DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to a restriction requirement that was mailed March 2, 2026. An election was made without traverse, April 30, 2026, electing examination of group I, consisting of claims 1-3. Group II, consisting of claims 4-8 was NOT elected, and have been cancelled. Claims 9-21 have been newly added to Group I. Claims 1-3 and 9-21 are now pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chakravarthy et al. (US 2018/0129648 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Chakravarthy discloses a method of interacting with a student via an automated assistant (Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, via an interface of an email system, a query from the student, the query being in a first form compatible with the email system ([0054], user uses text messaging or client side application to compose a query);
providing, via the interface of the email system, a response to the query, the response being in the first form ([0058], automated assistant receives query and generate a response to user’s query);
automatically transforming the response in the first form to a second form compatible with a chat system ([0072], automated assistant can service user queries using chatbot from a messaging platform); and
transmitting, via the chat system, the response to the student in the second form ([0072], automated assistant can service user queries using chatbot from a messaging platform; response to message queries are returned in a chatbot format).
With respect to claim 2, Chakravarthy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein providing the response to the query further comprises:
generating, via a processor, a plurality of possible responses to the query from the student using natural language processing ([0040]);
receiving, via the email system, the plurality of possible responses to the query from the student from the processor ([0040]); and
selecting receiving, via the interface of the email system, a selection by an administrator of the response from among the plurality of possible responses ([0040]).
With respect to claim 3, Chakravarthy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein automatically transforming the response in the first form comprises:
generating a mailto link addressed to the chat system ([0041]); and
presenting the mailto link to an administrator for responding to the query from the student ([0041]).
With respect to claim 14, Chakravarthy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the query from the student relates to financial aid ([0036]).
With respect to claim 15, Chakravarthy discloses the method of claim 2, wherein providing the response to the query further comprises:
assigning a confidence value to each response in the plurality of possible responses to the query ([0061]),
wherein selecting, via the interface of the email system, the response from among the plurality of possible responses is based on the confidence values ([0061]).
With respect to claim 16, Chakravarthy discloses the method of claim 2, wherein providing the response to the query further comprises:
receiving, from the administrator, a revision to the response ([0065]).
With respect to claim 17, Chakravarthy discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
updating the natural language processing executed by the processor based on the revision to the response ([0065]).
With respect to claim 18, Chakravarthy discloses the method of claim 16, wherein providing the response to the query further comprises:
adding, by the administrator, the query from the student and the response to a knowledge base ([0061]).
With respect to claim 19, Chakravarthy discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
providing a log of interactions between the chat student and the student to the administrator ([0066]).
With respect to claim 20, Chakravarthy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the query from the student arrives via short message service (SMS) ([0029]).
With respect to claim 21, Chakravarthy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the query from the student arrives via a social media account ([0035]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ESTHER B. HENDERSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458 July 10, 2026