Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments/remarks, see page 7, filed 12/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments/remarks, see last ¶ of page 7, generally stating that cited Raviv reference does not disclose the newly added limitation, i.e. the action object being displayed within the message item and selectable therefrom, the examiner respectfully disagree.
In Raviv, coupons 758 [i.e. message item] for rugs items are displayed, and each displayed coupon 758 [i.e. the message item] include selectable “+” icon 758a-c [i.e. the action object] that enables the user to select [i.e. selectable therefrom] and open the content, e.g. discount deal for rugs, so that the user can retain the deal being referenced (758 & 758a-c – Fig. 7B and ¶ 0121 – 0122). In other words, selectable “+” icon 758a-c [i.e. the action object] is included/displayed in each coupon 758 [i.e. the message item] and the selectable “+” icon 758a-c enables the user to select [i.e. selectable therefrom] and open the deal being referenced by the coupon [i.e. functionality for interacting with the electronic resource].
Therefore, Raviv discloses: the action object being displayed within the message item and selectable therefrom (i.e. selectable “+” icon 758a-c [i.e. the action object] is included/displayed in each coupon 758 [i.e. the message item] and the selectable “+” icon 758a-c enables the user to select [i.e. selectable therefrom] and open the deal being referenced by the coupon) (758 & 758a-c – Fig. 7B and ¶ 0121 – 0122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Raviv et al. (US PG PUB 20200202388), hereinafter "Raviv".
Regarding Claims 1, 11 and 19, Raviv discloses:
(Claim 1) A method comprising steps of:
(Claim 11) A system comprising: a processor (i.e. message product engine 300 including a processor) (Fig. 3 and ¶ 0070) configured to:
(Claim 19) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium tangibly encoded with computer-executable instructions that when executed by a device (i.e. memory storing instructions executable by one or more processors) (Fig. 3, ¶ 0029 and ¶ 0070), perform a method comprising:
receiving/receive an electronic message addressed to an account of a user, the electronic message comprising content (i.e. method/system/computer-readable-medium may receive messages directed to user account / user's inbox [i.e. addressed to an account of a user], wherein the messages may include contents) (¶ 0007, ¶ 0097 and ¶ 0103);
analyzing/analyze the electronic message, and determining a context of the electronic message (i.e. In step 506, the method/system/computer-readable-medium may analyze incoming messages [i.e. the electronic message] to the user’s inbox, and determine a context of the message, e.g. is the message related to a promotion, purchase receipt, expiring deal, future activity, etc.) (506 & 512 – Fig. 5, ¶ 0101, ¶ 0103 and ¶ 0112),
the context determination comprising determining if the content is associated with an electronic resource (i.e. determining the context comprises identifying whether the message content is a promotion [i.e. an electronic resource], purchase receipt, expiring deal, future activity, etc.) (¶ 0103);
generating/generate, based on the context of the electronic message, an action object (i.e. based on the context of the message, e.g. is the message related to a promotion, purchase receipt, expiring deal, future activity, etc., the method/system/computer-readable-medium may generate “rugs”—item 758a-c [i.e. an action object], which shows that there are 9 clipped coupons for rugs from which the user can select and act upon [i.e. in other words, action object]) (Fig. 7B and ¶ 0121)
the action object comprising functionality for interacting with the electronic resource without opening the electronic message (i.e. “+” icons 758a-c [i.e. the action object] which reference coupons enable the user to select and open [i.e. functionality for interacting with] the content / coupon [i.e. promotion / the electronic resource] so that the user can retain the deal being referenced; Note: the user does not need to manually search or “finger through” their messages [i.e. without opening the electronic message] in order to find the coupons) (752 & 758 - Fig. 7B, ¶ 0043 and ¶ 0122); and
communicating/communicate, to an inbox of the account, a message item, the message item comprising information about the electronic message and the action object (i.e. the method/system/computer-readable-medium may provide/communicate, to a sub-window 604/606 or watching tab 752 of the inbox of the user [i.e. an inbox of the account], the coupons 758 [i.e. a message item], wherein the coupons 758 [i.e. the message item] are content extracted from the messages [i.e. information about the electronic message] and include “+” icons 758a-c [i.e. the action object]) (604 & 606 - Fig. 6A, 752 - Fig. 7B, ¶ 0083 – 0084 and ¶ 0121 - 0123),
the action object being displayed within the message item and selectable therefrom (i.e. selectable “+” icon 758a-c [i.e. the action object] is included/displayed in each coupon 758 [i.e. the message item] and the selectable “+” icon 758a-c enables the user to select [i.e. selectable therefrom] and open the deal being referenced by the coupon) (758 & 758a-c – Fig. 7B and ¶ 0121 – 0122).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Raviv discloses:
receiving input related to the action object; and causing the electronic resource to be rendered in response to the input (i.e. The 3 coupons, referenced as 758a, 758b and 758c [i.e. the action object] include a “+” icon that also enables the user to select and open [i.e. receiving input related to the action object] the content so that the user can retain the deal [i.e. the electronic resource to be rendered] being referenced) (¶ 0122).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Raviv discloses:
wherein the electronic resource corresponds to at least one of an application, web site, electronic document, a file, and electronic information (i.e. “rugs”—item 758a-c [i.e. the action object] reference coupons [i.e. electronic document]) (752 & 758 - Fig. 7B, ¶ 0043 and ¶ 0122).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Raviv discloses:
parsing the electronic message (i.e. the method/system may involve parsing the data of each message addressed to the user's inbox) (¶ 0105), and
