DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 2, 6, 11- 12, 15, 18- 19, 23, 28- 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0015154 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE (see Fig. 7 UE) to:
receive a configuration that indicates a plurality of resource pools (see Fig. 7, #S701 see [0185- 0186] S701: A base station sends configuration information, and UE receives the configuration information sent by the base station; see [0185]; further see [0186] The configuration information is used to configure a plurality of random access resource sets, each of the plurality of random access resource sets is corresponding to one timing advance TA accuracy level, random access resource sets corresponding to different TA accuracy levels are different, and each of the plurality of random access resource sets includes at least one physical random access channel PRACH time-frequency resource, at least one random access preamble, and at least one physical uplink shared channel PUSCH time-frequency resource);
select a resource pool from the plurality of resource pools based at least in part on a timing advance (TA) accuracy associated with the UE (see Fig. 7 S702 about UE determines a TA (timing advance) accuracy level; further see S703 and [0234]… UE sends a first random access preamble and first uplink data to the network device by using a resource in a random access resource set corresponding to the determined TA accuracy level; further see [0154, 0237- 0239].); and
transmit, via a resource in the resource pool, an uplink transmission in accordance with a UE uplink self-scheduling (already discussed above see Fig. 7 S702 about UE determines a TA (timing advance) accuracy level; further see S703 and [0234]… UE sends a first random access preamble and first uplink data to the network device by using a resource in a random access resource set corresponding to the determined TA accuracy level; further see [0237- 0239] about uplink self scheduling…see [0238] For example, in the first example of the resource relationship, the UE determines the TA accuracy level 1, determines SSBs whose RSRP is greater than the preset threshold, for example, an SSB 0 and an SSB 1, then determines PRACH time-frequency resources that are in the PRACH time-frequency resource set 1 and to which the SSB 0 and the SSB 1 are mapped, and selects a PRACH time-frequency resource from the determined PRACH time-frequency resources. When the UE performs contention-based two-step random access, the UE selects a preamble from at least one preamble corresponding to the selected PRACH time-frequency resource. Then, based on the mapping relationship between the PRACH time-frequency resource and the PUSCH time-frequency resource, a PUSCH time-frequency resource is selected from the PUSCH time-frequency resource set 1 to carry the uplink data; further see [0239].. UE sends the MsgA to the base station on the selected PRACH time-frequency resource and PUSCH time-frequency resource).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the resource pool, of the plurality of resource pools, is associated with one or more characteristics, and the one or more characteristics are related to one or more of: a guard band, an allocation of multiple-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) resources, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a power limit, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) density, or a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) density; see [0122- 125 and [0210-0214] MCS; further see claim 6.. configuration parameter comprises at least one of a modulation and coding scheme MCS, a cyclic prefix, an uplink control information parameter, and a power control parameter.
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a list of TA accuracy ranges, wherein each TA accuracy range in the list is mapped to a corresponding resource pool of the plurality of resource pools, and the corresponding resource pool is associated with one or more characteristics that serve to limit interference based at least in part on the TA accuracy range; see [0030].. performing random access, UEs of different TA accuracy levels use different resources, so that mutual interference occurring when the UEs transmit a random access signal can be reduced, and data transmission efficiency can be improved; now refer to [0192] about list of TA accuracy levels mapped to respective resource pools; now refer to [0212] a value set of a configuration parameter may be adjusted based on a TA accuracy level, so that more UEs are not affected by a timing offset. This improves data transmission efficiency. For example, a PUSCH resource corresponding to UE with a low TA accuracy level may be configured to be corresponding to an extended CP (Extended CP, ECP) or a predefined CP length, so that a timing offset between UEs falls within a CP range (i.e. limit interference); further see [0213- 0217].
