DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 13, 17, 18 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “…wherein at least one signal includes the event schedule from the first apparatus to a second apparatus; detecting a second apparatus;…wherein said training data comprises the event schedule data;…sending a notification when an event action is indicated by the event schedule…” in lines 8, 10, 17 and 22. It is presumed to recite “…wherein at least one signal of the plurality of signals includes the event schedule from the first apparatus to a second apparatus; detecting the second apparatus;…wherein said training data comprises the event schedulean event schedule notification when an event action is indicated by the event schedule…”.
Claim 5 recites “wherein said signal”. It is presumed to recite “wherein said at least one signal”.
Claim 6 recites “programming an event schedule into the second apparatus, said event schedule includes at least one repeating time cycle for an event action.” It is presumed to recite “programming the event schedule into the second apparatus, said event schedule includes the at least one repeating time cycle for the event action”.
Claim 9 recites “the event schedule notifications”. It is presumed to recite “the event schedule notification[[s]]”.
Claim 13 recites “…at least one lighting mechanism configured to emit one or more light indications notifications;…said mobile communication device adapted to accept a plurality of programmed computer instructions comprising medication administration regime input, store said medication administration regime, detect, communicatively couple, and transmit said computer instructions comprising medication administration regime to said pet reminder collar device; execute a notification communication according to medication administration regime; and, stop the notification communication when the mobile communication device user activates the switch to turn off the medication administration notification.” It is presumed to recite “…at least one lighting mechanism configured to emit one or more light indicationsthe medication administration regime input, store said medication administration regime, detect, communicatively couple, and transmit said computer instructions comprising medication administration regime to said the medication administration notification communication according to the medication administration regime; and, stop the medication administration notification
Claim 17 recites “medication administration regime”. It is presumed to recite “the medication administration regime”.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the pet reminder collar device further comprises a pet two-tier compliance factor reminder collar device input system requiring the notifications to be turned off on said mobile device and said pet collar device housing.” It is presumed to recite “wherein the medication administration notifications to be turned off on said mobile communication device and said
Claim 19 recites “…transmitting a plurality of signals from the first apparatus, wherein at least one signal includes the event notification schedule from the first apparatus to a second apparatus; detecting a second apparatus;…wherein said training data comprises the event notification schedule data;…sending a notification when an event notification schedule is indicated by the event notification schedule; and, turning off the event notification schedule notification of the first and second apparatus.” It is presumed to recite “…transmitting a plurality of signals from the first apparatus, wherein the at least one signal of the plurality of signals includes the event notification schedule from the first apparatus to a second apparatus; detecting the second apparatus;…wherein said training data comprises the event notification schedule the event notification schedule is indicated by the event notification schedule; and, turning off the
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “said collar device” in line 8, “the medication administration notification” in line 13 and “the mobile communication device user” in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For prosecution purposes, these limitations are interpreted as “a collar device”, “a medication administration notification” and “a mobile communication device user”. Clarification is requested.
