), the top surface includes a ridge (ridge inward of 114) circumferentially surrounding a chamber of the container, the container includes a groove (114) circumferentially surrounding the ridge, an outer edge of top surface of the container surround the groove; and
a lid (102), the lid includes a bottom surface, the bottom surface has a ridge (116) that is sized and located to extend into the groove of the container, the lid further includes a step circumferentially surrounding the ridge of the lid and bears against the top surface of the container (shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 22, Wiesman discloses the ridge of container is sized and located to fit tightly against an inside surface of ridge of the lid (as shown in figure 1 the fit between lid and container is gapless and thus is a tight fit).
Regarding claim 23, Wiesman discloses a mating of the container and the lid results in a chamber of the container being air-tight and moisture tight (6:10-12).
Regarding claim 24, Wiesman discloses the container is composed of rigid foamed plastic (16:31-33).
Regarding claim 25, Wiesman discloses the lid is composed of rigid foamed plastic (16:31-33).
Regarding claim 26, Wiesman discloses a syringe housing (100c) is positioned within the chamber.
Regarding claim 27, Wiesman discloses a refrigerant pack (112) is positioned within the chamber.
Regarding claim 28, Wiesman discloses the lid extends into the chamber of the container (16:44-46; also shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 29, Wiesman discloses the syringe housing is sloped (slope is a measurement of the steepness of a line or surface, thus the housing inherently has slope).
Regarding claim 30, Wiesman discloses the syringe housing includes at least two entry passages (at least two passages of the syringe housing are shown in figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiesman (US 6,230,515) in view of Douglas-Hamilton (US 6,675,605).
Regarding claim 16, Wiesman discloses the bodily fluid transport unit of claim 15, but lacks that the second passageway is a circular passageway. Douglas-Hamilton discloses a bodily fluid transport container having first and second passageways, wherein the second passageway is a circular passageway (shown in figures 1A and 1B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Wiesman with a circular passageway as taught by Douglas-Hamilton in order to provide a secure friction fit which enhances protection of the syringe.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. It is agreed that as all previous claims have been cancelled that their rejection is moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Metz (US 10,350,141) – syringe housing
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799