DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-12, 22 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/1/26. Claims 22 and 23 were withdrawn because no support could be found for the MxM and Mx(1xN) switches of these claims in the elected species.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please add the word “claim” before 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al (US 9,588,299 B2). Mao teaches:
13. A wavelength selective switch (101, Figs. 1-2) comprising:
an MxN array of optical fibers (102);
an optical birefringent material (106) for receiving light from an optical fiber (part of 102) of the MxN array (102) and spatially separating the light into two diverging optical beams having orthogonal polarizations (C4 L44-49);
a collimating lens (108) spaced from the MxN array for receiving the diverging optical beams from the optical fiber (102) and transforming the diverging optical beams into spatially separated parallel optical beams (C4 L50 – C5 L4);
an optical polarization rotator (110) for causing the parallel optical beams to have a same polarization (C5 L18-23);
a reflective optical grating (120) downstream from the optical polarization rotator (110) and the collimating lens (108) for receiving the parallel optical beams in the same polarization and for diffracting each optical beam into diffracted beams at different wavelengths in different diffracted beam directions (C5 L54-64); and
an array of optical deflectors (128) disposed in optical paths of the diffracted beams at the different wavelengths and configured to redirect, by reflection at a variable angle in a first plane, the output beams back to the reflective optical grating (120), the optical polarization rotator (110), the collimating lens (108), the optical birefringent material (106), and an optical fiber of the MxN array of optical fibers (102), in a wavelength-selective manner (C6 L30-40);
wherein the diverging optical beams and the diffracted beams define a second plane perpendicular to the first plane (see Fig. 2, the paths are folded into two different planes at 120).
Mao does not state the collimating lens is rotationally symmetric or it is spaced from the fibers by a focal length.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try using rotationally symmetric collimating lens that is spaced from an input by a focal length, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
Mao teaches a three-dimensional switch device so one of ordinary skill in the art would identify a rotational symmetric collimating lens as a desirable lens to use since the signal quality will be at maximum if the light entering the rotator is fully collimated in all dimensions. Further, the claim does not actually state a specific focal length, only that the lens be spaced from the fibers by a focal length (this could be a half a focal length or 2x a focal length). Mao teaches the lenses (104) at the fiber array (102) are positioned at a back focus plane of the collimating lens (108) so the collimating lens at a focal length is identified by this teaching to a person of ordinary skill the art since this configuration is and will provide maximum signal quality by collimating the signal at the lens’ focal length. Both the rotational symmetric lens limitation and the focal length positioning would be expected to succeed in Mao so no configuration or component changes would be needed.
Mao further teaches:
14. The wavelength selective switch of claim 13, wherein in operation, diffracted output beams corresponding to the light beams from different optical fibers of the MxN array (102) are directed to different locations at the array of optical deflectors (128) (C5 L65 – C6 L4).
16. The wavelength selective switch of claim 13, further comprising a rhombic prism (114) in an optical path of the diffracted beams corresponding to one of the diverging optical beams, for spatially separating the diffracted beams corresponding to the two diverging optical beams (C5 L28-53).
18. The wavelength selective switch of claim 13, further comprising:
a lens array (104) between the MxN array of optical fibers (102) and the optical birefringent material (106) to respectively receive light beams from the optical fibers and to control sizes of the light beams (C4 L13-37).
20. The wavelength selective switch of claim 13, wherein the array of optical deflectors (128) comprises an array of liquid crystal on silicon (LCoS) cells (C6 L47-58).
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Colbourne (US 2010/0172646 A1).
Mao teaches the wavelength selective switch previously discussed.
Mao does not teach expressly:
15. The wavelength selective switch of claim 13, wherein the reflective optical grating comprises a grism.
19. The wavelength selective switch of claim 13, further comprising:
a plurality of mirrors at different locations in an optical path between the MxN array of optical fibers and the reflective optical grating to fold the optical path to reduce a footprint of the wavelength selective switch.
Colbourne teaches a wavelength selective switch (Fig. 6) with a reflective optical grating (608) that can also be a grism (P0060) and has a plurality of mirrors (606, 616) at different locations in an optical path between an input (602) and grating (608) to fold the optical path to reduce a footprint of the switch (Fig. 6).
Mao and Colbourne are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical switching.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the grating to use a grism and to modify the optical path to include mirrors as taught by Colbourne.
The motivation for doing so would have been reduce complexity and cost by using known optical grating elements such as grisms and to reduce the size of the switch by using mirrors.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Holmes et al (US 10,257,594 B2).
Mao teaches the switch previously discussed.
Mao does not teach expressly:
17. The wavelength selective switch of claim 13, further comprising:
a first Fourier lens between the optical grating and the array of optical deflectors, spaced by a focal length of the first Fourier lens from each of the optical grating and the array of optical deflectors, and configured to focus the diffracted beams corresponding to one of the diverging optical beams onto the array of optical deflectors; and
a second Fourier lens located between the optical grating and the array of optical deflectors, spaced by a focal length of the second Fourier lens from each of the optical grating and the array of optical deflectors, and configured to focus the diffracted beams corresponding to the other one of the diverging optical beams onto the array of optical deflectors;
wherein the first and second Fourier lenses are configured to provide a non-zero optical power in the second plane while exhibiting zero optical power in the first plane.
Holmes teaches a wavelength selective optical switch (1101, Figs. 12B-C) comprising a first Fourier lens (1204a) located between an optical grating (1210) and an array of optical deflectors (1103) and spaced by a focal length of the first cylindrical lens (1204a) from each of the optical grating (1210) and the array of optical deflectors (1103) and configured to focus the diffracted beams corresponding to one of the diverging optical beams onto the array of optical deflectors (1103); and
a second Fourier lens (1204b) located between the optical grating (1210) and the array of optical deflectors (1103) and spaced by a focal length of the second cylindrical lens (1204b) from each of the optical grating (1210) and the array of optical deflectors (1103) and configured to focus the diffracted beams corresponding to one of the diverging optical beams onto the array of optical deflectors (1103),
wherein each of the first and second Fourier lenses (1204a-b) is oriented to provide optical power for bending light in the second plane while exhibiting no optical power in the first plane (C57 L41-51, C57 L65 - C58 L14).
Mao and Holmes are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, wavelength selective switches.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the switch of Mao to include the two cylindrical lenses between the grating the deflectors as taught by Holmes which would place them in the claimed relationship with the rotator.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide separation that may need to be adjusted to compensate for slab effects (Holmes, C57 L41-51).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Frisken (US 9,654,848 B2).
Mao teaches the switch previously discussed.
Mao does not teach expressly the deflectors being MEMS mirrors.
Frisken teaches a wavelength selective optical switch (1, Fig. 1) where the array of optical deflectors (17) includes an array of micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) mirrors or liquid crystal on silicon cells (C8 L7-30).
Mao and Frisken are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, wavelength selective switches.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the deflectors of Mao to use MEMS type deflectors since Frisken teaches MEMS and LCOS deflectors can be interchanged.
The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce cost and complexity by using already known and widely used deflectors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references all teach wavelength selective switches with fiber arrays, birefringent material, collimating lens(es), polarization rotator, grating and deflectors for passing particular wavelengths: US 8867016, US 9025094, US 9341870, US 2017/0023741.
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874