Claims 14-18 are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manion (US 2020/0289374 A1) in view of Torres (US 2025/0351802 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Manion discloses a method, comprising:
programing an event schedule into a first apparatus (see at least Figure 3, items 315 and 320 | [0044] note the owner may also use the application 320 of the computing device 315 to provide an updated treatment program 208 related to the operation of the collar 305 | [0045] note the owner may update the application 320, the application 320 may communicate this information to the collar 305 and, based upon the updated location of the animal (e.g., the woods), the treatment program 208 for the collar may be updated accordingly),
wherein said event schedule includes at least one repeating time cycle for a required action (see at least [0031] note the treatment program 208 may include instructions, received from the computing device 315, incorporating dosage and timing information for application of the medication stored);
transmitting a plurality of signals from the first apparatus (see at least [0040] note the collar 305 includes a communication interface 228 to exchange signals with the computing device 315, e.g., via Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, etc. | [0044] note the plurality of signals could correspond to a first signal including the updated treatment program 208 that includes dosage and timing information for application of the medication stored, and a second signal that initiates manual dispensing, etc.),
wherein at least one signal includes the event schedule from the first apparatus to a second apparatus (see at least [0044-0045] note the updated treatment program 208 is transmitted from the computing device 315 to the collar 305);
detecting a second apparatus (see at least [0046] note detecting the collar 305 can be via Bluetooth, near field communications or another similar short-range communication | [0048] note detecting the collar 305 can be via the GPS tracker that is used to locate the animal if lost);
activating a security mode transmission and receiving protocol on the first and second apparatuses (see at least [0046] note establishing near field communications between the computing device 315 and the collar 305 is considered a security mode transmission and receiving protocol because a bad actor has to be within a couple inches of the devices to intercept and/or spoof the communications);
receiving the event schedule from the first apparatus by the second apparatus (see at least [0044-0045] note the updated treatment program 208 is transmitted from the computing device 315 to the collar 305);
storing training data (see at least [0031] note the treatment program 208 is stored in memory on the collar 305, and the treatment program 208 corresponds to the training data),
wherein said training data comprises the event schedule data (see at least [0031] note the treatment program 208 may include instructions incorporating dosage and timing information for application of the medication stored);
utilizing one or more techniques to alter a treatment application based on the training data (see at least [0041] note if the medication to be dispensed is a topical heart medication used to control an animal’s heart rate and/or blood pressure, the collar’s 305 controller 206 may use information from a heart activity sensor 230 to determine if the dosage of the heart medication should be adjusted, and if the heart activity sensor 230 detects that the animal is exhibiting high blood pressure and/or heart rate, the medication dosage can be increased until the animal’s heart activity returns to a normal level | [0056]),
wherein the treatment application is configured to generate an output associated with at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus (see at least [0041] note the medication dosage can be increased | [0056] note the collar’s 305 controller 206 can alter the treatment program 208 and provide notification to the pet’s owner via an audible alarm and/or a notification to the owner’s computing device 315 via the collar application 320);
sending a notification when an event action is indicated by the event schedule (see at least [0060] note the collar 305 further includes a display 226 configured to provide an indication of when the microdispenser 210 may be delivering a burst of the topical medication (i.e., as per the treatment program’s 208 instructions incorporating dosage and timing information for application of the medication stored) | [0044] note the application 320 receives information from the collar 305 regarding various information related to the operation of the collar 305, such as dispensing history (i.e., when the microdispenser 210 delivers a burst of the topical medication) | [0058] note the collar’s 305 controller 206 can alter the treatment program 208 and provide a notification to the pet’s owner via an audible alarm and/or a notification to the owner’s computing device 315 via the collar application 320); and,
turning off the event schedule notification (see at least [0037] note the activation/deactivation buttons 22 can turn off the collar 305).
However, Manion does not specifically teach establishing a match-based connection between the first apparatus and the second apparatus; utilizing one or more machine-learning techniques to train a machine-learned model based on the training data, wherein the machine-learned model is configured to generate an output associated with at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus.
It is known to learn from an event schedule and establish a match-based connection. For example, Torres teaches establishing a match-based connection between the first apparatus and the second apparatus; utilizing one or more machine-learning techniques to train a machine-learned model based on the training data, wherein the machine-learned model is configured to generate an output associated with at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus (see at least Figure 1 | [0017-0018] note a wearable pet collar and mobile application interface | [0008] note the AI continuously learns and adapts based on pet interactions, adjusting training protocols, nutritional recommendations, and safety mechanisms accordingly | [0199] note utilizing sophisticated AI algorithms to manage distinct schedules for feeding, medication, and exercise | [0229] | [0240] note machine learning algorithms analyze seasonal and environmental patterns and dynamically adjusts care routines and recommendations, ensuring that pets receive optimal care tailored to external conditions and their individual health needs | [0591] note the Medication Reminder System: programs service dogs’ smart collars to remind owners of medication schedules through physical cues or vocal reminders, improving adherence | [0228-0229] note advanced scheduling functions within the system automate care routines, from feeding and medication to exercise sessions, aligning with the pet's health requirements and owner’s preferences, streamlining daily management tasks for pet owners | [0286] | [0417] | [0454] note automating care routines | [0224] note employing advanced encryption and cybersecurity measures such that the system safeguards all transmitted data and user interactions, and further note that encryption requires matching keys used to encrypt and decrypt data | [0773] | [0845] | [0850] | [0511]).
