DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following grammatical informality: “a liquid circulate between” should be corrected to “a liquid circulates between” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following minor inconsistency: “discharge head” rather than “liquid discharge head” (as defined in Claim 1, on which Claim 14 is dependent). In an effort to advance prosecution of the application the examiner is interpreting “the discharge head” as referring to the “liquid discharge head” claimed in Claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 14, & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP 2019163429 A) in view of Santon (US 5527121 A).
With respect to Claim 1, Kobayashi teaches an ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) for discharging an ink from a liquid discharge head (i.e., “liquid discharge head 404”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶7; p. 10, ¶10-11 to p.11, ¶1; Fig. 13, element “404”), wherein
the ink contains titanium oxide (i.e., "white ink, the titanium oxide particles used as a pigment"; Kobayashi: p.6; ¶8) having a precipitation velocity of 1.0 × 10-11 m/s or more based on a Stokes equation in the ink (i.e., “sedimentation velocity” aka “sedimentation rate” in Criteria B: 2E-6 to 2.5E-6 m/s; Kobayashi: p.12-13, “Evaluation” highlighted sections). Note that precipitation velocity is defined by the applicant (in specification ¶0036) as: “The precipitation velocity based on the Stokes equation means the velocity when the power of resistance and buoyancy exerting upward forces on a particle are balanced with the gravity exerting a downward force on the particle so that the particle moves at a constant velocity”. Sedimentation velocity, which is the velocity when the power of resistance and buoyancy exerting upward forces on a particle are balanced with the gravity exerting a downward force on the particle so that the particle moves at a constant velocity, is a synonym for the applicant’s term “precipitation velocity”.
the liquid discharge head (i.e., “liquid discharge head 404”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶7; p. 10, ¶10-11 to p.11, ¶1; Fig. 13, element “404”) comprises:
a discharge port for discharging the ink (i.e., “nozzle 4”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶9-11 - p.7, ¶ 1-2; Fig. 2-3, element “4”);
a pressure chamber (i.e., i.e., “individual liquid chamber 6”; Kobayashi: p.10, ¶4, highlighted; Fig. 2-3, element “6”) for supplying the ink to the discharge port (i.e., “nozzle 4”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶9-11 - p.7, ¶1-2; Fig. 2-3, element “4”);
an energy-generating element for generating energy for discharging the ink (i.e., “piezoelectric member 12”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶11; p.9, ¶1; Fig. 3, element “12”);
an upstream flow channel (i.e., “liquid introduction portion 8”; Kobayashi: p.10, ¶4; Fig. 2-3, element “8”) for supplying a liquid to the pressure chamber (i.e., “individual liquid chamber 6”; Kobayashi: p.10, ¶4, highlighted; Fig. 2-3, element “6”);
a downstream flow channel (i.e., “circulation channel 53”; Kobayashi: p.7, ¶7; Fig. 2 & 5C, element “53”) communicating with the pressure chamber (i.e., “individual liquid chamber 6”; Kobayashi: p.10, ¶4, highlighted; Fig. 2-3, element “6”); and
a pump (i.e., “liquid feed pump”; Kobayashi: p.9, ¶10-11; p.10, ¶1; see annotated Kobayashi Fig. 7, with English-translation from Google Translate) communicating with the upstream flow channel and the downstream flow channel and forming a circulation path in which the ink circulates in an order of the upstream flow channel, the pressure chamber (i.e., “individual liquid chamber 6”; Kobayashi: p.10, ¶4, highlighted; Fig. 2-3, element “6”), the downstream flow channel, and the upstream flow channel,
the liquid discharge head (i.e., “liquid discharge head 404”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶7; p. 10, ¶10-11 to p.11, ¶1; Fig. 13, element “404”) is configured so as to perform reciprocal scan (i.e., bidirectional movement of liquid discharge head “404” shown in Fig. 13; Kobayashi: p. 10, ¶10-11 to p.11, ¶1; Fig. 13, element “404”), and
Kobayashi is silent on a scanning velocity in a region where the liquid discharge head scans at a constant velocity is higher than the precipitation velocity.
Santon teaches a scanning velocity in a region where the liquid discharge head (i.e., “printhead”; Santon: col. 2, l. 65-67-col. 3, ¶1) scans at a constant velocity (i.e., the maximum velocity of the printer carriage “Vmax” is 35 in/s; Santon: col. 7, ¶2 and Table 1) is higher than the precipitation velocity. The printer carriage speed 35 in/s (i.e., 0.889 m/s) is higher than the precipitation velocity taught by Kobayashi of 2E-6 to 2.5E-6 m/s (Kobayashi: p.12-13, “Evaluation” highlighted sections).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the printer to scan at its maximum velocity because this increases the speed of production of printed products.
