Details
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hicks et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0232591 A1) in view of Astarabadi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0314526 A1).
As per claim 1, Hicks discloses a method, comprising: - receiving, by a computing device from a first participant computing device (Hicks, Fig 3, Fig 4 step 402-404, paragraph 0058-0059, wherein “At 402, a video stream and an audio stream of a user speaking is received. For example, recognition module 124 receives a video stream 304 and an audio stream 306 of a user 301 speaking one or more words or phrases 302. At 404, the video stream is processed to identify a face of the user. For example, the recognition module 124 processes the video stream 304 to identify a face 303 of the user 301”); - accessing, by the computing device (Hicks, Fig 4 step 408, paragraph 0061, wherein “At 408, the dynamic face and voice signature of the user is compared to a stored dynamic face and voice signature of an authorized user. For example, the recognition module 124 compares the dynamic face and voice signature 314 of the user 301 to a stored dynamic face and voice signature 212 of an authorized user that is generated during the enrollment phase and stored in authentication database 218”; wherein the stored dynamic face and/or voice signature can be the predetermined validation data), the predetermined validation data comprises motion capture data generated by a motion capture sensor while the known individual speaking (Hicks paragraph 0033, wherein “The signature generation component 208 generates a dynamic face and voice signature 212, which uniquely identifies, the user by correlating facial motion of the face 203 of the user 201 in the processed video stream 204 to the audio stream 206 of the user speaking. For example, the changes in volume, pitch, and cadence of the user's voice in the audio stream 206 is correlated to the facial motions that the user makes when speaking in order to generate the dynamic face and voice signature 212”);; - performing an analysis, by the computing device, of a segment of the video stream based on the predetermined validation data (Hicks, Fig 4 step 408-409, paragraph 0061-0062, wherein “At 408, the dynamic face and voice signature of the user is compared to a stored dynamic face and voice signature of an authorized user. At 410, the user is verified as the authorized user if the dynamic face and voice signature of the user matches the stored dynamic face and voice signature of the authorized user. For example, the recognition module 124 verifies the user as the authorized user if the dynamic face and voice signature 314 of the user matches the stored dynamic face and voice signature 212); and - providing, by the computing device based on the analysis, an output signal indicative of (Hicks, Fig 4 step 408-409, paragraph 0061-0062, wherein “At 408, the dynamic face and voice signature of the user is compared to a stored dynamic face and voice signature of an authorized user. At 410, the user is verified as the authorized user if the dynamic face and voice signature of the user matches the stored dynamic face and voice signature of the authorized user. For example, the recognition module 124 verifies the user as the authorized user if the dynamic face and voice signature 314 of the user matches the stored dynamic face and voice signature 212). Hicks does not explicitly disclose that the - first participant computing device is participating in a video call with a second participant computing device; - receiving also an individual identifier that identifies a known individual who the individual participating in the video call via the second computing device purports to be;- the accessing of the predetermined validation data is based on the individual identifier; and- a confidence level.However, Astarabadi discloses:- first participant computing device is participating in a video call with a second participant computing device (Astarabadi, Fig 1, 6 paragraph 0016, wherein “As shown in FIG. 6, a similar variation of the method S100 includes, during a video call between a first device and a second device following the setup period: accessing a first frame captured by the first device in Block S110; deriving characteristics of a first set of facial features detected in the first frame in Block S120”); - receiving also an individual identifier that identifies a known individual who the individual participating in the video call via the second computing device purports to be (Astarabadi, Fig 1A, wherein the identifier identifying the caller (MATT) or the callee (Mom) can be the individual identifier); - the accessing of the predetermined validation data is based on the individual identifier (Astarabadi, Fig 1A, paragraph 0012, wherein “detecting a first face in a first region of the target image in Block S104; extracting a constellation of facial biometric values from the first region of the target image in Block S106; and, in response to the constellation of facial biometric values aligning with a first faceprint of a first user account, enabling the first user at the first device to select a first look model, from a first set of look models, associated with the first user account in Block S108. The method S100 also includes, during the video call: accessing a first video feed captured at the first device in Block S110; for a first frame, in the first video feed, captured at a first time, detecting a first constellation of facial landmarks in the first frame in Block S120; representing the first constellation of facial landmarks in a first facial landmark container in Block S122; extracting a first constellation of facial biometric values from the first frame in Block S124; and, in response to the constellation of facial biometric values aligning with the first faceprint of the first user account, transmitting the first facial landmark container and confirmation of the first user to the second device in Block S130”); and- a confidence level (Astarabadi, paragraph 0143, wherein “Additionally or alternatively, the second device can render a confidence score (0.000 to 1.000) that a human at the first device is the first user based on a last confidence score received from first device”).
