DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “form the first end” is believed to be in error for --from the first end--; ‘the conduit” is believed to be in error for --the fluid conduit--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith 2008/0037366.
In regards to Independent Claim 1, Smith teaches a connector assembly (assembly as shown in figure 2) comprising: a main body (conduit 22) having a first end (end at 24), a second end (end at 23), and comprising a fluid conduit (conduit through pipe 22) extending therethrough form the first end to the second end (as shown in figure 2); a flow reducer insert (flow conditioner 10, except for plate 30, where the static mixing component and straightener will act to reduce flow and create losses through the conduit, abstract) positioned in the fluid conduit (as shown in figure 2), the flow reducer insert comprising a plurality of channels defining flow paths through the conduit (parallel streams formed through 10, paragraph [0018], where at least 4 streams are formed by division of flow with components 18 and 19 as shown in figure 1); and a collimator (plate 30 with round holes 31) coupled to the second end of the main body (30 is coupled at end 23 of 22 in figure 2), the collimator comprising a plurality of holes (31) configured to provide a substantially columnated flow path for fluid flowing out of the second end of the main body (holes 31 are round as shown in figures 1 and 3, such that flow exiting the holes will be columnar in shape, and flows will be parallel from each hole 31).
Regarding Dependent Claim 2, Smith teaches the flow reducer insert comprises a first end portion (end of 10 at 41 and 42), a second end portion (end of 10 at 18), and a center portion coupling the first end portion to the second end portion (center including 43, 44, 45 and upstream end of 19), the first end portion comprising at least one first channel of the plurality of channels (channels formed by flow going on either side of 21), and the second end portion comprising at least one second channel of the plurality of channels (channels formed between 18 and 19 at downstream end of 10).
Regarding Dependent Claim 4, Smith teaches the first end portion of the flow reducer insert (end at 41 and 42) comprises a tapered section (both 41 and 42 taper to a point as shown in figure 1, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 5, Smith teaches the center portion forms an inner cavity (two cavities on either side of 19 are formed downstream of 43 and 45 and upstream of 18 in figure 1) in the fluid conduit in which fluid collects (impingement of flow at the upstream end of rectangular members 18 will cause some degree of fluid to collect at the cavities on either side of 19, where the degree or period of time the fluid collects is not claimed or disclosed).
Claims 1, 6-8, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laidler 5,497,946.
In regards to Independent Claim 1, Laidler teaches a connector assembly (assembly of figure 1 within cap 11, where 11 is connected to body 10) comprising: a main body (11) having a first end (end connected to 10), a second end (end at 17), and comprising a fluid conduit extending therethrough form the first end to the second end (flow path through 11 as shown in figure 1); a flow reducer insert (14) positioned in the fluid conduit (as shown in figure 1), the flow reducer insert comprising a plurality of channels (31) defining flow paths through the conduit (as shown in figure 1); and a collimator (12, specifically the embodiment shown in figure 7) coupled to the second end of the main body (12 is mounted to end of 11 at 17 in figure 1), the collimator comprising a plurality of holes (two orifices 26 in figure 7) configured to provide a substantially columnated flow path for fluid flowing out of the second end of the main body (two parallel flows will exit holes 26 in figure 7, where columnated as defined in the disclosure of the instant application only requires the flows through the holes to be parallel).
Regarding Dependent Claim 6, Laidler teaches a gasket (44) coupled to the main body (44 attached to 11 as shown in figure 1), the gasket comprising a central hole (gasket 44 has a hole as shown in figure 1) aligned with the fluid conduit (44 surrounds conduit through 11 as shown in figure 1), and the flow reducer insert (14) is positioned in the central hole of the gasket (44 surrounds 14 as shown in figure 1).
Regarding Dependent Claim 7, Laidler teaches the gasket (44) is positioned at the first end of the main body (44 is at first end of 11 nearest 10 in figure 1).
Regarding Dependent Claim 8, Laidler teaches the collimator (12 of figure 7) comprises a screen defining the plurality of holes (collimator acts as a screen with two holes 26 as shown in figure 7, where the number of holes through the screen is not claimed).
In regards to Independent Claim 14, Laidler teaches a connector assembly (assembly of figure 1 within cap 11, where 11 is connected to body 10) comprising: a main body (11) comprising a fluid conduit (flow path through 11 as shown in figure 1) extending therethrough, the main body comprising a first end (end connected to 10) and a second end (end at 17); a gasket (44) coupled to the main body at the first end (44 is at first end of 11 nearest 10 in figure 1); and a collimator (12, specifically the embodiment shown in figure 7) coupled to the main body at the second end (12 is mounted to end of 11 at 17 in figure 1), the collimator comprising a plurality of holes (two orifices 26 in figure 7) configured to provide a substantially columnated flow path for fluid flowing out of the second end (two parallel flows will exit holes 26 in figure 7, where columnated as defined in the disclosure of the instant application only requires the flows through the holes to be parallel).
Regarding Dependent Claim 15, Laidler teaches the collimator (12 of figure 7) comprises a screen defining the plurality of holes (collimator acts as a screen with two holes 26 as shown in figure 7, where the number of holes through the screen is not claimed).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laidler 2007/0158476.
In regards to Independent Claim 10, Laidler teaches a connector assembly (assembly as shown in figures 26 and 27, which connects upstream and downstream components of the flow path) comprising: a main body (walls of conduit through which flow A passes in figures 26 and 27) comprising a fluid conduit extending therethrough (fluid conduit 150 shown in figures 26 and 27 through which flow passes), the fluid conduit comprising a tapering first chamber and a substantially uniform diameter second chamber (tapering and uniform chambers shown in figure 27 below); a flow reducer insert positioned in the fluid conduit (insert comprises components 151, 153, 155, and 156 in figures 26 and 27), the flow reducer insert comprising: a first end portion positioned in the tapering first chamber of the fluid conduit (151 and 153), the first end portion comprising at least one first channel of a plurality of channels defining flow paths through the fluid conduit (channels 152 and 154 through 153); a second end portion positioned in the uniform diameter second chamber of the fluid conduit (portion of 156 in uniform chamber in figure 27 below), the second end portion comprising at least one second channel of the plurality of channels defining flow paths through the fluid conduit (156 divides flow through 150 into two channels, paragraph [0085]); and a center portion coupling the first end portion to the second end portion and positioned in the tapering first chamber of the fluid conduit (portion of 156 and entirety of 155 in tapering chamber in figure 27 below), the center portion forming an inner cavity in the fluid conduit in which fluid collects (fluid will collect to some degree at cavity between 154 and 153 in center portion when fluid collides with 155, where the degree or period of time the fluid collects is not claimed or disclosed).
Figure 27 of Laidler
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9, 11-13 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: prior art fails to teach, in combination with the other limitations of dependent claim 3, that the first end portion and the center portion of the flow reducer insert is positioned in the tapering first chamber and the second end portion is positioned in the unform diameter second chamber of the fluid conduit; prior art fails to teach, in combination with the other limitations of dependent claims 9 and 16, that the collimator is snapped onto a barbed portion to couple the collimator to the housing; and prior art fails to teach, in combination with the other limitations of dependent claim 11, a gasket positioned at the first end of the main body of the connector assembly. The closest prior art to claim 11 is Laidler 2007/0158476, which discloses a valve as shown in figures 26 and 27 that is part of a nozzle, where adding a gasket would change the entire function and structure of the nozzle of Laidler seen as a whole in figure 1 of Laidler, where the nozzle is a single piece and a gasket upstream of the valve would not serve a function.
Conclusion
/STEVEN M SUTHERLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752