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the network node to (see Fig. 7 base station as a network node) to:
output a configuration that indicates a plurality of resource pools (see Fig. 7, #S701 see [0185- 0186] S701: A base station sends configuration information, and UE receives the configuration information sent by the base station; see [0185]; further see [0186] The configuration information is used to configure a plurality of random access resource sets, each of the plurality of random access resource sets is corresponding to one timing advance TA accuracy level, random access resource sets corresponding to different TA accuracy levels are different, and each of the plurality of random access resource sets includes at least one physical random access channel PRACH time-frequency resource, at least one random access preamble, and at least one physical uplink shared channel PUSCH time-frequency resource);
obtain, via a resource in a resource pool of the plurality of resource pools, an uplink transmission, wherein the resource pool is associated with a timing advance (TA) accuracy of a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 7 S702 about UE determines a TA (timing advance) accuracy level; further see S703 and [0234]… UE sends a first random access preamble and first uplink data to the network device by using a resource in a random access resource set corresponding to the determined TA accuracy level; further see [0237- 0239] about uplink self scheduling…see [0238] For example, in the first example of the resource relationship, the UE determines the TA accuracy level 1, determines SSBs whose RSRP is greater than the preset threshold, for example, an SSB 0 and an SSB 1, then determines PRACH time-frequency resources that are in the PRACH time-frequency resource set 1 and to which the SSB 0 and the SSB 1 are mapped, and selects a PRACH time-frequency resource from the determined PRACH time-frequency resources. When the UE performs contention-based two-step random access, the UE selects a preamble from at least one preamble corresponding to the selected PRACH time-frequency resource. Then, based on the mapping relationship between the PRACH time-frequency resource and the PUSCH time-frequency resource, a PUSCH time-frequency resource is selected from the PUSCH time-frequency resource set 1 to carry the uplink data; further see [0239].. UE sends the MsgA to the base station on the selected PRACH time-frequency resource and PUSCH time-frequency resource).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the resource pool, of the plurality of resource pools, is associated with one or more characteristics, and the one or more characteristics are related to one or more of: a guard band, an allocation of multiple-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) resources, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a power limit, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) density, or a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) density; see [0122- 125 and [0210-0214] MCS; further see claim 6.. configuration parameter comprises at least one of a modulation and coding scheme MCS, a cyclic prefix, an uplink control information parameter, and a power control parameter.
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches as per claim 11, wherein the configuration indicates a list of TA accuracy ranges, wherein each TA accuracy range in the list is mapped to a corresponding resource pool of the plurality of resource pools, and the corresponding resource pool is associated with one or more characteristics that serve to limit interference based at least in part on the TA accuracy range; see [0030].. performing random access, UEs of different TA accuracy levels use different resources, so that mutual interference occurring when the UEs transmit a random access signal can be reduced, and data transmission efficiency can be improved; now refer to [0192] about list of TA accuracy levels mapped to respective resource pools; now refer to [0212] a value set of a configuration parameter may be adjusted based on a TA accuracy level, so that more UEs are not affected by a timing offset. This improves data transmission efficiency. For example, a PUSCH resource corresponding to UE with a low TA accuracy level may be configured to be corresponding to an extended CP (Extended CP, ECP) or a predefined CP length, so that a timing offset between UEs falls within a CP range (i.e. limit interference); further see [0213- 0217].
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches a method of wireless communication performed at a user equipment (UE), comprising (see Fig. 7 UE) to:
receiving a configuration that indicates a plurality of resource pools (see Fig. 7, #S701 see [0185- 0186] S701: A base station sends configuration information, and UE receives the configuration information sent by the base station; see [0185]; further see [0186] The configuration information is used to configure a plurality of random access resource sets, each of the plurality of random access resource sets is corresponding to one timing advance TA accuracy level, random access resource sets corresponding to different TA accuracy levels are different, and each of the plurality of random access resource sets includes at least one physical random access channel PRACH time-frequency resource, at least one random access preamble, and at least one physical uplink shared channel PUSCH time-frequency resource);
selecting a resource pool from the plurality of resource pools based at least in part on a timing advance (TA) accuracy associated with the UE (see Fig. 7 S702 about UE determines a TA (timing advance) accuracy level; further see S703 and [0234]… UE sends a first random access preamble and first uplink data to the network device by using a resource in a random access resource set corresponding to the determined TA accuracy level; further see [0154, 0237- 0239].); and
transmitting, via a resource in the resource pool, an uplink transmission in accordance with a UE uplink self-scheduling (already discussed above see Fig. 7 S702 about UE determines a TA (timing advance) accuracy level; further see S703 and [0234]… UE sends a first random access preamble and first uplink data to the network device by using a resource in a random access resource set corresponding to the determined TA accuracy level; further see [0237- 0239] about uplink self scheduling…see [0238] For example, in the first example of the resource relationship, the UE determines the TA accuracy level 1, determines SSBs whose RSRP is greater than the preset threshold, for example, an SSB 0 and an SSB 1, then determines PRACH time-frequency resources that are in the PRACH time-frequency resource set 1 and to which the SSB 0 and the SSB 1 are mapped, and selects a PRACH time-frequency resource from the determined PRACH time-frequency resources. When the UE performs contention-based two-step random access, the UE selects a preamble from at least one preamble corresponding to the selected PRACH time-frequency resource. Then, based on the mapping relationship between the PRACH time-frequency resource and the PUSCH time-frequency resource, a PUSCH time-frequency resource is selected from the PUSCH time-frequency resource set 1 to carry the uplink data; further see [0239].. UE sends the MsgA to the base station on the selected PRACH time-frequency resource and PUSCH time-frequency resource).