Support for Torres can be found in at least Figure 1, [0098], [0123], [0127-0128], [0139], [0185], [0265], [0316], [0490], [0628] | [0672], [0742-0744] and [0749] of US Provisional Application 63/575,784 dated April 7, 2024.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Torres into Manion. This provides secure communications, and the ability to tune the event schedule to the animal’s needs.
Regarding claim 2, Manion in view of Torres teach turning off the event schedule notification on one of the group consisting of the following: turning off the event schedule notification of the first apparatus, turning off the event schedule notification of the second apparatus, or turning off the event schedule notification of the first and second apparatus (see at least [0037] of Manion, note the activation/deactivation buttons 22 can turn off the collar 305 | [0044] of Manion, note clearing alarm information).
Regarding claim 3, Manion in view of Torres teach wherein the second apparatus is a pet wearable device containing a processor and a notification device (see at least Figure 1 of Manion | [0031] of Manion | [0036] of Manion).
Regarding claim 4, Manion in view of Torres teach wherein the notification device is a lighting mechanism configured to emit one or more light indications from the second apparatus (see at least [0036] of Manion | [0039] of Manion | [0060] of Manion).
Regarding claim 5, Manion in view of Torres teach wherein said signal is selected from the group consisting of: UWB, BLE, Bluetooth, Wifi, or a combination of UWB and BLE (see at least [0040] of Manion).
Regarding claim 6, Manion in view of Torres teach programming an event schedule into the second apparatus, said event schedule includes at least one repeating time cycle for an event action (see at least [0031] of Manion | [0044-0045] of Manion).
Regarding claim 7, Manion in view of Torres teach wherein the first apparatus further comprises a screen to display messages (see at least [0036] of Manion | [0039] of Manion | [0060] of Manion).
Regarding claim 8, Manion in view of Torres teach wherein the second apparatus further comprises a screen to display messages (see at least [0044] of Manion, note the computing device 315 is a smartphone has a display to provide the user with notifications | [0056] of Manion | Figure 2 of Torres).
Regarding claim 9, Manion in view of Torres teach wherein the first apparatus also receives the event schedule notifications (see at least [0031] of Manion | [0044-0045] of Manion).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manion (US 2020/0289374 A1) in view of Torres (US 2025/0351802 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Berstling (US 2002/0180591 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Manion in view of Torres do not specifically teach wherein the pet wearable device attaches to a pet collar.
It is known to arrange a second apparatus in different ways. For example, Berstling teaches a system wherein the pet wearable device attaches to a pet collar (see at least the abstract | Figures 1-5, item 26 and 30 | [0047] note a strap, hook, clip 28 or other fastener can be used to attach the pet care timer reminder to a pet's collar).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Berstling into Manion in view of Torres. This provides the ability attach the device to different collars as the pet grows from a puppy to an adult.
Regarding claim 11, Manion in view of Torres in view of Berstling teach wherein the pet wearable device attaches as selected from the group consisting of at least one of the following: strap, screw, buckle, rivet, or hook and loop fastener (see at least [0047] of Berstling).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manion (US 2020/0289374 A1) in view of Torres (US 2025/0351802 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Zhou (US 2017/0085688 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Manion in view of Torres do not specifically teach wherein said pet wearable device is comprised of at least one of the group consisting of: flexible PCB, flexible battery array, flexible housing, LED, and flexible solder.