With respect to Claim 2, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 1, wherein the liquid discharge head reciprocally scans (i.e., bidirectional movement of liquid discharge head “404” shown in Fig. 13; Kobayashi: p. 10, ¶10-11 to p.11, ¶1; Fig. 13, element “404”).
Kobayashi is silent on such that an acceleration/deceleration rate during acceleration and deceleration in the reciprocal scan is greater than gravity acceleration.
Santon teaches such that an acceleration/deceleration rate during acceleration and deceleration (i.e., 480 in/s2 = 12.2 m/s2; Santon: col. 7, ¶2) in the reciprocal scan (i.e., “reciprocating printhead carriage passes”; Santon: col. 2, l. 65-67-col. 3, ¶1) is greater than gravity acceleration (i.e., a known constant of 9.81 m/s2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the printer to scan at its maximum acceleration/deceleration rate because this increases the rate at which the printer can start production of printed products.
With respect to Claim 3, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 1, wherein the ink is a white ink (Kobayashi: p.6; ¶8).
With respect to Claim 5, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 1, wherein a volume of the ink flowing in the circulation path is 5 mL or more and 30 mL or less (Kobayashi: p.10, ¶6-7). Kobayashi teaches the ink flow rate (i.e., the volume per time) in the circulation path is “desirably 60 nl/min to 120 nl/min” (i.e., 1E-6 mL per second to 2E-6 mL per second). Adjusting the volume of ink flowing in the circulation path is one of the variables that could be used to achieve this desirable flow rate (i.e., volume per time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the volume of ink flowing in the circulation path (thereby optimizing the flow rate in the circulation path), because this optimizing the circulation process which keeps the ink properly mixed and decreases the risk of nozzle clogging and increases print quality. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a volume of the ink flowing in the circulation path is 5 mL or more and 30 mL or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
With respect to Claim 14, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 1, wherein a liquid storage portion (i.e., “supply tank”; Kobayashi: p. 10, ¶4) is connected to the discharge head (i.e., “liquid discharge head 404”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶7; p. 10, ¶10-11 to p.11, ¶1; Fig. 13, element “404”) through a tube that is configured so as to supply the ink to the discharge head (Kobayashi: p. 10, ¶4).
With respect to Claim 16, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 1, wherein a concentration of titanium oxide in the ink is 5.00 mass% or more and 20.00 mass% or less (i.e., 1-10 mass%, inclusively; Kobayashi: Abstract, highlighted section). Kobayashi teaches a mass% which overlaps with the claimed mass%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the concentration of titanium oxide in the ink as this variable impacts the pigmentation (i.e., white color) of the ink. Using a higher mass% in the range taught in Kobayashi would increase the pigmentation of the ink, which beneficial would provide a more vibrant white in printed products. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a concentration of titanium oxide in the ink is 5.00 mass% or more and 20.00 mass% or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
With respect to Claim 17, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 1, wherein the liquid discharge head (i.e., “liquid discharge head 404”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶7; p. 10, ¶10-11 to p.11, ¶1; Fig. 13, element “404”) is configured so as to reciprocally scan in a direction orthogonal to a conveying direction of a print medium to which the ink is applied (i.e., bidirectional movement of liquid discharge head “404” shown in Fig. 13; Kobayashi: p. 10, ¶10-11 to p.11, ¶1; Fig. 13, element “404”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP 2019163429 A) in view of Santon (US 5527121 A) further in view of Okuda et al. (US 201900613821 A1; herein referred to as “Okuda”).
With respect to Claim 4, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 3. Kobayashi also teaches wherein at least one of a color ink not containing titanium oxide or containing titanium oxide at a lower concentration than that of the white ink (i.e., “cyan”; Kobayashi: p.12, ¶2) and a reaction liquid (i.e., “pretreatment liquid” or “posttreatment liquid”) is discharged from the liquid discharge head (i.e., “liquid discharge head 404”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶7; p. 10, ¶10-11 to p.11, ¶1; Fig. 13, element “404”).
Kobayashi in view of Santon is silent on wherein the scanning velocity of the liquid discharge head when discharging the white ink is slower than the scanning velocity of the liquid discharge head when discharging the color ink or the reaction liquid.
Okuda teaches wherein the scanning velocity of the liquid discharge head (i.e., “ink jet head”; Okuda: ¶0008) when discharging the white ink (Okuda: ¶0171-0172) is slower than the scanning velocity of the liquid discharge head (i.e., “ink jet head”; Okuda: ¶0008) when discharging the color ink (Okuda: ¶0192-0193) or the reaction liquid (Okuda: ¶0171-0172).
