Response to Amendment
The Amendment, filed on 11/05/2025, has been entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nakazawa (US Pub. 2018/0227626) in view of Denoual (GB 2575074 A), further in view of Zhao (CN10333801 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nakazawa discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
defining a reduced header in a file, wherein the reduced header comprises information for processing one or more media items in the file (¶¶ [00653]-[00654], indication for header to be reduced and or compressed);
extending a MetaBox at file-level, wherein the MetaBox is extended to indicate the presence of the reduced header in the file (¶ [0722], configured by ftyp, mmpu, moov and meta boxes, and, in this MPU, information related to a file stored in the MPU is stored. A plurality of idat boxes can be stored in the meta box, and one file can be stored as an item in the idat box); and
signaling the extended MetaBox with one or more flags of the extended MetaBox (¶ [0964], the stored information is additional information is indicated using an extension type of multi-header type).
While Nakazawa disclose updated version, Denoual further disclose a new version (Fig. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Denoual into Nakazawa to track the group type box in a meta box.
Nakazawa discloses compresses a file header, but not explicitly reducing a header in a file, Zhao further discloses defining a reduced header in a file (¶ [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhao into Denoual and Nakazawa to reduce the time for loading the head file information and waiting time of the media file.
Regarding claim 2, Nakazawa in view of Denoual and Zhao disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is caused to perform: indicating a set of pre-defined information, from one or more sets of pre-defined information, to be used for parsing of the MetaBox, wherein the indication is intended to be used to select and initialize a decoder that decodes the one or more media items (¶ [01316]).
Regarding claim 3, Nakazawa in view of Denoual and Zhao disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform: defining a compact item header structure, wherein the compact item header structure is comprised in the MetaBox, and wherein the compact item header structure comprises properties describing the one or more media items (¶¶ [00653]-[00654], indication for header to be reduced and or compressed); and
extending the MetaBox to indicate presence of compact item header structure (¶¶ [00653]-[00654]).
Regarding claim 4, Nakazawa in view of Denoual and Zhao disclose the of claim 1, wherein the indication of presence of the reduced header mode is comprised in a FileTypeBox (¶ [0722]).
Regarding claim 5, Nakazawa discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
receiving a new version of a MetaBox or flags of the MetaBox, wherein the new version of the MetaBox of the flags of the MetaBox indicate a reduced header or a compact metadata in a file (¶¶ [00653]-[00654], indication for header to be reduced and or compressed; Zhao, ¶ [0052]); and
processing one or more media items of the file based at least on information comprised in the reduced header of the compact metadata in the file (¶¶ [00653]-[00654]).
While Nakazawa disclose updated version, Denoual further disclose a new version (Fig. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Denoual into Nakazawa to track the group type box in a meta box.
Nakazawa discloses compresses a file header, but not explicitly reducing a header in a file, Zhao further discloses defining a reduced header in a file (¶ [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhao into Denoual and Nakazawa to reduce the time for loading the head file information and waiting time of the media file.
Regarding claim 6, Nakazawa in view of Denoual and Zhao disclose the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the apparatus is caused to perform: receiving an indication for indicating a set of pre-defined information, from one or more sets of pre-defined information, for parsing of the MetaBox (¶ [01361]);
parsing of the MetaBox based on the set of pre-defined information; selecting and initializing a decoder based on the indication (¶ [01361]); and
decoding with the decoder the one or more media items (¶ [01361]).
Regarding claim 7, Nakazawa in view of Denoual and Zhao disclose the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform: receiving a compact item header structure, wherein the compact item header structure is comprised in the MetaBox, and wherein the MetaBox is extended to indicate presence of the compact item header structure, wherein the compact item header structure comprises properties describing the one or more media items (¶¶ [00653]-[00654]); and processing the one or more media items based on the compact item header structure (¶¶ [00653]-[00654]).
Regarding claim 8, Nakazawa in view of Denoual and Zhao disclose the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform: reading, parsing or obtaining the indication of presence of the reduced header from a FileTypeBox (¶ [0722]).
Regarding claims 9-12, see discussion of claims 1-4 above for the same reason of rejection.
Regarding claims 13-16, see discussion of claims 5-8 above for the same reason of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUANKHANH D PHAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2154