Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yoon, Changshik (KR20220016599A), hereinafter “Koon” in view of Cho Joonrae et al. (KR20220008652A), hereinafter “Cho”.
As to Claim 1, Yoon teaches an electronic device (Figure 1, 101) comprising: a housing; a first speaker in the housing (speaker unit 200 disposed within the electronic device 101, See at least abstract, page 6, [0003] or speaker unit 310 disposed in housing 410 of an electronic device of Figure 3, See at least page 7, [0009]) and a printed circuit board in the housing (PCB disposed within the housing 410 of the electronic device. See at least page 7, [0010], Figure 3) and surrounding at least a portion of the first speaker(the speaker unit 310 of the electronic device is electrically connected to the printed circuit board through the Flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) 311. See at least Figure 3, page 7, [0010] lines 1-6), wherein the first speaker( speaker unit 310 which is same as speaker unit 200, Figures 2-3) and Regarding the following: a coil area in which a coil for an operation of the first speaker is disposed; a flexible board on an outer portion of the coil area and comprising a wire surrounding at least a portion of the coil area; and a connection terminal at one end of the flexible board and electrically connected to the printed circuit board, Yoon teaches he flexible printed circuit board 311 may be disposed on the mounting part 420 formed in the electronic device housing 410 . The flexible printed circuit board 311 may be a connector electrically connecting the speaker unit 310 and the printed circuit board. Referring to FIG. 3A, one end of the flexible printed circuit board 311 is electrically connected to the speaker unit 310, and the other end is disposed on a seating part 420 formed in the housing 410 of the electronic device to be attached to the printed circuit board. may be electrically connected. For example, the flexible printed circuit board 311 may be electrically connected to a terminal portion (not shown) of the speaker unit 310. A terminal portion (not shown) of the speaker unit 310 may be electrically connected to a voice coil included in the speaker unit 310. The control signal of the speaker unit 310 transmitted to the printed circuit board is transmitted to the terminal of the speaker unit 310 through the flexible printed circuit board 311, and the control signal is transmitted from the terminal of the speaker unit 310 to the voice coil (eg: Can be transmitted to the voice coil 230 of FIG. 2B).See at least page 7, [0010] to page 8, [0001].Yoon does not explicitly teach a wire surrounding at least a portion of the coil area. However, Cho Joonrae in related field (Speaker for electronic device) teaches a speaker structure 500 disposed in an electronic device 400, a connection member which is a flexible printed circuit board include a plurality of wires. See at least Figures 4, 5, 6a and 10 and abstract, page 10, [0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the FCPB such that it includes plurality of wires surrounding the speaker coil to transmit plurality of audio signals to the speaker structure from the electronic device.
As to Claim 10, Yoon teaches an electronic device (Figure 1, 101) comprising: a housing; a first speaker in the housing (speaker unit 200 disposed within the electronic device 101, See at least abstract, page 6, [0003] or speaker unit 310 disposed in housing 410 of an electronic device of Figure 3, See at least page 7, [0009]) and a printed circuit board in the housing and comprising a speaker opening area surrounding the first speaker, PCB disposed within the housing 410 of the electronic device. See at least page 7, [0010], Figure 3) and the speaker unit 310 of the electronic device is electrically connected to the printed circuit board through the Flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) 311. See at least Figure 3, page 7, [0010] lines 1-6). Regarding the following:
wherein the printed circuit board comprises a conductive pattern surrounding an outer portion of the first speaker, Yoon teaches he flexible printed circuit board 311 may be disposed on the mounting part 420 formed in the electronic device housing 410. The flexible printed circuit board 311 may be a connector electrically connecting the speaker unit 310 and the printed circuit board. Referring to FIG. 3A, one end of the flexible printed circuit board 311 is electrically connected to the speaker unit 310, and the other end is disposed on a seating part 420 formed in the housing 410 of the electronic device to be attached to the printed circuit board. may be electrically connected. For example, the flexible printed circuit board 311 may be electrically connected to a terminal portion (not shown) of the speaker unit 310.See at least page 7, [0010] to page 8, [0001]. Yoon does not explicitly teach the PCB comprises a conductive pattern. However, Cho Joonrae in related field (Speaker for electronic device) teaches according to an embodiment, the antenna module 197 may include an antenna including a conductor formed on a substrate (e.g., a PCB) or a radiator formed of a conductive pattern. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to further include conductive patterns on the PCB surrounding the speaker to form antenna module that transmits or receiver signal or power to the outside of the electronic device. See at least Cho on page 5. [0003].