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Astarabadi teachings into Hicks to achieve the claimed limitations because this would have provided a way to authenticate and verify user identities during video conference call and to improve the flexibility of the system by allowing a controlled threshold for matching faces features which improves the accuracy and useability of the system.
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Hicks further discloses wherein the motion capture data quantifies facial expressions of the known individual while speaking (Hicks paragraph 0033, wherein “The signature generation component 208 generates a dynamic face and voice signature 212, which uniquely identifies, the user by correlating facial motion of the face 203 of the user 201 in the processed video stream 204 to the audio stream 206 of the user speaking. For example, the changes in volume, pitch, and cadence of the user's voice in the audio stream 206 is correlated to the facial motions that the user makes when speaking in order to generate the dynamic face and voice signature 212”);
As per claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated and Hicks further discloses wherein performing the analysis, by the computing device, of the segment of the video stream based on the predetermined validation data comprises: generating, by the computing device, generated motion capture data that quantifies facial expressions of the individual depicted in the segment of the video stream; and comparing, by the computing device, the generated motion capture data to the motion capture data quantifying facial expressions of the known individual while speaking (Hicks, Fig 4 step 408-409, paragraph 0061-0062, wherein “At 408, the dynamic face and voice signature of the user is compared to a stored dynamic face and voice signature of an authorized user. At 410, the user is verified as the authorized user if the dynamic face and voice signature of the user matches the stored dynamic face and voice signature of the authorized user. For example, the recognition module 124 verifies the user as the authorized user if the dynamic face and voice signature 314 of the user matches the stored dynamic face and voice signature 212);
As per claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and Astarabadi further discloses wherein the predetermined validation data comprises imagery depicting facial muscles and/or facial wrinkles of the known individual (Astarabadi, paragraph 0071, wherein “Furthermore, insertion of this face model and a different facial landmark container—such as extracted from a video frame captured by the device during a later video call—into the synthetic face generator produces a realistic approximation of: the face shape, skin tone, facial hair, makeup, freckles, wrinkles, eye color, hair color, hair style, and/or jewelry, etc. depicted in the set of frames; and the facial expression depicted in the video frame”);
As per claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated and Astarabadi further discloses wherein performing the analysis, by the computing device, of the segment of the video stream based on the predetermined validation data comprises: inputting, by the computing device, the segment of the video stream into a machine learned model that was trained with the imagery depicting the facial muscles and/or the facial wrinkles of the known individual (Astarabadi, paragraph 0041-0042, wherein “n particular, the remote computer system can train the conditional generative adversarial network to output a synthetic face image based on a set of input conditions, including: a facial landmark container, which captures relative locations (and/or sizes, orientations) of facial landmarks that represent a facial expression; and a face model, which contains a (pseudo-) unique set of coefficients characterizing a unique human face and secondary physiognomic features (e.g., face shape, skin tone, facial hair, makeup, freckles, wrinkles, eye color, hair color, hair style, and/or jewelry). Therefore, the remote computer system can input values from a facial landmark container and coefficients from a face model into the conditional generative adversarial network to generate a synthetic face image that depicts a face—(uniquely) represented by coefficients in the face model—exhibiting a facial expression represented by the facial landmark container”);
As per claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated and Astarabadi further discloses wherein the predetermined validation data comprises imagery depicting hair of the known individual (Astarabadi, paragraph 0071, wherein “Furthermore, insertion of this face model and a different facial landmark container—such as extracted from a video frame captured by the device during a later video call—into the synthetic face generator produces a realistic approximation of: the face shape, skin tone, facial hair, makeup, freckles, wrinkles, eye color, hair color, hair style, and/or jewelry, etc. depicted in the set of frames; and the facial expression depicted in the video frame”);