It is known to arrange a reminder apparatus in different ways. For example, Zhou teaches a system wherein said wearable device is comprised of at least one of the group consisting of: flexible PCB, flexible battery array, flexible housing, LED, and flexible solder (see at least [0008] note flexible housing, battery, PCB, etc. | [0059] reminders).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Zhou into Manion in view of Torres. This provides an apparatus that may be more comfortable to wear than a hard rigid housing.
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manion (US 2020/0289374 A1) in view of El-Nakla (US 11,612,142 B1).
Regarding claim 13, Manion discloses a system (see at least Figure 3, items 315 and 320) comprising:
a pet reminder collar device input system adapted to receive medication administration regime input and execute computer instructions (see at least Figure 2, items 200, 208 and 228 | [0031] note the collar’s 200/305 controller 206 may include a microprocessor and a computer-readable storage medium that is configured to store a treatment program 208 that may include instructions incorporating dosage and timing information for application of the medication stored | [0040] | [0044-0045] note the owner may also use the application 320 of the computing device 315 to provide an updated treatment program 208 related to the operation of the collar 305 | [0045] note the owner may update the application 320, the application 320 may communicate this information to the collar 305 and, based upon the updated location of the animal (e.g., the woods), the treatment program 208 for the collar may be updated accordingly | [0054]) to:
receive and store said medication administration regime (see at least [0031]);
said collar device (see at least Figure 1) configured to include:
a processor communicatively coupled to at least one mobile communication device (see at least Figure 2, item 206 | Figure 3, items 305 and 315 | [0040] | [0044]);
at least one lighting mechanism configured to emit one or more light indications notifications (see at least [0036] | [0039] | [0060]);
a battery (see at least [0033-0034]);
a switch to turn off the medication administration notification (see at least [0037] note the activation/deactivation buttons 22 can turn off the device off); and,
a connection means to attach said collar device to a pet (see at least Figure 1, item 102);
said mobile communication device adapted to accept a plurality of programmed computer instructions comprising medication administration regime input, store said medication administration regime, detect, communicatively couple, and transmit said computer instructions comprising medication administration regime to said pet reminder collar device (see at least Figure 3, items 315 and 320 | [0044] not the user can update the treatment program 208 via the collar application 320 | [0045] note the updated treatment program 208 is transmitted to the collar 305 | [0046] note the computing device 315 can detect the collar 305 via near field communications (or Bluetooth), couple and transmit the updated treatment program 208);
execute a notification communication according to medication administration regime (see at least [0044] | [0056] | [0054] | [0060]); and,
stop the notification communication when the mobile communication device user activates the switch to turn off the medication administration notification (see at least [0037] note the activation/deactivation buttons 22 can turn off the device off).
However, Manion does not specifically teach said collar device having a housing, and a connection means to attach said collar device to a pet collar.
It is known for systems to be arranged in different ways. For example, El-Nakla teaches a system wherein said collar device has a housing, and a connection means to attach said collar device to a pet collar (see at least col. 4, lines 28-38 | col. 5, lines 12-20, note the system housing can be attached to the collar via a clip or integrated within the collar | col. 4, lines 42-58 | col. 15, lines 12-37).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of El-Nakla into Manion. This provides the ability to clip the device to different collars as the pet grows.
Regarding claim 14, Manion in view of El-Nakla teach wherein said battery is rechargeable (see at least [0033-0034] of Manion | col. 5, lines 9-10 of El-Nakla | col. 8, line 56 – col. 9, line 32 of El-Nakla).
Regarding claim 15, Manion in view of El-Nakla teach wherein said collar device contains at least one charging port (see at least [0033-0034] of Manion | col. 5, lines 9-10 of El-Nakla | col. 8, line 56 – col. 9, line 32 of El-Nakla).
Regarding claim 16, Manion in view of El-Nakla teach further comprising a plurality of medication administration regimes (see at least [0031] of Manion | [0048] of Manion).
