DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0010], line 8, the phrase “second winding drum-forming portion 24” should be replaced with the phrase --second winding drum-forming portion 25--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheetz (U.S. Patent No. 3,970,268).
With respect to Claim 1, Sheetz, Figures 1-17, teaches a wire reel, comprising:
a winding drum (See Figure 2) around which a superconducting wire is wound;
a first flange plate 7 and a second flange plate 9 located at axial ends of the winding drum;
a first member 18 integrally formed of the first flange plate7 and a first winding drum-forming portion constituting one half portion of the winding drum; and
a second member 19 integrally formed of the second flange plate 9 and a second winding drum-forming portion constituting an other half portion of the winding drum.
With respect to Claim 2, Sheetz further teaches wherein the first member 18 and the second member 19 have a same shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheetz as applied to Claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Goldberg (U.S. Patent No. 2,462,261).
With respect to Claims 3-4, Sheetz is advanced above.
Sheetz teaches all the elements of the wire reel except for
wherein the winding drum includes a slit for attaching an end of the superconducting wire, and at least one of the first flange plate and the second flange plate includes an operation hole facing the slit.
However, Goldberg, Figures 1-3, teaches
a winding drum 8 including a slit 12 for attaching an end of the superconducting wire, and at least one of the first flange plate 5 and the second flange plate 5 includes an operation hole H facing the slit 12 (See Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Sheetz with a slit and an operation hole, as taught by Goldberg, for the purpose of facilitating the insertion of the wire into the slit from the outer side of the flange.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheetz as applied to Claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Nilsson et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0276266), hereinafter “Nilsson”.
With respect to Claims 5-6, Sheetz is advanced above.
Sheetz teaches all the elements of the wire reel except for
wherein one of the first winding drum-forming portion and the second winding drum-forming portion includes an engaging convex portion, and wherein an other of the first winding drum-forming portion and the second winding drum-forming portion includes an engaging concave portion that engages an engaging convex portion.
However, Nilsson, Figures 1-7, teaches
one of the first winding drum-forming portion 2 and the second winding drum-forming portion 2 includes an engaging convex portion 221, and wherein an other of the first winding drum-forming portion and the second winding drum-forming portion includes an engaging concave portion 223 that engages an engaging convex portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Sheetz with engaging convex and engaging concave portions, as taught by Nilsson, for the purpose of attaching each of the half portions of the winding drum thereby preventing relative rotation between the winding drum portions.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheetz as applied to Claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Hafner (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0230648).
With respect to Claims 7-8, Sheetz is advanced above.
Sheetz teaches all the elements of the wire reel except for
wherein each of the first flange plate and the second flange plate includes a spacer protruding from a face opposite to the winding drum.
However, Hafner, Figures 1-5, teaches wherein each of the first flange plate 16 and the second flange plate 18 includes a spacer protruding from a face opposite to the winding drum (See protrusions beyond each of the flanges 16,18 opposite drum portions 10,12 in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide spacers, as taught by Hafner, for the purpose protecting the flanges outer surfaces.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654