As per claim 7, claim 6 is incorporated and Astarabadi further discloses wherein performing the analysis, by the computing device, of the segment of the video stream based on the predetermined validation data comprises: inputting, by the computing device, the segment of the video stream into a machine learned model that was trained with the imagery depicting hair of the known individual (Astarabadi, paragraph 0041-0042, wherein “n particular, the remote computer system can train the conditional generative adversarial network to output a synthetic face image based on a set of input conditions, including: a facial landmark container, which captures relative locations (and/or sizes, orientations) of facial landmarks that represent a facial expression; and a face model, which contains a (pseudo-) unique set of coefficients characterizing a unique human face and secondary physiognomic features (e.g., face shape, skin tone, facial hair, makeup, freckles, wrinkles, eye color, hair color, hair style, and/or jewelry). Therefore, the remote computer system can input values from a facial landmark container and coefficients from a face model into the conditional generative adversarial network to generate a synthetic face image that depicts a face—(uniquely) represented by coefficients in the face model—exhibiting a facial expression represented by the facial landmark container”);
As per claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated and Astarabadi further discloses wherein the predetermined validation data comprises imagery depicting skin of the known individual (Astarabadi, paragraph 0071, wherein “Furthermore, insertion of this face model and a different facial landmark container—such as extracted from a video frame captured by the device during a later video call—into the synthetic face generator produces a realistic approximation of: the face shape, skin tone, facial hair, makeup, freckles, wrinkles, eye color, hair color, hair style, and/or jewelry, etc. depicted in the set of frames; and the facial expression depicted in the video frame”);
As per claim 9, claim 8 is incorporated and Astarabadi further discloses wherein performing the analysis, by the computing device, of the segment of the video stream based on the predetermined validation data comprises: inputting, by the computing device, the segment of the video stream into a machine learned model that was trained with the imagery depicting the skin of the known individual (Astarabadi, paragraph 0041-0042, wherein “n particular, the remote computer system can train the conditional generative adversarial network to output a synthetic face image based on a set of input conditions, including: a facial landmark container, which captures relative locations (and/or sizes, orientations) of facial landmarks that represent a facial expression; and a face model, which contains a (pseudo-) unique set of coefficients characterizing a unique human face and secondary physiognomic features (e.g., face shape, skin tone, facial hair, makeup, freckles, wrinkles, eye color, hair color, hair style, and/or jewelry). Therefore, the remote computer system can input values from a facial landmark container and coefficients from a face model into the conditional generative adversarial network to generate a synthetic face image that depicts a face—(uniquely) represented by coefficients in the face model—exhibiting a facial expression represented by the facial landmark container”);
As per claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated and Hicks further discloses wherein the predetermined validation data comprises audio data generated from voice signals of the known individual (Hicks, Fig 3, Fig 4 step 402-404, paragraph 0058-0059, wherein “At 402, a video stream and an audio stream of a user speaking is received. For example, recognition module 124 receives a video stream 304 and an audio stream 306 of a user 301 speaking one or more words or phrases 302. At 404, the video stream is processed to identify a face of the user. For example, the recognition module 124 processes the video stream 304 to identify a face 303 of the user 301”);
As per claim 11, claim 10 is incorporated and Hicks further discloses wherein performing the analysis, by the computing device, of the segment of the video stream based on the predetermined validation data comprises: comparing, by the computing device, audio data contained in the segment of the video stream to the audio data generated from the voice signals of the known individual (Hicks, Fig 4 step 408-409, paragraph 0061-0062, wherein “At 408, the dynamic face and voice signature of the user is compared to a stored dynamic face and voice signature of an authorized user. At 410, the user is verified as the authorized user if the dynamic face and voice signature of the user matches the stored dynamic face and voice signature of the authorized user. For example, the recognition module 124 verifies the user as the authorized user if the dynamic face and voice signature 314 of the user matches the stored dynamic face and voice signature 212);
