DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 06/10/2024 in which claims 1-22 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2024 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites in lines 1-2 “the second broadcasting method” and it should be “the second broadcasting message”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, 14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahalingam et al. (US 2021/0029658), hereinafter “Mahalingam” in view of Qiao et al. (US 2022/0131603), hereinafter “Qiao”.
As to claim 1, Mahalingam teaches a method of a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], a method for determining timing between a WTRU and a gNB/Satellite), the method comprising:
receiving a first broadcast message including at least part of synchronization information from a satellite at a first time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1312 from the Satellite at time t1, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time);
receiving a second broadcast message from the satellite at a second time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1314 from the Satellite at time t1+TSIB, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time);
receiving a third broadcast message including location information related to a location of the satellite from the satellite at a third time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1316 from the Satellite at time t1+2TSIB, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time);
determining a first location of the satellite at the first time point, a second location of the satellite at the second time point, and a third location of the satellite at the third time point, based on the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU determines the propagation delay and distance to the Satellite at the corresponding times, t1, t1+TSIB and t1+2TSIB. The WTRU determines the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered);
determining a timing advance (TA) value related to a distance between the terminal and the satellite, based on the first location, the second location, and the third location (Mahalingam, [0165], Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU predicts the propagation delay and TA (i.e. timing offset) after determining the propagation delays and distances at the corresponding times);
adjusting a transmission time point of an initial message for initial access to the satellite, based on the determined TA value (Mahalingam, [0165], Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], “At 1319 the WTRU 1302 may apply the predicted TA at the next RACH opportunity for the satellite 1301 at position P4, and transmits the RACH preamble using the predicted TA (i.e., timing offset)”); and
transmitting the initial message to the satellite at the adjusted transmission time point (Mahalingam, [0165], Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU transmits the RACH preamble to the Satellite using the predicted TA (i.e., timing offset)).
Mahalingam teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, a second broadcast message including a remainder of the synchronization information.
However, Qiao teaches a second broadcast message including a remainder of the synchronization information (Qiao, Fig. 6, [0118], the terminal device receives the remaining minimum system information (RMSI) from the satellite. [0120], the RMSI carries necessary information for accessing a network by the terminal device, including an uplink initial bandwidth part (BWP), a channel configuration in the initial BWP, a cell semi-static configuration, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam to have the features, as taught by Qiao, in order to satisfy requirements of low overheads and a low latency in satellite communication (Qiao, [0006]).
As to claim 11, Mahalingam teaches a terminal of a non-terrestrial network (Mahalingam, Fig. 1B, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], a WTRU communicating with a gNB/Satellite), the terminal comprising:
a transceiver (Mahalingam, Fig. 1B, [0006], the WTRU includes a transceiver 120); and
at least one processor connected to the transceiver and configured to (Mahalingam, Fig. 1B, [0055], the WTRU includes a processor 118 coupled to the transceiver 120 to perform the functions of the WTRU):
receive a first broadcast message including at least part of synchronization information from a satellite at a first time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1312 from the Satellite at time t1, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time),
receive a second broadcast message from the satellite at a second time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1314 from the Satellite at time t1+TSIB, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time),
receive a third broadcast message including location information related to a location of the satellite from the satellite at a third time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1316 from the Satellite at time t1+2TSIB, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time),
determine a first location of the satellite at the first time point, a second location of the satellite at the second time point, and a third location of the satellite at the third time point, based on the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU determines the propagation delay and distance to the Satellite at the corresponding times, t1, t1+TSIB and t1+2TSIB. The WTRU determines the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered),
determine a timing advance (TA) value related to a distance between the terminal and the satellite, based on the first location, the second location, and the third location (Mahalingam, [0165], Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU predicts the propagation delay and TA (i.e. timing offset) after determining the propagation delays and distances at the corresponding times),
adjust a transmission time point of an initial message for initial access to the satellite, based on the determined TA value (Mahalingam, [0165], Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], “At 1319 the WTRU 1302 may apply the predicted TA at the next RACH opportunity for the satellite 1301 at position P4, and transmits the RACH preamble using the predicted TA (i.e., timing offset)”), and
transmit the initial message to the satellite at the adjusted transmission time point (Mahalingam, [0165], Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU transmits the RACH preamble to the Satellite using the predicted TA (i.e., timing offset)).