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches as per claim 18, wherein the resource pool, of the plurality of resource pools, is associated with one or more characteristics, and the one or more characteristics are related to one or more of: a guard band, an allocation of multiple-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) resources, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a power limit, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) density, or a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) density; see [0122- 125 and [0210-0214] MCS; further see claim 6.. configuration parameter comprises at least one of a modulation and coding scheme MCS, a cyclic prefix, an uplink control information parameter, and a power control parameter.
Regarding claim 23, Wu teaches as per claim 18, wherein the configuration indicates a list of TA accuracy ranges, wherein each TA accuracy range in the list is mapped to a corresponding resource pool of the plurality of resource pools, and the corresponding resource pool is associated with one or more characteristics that serve to limit interference based at least in part on the TA accuracy range; see [0030].. performing random access, UEs of different TA accuracy levels use different resources, so that mutual interference occurring when the UEs transmit a random access signal can be reduced, and data transmission efficiency can be improved; now refer to [0192] about list of TA accuracy levels mapped to respective resource pools; now refer to [0212] a value set of a configuration parameter may be adjusted based on a TA accuracy level, so that more UEs are not affected by a timing offset. This improves data transmission efficiency. For example, a PUSCH resource corresponding to UE with a low TA accuracy level may be configured to be corresponding to an extended CP (Extended CP, ECP) or a predefined CP length, so that a timing offset between UEs falls within a CP range (i.e. limit interference); further see [0213- 0217].
Regarding claim 28, Wu teaches method of wireless communication performed at a network node, comprising (see Fig. 7 base station as a network node):
transmitting a configuration that indicates a plurality of resource pools (see Fig. 7, #S701 see [0185- 0186] S701: A base station sends configuration information, and UE receives the configuration information sent by the base station; see [0185]; further see [0186] The configuration information is used to configure a plurality of random access resource sets, each of the plurality of random access resource sets is corresponding to one timing advance TA accuracy level, random access resource sets corresponding to different TA accuracy levels are different, and each of the plurality of random access resource sets includes at least one physical random access channel PRACH time-frequency resource, at least one random access preamble, and at least one physical uplink shared channel PUSCH time-frequency resource);
receiving, via a resource in a resource pool of the plurality of resource pools, an uplink transmission, wherein the resource pool is associated with a timing advance (TA) accuracy of a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 7 S702 about UE determines a TA (timing advance) accuracy level; further see S703 and [0234]… UE sends a first random access preamble and first uplink data to the network device by using a resource in a random access resource set corresponding to the determined TA accuracy level; further see [0237- 0239] about uplink self scheduling…see [0238] For example, in the first example of the resource relationship, the UE determines the TA accuracy level 1, determines SSBs whose RSRP is greater than the preset threshold, for example, an SSB 0 and an SSB 1, then determines PRACH time-frequency resources that are in the PRACH time-frequency resource set 1 and to which the SSB 0 and the SSB 1 are mapped, and selects a PRACH time-frequency resource from the determined PRACH time-frequency resources. When the UE performs contention-based two-step random access, the UE selects a preamble from at least one preamble corresponding to the selected PRACH time-frequency resource. Then, based on the mapping relationship between the PRACH time-frequency resource and the PUSCH time-frequency resource, a PUSCH time-frequency resource is selected from the PUSCH time-frequency resource set 1 to carry the uplink data; further see [0239].. UE sends the MsgA to the base station on the selected PRACH time-frequency resource and PUSCH time-frequency resource).