As per claim 12, claim 1 is incorporated and Hicks further discloses wherein the video stream is a live video stream being streamed from a first computing device to a second computing device, and wherein the computing device receives the video stream from the second computing device, and wherein the computing device provides the output signal to the second computing device (Hicks, paragraph 0042-0044, wherein “The user then speaks one or more words or phrases 302, which in this example is “unlock my computer”. The recognition module 124 triggers video capture device 114 to capture a video stream 304 of the user 301 as the user speaks the one or more words or phrases 302, and also triggers audio capture device 116 to capture an audio stream 306 of the user speaking the one or more words or phrases 302. Notably, the video stream 304 includes a face 303 of the user 301. The video stream 304 and the audio stream 306 are then passed to the recognition module 124” Hicks, Fig 5, paragraph 0030, wherein “Although illustrated as part of computing device 102, functionality of authentication system 120 may also be implemented in a distributed environment, remotely via a network 126 (e.g., “over the cloud”) as further described in relation to FIG. 5, and so on. Although network 126 is illustrated as the Internet, the network may assume a wide variety of configurations. For example, network 126 may include a wide area network (WAN), a local area network (LAN), a wireless network, a public telephone network, an intranet, and so on”);
As per claim 13, claim 1 is incorporated and Hicks further discloses wherein the video stream is a live video stream being streamed from a first computing device to a second computing device, and wherein the computing device comprises the second computing device (Hicks, paragraph 0042-0044, wherein “The user then speaks one or more words or phrases 302, which in this example is “unlock my computer”. The recognition module 124 triggers video capture device 114 to capture a video stream 304 of the user 301 as the user speaks the one or more words or phrases 302, and also triggers audio capture device 116 to capture an audio stream 306 of the user speaking the one or more words or phrases 302. Notably, the video stream 304 includes a face 303 of the user 301. The video stream 304 and the audio stream 306 are then passed to the recognition module 124” Hicks, Fig 5, paragraph 0030, wherein “Although illustrated as part of computing device 102, functionality of authentication system 120 may also be implemented in a distributed environment, remotely via a network 126 (e.g., “over the cloud”) as further described in relation to FIG. 5, and so on. Although network 126 is illustrated as the Internet, the network may assume a wide variety of configurations. For example, network 126 may include a wide area network (WAN), a local area network (LAN), a wireless network, a public telephone network, an intranet, and so on”);
As per claim 14, claim 1 is incorporated and Hicks further discloses wherein the predetermined validation data derived from the known individual comprises at least two of: motion capture data that includes motion capture data quantifying facial expressions of the known individual while speaking; imagery depicting facial muscles and/or facial wrinkles of the known individual; imagery depicting hair of the known individual; imagery depicting skin of the known individual; and audio data generated from voice signals of the known individual (Hicks paragraph 0033, wherein “The signature generation component 208 generates a dynamic face and voice signature 212, which uniquely identifies, the user by correlating facial motion of the face 203 of the user 201 in the processed video stream 204 to the audio stream 206 of the user speaking. For example, the changes in volume, pitch, and cadence of the user's voice in the audio stream 206 is correlated to the facial motions that the user makes when speaking in order to generate the dynamic face and voice signature 212”).In addition Astarabadi further discloses wherein the predetermined validation data derived from the known individual comprises at least two of: imagery depicting facial muscles and/or facial wrinkles of the known individual; imagery depicting hair of the known individual; and imagery depicting skin of the known individual (Astarabadi, paragraph 0071, wherein “Furthermore, insertion of this face model and a different facial landmark container—such as extracted from a video frame captured by the device during a later video call—into the synthetic face generator produces a realistic approximation of: the face shape, skin tone, facial hair, makeup, freckles, wrinkles, eye color, hair color, hair style, and/or jewelry, etc. depicted in the set of frames; and the facial expression depicted in the video frame”);