Mahalingam teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, a second broadcast message including a remainder of the synchronization information.
However, Qiao teaches a second broadcast message including a remainder of the synchronization information (Qiao, Fig. 6, [0118], the terminal device receives the remaining minimum system information (RMSI) from the satellite. [0120], the RMSI carries necessary information for accessing a network by the terminal device, including an uplink initial bandwidth part (BWP), a channel configuration in the initial BWP, a cell semi-static configuration, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam to have the features, as taught by Qiao, in order to satisfy requirements of low overheads and a low latency in satellite communication (Qiao, [0006]).
As to claim 21, Mahalingam teaches a method of a satellite in a non-terrestrial network (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], a method for determining timing between a WTRU and a gNB/Satellite), the method comprising:
transmitting a first broadcast message including at least part of synchronization information from the satellite at a first time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1312 from the Satellite at time t1, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time);
transmitting a second broadcast message from the satellite at a second time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1314 from the Satellite at time t1+TSIB, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time);
transmitting a third broadcast message including location information related to a location of the satellite from the satellite at a third time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1316 from the Satellite at time t1+2TSIB, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time); and
receiving an initial message for initial access from a terminal at a time adjusted according to a timing advance value (Mahalingam, [0165], Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], “At 1319 the WTRU 1302 may apply the predicted TA at the next RACH opportunity for the satellite 1301 at position P4, and transmits the RACH preamble using the predicted TA (i.e., timing offset)”) determined based on a first location of the satellite at the first time point, a second location of the satellite at the second time point, and a third location of the satellite at the third time point (Mahalingam, [0165], Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU predicts the propagation delay and TA (i.e. timing offset) after determining the propagation delays and distances at the corresponding times),
wherein the first location of the satellite at the first time point, the second location of the satellite at the second time point, and the third location of the satellite at the third time point are determined based on the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU determines the propagation delay and distance to the Satellite at the corresponding times, t1, t1+TSIB and t1+2TSIB. The WTRU determines the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered. A system information messages is transmitted in each of the times t1, t1+TSIB and t1+2TSIB).
Mahalingam teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 21, a second broadcast message including a remainder of the synchronization information.
However, Qiao teaches a second broadcast message including a remainder of the synchronization information (Qiao, Fig. 6, [0118], the terminal device receives the remaining minimum system information (RMSI) from the satellite. [0120], the RMSI carries necessary information for accessing a network by the terminal device, including an uplink initial bandwidth part (BWP), a channel configuration in the initial BWP, a cell semi-static configuration, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam to have the features, as taught by Qiao, in order to satisfy requirements of low overheads and a low latency in satellite communication (Qiao, [0006]).
As to claim 22, Mahalingam teaches a satellite of a non-terrestrial network (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], a gNB/Satellite communicating with a WTRU), the satellite comprising:
a transceiver (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0212], the satellite includes an antenna to transmit and receive signals from a WTRU); and
at least one processor connected to the transceiver and configured to (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0212], the satellite includes a processor to implement a transceiver to perform the functions of the satellite):
transmit a first broadcast message including at least part of synchronization information from the satellite at a first time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1312 from the Satellite at time t1, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time),
transmit a second broadcast message from the satellite at a second time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1314 from the Satellite at time t1+TSIB, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time),
transmit a third broadcast message including location information related to a location of the satellite from the satellite at a third time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1316 from the Satellite at time t1+2TSIB, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time), and
receive an initial message for initial access from a terminal at a time adjusted according to a timing advance value (Mahalingam, [0165], Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], “At 1319 the WTRU 1302 may apply the predicted TA at the next RACH opportunity for the satellite 1301 at position P4, and transmits the RACH preamble using the predicted TA (i.e., timing offset)”) determined based on a first location of the satellite at the first time point, a second location of the satellite at the second time point, and a third location of the satellite at the third time point (Mahalingam, [0165], Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU predicts the propagation delay and TA (i.e. timing offset) after determining the propagation delays and distances at the corresponding times),
wherein the first location of the satellite at the first time point, the second location of the satellite at the second time point, and the third location of the satellite at the third time point are determined based on the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU determines the propagation delay and distance to the Satellite at the corresponding times, t1, t1+TSIB and t1+2TSIB. The WTRU determines the satellite position (e.g., based on techniques described) and predict the propagation delay at the next RACH opportunity based on the measurements and information gathered. A system information messages is transmitted in each of the times t1, t1+TSIB and t1+2TSIB).
