October 29, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see the RCE, filed 10/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-2 and 4-21 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of already cited and newly found prior art.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/08/2026. These drawings are approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbovszky et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,341,818 B1) in view of Pouch (U.S. Patent No.5,079,790) or Davidson, Jr. (US Patent No. 5,160,785).
Verbovszky et al. teach the structure substantially including
a support body (see annotated Fig. 1 above);
and at least one buffer portion 10, provided within the support body but does not teach that the buffer portion comprises a plurality of buffer blocks provided adjacent to each other.
However, Pouch and Davidson, Jr. teaches a padding body that could be used as or to make a buffer portion;
wherein the buffer portion comprises a plurality of buffer blocks 22 provided adjacent to each other;
wherein at least one first slit 35 or 37 is provided on a support surface of the buffer portion, the first slit divides the buffer portion into the plurality of the buffer blocks 22, and the plurality of the buffer blocks 22 are connected to each other at at least one position of the buffer portion other than the support surface,
wherein at least one second slit 35 or 37 is provided on the support surface, and the second slit intersects the first slit 35 or 37. While Davidson, Jr does not teach that the first slit extends in an oblique direction of the support surface relative to sides of the buffer portion, and the second slit extends in another oblique direction of the support surface relative to sides of the buffer portion the direction of the slits in opposite oblique directions is nothing more than a design choice that lacks patentable weight, especially since the method for forming the padding body of Davidson, Jr. can take any form conventional in the art such as anyone or a combination of methods such as hot wire cutting, molding, and programmable contour cutting with the latter being the preferred method. The oblique directions of the slits can be achieved by simply rotating the piece of material used to make the padded body and using the wire cutting or the programmable contour cutting method so that the slits extend in an oblique direction. In the event that the padded body is made from a molding process, the mold and the parts of the mold that forms the slits can be set in a specific direction or orientation inside the mold so that the slits extend in a specific, in this case, oblique direction. It would be obvious for the cushion of Pouch to be formed using the same methods as Davidson, Jr. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art for the buffer potion, as taught by Verbovszky et al., comprise a plurality of buffer blocks, as taught by Pouch or Davidson, Jr., since the buffer blocks would result in reduction in surface tension so as to avoid a shearing effect on the user of the padding body; the buffer blocks would also result in the minimization in body surface contact while, at the same time, providing sufficient support; the creation of a therapeutic cradling effect between compressed and non-compressed modules while maintaining the shearing effect to a minimum and providing sufficient support; maintaining an independent suspension among the modules of the padding for enhanced load bearing while allowing for load shifts and an ensurance of sufficient structural integrity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: While KAWANO (CN 113492739 A) teaches a structure nearly identical in structure to the present invention, KAWANO teaches against the buffer blocks being connected to each other along the top surface, the bottom surface, and the side surface and it would not be obvious to modify the buffer structure of KAWANO (CN 113492739 A) to be connected to each other along the top surface, the bottom surface, and the side surface as taught by Pouch (U.S. Patent No.5,079,790) and Davidson, Jr. (US Patent No. 5,160,785). Just as KAWANO (CN 113492739 A) teaches against the buffer blocks being connected to each other along the top surface, the bottom surface, and the side surface, Pouch (U.S. Patent No.5,079,790) and Davidson, Jr. (US Patent No. 5,160,785) teach buffer blocks that are connected to each other along the top surface, the bottom surface, and the side surface but teach against having at least one first slit penetrating from the support surface of the buffer portion to the back surface of the buffer portion and it would not be obvious to modify the cushions or padded body or Pouch and Davidson, Jr. to include a slit penetrating from the support surface of the buffer portion to the back surface as taught by KAWANO (CN 113492739 A).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636