As per claim 15, claim 14 is incorporated and Hicks further discloses wherein performing the analysis, by the computing device, of the segment of the video stream based on the predetermined validation data, comprises at least two of: a) generating, by the computing device, generated motion capture data that quantifies facial expressions of the individual depicted in the segment of the video stream; comparing, by the computing device, the generated motion capture data to the motion capture data quantifying facial expressions of the known individual while speaking; or e) comparing, by the computing device, audio data contained in the segment of the video stream to the audio data generated from the voice signals of the known individual (Hicks, Fig 4 step 408-409, paragraph 0061-0062, wherein “At 408, the dynamic face and voice signature of the user is compared to a stored dynamic face and voice signature of an authorized user. At 410, the user is verified as the authorized user if the dynamic face and voice signature of the user matches the stored dynamic face and voice signature of the authorized user. For example, the recognition module 124 verifies the user as the authorized user if the dynamic face and voice signature 314 of the user matches the stored dynamic face and voice signature 212”).In addition Astarabadi further discloses wherein performing the analysis, by the computing device, of the segment of the video stream based on the predetermined validation data, comprises at least two of: b) inputting, by the computing device, the segment of the video stream into a first machine learned model that was trained with the imagery depicting the facial muscles and/or the facial wrinkles of the known individual; c)inputting, by the computing device, the segment of the video stream into a second machine learned model that was trained with the imagery depicting the hair of the known individual; or d) inputting, by the computing device, the segment of the video stream into a third machine learned model that was trained with the imagery depicting the skin of the known individual (Astarabadi, paragraph 0041-0042, wherein “n particular, the remote computer system can train the conditional generative adversarial network to output a synthetic face image based on a set of input conditions, including: a facial landmark container, which captures relative locations (and/or sizes, orientations) of facial landmarks that represent a facial expression; and a face model, which contains a (pseudo-) unique set of coefficients characterizing a unique human face and secondary physiognomic features (e.g., face shape, skin tone, facial hair, makeup, freckles, wrinkles, eye color, hair color, hair style, and/or jewelry). Therefore, the remote computer system can input values from a facial landmark container and coefficients from a face model into the conditional generative adversarial network to generate a synthetic face image that depicts a face—(uniquely) represented by coefficients in the face model—exhibiting a facial expression represented by the facial landmark container”);
Claims 16-20 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1-15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in remarks:
(1) Astarabadi discloses not to transmit a video stream during a video conference. In particular, paragraphs 0021 - 0022 of Astarabadi disclose:
[0021]In particular, rather than transmit and receive data-rich video feeds
during a video call, a first device executing Blocks of the method S100 can instead
extract facial landmark constellations from a first video feed captured at the first
device, package these facial landmark constellations into facial landmark
containers, and transmit a first feed of facial landmark containers to the second
device.
[0022] Transmission of a feed of facial landmark containers at a natural frame rate
of the original high(er)-definition video (e.g., 24 frames per second) from the first device
to the second device during a video call may therefore require significantly less
bandwidth than the original high-definition video (e.g., less than 10 kilobits per second
rather than 1.5 Megabits per second).
Thus, Astarabadi discloses to avoid sending "a video stream" during a video call, and
instead to send "facial landmark constellations." Thus, neither Hicks nor Astarabadi teaches or suggests "a video stream that depicts at least a face of an individual" that is sent from one computing device to another.