Regarding claim 29, Wu teaches as per claim 28, wherein the resource pool, of the plurality of resource pools, is associated with one or more characteristics, and the one or more characteristics are related to one or more of: a guard band, an allocation of multiple-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) resources, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a power limit, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) density, or a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) density; see [0122- 125 and [0210-0214] MCS; further see claim 6.. configuration parameter comprises at least one of a modulation and coding scheme MCS, a cyclic prefix, an uplink control information parameter, and a power control parameter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0015154 A1) in view of Hao et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0035406 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches as per claim 1, but fails to state about wherein one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to select the resource pool based at least in part on the one or more characteristics associated with the resource pool; however Hao states about method for operating a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: selecting a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and a number of resource blocks for an uplink data transmission according to at least one of power control information, channel state information, multiple access resource information, a size of a data packet, or interference intensity information; partitioning resource blocks within a frequency band according to a pre-defined resource partitioning and mapping pattern; and transmitting data through a combination of the partitioned resource blocks, wherein the combination of the partitioned resource blocks corresponds to the selected MCS and the selected number of resource blocks; see claim 1 ; further see claim 11. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Hao with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to select the resource pool based at least in part on the one or more characteristics associated with the resource pool; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 20, Wu teaches as per claim 19, but fails to state about wherein selecting the resource pool is based at least in part on the one or more characteristics associated with the resource pool; however Hao states about method for operating a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: selecting a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and a number of resource blocks for an uplink data transmission according to at least one of power control information, channel state information, multiple access resource information, a size of a data packet, or interference intensity information; partitioning resource blocks within a frequency band according to a pre-defined resource partitioning and mapping pattern; and transmitting data through a combination of the partitioned resource blocks, wherein the combination of the partitioned resource blocks corresponds to the selected MCS and the selected number of resource blocks; see claim 1 ; further see claim 11. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Hao with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein selecting the resource pool is based at least in part on the one or more characteristics associated with the resource pool; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 4- 5, 13- 14, 21- 22, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0015154 A1) in view of Manalakos et al. (WO 2022006868 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches as per claim 1, but fails to state about wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: receive signaling that contains one or more instructions to estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on one of: a time difference between TAs, a measurement difference between reference signals, or a Doppler shift difference between the reference signals; and estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on the signaling; however Manalakos states about the UE, when Doppler pre-compensation is supported and configured, may estimate one or more Doppler metrics (e.g., a Doppler shift, a maximum Doppler spread, or both) for one or multiple TRPs based on one or more reference signals from the TRPs, and may transmit one or more uplink communications based on the estimated Doppler metrics; see abstract. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Manalakos with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: receive signaling that contains one or more instructions to estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on one of: a time difference between TAs, a measurement difference between reference signals, or a Doppler shift difference between the reference signals; and estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on the signaling; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 5, Wu in view of Manalakos teaches as per claim 1, wherein the signaling indicates a list of time difference ranges, measurement difference ranges, or Doppler shift difference ranges, and each range is mapped to a corresponding TA accuracy; Manalakos the UE, when Doppler pre-compensation is supported and configured, may estimate one or more Doppler metrics (e.g., a Doppler shift, a maximum Doppler spread, or both) for one or multiple TRPs based on one or more reference signals from the TRPs, and may transmit one or more uplink communications based on the estimated Doppler metrics; see abstract.
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches as per claim 11, but fails to state about wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network node to: output signaling that contains one or more instructions to estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on one of: a time difference between TAs, a measurement difference between reference signals, or a Doppler shift difference between the reference signals; and estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on the signaling; however Manalakos states about the UE, when Doppler pre-compensation is supported and configured, may estimate one or more Doppler metrics (e.g., a Doppler shift, a maximum Doppler spread, or both) for one or multiple TRPs based on one or more reference signals from the TRPs, and may transmit one or more uplink communications based on the estimated Doppler metrics; see abstract. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Manalakos with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network node to: output signaling that contains one or more instructions to estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on one of: a time difference between TAs, a measurement difference between reference signals, or a Doppler shift difference between the reference signals; and estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on the signaling; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Wu in view of Manalakos teaches as per claim 13, wherein the signaling indicates a list of time difference ranges, measurement difference ranges, or Doppler shift difference ranges, and each range is mapped to a corresponding TA accuracy; Manalakos the UE, when Doppler pre-compensation is supported and configured, may estimate one or more Doppler metrics (e.g., a Doppler shift, a maximum Doppler spread, or both) for one or multiple TRPs based on one or more reference signals from the TRPs, and may transmit one or more uplink communications based on the estimated Doppler metrics; see abstract.