Okuda teaches a method (Okuda: ¶0008) where the liquid discharge head discharges a reaction liquid (i.e., “a treatment solution for coagulating a component of an ink composition to a recording medium”; Okuda: ¶0008), followed by a white ink, followed by a non-white ink and describes intervals of time required between each step (Okuda: ¶0171-0172 & ¶0192-0193). These intervals of time are associated with scanning velocity (i.e., the “moving speed of the carriage”; Okuda: ¶0171-0172 & ¶0192-0193) as will be discussed below:
Okuda teaches that before the white-adhering step (i.e., the step between discharging the reaction liquid and the white ink) allowing an interval up to 10 seconds prior to the next step is most preferable (Okuda: ¶0171). Okuda teaches that this “time interval can be adjusted by, for example, adjusting a moving speed of the carriage having the ink jet head mounted therein or a waiting time of the carriage because the white-ink adhering step is performed by the ink jet method” (emphasis added; Okuda: ¶0172).
Okuda also teaches that before the non-white-ink adhering step (i.e., the step between discharging the white ink and the non-white ink), an interval up to 30 seconds prior to the next step is most preferable (Okuda: ¶0193). Okuda teaches that this “time interval can be adjusted by, for example, adjusting a moving speed of the carriage having the ink jet head mounted therein or a waiting time of the carriage because the white-ink adhering step is performed by the ink jet method” (emphasis added; Okuda: ¶0193).
As taught by Okuda, the time interval required between applying a non-white after applying a white ink is most preferably longer than the time required to apply the white ink after applying a reaction liquid (i.e., the white ink scanning time can take longer so as to provide more drying time between its application and the subsequent application of non-white ink which will occur afterwards). To achieve this, the scanning velocity of the liquid discharge head when discharging the white ink can be made to be slower so as to provide this longer interval of time. The scanning of the liquid discharge head when discharging the reaction liquid is not required to be as slow given it requires a shorter drying time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the scanning velocities of the liquid discharge head so as to increase the speed of production of printed products while still maintaining optimal print quality by optimizing drying times (i.e., intervals of time between the discharging of a reaction liquid, a white ink, and a non-white ink) by customizing the scanning velocities for individual steps (e.g., discharging reaction liquid or discharging white ink). As taught by Okuda the “time interval can be adjusted by, for example, adjusting a moving speed of the carriage having the ink jet head mounted therein” (emphasis added; Okuda: ¶0193). It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (in re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Claims 6-9, 11, 13 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP 2019163429 A) in view of Santon (US 5527121 A) and further in view of Yamada & Nakamura (US 20210394525 A1; herein referred to as “Yamada”).
With respect to Claim 6, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 1 and the liquid discharge head (i.e., “liquid discharge head 404”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶7; p. 10, ¶10-11 to p.11, ¶1; Fig. 13, element “404”).
Kobayashi is silent on wherein the liquid discharge head further comprises a first pressure regulation device configured so as to adjust a pressure of a liquid in the upstream flow channel.
Yamada teaches wherein the liquid discharge head (i.e., “printing head 1” which includes “circulation unit 200”; Yamada: ¶0032; Fig. 2-3, elements “1” and “202”) further comprises a first pressure regulation device (i.e., “pressure control unit 202” within “circulation unit 200”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “202”) configured so as to adjust a pressure of a liquid in the upstream flow channel (i.e., “upstream channel 11c”; Yamada: ¶0034-0036 & ¶0039; Fig. 2-3, element “11c”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yamada into the device of Kobayashi as modified by Santon for the purpose of stabilizing the pressure and flow rate within the circulation path.
With respect to Claim 7, Kobayashi in view of Santon further in view of Yamada teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 6 and the first pressure regulation device (i.e., “pressure control unit 202” within “circulation unit 200”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “202”).
Kobayashi is silent on wherein the first pressure regulation device comprises
a first valve chamber,
a first pressure control chamber,
a first opening communicating between the first valve chamber and the first pressure control chamber, and
a first valve configured so as to be able to open and close the first opening.
Yamada teaches wherein the first pressure regulation device (i.e., “pressure control unit 202” within “circulation unit 200”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “202”) comprises
a first valve chamber (i.e., “supply chamber 2025”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2025”),
a first pressure control chamber (i.e., “negative pressure chamber 2026”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2026”),
a first opening (i.e., the opening between “2025” and “2026”, wherein “valve 2027” is located; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, elements “2025”-“2027”) communicating between the first valve chamber (i.e., “supply chamber 2025”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2025”) and the first pressure control chamber (i.e., “negative pressure chamber 2026”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2026”), and
a first valve (i.e., “valve 2027”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2027”) configured so as to be able to open and close the first opening (i.e., the opening between “2025” and “2026”, wherein “valve 2027” is located; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, elements “2025”-“2027”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yamada into the device of Kobayashi as modified by Santon for the purpose of stabilizing the pressure and flow rate within the circulation path.