(1) Examiner respectfully disagrees.First, the examiner used the primary reference to teach the video stream. Hicks (as the primary reference), states “At 402, a video stream and an audio stream of a user speaking is received (see Fig 3, Fig 4 step 402-404, paragraph 0058-0059).In Hicks, the video stream is not a result of a video call. Hicks’s system seems to focus on authenticating a user speaking who is video captured by a video capture device which streams a video containing the user speaking. However, Hicks’s techniques of identifying the face of the user by processing the video streams can be applied to other video streams including video streams resulting from a video call. In this aspect, the secondary reference, Astarabadi, is used to show it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify Hicks so that authenticating of the user is applied to a user participating in a video call. Second, Astarabadi paragraphs 0021-0022 do not state that a video stream is not transmitted as the applicant mistakenly asserted. Instead, Astarabadi state that data-rich video feeds (that has higher size an require more bandwidth) is not transmitted but instead transmitting compressed feeds (that has less size and require less bandwidth). In other words, there is a video call which includes a video stream but instead of including data-rich feeds within the stream, Astarabadi teaches to include a lightweight feed.
Looking to paragraph 0120 as an example,
[0120] In particular, during the video call, the first device can: capture a first video feed; implement facial (re)recognition techniques to intermittently confirm the identity of the user depicted in the first video feed; compress the first video feed into a first facial landmark container feed when the first user is verified; and stream the first facial landmark container feed and user verification to the second device in near real-time (e.g., with a maximum time of 50 milliseconds from capture to upload).
Thus, Astarabadi processing is performed during a video call which requires a video stream and the first facial landmark container feed (lightweight feed) is a result of compressing the first video feed. Thus, the first facial landmark container feed which is streamed to the other end is a lightweight feed which is part of the video stream.
(2) Astarabadi discloses to authenticate locally at the capturing device", not at the receiving device (Astarabadi, paras. 0118, 0122). Paragraph 0118 of Astarabadi discloses that the sending device verifies the user locally and transmits "verification of the first user to the second device" (Astarabadi, para. 0118). Paragraph 0138 of Astarabadi discloses that if verification fails, the sending device sends "a notification of failed verification of the first user to the second device" (Astarabadi, para. 0138). Thus, the receiving computing device in Astarabadi does not access data to authenticate the remote individual. Instead, the receiving device receives a verification confirmation or a failed verification flag from the sending device (Astarabadi, paras. 0118, 0138). Thus, neither Astarabadi nor Hicks teaches or suggests "accessing... predetermined validation data. to authenticate the individual participating in the video call via the second computing device".
(2) Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Although the examiner agrees that paragraph 0018,0122, 0138 and Fig. 6 teaches that the sending device verifies the user locally and transmits "verification of the first user to the second device". However, this is merely a non-limited example. Astarabadi paragraph 0155 states:
[0155] In this variation, the first and second devices can also implement methods and techniques described above: to track the first and second faces over subsequent frames during the video call; to selectively extract facial landmarks from corresponding regions of the frame; to independently verify the first and secondary users throughout the video call; and/or to indicate verification of the users over their corresponding synthetic face image feeds; etc.
Thus, the second device (receiving device) can perform the functions of the first device with respect to verifying that the user of the first device is the person he/she is claiming to be.
(3) Astarabadi does not teach or suggest providing "a confidence level that the video stream is a video stream generated by the known individual." Rather, paragraphs 0048-0051 of Astarabadi describe a setup period for generating a synthetic face model (Astarabadi, paras. 0048-0051). Paragraph 0050 of Astarabadi discloses calculating "a confidence that the face depicted in the synthetic face image is identical to the face depicted in the authentic face image" (Astarabadi, para. 0050). Thus, the confidence score in Astarabadi is an image similarity metric used during avatar generation to evaluate whether a synthetic face image is identical to an authentic face image.
(3) This argument is now moot in light of the new mapping.
All of the other arguments are now moot in light of the above response
Conclusion
/HAMZA N ALGIBHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457