Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollins (US 6,591,627) in view of Kil et al (US 11,204,180).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Rollins discloses an air conditioner unit defining a vertical, a lateral, and a transverse direction, the air conditioner unit comprising:
a bulkhead (bulkhead shown in figure 2 behind indoor fan 43) mounted within a cabinet to define an indoor portion and an outdoor portion;
an indoor heat exchanger (38) positioned within the indoor portion;
an outdoor heat exchanger (36) positioned within the outdoor portion, the outdoor heat exchanger comprising an outdoor coil and a plurality of heat exchange fins (54) thermally coupled to the outdoor coil, wherein an exposed portion of the outdoor coil is not covered by the plurality of heat exchange fins (coil 60 is outside of fins 54 as there is a notched clearance); and
a condensate collection pan (45) positioned under the indoor heat exchanger for collecting condensate, wherein the condensate is directed onto the exposed portion of the outdoor coil.
Further regarding the bulkhead. Kil discloses a vertically arranged air conditioner including a bulkhead (100) mounted within a cabinet to define an indoor and an outdoor portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Rollins with the vertical arrangement and bulkhead of Kil in order to provide a compact air conditioner that does not obstruct a window providing poor aesthetic (1:39-42).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Rollins and Kil disclose the indoor heat exchanger is positioned at least partially above the outdoor heat exchanger along the vertical direction and the condensate is gravity-fed onto the exposed portion of the outdoor coil (Kil provides the vertical arrangement as discussed at claim 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Rollins and Kil disclose the condensate collection pan is defined by the bulkhead (as modified by Kil in claim 1, the unit is in a vertical arrangement and the condensate collection pan is defined at the bulkhead).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Rollins and Kil disclose the condensate collection pan defines at least one drain hole for discharging the condensate (Kil provides drain hole 55).
Regarding claim 6, Rollins discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 1, but lacks a pump. The examiner takes official notice that condensate pumps are old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Rollins with a condensate pump in order to expedite the flow of condensate.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Rollins discloses the exposed portion of the outdoor coil is a U-bend (68 and 64) defined on both sides of the outdoor heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 8, Rollins discloses the exposed portion is defined on both sides of outdoor heat exchanger (64 and 68 are part of the exposed portion 60 and are at both sides of the heat exchanger).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Rollins discloses the plurality of heat exchange fins (54) is embodied as a fin pack, the outdoor heat exchanger further comprising: a pack mounting bracket (48) positioned on a side of the fin pack, wherein the exposed portion of the outdoor coil passes through the pack mounting bracket (64 passes through bracket 48 as shown in figure 9).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Rollins discloses an outdoor fan (42), wherein the outdoor fan is positioned over the heat exchanger fins (54) and does not direct a flow of air over the exposed portion of the outdoor coil.
Regarding claim 11, Rollins discloses a base pan (44) positioned under the outdoor heat exchanger, wherein the condensate drips off outdoor coil and collects in base pan.
Regarding claim 12, Rollins and Kil disclose the air conditioner unit is a single package vertical unit, a vertical terminal air conditioner unit, or a packaged terminal air conditioner unit (as modified in view of Kil the unit is packaged vertical unit).
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breen (US 7,854,141) in view of Kil et al (US 11,204,180).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Breen discloses an air conditioner unit defining a vertical, a lateral, and a transverse direction, the air conditioner unit comprising:
a bulkhead (bulkhead shown in figure 2 dividing indoor and outdoor portions) mounted within a cabinet to define an indoor portion and an outdoor portion;
an indoor heat exchanger (24) positioned within the indoor portion;
an outdoor heat exchanger (28) positioned within the outdoor portion, the outdoor heat exchanger comprising an outdoor coil and a plurality of heat exchange fins (represented in figure 2, 28 is a finned heat exchanger) thermally coupled to the outdoor coil, wherein an exposed portion of the outdoor coil is not covered by the plurality of heat exchange fins (coil 100 is outside of finned portion of 28); and
a condensate collection pan (90) positioned under the indoor heat exchanger for collecting condensate, wherein the condensate is directed onto the exposed portion of the outdoor coil.
Further regarding the fins, to the extent that applicant disagrees that the presentation of Figure 2 includes fins, Kil is provided. Kil discloses a vertically arranged air conditioner including a bulkhead (100) and fins at the condenser mounted within a cabinet to define an indoor and an outdoor portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Breen with the fins, vertical arrangement, and bulkhead of Kil in order to provide a compact air conditioner that does not obstruct a window providing poor aesthetic (1:39-42) and improves heat exchange with extended surface area (fins).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Breen and Kil disclose the indoor heat exchanger is positioned at least partially above the outdoor heat exchanger along the vertical direction and the condensate is gravity-fed onto the exposed portion of the outdoor coil (Kil provides the vertical arrangement as discussed at claim 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Breen and Kil disclose the condensate collection pan is defined by the bulkhead (as modified by Kil in claim 1, the unit is in a vertical arrangement and the condensate collection pan is defined at the bulkhead).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Breen and Kil disclose the condensate collection pan defines at least one drain hole for discharging the condensate (hole connecting 90 and 122 shown in figure 2 of Breen).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Breen discloses a hose or conduit (122) connected to the at least one drain hole for directing the condensate onto the exposed portion of the outdoor coil.
Regarding claim 6, Breen discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 1, but lacks a pump. The examiner takes official notice that condensate pumps are old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Breen with a condensate pump in order to expedite the flow of condensate.
Regarding claims 7, 8, and 18, Breen discloses the exposed portion of the outdoor coil is a U-bend defined on both sides of the outdoor heat exchanger (figure 3 includes U-bends as part of the serpentine arrangement of 100 which are at both sides of the case and of the outdoor heat exchanger 28).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Breen discloses an outdoor fan (64), wherein the outdoor fan is positioned over the heat exchanger fins and does not direct a flow of air over the exposed portion of the outdoor coil (exposed portion 100 of coil is submerged).
Regarding claim 11, Breen discloses a base pan positioned under the outdoor heat exchanger, wherein the condensate drips off outdoor coil and collects in base pan (12 and 92, to the extent condensate is on the outdoor coil 28 it may drip onto 12) .
Regarding claim 12, Breen and Kil disclose the air conditioner unit is a single package vertical unit, a vertical terminal air conditioner unit, or a packaged terminal air conditioner unit (as modified in view of Kil the unit is packaged vertical unit).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DeLoach et al (US 11,187,418) – vertically arranged unit.
Feger (US 6,065,296) vertically arranged unit.
Maynard (US 5,966,958) condenser portion 41.
Gilmer et al (US 3,996,764) refrigerant cooling coil.
Kil et al (US 2013/0133351) vertically arranged unit
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799