With respect to Claim 8, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 7, including the first pressure control chamber (i.e., “negative pressure chamber 2026”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2026”) and the first valve (i.e., “valve 2027”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2027”).
Kobayashi is silent on wherein the first pressure control chamber comprises
a first pressing plate
that has a portion of its surface formed of a first flexible member configured to be displaceable and
can be displaced in conjunction with the first flexible member and
a first biasing member
that energizes the first pressing plate in a direction in which the volume of the first pressure control chamber (i.e., “negative pressure chamber 2026”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2026”) is increased, and
is configured such that the first valve (i.e., “valve 2027”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2027”) can be opened and closed in response to displacement of the first pressing plate and the first flexible member.
Yamada teaches wherein the first pressure control chamber (i.e., “negative pressure chamber 2026”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2026”) comprises
a first pressing plate (i.e., “pressure reception plate 2022”; Yamada: ¶0035; Fig. 2-3, element “2022”) that has a portion of its surface formed of a first flexible member configured to be displaceable (i.e., “flexible film 2023”; Yamada: ¶0035; Fig. 2-3, elements “2023” & “2022”) and
can be displaced in conjunction with the first flexible member (i.e., “flexible film 2023”; Yamada: ¶0035; Fig. 2-3, elements “2023” & “2022”) and
a first biasing member (i.e., “biasing member 2021”; Yamada: ¶0035; Fig. 2-3, element “2021”) that energizes the first pressing plate (i.e., “pressure reception plate 2022”; Yamada: ¶0035; Fig. 2-3, element “2022”) in a direction in which the volume of the first pressure control chamber (i.e., “negative pressure chamber 2026”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2026”) is increased (Yamada: ¶0034-0035; Fig. 2-3, elements “2021”, “2022”, & “2026”), and
is configured such that the first valve (i.e., “valve 2027”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2027”) can be opened and closed in response to displacement of the first pressing plate (i.e., “pressure reception plate 2022”; Yamada: ¶0035; Fig. 2-3, element “2022”) and the first flexible member (i.e., “flexible film 2023”; Yamada: ¶0035; Fig. 2-3, elements “2023” & “2022”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yamada into the device of Kobayashi as modified by Santon for the purpose of stabilizing the pressure and flow rate within the circulation path.
With respect to Claim 9, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 1.
Kobayashi is silent on wherein the liquid discharge head further comprises a second pressure regulation device configured so as to adjust a pressure of a liquid in the downstream flow channel.
Yamada teaches wherein the liquid discharge head further comprises a second pressure regulation device (i.e., “supply flow channel 105a” which can regulate the pressure of the liquid as it moves into the downstream channel “11d”; Yamada: ¶0039; Fig. 2, elements “105a” and “11d”) configured so as to adjust a pressure of a liquid in the downstream flow channel (i.e., “flow channel 11d”; Yamada: ¶0039; Fig. 2, element “11d”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yamada into the device of Kobayashi as modified by Santon for the purpose of stabilizing the pressure and flow rate within the circulation path.
With respect to Claim 11, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 7, including the first pressure control chamber (i.e., “negative pressure chamber 2026”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2026”).
Kobayashi is silent on wherein a first communication port thorough which the first pressure control chamber communicates with the upstream flow channel is arranged vertically below the first pressure control chamber.
Yamada teaches wherein a first communication port thorough which the first pressure control chamber (i.e., “negative pressure chamber 2026”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2026”) communicates with the upstream flow channel (i.e., “upstream channel 11c”; Yamada: ¶0034-0036 & ¶0039; Fig. 2-3, element “11c”) is arranged vertically below the first pressure control chamber (i.e., “negative pressure chamber 2026”; Yamada: ¶0034; Fig. 2-3, element “2026”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yamada into the device of Kobayashi as modified by Santon for the purpose of stabilizing the pressure and flow rate within the circulation path.