Mahalingam teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 22, a second broadcast message including a remainder of the synchronization information.
However, Qiao teaches a second broadcast message including a remainder of the synchronization information (Qiao, Fig. 6, [0118], the terminal device receives the remaining minimum system information (RMSI) from the satellite. [0120], the RMSI carries necessary information for accessing a network by the terminal device, including an uplink initial bandwidth part (BWP), a channel configuration in the initial BWP, a cell semi-static configuration, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam to have the features, as taught by Qiao, in order to satisfy requirements of low overheads and a low latency in satellite communication (Qiao, [0006]).
Claims 2-3, 7, 12-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahalingam et al. (US 2021/0029658), hereinafter “Mahalingam” in view of Qiao et al. (US 2022/0131603), hereinafter “Qiao” and further in view of Basu Mallick et al. (US 2018/0324679), hereinafter “Basu Mallick”.
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein at least one of the first broadcast message or the second broadcasting method includes information about a transmission time interval in the satellite between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message received by the terminal.
As to claim 2, Basu Mallick teaches wherein at least one of the first broadcast message or the second broadcasting method includes information about a transmission time interval (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, [0019], the minimum SI 140 includes system information scheduling information and can indicate whether a specific system information, such as an SI block (SIB) that can be periodically broadcasted. [0020], the scheduling information is provided by the minimum SI 140 and includes the periodicity) in the satellite (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, [0017], the network includes a satellite communications network) between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message received by the terminal (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, the SI messages are transmitted by the network and received by the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Basu Mallick, in order to avoid the risk of misinterpretation if certain SIBs’ scheduling changes between the UE and the network (Basu Mallick, [0022]).
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein at least one of the first broadcast message or the second broadcast message includes information about a reception time interval in the terminal between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message received by the terminal.
As to claim 3, Basu Mallick teaches wherein at least one of the first broadcast message or the second broadcast message includes information about a reception time interval in the terminal (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, [0019], Fig. 2, the minimum SI 140 includes system information scheduling information and can indicate whether a specific system information, such as an SI block (SIB) that can be periodically broadcasted. [0020], the scheduling information is provided by the minimum SI 140 and includes the periodicity. The SI messages are transmitted by the network and received by the UE) between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message received by the terminal (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, the SI messages are transmitted by the network and received by the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Basu Mallick, in order to avoid the risk of misinterpretation if certain SIBs’ scheduling changes between the UE and the network (Basu Mallick, [0022]).
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 7, wherein the terminal is configured to set a time interval between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message transmitted by the satellite to a same value.
As to claim 7, Basu Mallick teaches wherein the terminal is configured to set a time interval between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message transmitted by the satellite to a same value (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, [0019], the minimum SI 140 includes system information scheduling information and can indicate whether a specific system information, such as an SI block (SIB) that can be periodically broadcasted. [0024], the scheduling information is provided by the minimum SI 140 and includes the periodicity. Fig. 1, [0017], the network includes a satellite communications network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Basu Mallick, in order to avoid the risk of misinterpretation if certain SIBs’ scheduling changes between the UE and the network (Basu Mallick, [0022]).
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 12, wherein at least one of the first broadcast message or the second broadcasting method includes information about a transmission time interval in the satellite between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message received by the terminal.
As to claim 12, Basu Mallick teaches wherein at least one of the first broadcast message or the second broadcasting method includes information about a transmission time interval (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, [0019], the minimum SI 140 includes system information scheduling information and can indicate whether a specific system information, such as an SI block (SIB) that can be periodically broadcasted. [0020], the scheduling information is provided by the minimum SI 140 and includes the periodicity) in the satellite (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, [0017], the network includes a satellite communications network) between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message received by the terminal (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, the SI messages are transmitted by the network and received by the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Basu Mallick, in order to avoid the risk of misinterpretation if certain SIBs’ scheduling changes between the UE and the network (Basu Mallick, [0022]).