Regarding claim 21, Wu teaches as per claim 18, but fails to state about wherein receiving signaling that contains one or more instructions to estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on one of: a time difference between TAs, a measurement difference between reference signals, or a Doppler shift difference between the reference signals; and estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on the signaling; however Manalakos states about the UE, when Doppler pre-compensation is supported and configured, may estimate one or more Doppler metrics (e.g., a Doppler shift, a maximum Doppler spread, or both) for one or multiple TRPs based on one or more reference signals from the TRPs, and may transmit one or more uplink communications based on the estimated Doppler metrics; see abstract. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Manalakos with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving signaling that contains one or more instructions to estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on one of: a time difference between TAs, a measurement difference between reference signals, or a Doppler shift difference between the reference signals; and estimate the TA accuracy based at least in part on the signaling; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 22, Wu in view of Manalakos teaches as per claim 21, wherein the signaling indicates a list of time difference ranges, measurement difference ranges, or Doppler shift difference ranges, and each range is mapped to a corresponding TA accuracy; Manalakos the UE, when Doppler pre-compensation is supported and configured, may estimate one or more Doppler metrics (e.g., a Doppler shift, a maximum Doppler spread, or both) for one or multiple TRPs based on one or more reference signals from the TRPs, and may transmit one or more uplink communications based on the estimated Doppler metrics; see abstract.
Regarding claim 30, Wu teaches as per claim 28, but fails to state about transmitting signaling that contains one or more instructions for estimating the TA accuracy based at least in part on one of: a time difference between TAs, a measurement difference between reference signals, or a Doppler shift difference between the reference signals, wherein the signaling indicates a list of time difference ranges, measurement difference ranges, or Doppler shift difference ranges, and each range is mapped to a corresponding TA accuracy; however Manalakos states about the UE, when Doppler pre-compensation is supported and configured, may estimate one or more Doppler metrics (e.g., a Doppler shift, a maximum Doppler spread, or both) for one or multiple TRPs based on one or more reference signals from the TRPs, and may transmit one or more uplink communications based on the estimated Doppler metrics; see abstract. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Manalakos with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism transmitting signaling that contains one or more instructions for estimating the TA accuracy based at least in part on one of: a time difference between TAs, a measurement difference between reference signals, or a Doppler shift difference between the reference signals, wherein the signaling indicates a list of time difference ranges, measurement difference ranges, or Doppler shift difference ranges, and each range is mapped to a corresponding TA accuracy; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 7, 16, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0015154 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US Pat. No. 10681737 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches as per claim 1, but fails to state about wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: receive, via downlink control information (DCI), an update to the configuration; however Zhu teaches in lines 60- 67 of col. 1 about receiving, by a terminal (UE), configuration information of a random access resource notified by a base station, where the configuration information of the random access resource includes: configuration information of a first random access resource that is notified by the base station by using a system broadcast and configuration information of a second random access resource that is notified by the base station by using downlink control information (DCI). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Hao with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: receive, via downlink control information (DCI), an update to the configuration; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches as per claim 11, but fails to state about wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network node to: output, via downlink control information (DCI), an update to the configuration; however Zhu teaches in lines 60- 67 of col. 1 about receiving, by a terminal (UE), configuration information of a random access resource notified by a base station, where the configuration information of the random access resource includes: configuration information of a first random access resource that is notified by the base station by using a system broadcast and configuration information of a second random access resource that is notified by the base station by using downlink control information (DCI). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Hao with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network node to: output, via downlink control information (DCI), an update to the configuration; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 24, Wu teaches as per claim 18, but fails to state about receiving, via downlink control information (DCI), an update to the configuration; however Zhu teaches in lines 60- 67 of col. 1 about receiving, by a terminal (UE), configuration information of a random access resource notified by a base station, where the configuration information of the random access resource includes: configuration information of a first random access resource that is notified by the base station by using a system broadcast and configuration information of a second random access resource that is notified by the base station by using downlink control information (DCI). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Hao with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving, via downlink control information (DCI), an update to the configuration; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 8, 17, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0015154 A1) in view of Christoffersson et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0191939 A1), hereafter Chris.