With respect to Claim 13, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 1, wherein
the liquid discharge head (i.e., “liquid discharge head 404”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶7; p. 10, ¶10-11 to p.11, ¶1; Fig. 13, element “404”) comprises:
a discharge unit including an element substrate including the discharge port (i.e., “nozzle 4”; Kobayashi: p.6, ¶9-11 - p.7, ¶ 1-2; Fig. 2-3, element “4”) and the pressure chamber (i.e., “individual liquid chamber 6”; Kobayashi: p.10, ¶4, highlighted; Fig. 2-3, element “6”); and
a circulation unit including the pump (i.e., “liquid feed pump”; Kobayashi: p.9, ¶10-11; p.10, ¶1; see annotated Kobayashi Fig. 7, with English-translation from Google Translate), configured such that a liquid circulates between the discharge unit (i.e., “nozzle 4” and i.e., “individual liquid chamber 6”; Kobayashi: p.10, ¶4; Fig. 2-3, elements “4” and “6”; see annotated Kobayashi Fig. 7, with English-translation from Google Translate) and the circulation unit (i.e., “liquid feed pump”; Kobayashi: p.9, ¶10-11; p.10, ¶1; see annotated Kobayashi Fig. 7, with English-translation from Google Translate),
a flow channel (i.e., the downstream flow channel shown below in annotated Kobayashi Fig. 7, with English-translation from Google Translate) in the discharge unit (i.e., “nozzle 4” and “individual liquid chamber 6”; Kobayashi: p.10, ¶4; Fig. 2-3, elements “4” & “6”) fluid-connected to the circulation unit (i.e., “liquid feed pump”; Kobayashi: p.9, ¶10-11; p.10, ¶1; see annotated Kobayashi Fig. 7, with English-translation from Google Translate).
Kobayashi is silent on wherein in a portion where the discharge unit and the circulation unit are in fluid contact, a wall of a flow channel in the discharge unit fluid-connected to the circulation unit is perpendicular or oblique to a vertical direction.
Yamada teaches wherein in a portion where the discharge unit (i.e., “liquid discharge head 10” which contains “ejection ports 103”; Yamada: ¶; Fig. 2, elements “10” & “103”) and the circulation unit (i.e., “pump 203” and circulation path in annotated Yamada Fig. 2 below) are in fluid contact, a wall of a flow channel in the discharge unit fluid-connected to the circulation unit is perpendicular or oblique to a vertical direction (i.e., the wall of the flow channel “11d” is perpendicular to a vertical direction; Yamada: Fig. 2, elements flow channel “11d”, discharge ports “103”, and pump “203”). As shown in annotated Yamada Fig. 2 below, the multiple discharge ports (i.e., “ejection ports 103”; Yamada: ¶; Fig. 2, element “103”) within the discharge unit (i.e., “liquid discharge head 10” which contains “ejection ports 103”; Yamada: ¶; Fig. 2, elements “10” & “103”) are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the vertical direction. In order for the liquid to be recirculated, the flow channel “11d” must travel in this perpendicular direction to collect and transport the liquid from all these discharge ports back into the circulation unit (i.e., “pump 203” and circulation path in annotated Yamada Fig. 2 below). Therefore, the walls of this flow channel will be perpendicular in the section where the ink flow is moving between the various discharge ports arranged in the perpendicular direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yamada into the device of Kobayashi as modified by Santon by incorporating walls around the downstream flow channel and orienting them so that they could capture liquid from multiple discharge ports to be recirculated via the circulation path. This modification enables more ink to be ejected by the liquid discharge head by having multiple ejection ports and decreases the likelihood for port clogging by recirculated the ink within each discharge port. The modification of adding walls around this flow channel enables the flow to be controlled/directed within the liquid discharge head.
With respect to Claim 15, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 1.
Kobayashi is silent on wherein the pump is a piezoelectric pump.
Yamada teaches wherein the pump is a piezoelectric pump (i.e., the “head circulation pump 203” is a “piezoelectric type diaphragm pump”; Yamada: ¶0046; Fig. 2-3, element “203”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yamada into the device of Kobayashi as modified by Santon for the purpose of stabilizing the pressure and flow rate within the circulation path.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 & 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following are statements of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for each claim:
With respect to Claim 10, Kobayashi in view of Santon teaches the ink jet printing method (Kobayashi: p. 1, technical field paragraph) according to Claim 9.
Yamada teaches wherein the second pressure regulation device comprises a second pressure control chamber.
However, Kobayashi in combination with the other prior art of record does not reasonably teach or suggest the feature of the ink jet printing method according to Claim 9, wherein the second pressure regulation device comprises
a second valve chamber,
a second opening communicating between the second valve chamber and the second pressure control chamber, and
a second valve configured so as to be able to open and close the second opening.
It is these limitations, expressed in the claimed combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
With respect to Claim 12, which is dependent on Claim 10, a claim which would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/SHLOMIT CHELST/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853