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein at least one of the first broadcast message or the second broadcast message includes information about a reception time interval in the terminal between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message received by the terminal.
As to claim 13, Basu Mallick teaches wherein at least one of the first broadcast message or the second broadcast message includes information about a reception time interval in the terminal (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, [0019], Fig. 2, the minimum SI 140 includes system information scheduling information and can indicate whether a specific system information, such as an SI block (SIB) that can be periodically broadcasted. [0020], the scheduling information is provided by the minimum SI 140 and includes the periodicity. The SI messages are transmitted by the network and received by the UE) between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message received by the terminal (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, the SI messages are transmitted by the network and received by the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Basu Mallick, in order to avoid the risk of misinterpretation if certain SIBs’ scheduling changes between the UE and the network (Basu Mallick, [0022]).
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to set a time interval between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message transmitted by the satellite to a same value.
As to claim 17, Basu Mallick teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to set a time interval between the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message transmitted by the satellite to a same value (Basu Mallick, Fig. 1, [0019], the minimum SI 140 includes system information scheduling information and can indicate whether a specific system information, such as an SI block (SIB) that can be periodically broadcasted. [0024], the scheduling information is provided by the minimum SI 140 and includes the periodicity. Fig. 1, [0017], the network includes a satellite communications network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Basu Mallick, in order to avoid the risk of misinterpretation if certain SIBs’ scheduling changes between the UE and the network (Basu Mallick, [0022]).
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahalingam et al. (US 2021/0029658), hereinafter “Mahalingam” in view of Qiao et al. (US 2022/0131603), hereinafter “Qiao” and further in view of Richard Morris, “Stewart’s Theorem, with applications”, The Mathematics Teacher, Vol. 21, No. 8 (December, 1928), hereinafter “Morris”.
As to claim 5, Mahalingam teaches wherein the terminal is configured to calculate a first distance between the terminal and the satellite at the first time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1312 from the Satellite at time t1, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time).
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, based on Stewart's Theorem.
However, Morris teaches based on Stewart's Theorem (Morris, page 466, Fig. 1, Stewart’s Theorem, the length (distance between points) of the lines c, x, and b are determined based on the Stewart’s Theorem and equations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Morris, because it is a well know method to find the length of line from the vertex of a triangle to any point of the base (Morris, page 466).
As to claim 6, Mahalingam teaches wherein the terminal is further configured to calculate an initial message transmission distance between the terminal and the satellite at an initial message transmission time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU determines the satellite position at Next RACH Opportunity based on the measurements between the WTRU and the Satellite) when the terminal transmits the initial message (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU transmits the RACH preamble at the next RACH opportunity), based on the calculated first distance (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU determines the satellite position at Next RACH Opportunity based on the measurements between the WTRU and the Satellite, including the distance between the WTRU and Satellite in corresponding times).
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 6, and the Stewart's Theorem.
However, Morris teaches and the Stewart's Theorem (Morris, page 466, Fig. 1, Stewart’s Theorem, the length (distance between points) of the lines c, x, and b are determined based on the Stewart’s Theorem and equations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Morris, because it is a well know method to find the length of line from the vertex of a triangle to any point of the base (Morris, page 466).
As to claim 15, Mahalingam teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to calculate a first distance between the terminal and the satellite at the first time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU receives the system information 1312 from the Satellite at time t1, where the system information is used to determine propagation delay and distance to Satellite at the corresponding time).
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, based on Stewart's Theorem.
However, Morris teaches based on Stewart's Theorem (Morris, page 466, Fig. 1, Stewart’s Theorem, the length (distance between points) of the lines c, x, and b are determined based on the Stewart’s Theorem and equations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Morris, because it is a well know method to find the length of line from the vertex of a triangle to any point of the base (Morris, page 466).
As to claim 16, Mahalingam teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to calculate an initial message transmission distance between the terminal and the satellite at an initial message transmission time point (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU determines the satellite position at Next RACH Opportunity based on the measurements between the WTRU and the Satellite) when the terminal transmits the initial message (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU transmits the RACH preamble at the next RACH opportunity), based on the calculated first distance (Mahalingam, Figs. 13A-13B, [0171], the WTRU determines the satellite position at Next RACH Opportunity based on the measurements between the WTRU and the Satellite, including the distance between the WTRU and Satellite in corresponding times).