As to Claim 16, Yoon teaches an electronic device (Figure 1, 101) comprising: a housing; a first speaker in the housing (speaker unit 200 disposed within the electronic device 101, See at least abstract, page 6, [0003] or speaker unit 310 disposed in housing 410 of an electronic device of Figure 3, See at least page 7, [0009]); a printed circuit board in the housing and comprising a speaker opening area surrounding the first speaker, PCB disposed within the housing 410 of the electronic device. See at least page 7, [0010], Figure 3) and the speaker unit 310 of the electronic device is electrically connected to the printed circuit board through the Flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) 311. See at least Figure 3, page 7, [0010] lines 1-6). Regarding the following:
a coil board surrounding an outer portion of the first speaker between the first speaker and the printed circuit board, Yoon teaches he flexible printed circuit board 311 may be disposed on the mounting part 420 formed in the electronic device housing 410. The flexible printed circuit board 311 may be a connector electrically connecting the speaker unit 310 and the printed circuit board. Referring to FIG. 3A, one end of the flexible printed circuit board 311 is electrically connected to the speaker unit 310, and the other end is disposed on a seating part 420 formed in the housing 410 of the electronic device to be attached to the printed circuit board. may be electrically connected. For example, the flexible printed circuit board 311 may be electrically connected to a terminal portion (not shown) of the speaker unit 310.See at least page 7, [0010] to page 8, [0001]. Yoon does not explicitly teach the PCB comprises a coil board. However, Cho Joonrae in related field (Speaker for electronic device) teaches according to an embodiment, the antenna module 197 may include an antenna including a conductor formed on a substrate (e.g., a PCB) or a radiator formed of a conductive pattern. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to further include a PCB with coils surrounding the speaker to form antenna module that transmits or receiver signal or power to the outside of the electronic device. See at least Cho on page 5. [0003].
2. Claims 2,3, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yoon, Changshik (KR20220016599A), hereinafter “Koon” in view of Cho Joonrae et al. (KR20220008652A), hereinafter “Cho” in further view of Kim, Youngebeom (KR 20210106691A), hereinafter “Kim”.
As to Claim 2, Yoon in view of Cho teaches the limitations of Claim 1 but does not explicitly teach further comprising a second speaker at a position different from a position of the first speaker. However, electronic devices including plurality of speakers are well-known in the art. Kim in related field (electronic devices including speaker) teaches an electronic device used in vehicles including plurality of speakers where the plurality of speakers are placed in different positions as shown on Figure 3. See at least abstract, Figure 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to house more than one speaker in the electronic device for its intended use in vehicles where multiple speakers are used for outputting sounds corresponding to (audio/video/navigation) device. See at least Kim on page 2, abstract, line 18-24.
As to Claim 3, Yoon in view of Cho in view of Kim teaches the limitations of Claim 2 and, further comprising: a first amplifier connected to the first speaker; and a second amplifier connected to the second speaker (amplifier supplying current to first speaker and second speaker. See at least Kim, abstract).
As to Claim 11, Yoon in view of Cho teaches the limitations of Claim 10 but does not explicitly teach further comprising: a second speaker at a position different from a position of the first speaker; a first amplifier connected to the first speaker; and a second amplifier connected to the second speaker. However, electronic devices including plurality of speakers are well-known in the art. Kim in related field (electronic devices including speaker) teaches an electronic device used in vehicles including plurality of speakers where the plurality of speakers are placed in different positions as shown on Figure 3. See at least abstract, Figure 3 and further teaches amplifier supplying current to first speaker and second speaker. See at least Kim, abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to house more than one speaker in the electronic device for its intended use in vehicles where multiple speakers are used for outputting sounds corresponding to (audio/video/navigation) device. See at least Kim on page 2, abstract, line 18-24.
As to Claim 17, Yoon in view of Cho teaches the limitations of Claim 16 but does not explicitly teach further comprising: a second speaker at a position different from a position of the first speaker; a first amplifier connected to the first speaker; and a second amplifier connected to the second speaker. However, electronic devices including plurality of speakers are well-known in the art. Kim in related field (electronic devices including speaker) teaches an electronic device used in vehicles including plurality of speakers where the plurality of speakers are placed in different positions as shown on Figure 3. See at least abstract, Figure 3 and further teaches amplifier supplying current to first speaker and second speaker. See at least Kim, abstract).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to house more than one speaker in the electronic device for its intended use in vehicles where multiple speakers are used for outputting sounds corresponding to (audio/video/navigation) device. See at least Kim on page 2, abstract, line 18-24.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 12-15, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
2. Claims 19-20 are allowed. The independent Claim 19, identifies a uniquely distinct feature of “…based on the operation mode being the handset mode, recognizing a value of a first current flowing through a speaker, based on the network used by the electronic device; and based on the value of the first current, generating a second current to flow through a wire extending to surround an outer portion of the speaker. The prior art to Yoon (KR 20220016599) teaches an electronic device in a network environment as shown on Figure 1. The prior art to Kim (KR20210106691) teaches the amplifier 140 may transmit a sound signal to the speakers 150 and 160 under the control of the controller 130. That is, the amplifier 140 may supply a current corresponding to the sound signal to the speakers 150 and 160. In this case, the amplifier 140 may be composed of a plurality of amplifiers corresponding to each of the first speaker 150 and the second speaker 160, and may be provided as a single integrated amplifier according to an embodiment. The amplifier 140 may supply a voltage to the speakers 150 and 160 according to an embodiment.
The controller 130 according to an embodiment may control to prevent distortion that may be generated in each of the first speaker 150 and the second speaker 160.
Specifically, when current is supplied to only the first speaker 150 among the first speaker 150 and the second speaker 160, the control unit 130 according to an embodiment is based on the output of the sensing unit 110. Thus, it is possible to compensate for the movement of the second speaker 160 caused by the operation of the first speaker 150 .That is, the controller 130 determines an induced current induced in the second speaker 160 according to the operation of the first speaker 150 based on the output of the sensing unit 110 , and a DC current exceeding the induced current The amplifier 140 may be controlled to supply (DC current) to the second speaker 160 .See at least page 4, [0005]-[0007]. The prior arts fail to anticipate or render the independent claim 19 obvious.
Conclusion
/SUNITA JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691