Regarding claim 17, Manion in view of El-Nakla teach further comprising said input system configured for one or more of the group consisting of medication administration regime, text, and pictures (see at least [0044-0045] of Manion | Figure 3B-3F of El-Nakla).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manion (US 2020/0289374 A1) in view of El-Nakla (US 11,612,142 B1) as applied to claim 13 above, and in further view of Levy (US 2016/0163181 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Manion in view of El-Nakla do not specifically teach wherein the pet reminder collar device further comprises a pet two-tier compliance factor reminder collar device input system requiring the notifications to be turned off on said mobile device and said pet collar device housing.
It is known to disable alerts in different ways. For example, Levy teaches a regimen system wherein the reminder device further comprises a two-tier compliance factor reminder device input system requiring the notifications to be turned off on said mobile device and said device housing (see at least [0010-0011] note the mobile device and wearable device | [0016] note the alert can be for a regimen | [0018] note that once the regimen activity is detected as being completed at the wearable device, the user disables the alarm on the mobile device | [0035] note allowing the alarm to be disabled in response to detecting that the physical activity was performed comprises unlocking an alarm application on the wearable device and receiving user input from the user to access the alarm application and disable the alarm).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Levy into Manion in view of El-Nakla. This provides the ability deactivate a regimen notification by using two separate devices, thus helping to ensure that the owner is aware of an action associated with the medication administration regimen.
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manion (US 2020/0289374 A1) in view of El-Nakla (US 11,612,142 B1) and Levy (US 2016/0163181 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Manion discloses a method, comprising:
programing an event notification schedule into a first apparatus (see at least Figure 3, items 315 and 320 | [0044] note the owner may also use the application 320 of the computing device 315 to provide an updated treatment program 208 related to the operation of the collar 305 | [0045] note the owner may update the application 320, the application 320 may communicate this information to the collar 305 and, based upon the updated location of the animal (e.g., the woods), the treatment program 208 for the collar may be updated accordingly),
wherein said event notification schedule includes at least one repeating time cycle for event notification (see at least [0031] note the treatment program 208 may include instructions, received from the computing device 315, incorporating dosage and timing information for application of the medication stored | [0060]);
transmitting a plurality of signals from the first apparatus (see at least [0040] note the collar 305 includes a communication interface 228 to exchange signals with the computing device 315, e.g., via Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, etc. | [0044] note the plurality of signals could correspond to a first signal including the updated treatment program 208 that includes dosage and timing information for application of the medication stored, and a second signal that initiates manual dispensing, etc.),
wherein at least one signal includes the event notification schedule from the first apparatus to a second apparatus (see at least [0044-0045] note the updated treatment program 208 is transmitted from the computing device 315 to the collar 305);
detecting a second apparatus (see at least [0046] note detecting the collar 305 can be via Bluetooth, near field communications or another similar short-range communication | [0048] note detecting the collar 305 can be via the GPS tracker that is used to locate the animal if lost);
receiving the event notification schedule from the first apparatus by the second apparatus (see at least [0044-0045] note the updated treatment program 208 is transmitted from the computing device 315 to the collar 305);
storing training data (see at least [0031] note the treatment program 208 is stored in memory on the collar 305, and the treatment program 208 corresponds to the training data),
wherein said training data comprises the event notification schedule data (see at least [0031] note the treatment program 208 may include instructions incorporating dosage and timing information for application of the medication stored);
utilizing one or more techniques to alter a treatment application based on the training data (see at least [0041] note if the medication to be dispensed is a topical heart medication used to control an animal’s heart rate and/or blood pressure, the collar’s 305 controller 206 may use information from a heart activity sensor 230 to determine if the dosage of the heart medication should be adjusted, and if the heart activity sensor 230 detects that the animal is exhibiting high blood pressure and/or heart rate, the medication dosage can be increased until the animal’s heart activity returns to a normal level | [0056]),
wherein the treatment application is configured to generate an output associated with at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus (see at least [0041] note the medication dosage can be increased | [0056] note the collar’s 305 controller 206 can alter the treatment program 208 and provide notification to the pet’s owner via an audible alarm and/or a notification to the owner’s computing device 315 via the collar application 320);
sending a notification when an event notification schedule is indicated by the event notification schedule (see at least [0060] note the collar 305 further includes a display 226 configured to provide an indication of when the microdispenser 210 may be delivering a burst of the topical medication (i.e., as per the treatment program’s 208 instructions incorporating dosage and timing information for application of the medication stored) | [0044] note the application 320 receives information from the collar 305 regarding various information related to the operation of the collar 305, such as dispensing history (i.e., when the microdispenser 210 delivers a burst of the topical medication) | [0058] note the collar’s 305 controller 206 can alter the treatment program 208 and provide a notification to the pet’s owner via an audible alarm and/or a notification to the owner’s computing device 315 via the collar application 320 | [0060]); and,
turning off the event notification schedule notification of the first apparatus (see at least [0037] note the activation/deactivation buttons 22 can turn off the collar 305).