identifying information within a header and body of the electronic message (i.e. the method/system may extract location associated with a message, an identify of a sender, which platform the message originated from [i.e. information within a header of the electronic message]; and content included in the message [i.e. body of the electronic message]) (¶ 0103 and ¶ 0110);
analyzing the identified information within the header and the body of the electronic message (i.e. the method/system may analyze the extracted contents [i.e. the identified information within the header and the body of the electronic message]) (¶ 0103 and ¶ 0111 - 0112); and
determining the context based on the analysis of the identified information within the header and the body of the electronic message (i.e. based on the analysis on the extracted contents [i.e. the header and body of the electronic message], the method/system may determine the context of the message, e.g. whether it is referencing with regard to specific product.) (512 – Fig. 5, ¶ 0103 and ¶ 0112).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Raviv discloses:
determining, based at least on the context of the electronic message, whether the electronic message is a candidate for display with an action object (i.e. based on the indication that the message includes product information, the method/system may determine that the message is to be displayed in highlighted manner [i.e. whether the electronic message is a candidate for display with an action object]) (Fig. 7A, Fig. 7B, ¶ 0112 and ¶ 0115),
wherein the generation of the action object is based on the candidate determination (i.e. based on the determination that the message related to a promotion, purchase receipt, expiring deal, future activity, etc. [i.e. based on the candidate determination], the method/system/computer-readable-medium may generate “rugs”—item 758a-c [i.e. an action object], which shows that there are 9 clipped coupons for rugs from which the user can select and act upon) (Fig. 7B, ¶ 0115 – 0116 and ¶ 0121).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Raviv discloses:
displaying the electronic message without compiling and displaying the action object when the candidate determination indicates the electronic message is not a candidate (i.e. only the messages with the content identified to be related to products information, coupons, etc. are categorized and displayed with “+” icons [i.e. the action object]) (604 & 606 - Fig. 6A, 752 - Fig. 7B, ¶ 0083 – 0084 and ¶ 0121 - 0123).
Regarding Claim 8, Raviv discloses:
wherein the action object comprises functionality hyperlinking to at least one of a network location of the electronic resource, application associated with the electronic resource and application capable of rendering the electronic resource (i.e. “+” icon [i.e. the action object] enables the user to select and open the content [i.e. functionality hyperlinking to at least one of a network location of the electronic resource] so that the user can retain the deal [i.e. the electronic resource to be rendered]) (¶ 0122).
Regarding Claim 9, Raviv discloses:
wherein the action object is a button comprising functionality for performing an electronic action upon interaction from within the message item (i.e. “+” icon [i.e. the action object is a button] enables the user to select and open the content [i.e. functionality for performing an electronic action upon interaction from within the message item] so that the user can retain the deal) (¶ 0122).
Regarding Claim 10, Raviv discloses:
wherein the analysis is performed via execution of at least one of an artificial intelligence (AI) model, machine learning (ML) model and large language model (LLM) (i.e. analysis is performed based on machine learning, e.g. KNN classification algorithm) (¶ 0113).
Regarding Claim 18, Raviv discloses:
wherein the action object comprises functionality hyperlinking to at least one of a network location of the electronic resource, application associated with the electronic resource and application capable of rendering the electronic resource (i.e. “+” icon [i.e. the action object] enables the user to select and open the content [i.e. functionality hyperlinking to at least one of a network location of the electronic resource] so that the user can retain the deal [i.e. the electronic resource to be rendered]) (¶ 0122),
wherein the action object is a button comprising functionality for performing an electronic action upon interaction from within the message item (i.e. “+” icon [i.e. the action object is a button] enables the user to select and open the content [i.e. functionality for performing an electronic action upon interaction from within the message item] so that the user can retain the deal) (¶ 0122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raviv as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of He (US PG PUB 20210117999), hereinafter "He".
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Raviv discloses all the features with respect to Claims 2 and 12 as described above.
However, Raviv does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the rendering of the electronic resource causes an application to open via a device of the user, the application being a type that enables interaction with the electronic resource.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, He teaches:
wherein the rendering of the electronic resource causes an application to open via a device of the user, the application being a type that enables interaction with the electronic resource (i.e. as the result of providing resource package [i.e. rendering of the electronic resource] to the user, a user interface 120 [i.e. an application] may be opened on user device, wherein the user interface [i.e. the application] may include “try now” button [i.e. a type that enables interaction] that enables the user to register, forward, grant a permission to a target application, and use the resource package [i.e. the electronic resource]) (Fig. 1 and ¶ 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system/computer-readable-medium of Raviv to include the feature wherein the rendering of the electronic resource causes an application to open via a device of the user, the application being a type that enables interaction with the electronic resource as taught by He so that user may register, forward, grant a permission to a target application, and use the electronic resource via user interface (Fig. 1 and ¶ 0025).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Soe Hlaing/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451