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches as per claim 1, but fails to state about wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: initiate a random access procedure to acquire a new TA when the TA accuracy satisfies a defined threshold; however Chris teaches in abstract…. performed by a user equipment, UE, for selecting a contention-based random-access, CBRA, procedure for an initial access to a cell served by a network node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: determining (830) a value indicative of a current timing advance, TA; if the value does not exceed a certain threshold, selecting (840) a first CBRA procedure not involving receiving a TA command prior to transmitting payload data to the cell; otherwise selecting (850) a second CBRA procedure and performing (860) the selected CBRA procedure for the initial access to the cell; the invention further relates to a corresponding UE... It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chris with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: initiate a random access procedure to acquire a new TA when the TA accuracy satisfies a defined threshold; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches as per claim 11, but fails to state about wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network node to: identify that the TA accuracy satisfies a defined threshold; and perform a random access in response to the TA accuracy satisfying the defined threshold; however Chris teaches in abstract…. performed by a user equipment, UE, for selecting a contention-based random-access, CBRA, procedure for an initial access to a cell served by a network node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: determining (830) a value indicative of a current timing advance, TA; if the value does not exceed a certain threshold, selecting (840) a first CBRA procedure not involving receiving a TA command prior to transmitting payload data to the cell; otherwise selecting (850) a second CBRA procedure and performing (860) the selected CBRA procedure for the initial access to the cell; the invention further relates to a corresponding UE... It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chris with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network node to: identify that the TA accuracy satisfies a defined threshold; and perform a random access in response to the TA accuracy satisfying the defined threshold; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 25, Wu teaches as per claim 18, but fails to state about wherein initiating a random access procedure to acquire a new TA when the TA accuracy satisfies a defined threshold; however Chris teaches in abstract…. performed by a user equipment, UE, for selecting a contention-based random-access, CBRA, procedure for an initial access to a cell served by a network node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: determining (830) a value indicative of a current timing advance, TA; if the value does not exceed a certain threshold, selecting (840) a first CBRA procedure not involving receiving a TA command prior to transmitting payload data to the cell; otherwise selecting (850) a second CBRA procedure and performing (860) the selected CBRA procedure for the initial access to the cell; the invention further relates to a corresponding UE... It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chris with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein initiating a random access procedure to acquire a new TA when the TA accuracy satisfies a defined threshold; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 9, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0015154 A1) in view of Lei et al. (US Pat. No. 11432324 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches as per claim 1, but fails to state about wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: initiate, after a defined number of unsuccessful retransmissions of the uplink transmission, a random access procedure to obtain a new TA; however Lei teaches in lines 50- 60 of col. 2 about ..In some cases, the UE may transmit multiple repetitions of the first message of the two-step random access procedure and monitor for responses after transmitting the repetitions or after each repetition (including, e.g., using hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the repetitions). In some cases, the UE may incrementally increase a transmit power and/or transmit the preamble using a new preamble sequence for a number of attempts (e.g., until reaching a configured number of attempts) before falling back to the four-step random access procedure; further see lines 32- 54 of col. 25 and lines 44- 54 of col. 27. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: initiate, after a defined number of unsuccessful retransmissions of the uplink transmission, a random access procedure to obtain a new TA; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 26, Wu teaches as per claim 18, but fails to state about initiating, after a defined number of unsuccessful retransmissions of the uplink transmission, a random access procedure to obtain a new TA; however Lei teaches in lines 50- 60 of col. 2 about ..In some cases, the UE may transmit multiple repetitions of the first message of the two-step random access procedure and monitor for responses after transmitting the repetitions or after each repetition (including, e.g., using hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for the repetitions). In some cases, the UE may incrementally increase a transmit power and/or transmit the preamble using a new preamble sequence for a number of attempts (e.g., until reaching a configured number of attempts) before falling back to the four-step random access procedure; further see lines 32- 54 of col. 25 and lines 44- 54 of col. 27. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein initiating, after a defined number of unsuccessful retransmissions of the uplink transmission, a random access procedure to obtain a new TA; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 10, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0015154 A1) in view of Rune et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0106906 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches as per claim 1, but fails to state about wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: fall back to a different resource pool, of the plurality of resource pools, for the uplink transmission based at least in part on a lack of acknowledgement for the uplink transmission; however Rune teaches in [0120] Fallback actions may either be prepared (controlled by an explicit indication from the network) for example, may fall back to 4-step RA (e.g., if the network responds to MsgA with a RAR-like message) or unprepared fallback (uncontrolled, without explicit indication from the network) (e.g., if the WD does not receive a RAR-like message). The fallback actions, or other reactions, may include: [0121] re-initiation of the 2-step RA procedure (with or without power ramping) using the 2-step RA configuration of the same beam; [0122] initiating 4-step CFRA (if a configuration is available) (with or without power ramping) using the 4-step CFRA configuration of the same beam; [0123] fallback to 4-step CBRA (with or without power ramping) using the 4-step CBRA configuration of the same beam; or [0124] fallback to beam (re) selection and re-initiation of a random access procedure (2-step RA, 4-step CFRA or 4-step CBRA) using the RA configuration associated with an alternative beam. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Rune with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: fall back to a different resource pool, of the plurality of resource pools, for the uplink transmission based at least in part on a lack of acknowledgement for the uplink transmission; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 27, Wu teaches as per claim 18, but fails to state about falling back to a different resource pool, of the plurality of resource pools, for the uplink transmission based at least in part on a lack of acknowledgement for the uplink transmission; however Rune teaches in [0120] Fallback actions may either be prepared (controlled by an explicit indication from the network) for example, may fall back to 4-step RA (e.g., if the network responds to MsgA with a RAR-like message) or unprepared fallback (uncontrolled, without explicit indication from the network) (e.g., if the WD does not receive a RAR-like message). The fallback actions, or other reactions, may include: [0121] re-initiation of the 2-step RA procedure (with or without power ramping) using the 2-step RA configuration of the same beam; [0122] initiating 4-step CFRA (if a configuration is available) (with or without power ramping) using the 4-step CFRA configuration of the same beam; [0123] fallback to 4-step CBRA (with or without power ramping) using the 4-step CBRA configuration of the same beam; or [0124] fallback to beam (re) selection and re-initiation of a random access procedure (2-step RA, 4-step CFRA or 4-step CBRA) using the RA configuration associated with an alternative beam. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Rune with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein falling back to a different resource pool, of the plurality of resource pools, for the uplink transmission based at least in part on a lack of acknowledgement for the uplink transmission; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Seo et al. (US Pat. No. 10517070 B2) states in lines 26- 36 of col. 22 about Two scheduling schemes, self-scheduling and cross carrier scheduling are defined for a CA system, from the perspective of carriers or serving cells. Cross carrier scheduling may be called cross CC scheduling or cross cell scheduling. In self-scheduling, a PDCCH (carrying a DL grant) and a PDSCH are transmitted in the same DL CC or a PUSCH is transmitted in a UL CC linked to a DL CC in which a PDCCH (carrying a UL grant) is received.
Reference Mo et al. (US Pub. No. 2026/0025824 A1) teaches in [0123] about .. assuming that it is determined to perform a repetition transmission procedure based on the CG-PUSCH, the target uplink transmission beam needs to be determined by comprehensively considering the transmission mode of the uplink transmission beam and the first condition. In addition, the terminal determines, based on the second condition, that the transmission mode of the uplink transmission beam is the first mode (that is, different uplink transmission beams are indicated to be used in the repetition transmission procedure of the target signal), and a measured value of at least one first downlink reference signal associated with the first resource for repetition transmission is not greater than the first threshold or a TA used to send the CG-PUSCH is invalid (that is, the first condition is not met).
Reference Xiong (US Pub. No. 2024/0163868 A1) teaches in [0097] about When a set of SSBs are configured by higher layers via RRC signaling for association with CG-PUSCH resource for a CG-PUSCH configuration, if measured RSRP value for a SSB within the set of SSBs does not increase more than the configured RSRP increase threshold or does not decrease more than the configured RSRP decrease threshold, UE can determine the TA is valid for the CG-PUSCH configuration; if measured RSRP value for any SSB within the set of SSBs increases more than the configured RSRP increase threshold or decreases more than the configured RSRP decrease threshold, UE can determine the TA is not valid for the CG-PUSCH configuration.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479