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 16, and the Stewart's Theorem.
However, Morris teaches and the Stewart's Theorem (Morris, page 466, Fig. 1, Stewart’s Theorem, the length (distance between points) of the lines c, x, and b are determined based on the Stewart’s Theorem and equations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Morris, because it is a well know method to find the length of line from the vertex of a triangle to any point of the base (Morris, page 466).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahalingam et al. (US 2021/0029658), hereinafter “Mahalingam” in view of Qiao et al. (US 2022/0131603), hereinafter “Qiao” and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0361251) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Yu”.
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the terminal is configured to, when at least two of the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, or the third broadcast message are received in a same slot, receive an additional broadcast message after receiving the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message.
As to claim 8, Yu teaches wherein the terminal is configured to, when at least two of the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, or the third broadcast message are received in a same slot, receive an additional broadcast message after receiving the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message (You, Figs. 4a-4b, [0145], [0155], the network device transmits the system message periodically to the terminal device. The first two system messages are received in the same slot, and then receives additional system messages, such as 4th, 5th, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Yu, in order to resolve a problem of how a terminal device obtains a timing advance amount in an NTN scenario (Yu, [0006]).
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, when at least two of the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, or the third broadcast message are received in a same slot, receive an additional broadcast message after receiving the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message.
As to claim 18, Yu teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, when at least two of the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, or the third broadcast message are received in a same slot, receive an additional broadcast message after receiving the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, and the third broadcast message (You, Figs. 4a-4b, [0145], [0155], the network device transmits the system message periodically to the terminal device. The first two system messages are received in the same slot, and then receives additional system messages, such as 4th, 5th, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Yu, in order to resolve a problem of how a terminal device obtains a timing advance amount in an NTN scenario (Yu, [0006]).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahalingam et al. (US 2021/0029658), hereinafter “Mahalingam” in view of Qiao et al. (US 2022/0131603), hereinafter “Qiao” and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0263570) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Wang”.
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein the terminal is configured to correct the TA value by using a representative TA difference value included in at least one of the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, or the third broadcast message.
As to claim 10, Wang teaches wherein the terminal is configured to correct the TA value by using a representative TA difference value included in at least one of the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, or the third broadcast message (Wang, [0009], “The first common TA change amount calculation parameter is used to update the first common TA to obtain an updated common TA. The terminal sends a random access preamble by using the updated common TA”, [0235], “The updated common TA parameter and/or common TA change amount calculation parameter (or the update difference of the common TA parameter and/or the common TA change amount calculation parameter) may be transmitted in the foregoing broadcast signaling, multicast signaling, or unicast signaling, for example, at least one of broadcast information including a system information block SIB1, other system information (OSI), and a main system information block (MIB), which may be sent by the network device to the terminal through broadcast or multicast”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Wang, in order to avoid the problems of ISI and an inaccurate timing advance of a subsequent uplink signal, that is, a timeliness problem of the common timing advance, as the satellite moves (Wang, [0110]).
Mahalingam and Qiao teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Mahalingam and Qiao do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to correct the TA value by using a representative TA difference value included in at least one of the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, or the third broadcast message.
As to claim 20, Wang teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to correct the TA value by using a representative TA difference value included in at least one of the first broadcast message, the second broadcast message, or the third broadcast message (Wang, [0009], “The first common TA change amount calculation parameter is used to update the first common TA to obtain an updated common TA. The terminal sends a random access preamble by using the updated common TA”, [0235], “The updated common TA parameter and/or common TA change amount calculation parameter (or the update difference of the common TA parameter and/or the common TA change amount calculation parameter) may be transmitted in the foregoing broadcast signaling, multicast signaling, or unicast signaling, for example, at least one of broadcast information including a system information block SIB1, other system information (OSI), and a main system information block (MIB), which may be sent by the network device to the terminal through broadcast or multicast”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mahalingam and Qiao to have the features, as taught by Wang, in order to avoid the problems of ISI and an inaccurate timing advance of a subsequent uplink signal, that is, a timeliness problem of the common timing advance, as the satellite moves (Wang, [0110]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Manolakis et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0296720 – Location calculation.
Wang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0038675 – Broadcasting of a non-terrestrial network system information block.
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473