DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 37, 38 an 57-60 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 22, 2026.
Claims 1, 5, 15-23 and 54-56 are examined on the merits.
Double Patenting
US 12048768 B2
Claims 1, 5, 15-21, 54-56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12048768 B2.
The present claim 54 is directed to a gastro-resistant, controlled release dosage form, comprising:
about 19 to about 29% w/w 1H-isoindol-1-one, 2-[[1-[2-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-oxoethyl]-4-piperidinyl]methyl]-2,3-dihydro-, hydrochloride, hydrate (1:1:2) (roluperidone hydrochloride);
about 4 to about 14% w/w of a first hypromellose;
about 17 to about 27% w/w of a second hypromellose;
about 19 to about 29% w/w of a first filler;
about 8 to about 18% w/w of a second filler;
about 0.1 to about 4% w/w of a glidant;
about 0.1 to about 4% of a lubricant;
about 1 to about 10% w/w of a polymeric controlled release agent; and
about 0.5 to about 5% w/w of an anti-tacking agent.
The reference claim 1 discloses a gastro-resistant, controlled release dosage form comprising:
about 7 to about 17% w/w 1H-isoindol-1-one, 2-[[1-[2-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-oxoethyl]-4-piperidinyl]methyl]-2,3-dihydro-, hydrochloride, hydrate (1:1:2) (roluperidone hydrochloride);
about 4 to about 14% w/w of a sustained release usage grade hypromellose;
about 17 to about 27% w/w of a controlled-release grade hypromellose,;
about 25 to about 35% w/w microcrystalline cellulose, which meets the first filler;
about 13 to about 23% w/w lactose monohydrate, which meets the second filler;
about 0.1 to about 4% w/w silica colloidal anhydrous, which is a glidant;
about 0.1 to about 4% magnesium stearate, which is a lubricant;
about 1 to about 10% w/w methacrylic acid and ethyl acrylate copolymer dispersion, which is a enteric release agent; and
about 0.5 to about 5% w/w of an anti-tacking agent.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims teach a controlled release dosage form comprising the same active ingredient and excipients in overlapping amounts. See the present claims 54-56.
Claim 1 is directed to a gastro-resistant, controlled release dosage form comprising:
i. about 4 mg to about 100 mg of Compound (I), or an equivalent amount of a pharmaceutically acceptable salt and/or solvate thereof; and
ii. at least one controlled release agent;
wherein the dosage form is a tablet comprising a core and an enteric coating.
The reference claim 1 discloses a gastro-resistant, controlled release dosage form, comprising:
about 19 to about 29% w/w 1H-isoindol-1-one, 2-[[1-[2-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-oxoethyl]-4-piperidinyl]methyl]-2,3-dihydro-, hydrochloride, hydrate (1:1:2) (roluperidone hydrochloride), which is the salt of Compound (I);
about 4 to about 14% w/w of a low-viscosity, controlled-release grade hypromellose, that is about 19 to about 24% methoxy, about 7 to about 12% hydroxypropoxy, and wherein the hypromellose has a viscosity of about 80 to about 120 mPa·s at 2% concentration in water at 20° C., which meets the at east one controlled release agent;
about 1 to about 10% w/w methacrylic acid and ethyl acrylate copolymer dispersion, which is an entering agent.
The term “controlled release dosage form” in the reference claim is defined to include a tablet which comprises a core tablet and an enteric coating.
Although the reference claims do not disclose the specific mass of the active ingredient, the term “controlled release dosage form” is also defined to include an embodiment comprising Compound (I), wherein the amount of Compound (I) is 4 mg to 8 mg, 8 mg to 16 mg, 16mg to 32mg, 32mg to 40 mg, 40mg to 64mg, 64 mg to 80mg, or 80-mg to 100mg. See Table 1 also defines a controlled release tablet comprising 12.09 % w/w of the Compound (I) to contain 38.40 mg of the compound per tablet.
Thus, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims teach a controlled release dosage form comprising the same active ingredient and excipients in overlapping amounts. See the present claims 1 and 5.
Regarding claims 15-18, 20, 21 the gastro-resistant, controlled release dosage form of the disclosed claim 1 is also defined to include a core tablet comprising Compound (I), a controlled release agent (hypromellose), a filler (microcrystalline cellulose, etc), a glidant (silica colloidal anhydrous) and a lubricant (magnesium stearate). See Table 2; the reference claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the reference claim 1 also discloses that a gastro-resistant controlled release dosage form comprising Compound (I) has a mixture of
(i)about 4 to about 14% w/w of a controlled-release grade hypromellose, that is about 22 to about 24% methoxy, about 8 to about 10.5% hydroxypropoxy, and wherein the hypromellose has a viscosity of about 80-120 mPa·s at 2% concentration in water at 20° C.;
about 17 to about 27% w/w of a controlled-release grade hypromellose, that is about 19 to about 24% methoxy, about 7 to about 12% hydroxypropoxy, and wherein the hypromellose has a viscosity of about 80,000 to about 120,000 mPa·s at 2% concentration in water at 20° C.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No. 12048768 as applied to claims 1, 5, 15-21 and 54-56 above, and as evidenced by Evonik Operations (“Functional excipients to take control of your release profile”, Evonik Operations GMBH, May 2024) (“Evonik I” hereunder).
Regarding claim 22, the reference claim 1 discloses methacrylic acid and ethyl acrylate copolymer dispersion and an anti-caking agent. The “methacrylic acid and ethyl acrylate copolymer dispersion” is defined as Eudragit L30D55. See Table 2. Evonik I teaches that Eudragit L30D55, is inherently soluble above pH 5.5.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No. 12048768 as applied to claims 1, 5, 15-21 and 54-56 above, and further in view of Evonik Industries (Eudragit L30 D-55, Technical Information-Quickstart, Evonik Industries AG, December 2011) (“Evonik II” hereunder).
Regarding claim 23, although the reference claims do not specifically disclose a plasticizer, Evonik II teaches that Eudragit L30D55 is used as enteric coating and used with a plasticizer and an anti-tacking agent. See Evonik II, p. 1, Formulation. The reference goes on to teach examples of how to apply the film coating on tablets or particles. See p. 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to use the enteric coating polymer with a plasticizer as motivated by Evonik II with a reasonable expectation to increase plasticity of the film.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/GINA C JUSTICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617