However, Manion does not specifically teach establishing a match-based connection between the first apparatus and the second apparatus; utilizing one or more machine-learning techniques to train a machine-learned model based on the training data, wherein the machine learned model is configured to generate an output associated with at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus; and turning off the event notification schedule notification of the second apparatus.
It is known to learn from an event schedule and establish a match-based connection. For example, Torres teaches establishing a match-based connection between the first apparatus and the second apparatus; utilizing one or more machine-learning techniques to train a machine-learned model based on the training data, wherein the machine learned model is configured to generate an output associated with at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus (see at least Figure 1 | [0017-0018] note a wearable pet collar and mobile application interface | [0008] note the AI continuously learns and adapts based on pet interactions, adjusting training protocols, nutritional recommendations, and safety mechanisms accordingly | [0199] note utilizing sophisticated AI algorithms to manage distinct schedules for feeding, medication, and exercise | [0229] | [0240] note machine learning algorithms analyze seasonal and environmental patterns and dynamically adjusts care routines and recommendations, ensuring that pets receive optimal care tailored to external conditions and their individual health needs | [0591] note the Medication Reminder System: programs service dogs’ smart collars to remind owners of medication schedules through physical cues or vocal reminders, improving adherence | [0228-0229] note advanced scheduling functions within the system automate care routines, from feeding and medication to exercise sessions, aligning with the pet's health requirements and owner’s preferences, streamlining daily management tasks for pet owners | [0286] | [0417] | [0454] note automating care routines | [0224] note employing advanced encryption and cybersecurity measures such that the system safeguards all transmitted data and user interactions, and further note that encryption requires matching keys used to encrypt and decrypt data | [0773] | [0845] | [0850] | [0511]).
Support for Torres can be found in at least Figure 1, [0098], [0123], [0127-0128], [0139], [0185], [0265], [0316], [0490], [0628] | [0672], [0742-0744] and [0749] of US Provisional Application 63/575,784 dated April 7, 2024.
With respect to the other limitations, Levy teaches turning off the event notification schedule notification of the second apparatus (see at least [0010-0011] note the mobile device and wearable device | [0016] note the alert can be for a regimen | [0018] note that once the regimen activity is detected as being completed at the wearable device, the user disables the alarm on the mobile device | [0035] note allowing the alarm to be disabled in response to detecting that the physical activity was performed comprises unlocking an alarm application on the wearable device and receiving user input from the user to access the alarm application and disable the alarm).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Torres and Levy into Manion. With respect to Torres, this provides secure communications, and the ability to tune the event schedule to the animal’s needs. With respect to Levy, this provides the ability to disable a regimen alert at Manion in view of Torres’s mobile device.
Regarding claim 20, Manion in view of Torres and Levy teach activating a security mode transmission and receiving protocol on the first and second apparatuses (see at least [0046] of Manion, note establishing near field communications between the computing device 315 and the collar 305 is considered a security mode transmission and receiving protocol because a bad actor has to be within a couple inches of the devices to intercept and/or spoof the communications).
Regarding claim 21, Manion in view of Torres and Levy teach wherein said event notification schedule comprises a plurality of event notifications (see at least [0031] of Manion | [0047] of Manion).
Conclusion
/BRIAN WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689